Dublin V Kerry

Replying To galwayfball:  ""No top players get protection, why should he"

That's exactly where you said he shouldnt get protection. You've now said it twice. No reason with the help of linesman ref should be able to protect players . If spectators can see it , why cant they. Its ridiculous to just accept that good players wont be protected. Which is what you seem to think is ok"
Not sure why you are trying to twist what I said but hey ho.

Of course they should in an ideal world.

Might that be a clue for you where I think they should get protection?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 26/01/2020 18:21:39    2262563

Replying To essmac:  "You can't make a sweeping statement like that without backing it up. List out the wrong calls would you? I watched the second half and saw little to complain about."
He ref the match to letter of law in general. In regard to time at the end, he was correct apparently someone on twitter today was saying and also Croke Park are asking that time wasting and subs coming on be additional time be added.
The only grievance I had was McHugh got a couple softish frees, he wouldnt get them in Championship.
Both sides be happy enough, Dublin 3 training sessions, Kerry had 4 training sessions

Murph (Kerry) - Posts: 45 - 26/01/2020 18:23:38    2262565

Replying To lilylanger:  "Not sure why you are trying to twist what I said but hey ho.

Might that be a clue for you where I think they should get protection?"
I literally directly quoted you but I'm twisting your words .....ok so

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 26/01/2020 19:12:42    2262587

Replying To galwayfball:  "
Replying To lilylanger:  "Not sure why you are trying to twist what I said but hey ho.

Might that be a clue for you where I think they should get protection?"
I literally directly quoted you but I'm twisting your words .....ok so"
Ok fair enough. In case I wasn't as clear as I thought I was, I will put it a different way. Clifford gets the same level of protection as all other top players which is none.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 26/01/2020 19:26:06    2262594

Draw was a fair enough result there I thought. Both sides missing key players and it is a credit to both sides that they gave us a great evening's entertainment. Both will improve when they get closer to full strength.

Fenton caused wreck in the first half, after Spillane went off Kerry were down their four top midfielders and it showed. Kearney did well when he came in though I thought, and it was much better in the second half.

We had familiar issues on kick outs when being pressed but there is time to work on this and hopefully Ryan's confidence will grow. I think we are lacking a bit of steel at the back as well, getting Sherwood and Tom O'Sullivan back in there will help. Another part of the issue is that most of our forwards are not great going the other way. I don't think you'll see Geaney, Clifford, Walsh and JOD all on the pitch at the same time come championship.

Anyway, very enjoyable evening and not the worst start. On to the next game.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 26/01/2020 21:18:43    2262668

Replying To Murph:  "He ref the match to letter of law in general. In regard to time at the end, he was correct apparently someone on twitter today was saying and also Croke Park are asking that time wasting and subs coming on be additional time be added.
The only grievance I had was McHugh got a couple softish frees, he wouldnt get them in Championship.
Both sides be happy enough, Dublin 3 training sessions, Kerry had 4 training sessions"
Kerry are training since mid December. Saw them training in Adare Castle before Christmas

hamsterdean (Limerick) - Posts: 223 - 26/01/2020 22:26:46    2262712

Replying To hamsterdean:  "Kerry are training since mid December. Saw them training in Adare Castle before Christmas"
I have had my doubts for a while about whether you are actually a Limerick person or just using Limerick as a flag of convenience. This post has convinced me that you are obviously neither from nor living in Limerick.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 26/01/2020 22:58:17    2262722

Replying To hamsterdean:  "Kerry are training since mid December. Saw them training in Adare Castle before Christmas"
Afaik Kerry have been doing some conditioning stuff with an extended panel for a while. I'm sure the Dubs have been doing a bit as well. It's not like the 80's and 90's with lads coming back with beer guts after the layoff. All serious inter county players stay in great shape year round now.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 26/01/2020 23:00:52    2262726

Just wondering when the jeering and booing of free takers by Dublin supports became a common thing, never really experienced it in such a vocal and sustained at an inter-county game, particularly a League game.
Think it's pretty poor form.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/01/2020 18:37:56    2262993

Replying To TheHermit:  "Just wondering when the jeering and booing of free takers by Dublin supports became a common thing, never really experienced it in such a vocal and sustained at an inter-county game, particularly a League game.
Think it's pretty poor form."
I guess you had your ear warmers on when Kerry supporters booed to their hearts content when Rock was taking his penalty? Poor form from all concerned.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/01/2020 19:22:28    2263002

Iads I'm seriously considering giving up on this as any thing I put up being contraversal or no it is not put up. May I ask why

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 27/01/2020 20:06:03    2263013

Replying To Jackeen:  "I guess you had your ear warmers on when Kerry supporters booed to their hearts content when Rock was taking his penalty? Poor form from all concerned."
As usual you try and get away from anything you disagree with

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 27/01/2020 20:43:24    2263023

Replying To traleegerry:  "Iads I'm seriously considering giving up on this as any thing I put up being contraversal or no it is not put up. May I ask why"
It only happens to us kerry folk Gerry as they don't want the hard questions asked.

I asked will the CCCC do anything about the strikes on kerry player by Mccarthy and scully? and John small was the 3rd man into the melee they are red cards by today's rules, there was a lot of high tackles to the heads of the kerry players as well all went unpunished.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/01/2020 20:46:21    2263025

Replying To Jackeen:  "I guess you had your ear warmers on when Kerry supporters booed to their hearts content when Rock was taking his penalty? Poor form from all concerned."
I must have because all I heard was the usual giving out about a penalty bring awarded against your team. A very very soft penalty to boot, but defo did not hear any jeering when it was being taken.
On the other hand ever section of the stand was booing and whistling Kerry free takers.
Has that always been there or has it crept in over the last few years with Dublin?
Can't recall any of it in AI finals in the past.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/01/2020 20:50:08    2263028

Replying To TheHermit:  "I must have because all I heard was the usual giving out about a penalty bring awarded against your team. A very very soft penalty to boot, but defo did not hear any jeering when it was being taken.
On the other hand ever section of the stand was booing and whistling Kerry free takers.
Has that always been there or has it crept in over the last few years with Dublin?
Can't recall any of it in AI finals in the past."
Haha give over. Such ridiculous bias. Watch it back.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/01/2020 21:12:03    2263037

Replying To oneoff:  "As usual you try and get away from anything you disagree with"
Stop following me.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/01/2020 21:14:17    2263039

Haha it must be the history making five in a row or just being the best, that you just laugh at these silly wind ups now.

It's nice having Kerry back competing, some of their players played very well the other day, I wish them the very best of luck in closing the 6 point gap in the final and best of luck in the year ahead.

I hope their supporters enjoy being part of it all again.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/01/2020 21:16:07    2263041

Replying To TheHermit:  "I must have because all I heard was the usual giving out about a penalty bring awarded against your team. A very very soft penalty to boot, but defo did not hear any jeering when it was being taken.
Can't recall any of it in AI finals in the past."
That must have been when ye were winning All Ireland's.
Don't remember ye ever winning a tight one. It's easy forget the handy one of course.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/01/2020 21:17:52    2263042

Replying To oneoff:  "As usual you try and get away from anything you disagree with"
Nonsense. I was a stone's throw away from the Kerry contingent in the lower Cusack and every Dublin free was booed by them. When your county went a couple of points up there was a lot of in your face stuff from them but hey look, that's what it's all about. Both sets of supporters were booing and guess what, it happens in every ground up and down the country when arch rivals are playing. If you're expecting a deathly silence and a flock of saintly doves rising from opposing fans with every opponents' free kick then stick to rugby union.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/01/2020 21:19:04    2263043

I'm not willing to take any Kerry hyperbole seriously after drawing a January league game. Last game that mattered between the two teams Dublin won very comfortably. The media are dying to make this current rivalry legitimate and it's tough to listen to given that it's 11 whole years since Kerry beat Dublin in the Championship. At the minute they look to be picking up the Mayo mantle of running the Dubs close but not much beyond that.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 27/01/2020 21:21:53    2263044