Joe Brolly Finished With RTE

Replying To Curlew66:  "Joanne looked much more relaxed without having to contend with "Hold on, hold on let me finish" from someone who has already dominated 80% of the discussion. She seems to have a good grasp and feel for the GAA compared to say Rachel on Sky Sports.
Thought individual panelists were allowed to give a more thorough, meaningful analysis instead of getting a sound bite in edgeways between interruptions. Agree with some here who would have Colm O'Rourke instead of Rockford on the panel. Overall an enjoyable evening's viewing, two superb teams playing a very good game with an excellent first half."
Rochford even.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 15/09/2019 14:23:57    2235592

Joe and his four pints. I have gone to games with friends who have too many pints before a game. You would think they had been at a different game with what they missed and what they thought they saw. Though I guess Joe's analysis could only go one way.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 15/09/2019 14:45:16    2235618

Replying To moc.dna:  "Why are the GAA selling alcohol in the Stadium then if that's not what they are about ?"
That must stop

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 15/09/2019 14:50:48    2235626

drunken hooligans from both counties arrested on the Hill, time to close the bar

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 15/09/2019 15:47:59    2235653

Replying To Joxer:  "Another WUM account. I'll choose Leitrim as my county because it's small and everyone likes Leitrim. Legend."
I would say it's the first time I've been told I am pretending to be from Leitrim because it's likeable!

Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake (Leitrim) - Posts: 48 - 15/09/2019 16:36:59    2235682

Replying To maroondiesel:  "drunken hooligans from both counties arrested on the Hill, time to close the bar"
Think they come into the game fueled up rather than getting drunk at the bar inside.

Auld Dublin lads should have more cop on, they look like idiots but young Kerry lads probably went looking for a clipping too..hard men.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 15/09/2019 16:47:42    2235685

Replying To browncows:  "Sean Cavanagh likes talking about himself and as an analyst I would give him 4/10 on a good day. Why did no analyst pick up the 9/10 steps for the goal which because of the speed could not be seen by the Ref. I though Galvin's description of the incident of the event was very good; 'a hound after a hare with the hare always going to win' a straight run."
Most of the pundits are poor. Theres a host of ex players and managers out there some of them have to be decent. Canavan is excellent in my opinion. Dolan may not be controversial but he is the blandest commentator I've ever heard. How is he still there

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 15/09/2019 18:16:56    2235724

Oisin McConville is the stand out for me.
RTE need him in Dessie's seat next year

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 16/09/2019 09:26:32    2235936

Kind of ironic but Brolly is just what sky needs!!!! although he'll hardly do a judas and join them. RTE will rue the day they gave Brolly gate. the analysis won't be worth watching anymore lol!!!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 16/09/2019 12:02:08    2236027

Replying To theweanling:  "Kind of ironic but Brolly is just what sky needs!!!! although he'll hardly do a judas and join them. RTE will rue the day they gave Brolly gate. the analysis won't be worth watching anymore lol!!!!"
There never was much analysis with Brolly. Hopefully that'll change now he's gone

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 16/09/2019 12:20:05    2236040

Replying To Superglue:  "There never was much analysis with Brolly. Hopefully that'll change now he's gone"
I will concede that I used the word analysis very loosely there. lol

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 16/09/2019 12:36:26    2236051

Loving the people who are saying RTE need him. People will watch the games regardless.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 16/09/2019 12:42:38    2236053

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Loving the people who are saying RTE need him. People will watch the games regardless."
100% correct ... 1.1 million tuned in to watch replay. Good presentation overall.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 16/09/2019 23:32:36    2236420

You'd want to watch BBC NI's coverage of the Ulster championship, best commentators and pundits going.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 17/09/2019 00:32:23    2236433

Replying To Curlew66:  "100% correct ... 1.1 million tuned in to watch replay. Good presentation overall."
Absolutely. Was great to actually hear the analysis without having himself butting in interrupting all the time or muttering away in the background

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 19/09/2019 07:24:07    2237424

You still need a token nordie on the programme though.

If I was RTE I would poach Marty Clarke from BBC.

I think he is very good.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 19/09/2019 09:25:47    2237460

Probably should get another mayo pundit. There isn't enough of them

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 19/09/2019 10:31:11    2237482

Replying To whiterbannnas:  "Probably should get another mayo pundit. There isn't enough of them"
All RTE need is another Mayo pundit to put the tin hat on the thing, take in David Brady.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 23/09/2019 18:02:40    2238607

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "All RTE need is another Mayo pundit to put the tin hat on the thing, take in David Brady."
David Brady be good yeah. Or conor mortimer

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 24/09/2019 08:14:51    2238677

Reading Brolly's latest article today was great. He is going to become the most honest, outspoken GAA writer in the country. I have a feeling the GAA and RTE will live to regret trying to silence him, he won't hold back and newspapers are going to enjoy the sales whilst other media outlet try sticking to the robotic agenda the GAA want to promote.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 03/11/2019 19:11:40    2247476