Joe Brolly Finished With RTE

Replying To carlovia:  "Think its good to get new people in.

Brolly was entertaining up to a few years ago but its the same
comments with him every match no matter whats happening."
Spillane is a lot worse for repeating the same old comments such as at the end of the day, the team with the highest score wins the match and whenever he mentions Sunni and Shia Muslims

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 11/09/2019 15:53:21    2234477

Replying To hopballref:  "All panellists are biased towards their own team. Sure who really cares if they are?
All Kilkenny analysists stood up for Richey Hogan
Pat Spillane only panellist who thought Cooper fully deserved red
In soccer, Neville and Carragher are constantly biased towards their respective teams
Donal Og constantly raving about Cork

The list goes on ..."
Nope if you say "bias" your finished

Carney was crying on Mayo radio for gods sake after they lost and I've no problem with Carney on Rte.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/09/2019 16:16:32    2234486

Replying To tearintom:  "The fact is Brolly as an analyst finished years ago, eons ago.

He basically been using his platform to pursue agendas and games of one upmanship.

Any analyst who actually doesnt analyse games anymore being dropped isnt a loss.

I want somebody analysing the game who can pick up and point out something i may have missed myself during the course of the game, not one who tries to tell you what youve just seen with your own two eyes hasnt really happened just so he can rile up the fella next to him.

No loss."
Watch analysis on sky then, you won't get what you're looking for on RTE with or without brolly

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 11/09/2019 16:17:20    2234487

I think Joe Brolly is a top commentator.

To keep it fresh they need to get away from the same clique and bring in younger lads just recently retired . Guys like Johnny Doyle from Kildare, Ger Brennan, and some recent retirees from around the country.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 11/09/2019 16:26:16    2234492

I genuinely believe what most people didn't like about Brolly was that he was a non Dub, who eulogised about the Dubs
It doesn't suit most people's narratives to have a non Dub be their chief cheerleader
It doesn't sit with their norms
What most people like is to be able to have a cut off a Dublin pundit who got too big for his boots
When that pundit is not a Dub, they don't know how to act

Joe is gone because too many eejits got the hump at a non Dub, championing the Dubs
The same fellas will be sick as parrots on Saturday when we win 5in a row to bloody spite them!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 11/09/2019 16:36:15    2234497

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Harsh on Whelan for me he's one of the best panelists Rte have ok he got it badly wrong the last day but other than that he's very good imo."
Yeah I agree, Whelo is a top pundit and one of my favourites.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 11/09/2019 16:44:52    2234499

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I genuinely believe what most people didn't like about Brolly was that he was a non Dub, who eulogised about the Dubs
It doesn't suit most people's narratives to have a non Dub be their chief cheerleader
It doesn't sit with their norms
What most people like is to be able to have a cut off a Dublin pundit who got too big for his boots
When that pundit is not a Dub, they don't know how to act

Joe is gone because too many eejits got the hump at a non Dub, championing the Dubs
The same fellas will be sick as parrots on Saturday when we win 5in a row to bloody spite them!"
If kerry had won last week brolly would have been a cheerleader for them while calling the dubs bottlers for not doing 5 in a row, he is all over winning teams and treats the previous champions like they have been sh!t all along..its just so long since any1 else has won the all ireland that people forget how he operates

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 11/09/2019 17:03:26    2234504

Not sure if he will be dropped indefinitely but if Joe does return, he needs to allow other people finish their point of view regardless of whether he agrees or not. RTE don't really do analysis during the live games, considering the programme starts 60 minutes before throw in, there is very little factual analysis done before or during the match compared to sky. As a rule I don't think rte should have pundits from competing counties on the panel especially on all Ireland final day, if they can't put their county colours aside. Having said that, there doesn't seem to be bias on sky coverage even though Senan and Kieran are pundits.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 11/09/2019 17:04:44    2234506

Fair play to RTE. His Sindo column last week was cringe. 'I contacted Joe my friend', totally unprofessional for a live Sunday Game pannelist to be having the ear of the ref and getting him to go over his decisions in a match. That column finished him. It was his Maria Bailey interview moment. 'My friend Pat (Spillane)' and all the name dropping.

Another key factor has to be his toxic relationship with Cantwell, it was hard to watch at times.

Conor Moore needs new sketch material :)

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 11/09/2019 17:15:21    2234509

Replying To hopballref:  "All panellists are biased towards their own team. Sure who really cares if they are?
All Kilkenny analysists stood up for Richey Hogan
Pat Spillane only panellist who thought Cooper fully deserved red
In soccer, Neville and Carragher are constantly biased towards their respective teams
Donal Og constantly raving about Cork

The list goes on ..."
Ger Loughnane was never biased when Clare were playing. The opposite actually. Donal Og the same. Brendan Cummins is excellent and in no way biased. Theres 3. More are biased, I would give you that.
Brolly had to go. He was overly aggressive and rude .

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 11/09/2019 17:25:51    2234511

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Harsh on Whelan for me he's one of the best panelists Rte have ok he got it badly wrong the last day but other than that he's very good imo."
Don't know what Whelan was giving out about until I realized the Dublin players are not usually put off, himself included. John Brannon must have been afraid of him.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 11/09/2019 17:55:26    2234519

I will not miss him.

I never understood the Joe Brolly being "box office" (i'm cringing typing that phrase) description.

He's an average GAA pundit, with a bit of a colourful turn of phrase and with a sense that he's got free license to say whatever comes into his head.

He's hijacked so many conversations at times to discuss whatever it is that's of interest to him.

He goes off at all sorts of tangents. I think he views himself as some sort of saviour of the Association, he's more interested in the workings of the upper offices of the sport than he is in the games himself.

I actually just think he's not that good of a pundit either. I never feel he's said something new or enlightened.

I think it's funny how after the Mayo Dublin semi final we was praising himself for calling their kick outs, the weak link. At halftime of that game he was specifically questioning the short kickout strategy. Mayo in the second half got cleared out in midfield as they went long which was actually what Brolly was advocating they do.

His relationship with Joanne is toxic, and although the hurling coverage is far from perfect at least there is some flow to what they're doing. That has me thinking it's less Joanne's fault than Brolly's.

I'm glad to see the back of him.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 11/09/2019 18:23:44    2234522

Replying To Crinigan:  "He admitted he is biased. He is finished. Or at least he should be if RTE Sport have any integrity."
Totally agree, and if blatant bias is sufficient for discontinuation of services, perhaps they should have a look at some of the hurling panelists, particularly certain former kings.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 11/09/2019 18:24:29    2234523

Love him or hate him it's going to be a lot less entertaining without Joe.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/09/2019 20:35:16    2234565

Freedom of speech the world over was brought into question when political correctness was brought into play, it may even have had an impact on Joe Brolly's exit.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 11/09/2019 20:48:55    2234570

Joe all day long. We need emotion, we need arguments, we need controversy. It's good viewing and let's face it, RTE need the advertisement cash. I just don't see Rochford having a shouting match with Spillane and I certainly don't see him getting emotional over an Tyrone player's rugby tackle. Give it a year and everyone, RTE included, will be calling for his return. Name your price Joe!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/09/2019 20:52:54    2234571

Without trying to be sexist I think Joe is a man's GAA man and likes to get earthy and baseline in his talk and discussions on the Sunday Game. It went well when Michael Lyster was in the chair but in my opinion, the appointment of Joanne Cantwell has a touch of political correctness about it and Joe didn't seem comfortable with the way the programme was going. There seemed to be a policy of 'Get Brolly' within the new Sunday Game. Brolly is a weather vane, he goes whatever way the wind blows and he was far too personal with his criticism of players BUT there's no doubt he was entertaining

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 11/09/2019 21:06:44    2234575

Where's the agenda thread gone?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 11/09/2019 21:49:29    2234587

Replying To Joxer:  "Joe all day long. We need emotion, we need arguments, we need controversy. It's good viewing and let's face it, RTE need the advertisement cash. I just don't see Rochford having a shouting match with Spillane and I certainly don't see him getting emotional over an Tyrone player's rugby tackle. Give it a year and everyone, RTE included, will be calling for his return. Name your price Joe!"
Is it good viewing? I certainly don't think it is. It's getting really really old at this stage and the SKY coverage is making absolute fools of them.

The place for emotion and heated discussion / arguments is the pub after the game or on message boards like this. I have zero interest in watching Brolly, Spillane and the others bickering over their opinions. The H/T analysis of the final was a new low and they had to do something.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 11/09/2019 22:05:16    2234595

Replying To realdub:  "Where's the agenda thread gone?"
Now a hidden agenda thread.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 11/09/2019 22:06:40    2234596