Dublin Vs Kerry Replay

Replying To TheUsername:  "Dont worry about it Pal. myself and most of the forum realised that he was a troll about a year ago and essentially no one on the main forum responds to him or gives him oxygen. He gets lonely and tries to quote my posts, throw out insults hoping to bait, wishing i will reply. I feel for him a bit, its sad. ;)"
You must have been fair disappointed Sean O'Se wasn't put into hospital last Sunday given his performance!

P.S. Was it around the time your arguments about financing were being shot to pieces that you conveniently decided to dismiss me as a troll?

I also see Jason Sherlock was still on the sideline on Sunday too, I thought you told this forum you knew it was a fact that he had walked away there last January?

The biggest spoofer on Hogan Stand.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/09/2019 14:27:29    2233044

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Big difference between what most GAA fans would call a blanket defence and what Kerry did the last day though would you not agree? Not trying to be pedantic but your post had more than a hint of smugness about it.

Dublin were motoring nicely before the sending off but Kerry had left 2-3 or 2-4 on the table at that stage with some very disappointing misses. They weren't low percentage misses either as you are suggesting, a penalty, a shot from inside the area cleared off the line and several point attempts from in and around the D that were going over in previous games. The scoreboard didn't tell the full story of the half and who knows what happens if the sending off didn't occur. Most people would assume Dublin continues their purple patch and closes out a comprehensive victory but we don't know for sure.

As for Byrne dropping the ball, many scores have an element of luck or a mistake in them. It's not like he dropped it in the square, Spillane had quite a bit to do when he picked that ball up.

TW was left free at times towards the end when Dublin had no choice but to go for broke because they were about to be beaten but I'm not buying that that it is a routine or systematic thing. If they were 2-3 points up there is simply no way that happens because it's just too risky. They went for it and fair play it worked, their experience and know how was huge in those closing stages, as was their incredible conditioning. And yes it was backs to the wall for Kerry in added time.

It should be noted that Kerry took huge risks too, particularly on Dublin restarts and got caught for 1-2 from it in the first half."
Gerry I'm glad that you're starting to see the side of this guy that we have been able to see for a long time.

All his vailed insults and snide remarks, I'd have away more time for the likes of jimbo and Liam who just come out and say what they meant rather than tip toe around it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/09/2019 14:44:48    2233053

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Aren't Cork the allireland minor and U21 champions this year? So you can't say that."
It's convenient to mention this year and they have some really handy footballers who may well swell the ranks in the senior teams to challenge the dominance of Kerry in Munster.
Cork are the only real hope of an upset in the province but one AI in 30 years doesn't bode well. They are constantly competing with the hurlers which is the bigger sport down there and in the province in general.
Previous to this year , no minor in nearly 20 years. No, there is only one code in Munster in the main and it ain't football and never has been.
The Kerry hive have seen to that and it won't change anytime soon.

Up the Dubs !

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/09/2019 14:53:50    2233056

Can we get back to talking about the replay?

These sadsack grudge posts are excruciatingly cringe to read.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 05/09/2019 14:56:09    2233058

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Gerry I'm glad that you're starting to see the side of this guy that we have been able to see for a long time.

All his vailed insults and snide remarks, I'd have away more time for the likes of jimbo and Liam who just come out and say what they meant rather than tip toe around it."
Ah whenever Hermit shows up Kingdomboy is never far behind.....odd. Where is legend these days lads?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 05/09/2019 15:02:21    2233061

Replying To lilylanger:  "Ah whenever Hermit shows up Kingdomboy is never far behind.....odd. Where is legend these days lads?"
Yep the entire Kerry forum is just one Kerry lad talking to himself...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/09/2019 15:27:05    2233068

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yep the entire Kerry forum is just one Kerry lad talking to himself..."
Not all. Definitely some.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 05/09/2019 15:38:11    2233071

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "It's convenient to mention this year and they have some really handy footballers who may well swell the ranks in the senior teams to challenge the dominance of Kerry in Munster.
Cork are the only real hope of an upset in the province but one AI in 30 years doesn't bode well. They are constantly competing with the hurlers which is the bigger sport down there and in the province in general.
Previous to this year , no minor in nearly 20 years. No, there is only one code in Munster in the main and it ain't football and never has been.
The Kerry hive have seen to that and it won't change anytime soon.

Up the Dubs !"
I'd say what you know about Munster football wouldn't fill a timble.
So stick to talking about what's within the M50 and don't be showing yourself up.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/09/2019 15:43:41    2233072

Replying To Breffni39:  "Can we get back to talking about the replay?

These sadsack grudge posts are excruciatingly cringe to read."
I doubt Gavin will make widespread changes but a couple of things got exposed last day on the Dublin side.
If you get the ball in behind their midfield quickly, there is a ton of space to be exploited. Cian O'Sullivans absence was really felt for Dublin the last day. Rarely do you see them with such big gaps. That being said, not every team has forwards the calibre of Kerry to exploit it.
With that in mind, I'd expect Dublin to drop a sweeper in there next day with a couple of changes. I think Kerry will go with the same starting 15, leaving Geaney and Clifford up front on their own and keep Walsh and Spillane ready to come off the bench to switch it up. In that scenario, if it were up to me I'd switch Mick Fitzsimons onto Clifford, Cooper to go on Geaney.
Sean O'Shea ran riot last day so I think Gavin needs to have a plan for him next time out. Eoin Murchan would be a good partner for him so I'd swap him in for Davy Byrne.
I don't see Dublin tinkering with midfield too much, no better man than Fenton to figure his own way out if the game starts going away from him like the last day.
Scully could also make way although I don't see it happening. He's been a regular in Gavins team but I can't remember him picking the ball up much, laying off passes or picking up any one of the Kerry half forwards or half backs in particular. Dublin need more point takers on the field next day and keep the Kerry backs guessing.

I do think certain things will go the opposite way for Kerry next day out such as Clifford and Geaney taking much more of their chances when they're offered to them. The Kerry game plan worked a treat for most of the game but I think Gavin will be better prepared next day out. He was very slow to make changes the last day, I don't expect him to make the same mistake. I think the game will be much more stop start with Conor Lane reffing this one, with that in mind, certain players on both sides will need to watch themselves more.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 05/09/2019 15:56:19    2233076

The momentum is with Kerry. Bring Tom Welsh in at half time and will cause havoc in the dubs FB line.

kerryforsam19 (Kerry) - Posts: 95 - 05/09/2019 16:07:58    2233083

Replying To TheHermit:  "I'd say what you know about Munster football wouldn't fill a timble.
So stick to talking about what's within the M50 and don't be showing yourself up."
Ah look, that's more like it now.
Fallback position ,comical Ali on the defensive again.
And what you know about real Munster hurling is even less I'd say.
Keep on telling everyone who'll listen that ye have a great love of the game of football and would like to see a strong Cork and all that stuff.
Maybe someone will swallow it.
Enjoy the replay now and don't be getting yourself in a twist.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/09/2019 16:10:26    2233085

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Ah look, that's more like it now.
Fallback position ,comical Ali on the defensive again.
And what you know about real Munster hurling is even less I'd say.
Keep on telling everyone who'll listen that ye have a great love of the game of football and would like to see a strong Cork and all that stuff.
Maybe someone will swallow it.
Enjoy the replay now and don't be getting yourself in a twist."
I'm from a club called Crotta and around my place we'd know plenty about hurling boyo!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/09/2019 16:55:51    2233099

Replying To TheHermit:  "I'm from a club called Crotta and around my place we'd know plenty about hurling boyo!"
That's grand. Plenty of good football people in other counties in Munster but they are always going to be under pressure from the dominant sport in the county , hurling.
That's always been the case. The odd Minor and underage title as mentioned are absolutely no guarantee of senior success and I wouldn't say there's too much concern in Kerry circles about the future of football in Munster as long as ye are winning.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/09/2019 17:54:00    2233112

Replying To kerryforsam19:  "The momentum is with Kerry. Bring Tom Welsh in at half time and will cause havoc in the dubs FB line."
Start Tommy Walsh Id say...then the dubs will need James Mccarthy at full back, centre back and midfield!! Without McMahon an cian o sull starting da dubs don't look comfortable at the back...we need to make hay!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 05/09/2019 21:37:45    2233151

Replying To blacknamber:  "Start Tommy Walsh Id say...then the dubs will need James Mccarthy at full back, centre back and midfield!! Without McMahon an cian o sull starting da dubs don't look comfortable at the back...we need to make hay!"
The genius tacticians are all out today I see.
By the way, who is Tom Welsh ?
Is he the barman in The Greyhound ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 06/09/2019 08:47:43    2233207

Replying To catch22:  "The genius tacticians are all out today I see.
By the way, who is Tom Welsh ?
Is he the barman in The Greyhound ?"
What do you think Kerry should do tactically the next?

Why don't you enlighten us all with you footballing wisdom.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/09/2019 10:10:17    2233235

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You're probably right 87 . it was a free shot what ever happened, if I was him I'd have gone off the hands but rock had a great game and I'm sure he'll make up for it the next day.

As for Tommy going lifting Moran I don't know if it's legal or not, could anyone tell us if they know?"
He was at a hiding to nothing on it, because if he took it out of his hands which was equally difficult and missed he would have been criticised for not kicking it off the ground.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 06/09/2019 12:19:39    2233264

Replying To Killarney.87:  "He was at a hiding to nothing on it, because if he took it out of his hands which was equally difficult and missed he would have been criticised for not kicking it off the ground."
Exactly 87. But look both teams get another go again the next day, there is nothing won or lost yet.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/09/2019 14:25:52    2233314

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What do you think Kerry should do tactically the next?

Why don't you enlighten us all with you footballing wisdom."
Look where his Location is... hardly going to take advice on how Kerry will win the replay from him!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 06/09/2019 15:42:59    2233331

One area Kerry will look to improve is on managing their energy levels, they looked gased in the last 10 mins and it showed in their general play, this was after running their bench, while also keeping in mind that Dublin played over 50% of the game with one less man. To be fair Dublin brought on young legs in Small, Costello and Murch.

Was that a psychological thing or a conditioning piece, maybe a combination of both?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/09/2019 11:57:24    2233529