Supermac's Call For Investigation Into Galway GAA Sponsorship Spending

What do ye think of this?

DryEye84 (Cavan) - Posts: 10 - 01/10/2019 22:00:28    2240781

It's going to be a big mess. Sigh. If they refuse to show the books then Supermacs could pull sponsorship and if they DO show the books and they're all screwed up then you could see lawsuits or at least a lot of ugliness. It's probably bad for Galway GAA no matter what. I hope I'm wrong.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 01/10/2019 22:13:40    2240786

Replying To DryEye84:  "What do ye think of this?

link"
If you listen to all the rumours in Galway there is something very wrong with the county board, not sure the full effect / impact it could potentially have on the county teams but I think for the sake of the long term future of hurling and football in Galway, the rumours need to go away and the truth to come out.

lowandhard (Galway) - Posts: 33 - 01/10/2019 22:19:07    2240789

link"
Galway's income has grown steadily over the years. In 2012, it was €2,973,260 and while it dipped marginally the following year to €2,840,087, it has grown incrementally.
In 2017, it was €3,766,662 and in 2018jumped to €4,947,133 with the senior hurlers again reaching the All-Ireland final and the footballers making the league final and the All-Ireland semi-finals..........the above extract take from The Irish Times, just under Euro 5 mio income in 2018, what was it spent on ?

lowandhard (Galway) - Posts: 33 - 01/10/2019 22:23:11    2240792

It's a pity that both Galway and Mayo are hitting the headlines for the wrong reasons. Hopefully, the truth will come out quickly in both cases and, if any wrongdoing is uncovered, that it can be sorted out without impacting on what's happening with the development of our games in both counties.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 01/10/2019 22:39:55    2240798

Replying To Trump2020:  "It's going to be a big mess. Sigh. If they refuse to show the books then Supermacs could pull sponsorship and if they DO show the books and they're all screwed up then you could see lawsuits or at least a lot of ugliness. It's probably bad for Galway GAA no matter what. I hope I'm wrong."
No it's a good thing. Totally transparency is badly needed. If there are any cheats or wasters in the system they need to be exposed. Good accounting is not a threat to anyone who has the good of Galway hurling and football as their prime motivation

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 01/10/2019 22:47:33    2240804

This is just the tip of the iceberg, not just for Galway, but the whole of the GAA. The recent shenanigans regarding Mayo add to the general malaise:

http://www.mayonews.ie/sports/34353-mayo-gaa-wash-dirty-linen-in-public-again

The GAA is awash with money. But the management and oversight of all this appears to be slipshod and incompetent.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 01/10/2019 23:18:24    2240811

Such a pity to see this going on given the fantastic work being done by a voluntary committee in redeveloping Tuam Stadium, with planning achieved for a new roof on the stand, funding in place and new sponsored seating being installed this should be a good news week for Galway supporters but now they have this to contend with.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 01/10/2019 23:33:50    2240813

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "No it's a good thing. Totally transparency is badly needed. If there are any cheats or wasters in the system they need to be exposed. Good accounting is not a threat to anyone who has the good of Galway hurling and football as their prime motivation"
Well said.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 01/10/2019 23:57:38    2240820

Replying To Richieq:  "Such a pity to see this going on given the fantastic work being done by a voluntary committee in redeveloping Tuam Stadium, with planning achieved for a new roof on the stand, funding in place and new sponsored seating being installed this should be a good news week for Galway supporters but now they have this to contend with."
Strange, why you would cloud the issue by bringing in the fine voluntary work by the DAFTS committee with Tuam Stadium with an issue about financial mismanagement. Think we are going to see more blind siding this week as the cover up of this scandal goes to the very top & there are those who don't want this to come out.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 02/10/2019 00:04:19    2240822

At long last, the truth will out, but like another recent sporting scandal, it will have to be dragged out. People of integrity who have been massive sponsors of Galway GAA for decades are entitled to account for the funding. For those aware of the reality of what went on, the cover up & lack of transparency into serious financial mismanagement, which goes all the way to the top of the Association, has been shameful. This needs to be investigated by the PAC committee, the Garda Fraud squad & Revenue. For some time now people have been warning of the scandal, similar to what's happening in another sporting organisation, but people were silenced & ostracised. This is going to get very messy, but for things to move forward, the truth must come out, honesty & transparency must prevail. You can only admire the integrity of those willing to take a stand.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 02/10/2019 00:23:13    2240823

Replying To lowandhard:  "

link"
If you listen to all the rumours in Galway there is something very wrong with the county board, not sure the full effect / impact it could potentially have on the county teams but I think for the sake of the long term future of hurling and football in Galway, the rumours need to go away and the truth to come out."
Completely agree. Nothing good is going to come to light but it has to happen. Rumours floating around for years

" Specifically, have the players and management benefitted or has the county board benefitted?"

That's their main question about the funds. Dublin this .....dublin that . But with all that money I bet if they had 2 financial investigations in the morning they'd be able to provide the receipts

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 02/10/2019 01:02:08    2240827

Replying To Richieq:  "Such a pity to see this going on given the fantastic work being done by a voluntary committee in redeveloping Tuam Stadium, with planning achieved for a new roof on the stand, funding in place and new sponsored seating being installed this should be a good news week for Galway supporters but now they have this to contend with."
Well said.. We in Tuam very proud of the work and fundraising. Our County board is rotten to the core

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 393 - 02/10/2019 08:28:34    2240842

Replying To neverright:  "It's a pity that both Galway and Mayo are hitting the headlines for the wrong reasons. Hopefully, the truth will come out quickly in both cases and, if any wrongdoing is uncovered, that it can be sorted out without impacting on what's happening with the development of our games in both counties."
I think in Mayo's case it's incomptance as usual...but in recent weeks a commercial director had finally been appointed over 8 years after being recommended as a vital position.

I think Martin Brehony's headline today on Mayo is yet again unhelpful "sugar daddy"....JP McManus, AIG, Supermacs, Elverys, Kerry Group....lots of sugar there.

I can't really commment on Galway as I am not familiar with what goes on which their board but I think recent developments show sponsors and donors are now looking to where exactly their money is going which is probably no bad thing.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 02/10/2019 09:00:03    2240846

a bit like the government, ongoing messing for the last few years with no one accountable, lads resigning and thinking they have got all away with it. ALL needs to come out for the betterment of Galway GAA. it will be ugly but it is needed.

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 485 - 02/10/2019 09:22:36    2240855

Seemingly Joe Canning was seen buying food in Macdonalds.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 02/10/2019 09:28:14    2240856

tough one this.
i was treasurer in our club about 20 years ago,you'd have all manner of cash going through the house,and honesty is something that is expected.i can only imagine the difference between club and county,where sponsors etc are involved.
but this is the tip of the iceberg for the gaa and in my view an overdue review of how we manage money.
just like the pairc ui chaoimh fiasco,the gaa needs to have better oversight of how money is being spent and where it is going.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 02/10/2019 09:41:51    2240859

""""Supermac's would like to detail that the amount of sponsorship given by Supermac's to Galway GAA for the sponsored teams over the past 5 years to date is over €1.25m in direct payments plus over €340,000 in ancillary sponsorship," read a statement on the Supermac's website."""

is this an appropriate amount of sponsorship money for 5 years ? I do not think so and Galway going forward need supermacks to substantially increase its sponsorship or ells Galway needs a AIG type sponcer

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 02/10/2019 10:14:35    2240868

Replying To heartbroken:  """""Supermac's would like to detail that the amount of sponsorship given by Supermac's to Galway GAA for the sponsored teams over the past 5 years to date is over €1.25m in direct payments plus over €340,000 in ancillary sponsorship," read a statement on the Supermac's website."""

is this an appropriate amount of sponsorship money for 5 years ? I do not think so and Galway going forward need supermacks to substantially increase its sponsorship or ells Galway needs a AIG type sponcer"
I think they are getting absolutely good deal in terms of what they get out of it. But they still should be able to ask where the money is going. €1.2million cant just go unaccounted for.

They arent going to invest more if this cant be shown. Also the 1st time they brought this up was privately to the board 4 years and received no answers. Now I cant see any other sponsors giving us a cash injection with the questions over our spending

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 02/10/2019 10:32:29    2240872

Replying To heartbroken:  """""Supermac's would like to detail that the amount of sponsorship given by Supermac's to Galway GAA for the sponsored teams over the past 5 years to date is over €1.25m in direct payments plus over €340,000 in ancillary sponsorship," read a statement on the Supermac's website."""

is this an appropriate amount of sponsorship money for 5 years ? I do not think so and Galway going forward need supermacks to substantially increase its sponsorship or ells Galway needs a AIG type sponcer"
Good luck with that one for the time been.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 02/10/2019 10:33:37    2240873