Dublin V Kerry

Replying To TheHermit:  "I must have because all I heard was the usual giving out about a penalty bring awarded against your team. A very very soft penalty to boot, but defo did not hear any jeering when it was being taken.
On the other hand ever section of the stand was booing and whistling Kerry free takers.
Has that always been there or has it crept in over the last few years with Dublin?
Can't recall any of it in AI finals in the past."
You should have turned the volume down on your telly Hermit.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/01/2020 21:27:47    2263047

Replying To greatpoint:  "I'm not willing to take any Kerry hyperbole seriously after drawing a January league game. Last game that mattered between the two teams Dublin won very comfortably. The media are dying to make this current rivalry legitimate and it's tough to listen to given that it's 11 whole years since Kerry beat Dublin in the Championship. At the minute they look to be picking up the Mayo mantle of running the Dubs close but not much beyond that."
Ooooooh burn....I like it!!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 27/01/2020 21:51:35    2263058

Replying To Joxer:  "You should have turned the volume down on your telly Hermit."
Was in the Hogan actually, I'd travel a lot supporting Kerry in person. It's a passion.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/01/2020 21:52:00    2263059

Replying To catch22:  "That must have been when ye were winning All Ireland's.
Don't remember ye ever winning a tight one. It's easy forget the handy one of course."
??
Never remember Kerry wining a tight All Ireland?
Ok so kid
What's a handy AI by the way, I'm always dying to know when that's thrown at Kerry.

Jaysus lads there's so many of ye on here with a Kerry shaped object stuck up a certain dark passage that ye must have fierce trouble getting out of bed in the morning.

But sure don't ye have a great time stalking the Kerry forum with the red thumbs ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/01/2020 21:56:17    2263060

Replying To greatpoint:  "I'm not willing to take any Kerry hyperbole seriously after drawing a January league game. Last game that mattered between the two teams Dublin won very comfortably. The media are dying to make this current rivalry legitimate and it's tough to listen to given that it's 11 whole years since Kerry beat Dublin in the Championship. At the minute they look to be picking up the Mayo mantle of running the Dubs close but not much beyond that."
Sure how can anyone now have a seriously rivalry with Dublin, the GAA have ensured that with their policies over the last decade.

We're only amateurs against semi-pros now.

C'est la vie, we'll try our best to close the gap as one of the boo brigade put it ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/01/2020 21:59:04    2263061

It's an interesting point and there may be a bit of truth in it, the media are desperate for a rival for Dublin and you wonder how objective that really in.

There is a fair argument there that Dublin are stronger then the very tight games Vs Mayo in 16/17, the last two All Ireland wins have been their most comfortable.

Even Kerry in 11, 13, 15, etc were always fairly competitive.

I know many will say young lads blah, blah, blah, but flogging and turning to lads like Tommy Walsh, Enright, JOD in Jan and a back six that has tried and failed at the top level consistently isn't showing headroom for opportunity to develop or improve. Who knows, maybe they were just afraid of the Dubs in Croker.

But you feel it's a big year for Keane considering the above and the Dubs being in transition, hell they don't even have a back room team in place at the moment.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/01/2020 22:09:08    2263066

Replying To Jackeen:  "Haha give over. Such ridiculous bias. Watch it back."
The only funny thing about this post is you talking about other's being bias

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 27/01/2020 22:20:33    2263070

Replying To catch22:  "That must have been when ye were winning All Ireland's.
Don't remember ye ever winning a tight one. It's easy forget the handy one of course."
You didn't think the kerry Donegal final was a tight final no?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/01/2020 22:41:47    2263075

Replying To TheHermit:  "??
Never remember Kerry wining a tight All Ireland?
Ok so kid
What's a handy AI by the way, I'm always dying to know when that's thrown at Kerry.

Jaysus lads there's so many of ye on here with a Kerry shaped object stuck up a certain dark passage that ye must have fierce trouble getting out of bed in the morning.

But sure don't ye have a great time stalking the Kerry forum with the red thumbs ;D"
Thought you'd be only too familiar with the meaning of handy ones. You know , the ones where you steamroll through Munster,a hurling province and arrive above in Croke Park ,a place ye used to be only to delighted to play until recently and not have to break a sweat in marching to another hollow title.
Take it handy now lad. ;D
Ps , you seem like a fella who has his own issues with foreign objects in dark places.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/01/2020 22:45:26    2263076

Replying To TheUsername:  "It's an interesting point and there may be a bit of truth in it, the media are desperate for a rival for Dublin and you wonder how objective that really in.

There is a fair argument there that Dublin are stronger then the very tight games Vs Mayo in 16/17, the last two All Ireland wins have been their most comfortable.

Even Kerry in 11, 13, 15, etc were always fairly competitive.

I know many will say young lads blah, blah, blah, but flogging and turning to lads like Tommy Walsh, Enright, JOD in Jan and a back six that has tried and failed at the top level consistently isn't showing headroom for opportunity to develop or improve. Who knows, maybe they were just afraid of the Dubs in Croker.

But you feel it's a big year for Keane considering the above and the Dubs being in transition, hell they don't even have a back room team in place at the moment."
Ambient strikes again ZZZZ.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/01/2020 22:46:10    2263077

Kerry are clearly a bit off Dublin, I don't see anybody claiming otherwise here or anywhere else to be honest, not even the most blinkered Kerry fans. What hyperbole are you talking about?

Media can build it up all they like but Dublin look set up for another relatively straightforward championship win IMO, most of their key players like Fenton, Kilkenny, McCarthy, Mcaffery, Mannion, Rock, Howard and Con are In their absolute prime. Despite the 'fading force' narrative that some want to push they are arguably more talented and younger at key positions now than at any stage in the past and nobody has more big game experience. With every meaningful game at home I don't think I'll back anyone to beat them for a while yet. It's possible that things might come off the rails a bit for them if Dessie Farrell cannot get the same level of performance or 'buy in' that Gavin did over a season but I think they still hold all the aces going in to the summer.

Call that defeatist or whatever but quite honestly I don't think Kerry have the players at the back of the required caliber as a whole. The two finals last year showed that we were / are a good bit behind in terms of endurance as well, Kerry were gassed in both game with 10 minutes to go and the heavy legs were very apparent.

I am very hopeful that Kerry will win an All Ireland in the next couple of years and possibly even a couple. They have most things in place but just need those last few pieces of the jigsaw, a couple of steely backs would help considerably. Things can change over the course of the season of course, Donegal or Galway could emerge as genuine contenders or perhaps Kerry kick on, Dublin start to slip etc. That's how I see things right now though.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 28/01/2020 00:25:22    2263095

Username u seem to have a lot of time on ur hands. I hope ur work does not mind

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 28/01/2020 09:31:08    2263119

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It only happens to us kerry folk Gerry as they don't want the hard questions asked.

I asked will the CCCC do anything about the strikes on kerry player by Mccarthy and scully? and John small was the 3rd man into the melee they are red cards by today's rules, there was a lot of high tackles to the heads of the kerry players as well all went unpunished."
Mickey Burns could be in a spot of bother too.

hamsterdean (Limerick) - Posts: 223 - 28/01/2020 09:34:26    2263120

Replying To oneoff:  "The only funny thing about this post is you talking about other's being bias"
Stop following me!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/01/2020 09:47:24    2263122

Replying To hamsterdean:  "Mickey Burns could be in a spot of bother too."
Is burns 1 of the " supposed" 15 kerry senior footballers that you reckon are Working in Peter Keanes shop?

IV asked you this several times but you seem to be avoiding my question.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/01/2020 10:04:24    2263123

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You didn't think the kerry Donegal final was a tight final no?"
to be fair Paul Durcan should have got a medal. No in all honesty Kerry dogged out result that day beating Donegal at their own game.

hamsterdean (Limerick) - Posts: 223 - 28/01/2020 10:18:06    2263127

Replying To Westfester:  "I have had my doubts for a while about whether you are actually a Limerick person or just using Limerick as a flag of convenience. This post has convinced me that you are obviously neither from nor living in Limerick."
i'm from out the ennis road side.

hamsterdean (Limerick) - Posts: 223 - 28/01/2020 10:19:07    2263128

Replying To Jackeen:  "Stop following me!"
Answer the question i've asked you countless times and i will...

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 28/01/2020 10:25:41    2263136

Replying To hamsterdean:  "i'm from out the ennis road side."
The Dublin Road side would be more likely i would think...

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 28/01/2020 10:52:26    2263145

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ambient strikes again ZZZZ."
Ambient as in an ambient temperature or Ambien as in the sleep aid?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 28/01/2020 11:05:25    2263148