NFL Division 1

Listen lads the rules dictate ( not me ) that the ref should allow 5 seconds advantage to a team fouled, he was out on his feet and could not keep up. Mc Manus was clear on goal with a two on one.
Had he allowed this to happen you would all have a different analysis, Dublin were lucky to get a draw

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 08/02/2020 21:12:54    2266196

Disappointing end to game thought we lacked bit of nous in game management at finish. Been a problem for a few years in big games seeing them out. Being honest when dublin got their goal which our defence went to sleep on I was fearing a defeat so a draw is least something.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 08/02/2020 21:13:12    2266197

Replying To achara:  "You are 100% right tulachmhór now can you explain why ref didn't give the advantage when monaghan were through on goal?"
No I cant. He should've played advantage. I've no dog in this fight and calling it as I see it.

Monaghan will be delighted with the week off now too. There'll be a load of bumps and bruises and sore bodies which will benefit from the recovery. They picked up a serious amount of bangs, especially the 10 minute period at the start of the second half.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 08/02/2020 21:15:48    2266198

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Donegal will be missing heaps.."
Bewildered with this games extra time. Can the GAA and referees accept that Dublin will have to lose a game eventually despite the 23 million investment. Nothing lasts forever. Monaghan ripped off by officialdom.

ruff1106 (Kildare) - Posts: 175 - 08/02/2020 21:16:38    2266199

Replying To tulachmhór:  "Dublin will be disappointed that there wasnt another play left in the game given the lack of time which the ball was actually in play in injury time. Ref harsh on them in the end imho."
By your rational, given that Monaghan won the last kickout. Should they not feel disappointed, if there was time left as you say???

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 08/02/2020 21:18:43    2266200

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "By your rational, given that Monaghan won the last kickout. Should they not feel disappointed, if there was time left as you say???"
I'd imagine that they would be disappointed in an overall sense given that they squandered a 6 or 7 point lead with 10 minutes left but that's the nature of the beast I suppose.

Still think it's a good evening for ye given that ye will be safe now.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 08/02/2020 21:29:23    2266207

At the end of the day it's a point i wasn't expecting a few hours ago so good enough result, look forward to the mayo game in a few weeks

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 08/02/2020 21:32:19    2266209

Replying To ruff1106:  "Bewildered with this games extra time. Can the GAA and referees accept that Dublin will have to lose a game eventually despite the 23 million investment. Nothing lasts forever. Monaghan ripped off by officialdom."
There was injuries at the start of the second half adding to about 2 minutes. Each substitute a team makes adds 30 seconds so the 6 minutes was fair enough.

There was then about 3 minutes at the start of extra time when the ref was giving out yellows.

Thought Monaghan were excellent and should have won.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 08/02/2020 21:35:48    2266210

Replying To tulachmhór:  "I'd imagine that they would be disappointed in an overall sense given that they squandered a 6 or 7 point lead with 10 minutes left but that's the nature of the beast I suppose.

Still think it's a good evening for ye given that ye will be safe now."
I admire your ability to answer a question by not answering the question posed, enjoy the election results coverage
Personally I feel hard done by, feel we were always going to stay up this year given the draw we have.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 08/02/2020 21:46:20    2266214

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "I admire your ability to answer a question by not answering the question posed, enjoy the election results coverage
Personally I feel hard done by, feel we were always going to stay up this year given the draw we have."
I'm good craic AND you admire me, thank you.

Enjoy the rest of the league and enjoy the election coverage yourself.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 08/02/2020 21:52:14    2266216

I'd have taken a point going in tonight, but it's an awful sickener to get it in that manner. Feels very like Kerry in the Super 8s in '18. Threw it away in the end. Dublin were chipping away at the lead, but I always felt we were relatively comfortable until the scrappy goal got them back into it(I've no idea why someone didn't just put a fist to that rather than trying to catch it), and then the momentum was with Dublin, the crowd really got behind them, and they kept pushing on. Credit to the Dubs, that's part of why they're the best in the country - no matter the game they're playing or who is on the field, they never know when they're beaten.

Brutal night for a game but I thought it was decent enough considering that. Despite the sickening result I think there are certainly positives to be taken. A break next week now, so time to digest that result and prepare well for the next game. Mayo at home next, which is one we'll certainly be targeting to win and that would put us in a good position then.

Alot of talk about the ref after, mostly about the time added on. To be honest I don't have much of a problem with that, there were a few stoppages during the 6 added minutes, so no surprise he added more on. I just find it a bit funny he blew up as soon as they equalised, he could have even added another minute or so on imo, such was the stoppages during injury time. Maybe that would have went for or against us, but he'd have been justified in adding more on. The biggest issue I have is the advantage which wasn't given when McManus was through on goal, I don't understand that at all.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 08/02/2020 22:08:31    2266219

Monaghan by far the better team. Serious bottlejob all the same.

What can you say about Dublin though. 5 in a row done and dusted, a rotten night, 9 points down in the second half, nothing going well for us and we still had the hunger to come back and draw the game we really had no right to get a result from

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/02/2020 23:15:33    2266225

Replying To ruff1106:  "Bewildered with this games extra time. Can the GAA and referees accept that Dublin will have to lose a game eventually despite the 23 million investment. Nothing lasts forever. Monaghan ripped off by officialdom."
I would agree with you-did the Ref's watch stop!. Playing 3 extra minutes in an extra 6minutes period was akin to playing an extra 32.5 minutes in a match. It is long past 'time' that time keeping is kept away from the Ref, can we not follow the ladies football, or are we just brain dead as an association!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 08/02/2020 23:50:26    2266232

Right here goes again -I was censored last time ... so the ref prolongs the game until Dublin equalises and then, with Monaghan on the ball, blows it up. And that after calling play back for a useless free when McManus clean through.
When that happened, I thought it must surely have been a Dublin player that was fouled. I was shocked to see Monaghan then getting the free! Hasn't that ref heard of the advantage rule? And the protocol that you normally let the play go dead to finish a game? Goal conceded was sloppy, but ref had a hand in this result; same as the cod penalty v Tyrone in AI final 2018. Time for the GAA to invest in some rugby referees; our home-grown variety are not up to the job. Too many lads training all year to be knifed by small-town refereeing. Not Dublin's fault of course; but still, very very poor.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 08/02/2020 23:51:55    2266235

Hmmm. .

The weather a huge leveller.

A Dublin team trying some new bodies.

A Monaghan team who, in true Banty style, give it EVERYTHING for the league.

And they completely choke with the winning line in sight.

Still, a point gained considering the ability within each squad.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 09/02/2020 01:43:22    2266242

Replying To patk:  "I'd have taken a point going in tonight, but it's an awful sickener to get it in that manner. Feels very like Kerry in the Super 8s in '18. Threw it away in the end. Dublin were chipping away at the lead, but I always felt we were relatively comfortable until the scrappy goal got them back into it(I've no idea why someone didn't just put a fist to that rather than trying to catch it), and then the momentum was with Dublin, the crowd really got behind them, and they kept pushing on. Credit to the Dubs, that's part of why they're the best in the country - no matter the game they're playing or who is on the field, they never know when they're beaten.

Brutal night for a game but I thought it was decent enough considering that. Despite the sickening result I think there are certainly positives to be taken. A break next week now, so time to digest that result and prepare well for the next game. Mayo at home next, which is one we'll certainly be targeting to win and that would put us in a good position then.

Alot of talk about the ref after, mostly about the time added on. To be honest I don't have much of a problem with that, there were a few stoppages during the 6 added minutes, so no surprise he added more on. I just find it a bit funny he blew up as soon as they equalised, he could have even added another minute or so on imo, such was the stoppages during injury time. Maybe that would have went for or against us, but he'd have been justified in adding more on. The biggest issue I have is the advantage which wasn't given when McManus was through on goal, I don't understand that at all."
I think that's actually a fair enough summary. Monaghan were wasting a lot of time with players on the ground and substitutions - hardly a kick was taken in the first 4 mins of injury time. I was on the Hill - I thought the ref called the play back when McManus was through for a clash of heads - so they were getting the ball but head collision meant he had to stop the play?

dawals (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 09/02/2020 01:51:37    2266244

Meath v Mayo gets the go ahead

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 09/02/2020 08:53:47    2266251

Replying To essmac:  "Right here goes again -I was censored last time ... so the ref prolongs the game until Dublin equalises and then, with Monaghan on the ball, blows it up. And that after calling play back for a useless free when McManus clean through.
When that happened, I thought it must surely have been a Dublin player that was fouled. I was shocked to see Monaghan then getting the free! Hasn't that ref heard of the advantage rule? And the protocol that you normally let the play go dead to finish a game? Goal conceded was sloppy, but ref had a hand in this result; same as the cod penalty v Tyrone in AI final 2018. Time for the GAA to invest in some rugby referees; our home-grown variety are not up to the job. Too many lads training all year to be knifed by small-town refereeing. Not Dublin's fault of course; but still, very very poor."
With regard to advantage not being played I can only assume he thought it was a clash of heads, as that's what I thought when I saw it in real time. So again, fair enough. He called play back near the end of normal time for a clash of heads between James McCarthy and O'Connell too. The Monaghan MOTM complained about the time added over and above the announced added time which I thought was a bit rich given how they benefited themselves v Galway. What was it, 5 mins past the 5 mins announced?? It felt like a win for Dublin given how far behind we were. Monaghan will be sick as they were by far the better team for large parts of last night.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/02/2020 09:05:35    2266253

Replying To cavanman47:  "Hmmm. .

Still, a point gained considering the ability within each squad."
It's always a real sign that we are going well when you make such comments, We know we are in a good place. See you in YOUR All Ireland final in May, you can give it EVERYTHING then

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/02/2020 09:08:37    2266254

Replying To cavanman47:  "Hmmm. .

Still, a point gained considering the ability within each squad."
Welcome to the top league Bernardo

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 09/02/2020 09:16:28    2266255