Dublin Vs Kerry Replay

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "All kickouts should have to go beyond the 45 meter line and kick outs taken from the small square as well.

Once you go past the opposing 65 the attacking team can't take the ball back outside it.

Then again the reffs can't even count 4 steps these days so how would those rules be enforced ."
Agreed Gough and Lane seem to have a problem counting steps.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 15/09/2019 16:53:32    2235688

Replying To Joxer:  "Well I guess you will have to let us know who you think is the greatest FOOTball team of all time if not this 5 in a row winning Dublin team famed for their positive brand of football and only defeated in 1 championship game since 2014. The Connolly pass was exquisite but very high risk. He gave the ball away 3 times trying Hollywood passes when Dublin needed to obtain possession. He gave it aeay twice more with intercepted hand-passes. He was desperate to light the stage up but a dodgy performance from him IMO. Mannion, Con, Kilkenny were the star forwards yesterday."
Joxer I did say accurately perfected and also high risk. However these players are enterainers and the best way to preserve the game is to do that. Connolly's pass was exquisite albeit he was not on the field all the time or all year at this level. The biggest mistake was not Connolly's or boot contact but a hand by Moran. What if he or anyone else could produce that type pass 90% of the time? Do you think our game would be more enjoyable ?
Some how you think I am anti Dublin when in fact I was supporting them. I acknowledge the achievement and believe they have entertained by far the best in recent years.. The best GAELIC FOOTBALL team ever is very much subjective and would've many contributing factors. Achievement, opponents, style and time in history, Many poster I assume would not have the longevity to compare back as far as I can. So not fair to pull them in to such a complete discussion. That is why I said this team " maybe" not the greatest. Myself would have a problem towards deciding between the 70's Dublin and Kerry teams. Kerry achieved more but I would have leaned more towards Dublin. Then I also had the privilege of watching O'Connell and O'Dwyer team of the 60's.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 15/09/2019 18:09:54    2235718

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "All kickouts should have to go beyond the 45 meter line and kick outs taken from the small square as well.

Once you go past the opposing 65 the attacking team can't take the ball back outside it.

Then again the reffs can't even count 4 steps these days so how would those rules be enforced ."
I was thinking along those lines. The ball having to go forward outside the 45meter line. Sometimes the forward has to play back when in too far and the back needs to play back when tackled. This would be easy enough to do with the lines men playing a role.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 15/09/2019 18:16:44    2235722

Replying To Joxer:  "Well I guess you will have to let us know who you think is the greatest FOOTball team of all time if not this 5 in a row winning Dublin team famed for their positive brand of football and only defeated in 1 championship game since 2014. The Connolly pass was exquisite but very high risk. He gave the ball away 3 times trying Hollywood passes when Dublin needed to obtain possession. He gave it aeay twice more with intercepted hand-passes. He was desperate to light the stage up but a dodgy performance from him IMO. Mannion, Con, Kilkenny were the star forwards yesterday."
Which Dublin team, in your opinion Joxer, is the better one, - Dudlin 2015 or Dublin 2019?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 15/09/2019 18:30:21    2235731

Replying To avonali:  "
Replying To BliainanÁir:  "[quote=avonali:  "[quote=BliainanÁir:  "[quote=Fionn:  "A bit of help from the ref in the 1st half... Under statement of the century

We couldnt buy a free in that 1st half."
Ye couldn't 'buy' a free. Just burst out laughing at that. The irony, when ye can buy most other things in GAA."
NIce to see the Queen's County troll still going about his business."]And you bit as usual Avon ;) The fella trying a dig on Queen's county with the anglicised name. More irony!"]ha. No avonali is Ila Nova backwards. It's not an Anglicised version of Abhainn. Silly boy."]Don't berate yourself. You're not silly.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 15/09/2019 18:48:34    2235736

Hats off, well done, we could have pipped ye on the first day, but ye rode it out and adapted for the replay, our element of surprise as gone.

Congrats ye got the crucial score at the the crucial time, just when we had drawn level and I expect that green flag undid the team talk at HT from our side, we were chasing after that and realistically I knew the game was up.

Better team won but we are a coming force. We won't be far off again next year we building in the right direction and the foundations poured this year will be built on next year. But for now congratulations

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 15/09/2019 18:59:08    2235741

Spot on Joxer.Connolly was a liability for Dublin in the second half yesterday.In a tighter finish,he would have cost them.Gavin clearly has a lot of faith in him though.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 15/09/2019 19:02:00    2235742

Replying To endgame:  "Spot on Joxer.Connolly was a liability for Dublin in the second half yesterday.In a tighter finish,he would have cost them.Gavin clearly has a lot of faith in him though."
Never said Connolly had a good game. Picked out one pass that the game would do well to see more of. I guess as long as the game is about possession as opposed to free scoring we will get what we are getting. Soccer style like watching paint dry. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. Personally I prefer gaelic football. We will never go backwards and I don't expect that but we could going forward introduce FOOTball again. I am sure there are stats as to how often the ball is kicked. Would it be 70% hand passed 30% kicked ?

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 15/09/2019 19:33:09    2235752

Fair play Joxer I didn't bother commenting in case my head was bitten by the same lads during the week when I questioned was he up to speed? He certainly wasn't. The lads you mentioned were class but I thought Howard was the man who drove the second half when the game was still alive.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 15/09/2019 19:36:19    2235753

Replying To endgame:  "Spot on Joxer.Connolly was a liability for Dublin in the second half yesterday.In a tighter finish,he would have cost them.Gavin clearly has a lot of faith in him though."
Connolly rusty alright

He was also directly involved in 3pts for Dublin

Turned over a ball when Kerry got it back to a pt, Kerry won Dublins kickout, Kerry had momentum, great challenge from Connolly using his body, turned it over, ball popped up, got it into his hands, looked up for a fabulous long ball into kilkennys chest, turned and over.

All at a crucial time.. no other Dub player could have done it.

He should have passed the ball to Con near the end for a tap in and a 9pt win

He needs more time. Still has a huge amount to offer in 2020 but has shown glimpses of his magic.

As a fan it meant more to have him involved in the 5 and it's made it all the better for me personally

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/09/2019 19:36:54    2235754

While the first half was exciting enough last night, the second half descended into a turgid affair...both teams pulling 13 and 14 players behind the ball...and Dublin when in possession going through robotic manoeuvres....absolutely disgraceful scenes in the Hill but am not surprised...if this was a northern county it would be all over rte by now but of course we can't dent our national broadcaster's love in with Kerry and Dublin, can we.

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 15/09/2019 19:45:43    2235757

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Fair play Joxer I didn't bother commenting in case my head was bitten by the same lads during the week when I questioned was he up to speed? He certainly wasn't. The lads you mentioned were class but I thought Howard was the man who drove the second half when the game was still alive."
Well lad I call it as I see it. DC is a fantastic player but he was clearly match rusty yesterday. An unbelievable pass to Kilkenny for a point, a fantastic fisted offload to put Scully in on Ryan only for him to blast over and a couple of nice turnovers was probably the sum of his contribution yesterday but we didn't need him in the end, the other lads put on an unbelievable exhibition of scoring. When is the last time a team in an AI final was not awarded a single kickable free in a match. Just is well our forwards were firing.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/09/2019 20:06:51    2235765

Replying To neverright:  "Which Dublin team, in your opinion Joxer, is the better one, - Dudlin 2015 or Dublin 2019?"
2019. I think the perfect blend of experience and youth is in the 2019 team. Con, Brian Howard, Murch have really added a new dimension to the side. Clucko has been unreal this year and Rock has been like William Tell with his frees. All round package is better IMO.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/09/2019 20:10:47    2235767

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "While the first half was exciting enough last night, the second half descended into a turgid affair...both teams pulling 13 and 14 players behind the ball...and Dublin when in possession going through robotic manoeuvres....absolutely disgraceful scenes in the Hill but am not surprised...if this was a northern county it would be all over rte by now but of course we can't dent our national broadcaster's love in with Kerry and Dublin, can we."
You should not post about something you know nothing about.
I was close by and it was all started by those Kerry lads. They were are it from the start and on the way out they lost the plot.
Dublin fans went down to stewards and Garda a few times to complain about them and nothing was done. So the next time you want to throw dirt make sure you know what you are talking about please. Not sure my post will get posted but Dubs on the hill know exactly what happened. Why the hell do do think Kerry fans have not gone into overdrive about it......!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 15/09/2019 20:13:04    2235769

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "While the first half was exciting enough last night, the second half descended into a turgid affair...both teams pulling 13 and 14 players behind the ball...and Dublin when in possession going through robotic manoeuvres....absolutely disgraceful scenes in the Hill but am not surprised...if this was a northern county it would be all over rte by now but of course we can't dent our national broadcaster's love in with Kerry and Dublin, can we."
100% correct!

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 15/09/2019 20:19:55    2235771

Tough time sitting through the last 5 minutes. great effort from the lads gave their all and will keep on improving. Well done Dublin truly great team and great achievement wouldn't pick a player out for them as there was no weak link solid performances everywhere. Can't fault any of our lads effort either

reithi (Kerry) - Posts: 52 - 15/09/2019 20:31:53    2235774

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Hats off, well done, we could have pipped ye on the first day, but ye rode it out and adapted for the replay, our element of surprise as gone.

Congrats ye got the crucial score at the the crucial time, just when we had drawn level and I expect that green flag undid the team talk at HT from our side, we were chasing after that and realistically I knew the game was up.

Better team won but we are a coming force. We won't be far off again next year we building in the right direction and the foundations poured this year will be built on next year. But for now congratulations"
That's fair chief. You will be serious opposition in the coming years that's obvious. Just delighted to do what some great sides couldn't and for now that's enough. We're not settling for second anytime soon though.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/09/2019 20:44:27    2235779

Replying To reithi:  "Tough time sitting through the last 5 minutes. great effort from the lads gave their all and will keep on improving. Well done Dublin truly great team and great achievement wouldn't pick a player out for them as there was no weak link solid performances everywhere. Can't fault any of our lads effort either"
Fair play.
Honest and unbiased post.

You have a great team also and we are sure to meet plenty of times in the future.
Definite All ireland in that Kerry team.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 15/09/2019 20:48:14    2235782

Replying To reithi:  "Tough time sitting through the last 5 minutes. great effort from the lads gave their all and will keep on improving. Well done Dublin truly great team and great achievement wouldn't pick a player out for them as there was no weak link solid performances everywhere. Can't fault any of our lads effort either"
Fair play.
Honest and unbiased post.

You have a great team also and we are sure to meet plenty of times in the future.
Definite All ireland in that Kerry team.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 15/09/2019 20:48:33    2235783

Replying To Joxer:  "2019. I think the perfect blend of experience and youth is in the 2019 team. Con, Brian Howard, Murch have really added a new dimension to the side. Clucko has been unreal this year and Rock has been like William Tell with his frees. All round package is better IMO."
would agree fully.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 15/09/2019 22:57:00    2235865