Dublin Vs Kerry Replay

Replying To TheFlaker:  "The way people get worked up about Connolly is hilarious. Serious fanboy stuff. As I have said a tonne of times, a superb talent and brilliant athlete. But has played very little top class football last couple of years. And 100 percent noses are out of joint in the panel. Saying otherwise is nonsense.

Connolly had an excellent cameo v Mayo in 17 but hasn't got a great record on the big days. If people are fair in the way the analyse other players on here they will look to his record in finals which is poor. Some people actually think he is the best player ever to play for Dublin. How can you even have a reasoned debate with these people?"
Now that is hilarious. He's back and he's training. All you need to do is watch the man play football, I agree probably not Dublins best ever but an amazing player which youd be lucky to have in an all ireland final wether the year is 2014 2017 or 2019

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 11/09/2019 11:35:43    2234358

Replying To TheFlaker:  "The way people get worked up about Connolly is hilarious. Serious fanboy stuff. As I have said a tonne of times, a superb talent and brilliant athlete. But has played very little top class football last couple of years. And 100 percent noses are out of joint in the panel. Saying otherwise is nonsense.

Connolly had an excellent cameo v Mayo in 17 but hasn't got a great record on the big days. If people are fair in the way the analyse other players on here they will look to his record in finals which is poor. Some people actually think he is the best player ever to play for Dublin. How can you even have a reasoned debate with these people?"
Give over , Connolly is class end of.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/09/2019 12:07:15    2234367

Replying To boman11:  "Now that is hilarious. He's back and he's training. All you need to do is watch the man play football, I agree probably not Dublins best ever but an amazing player which youd be lucky to have in an all ireland final wether the year is 2014 2017 or 2019"
Which part is hilarious? Remember I am not disputing his talent. A lot of the Dubs say best ever, plenty on here. So that is the yardstick I judge him with.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 11/09/2019 12:15:18    2234374

Kerry will play better on Sunday against 15 i love
the excuse if Dublin had 15 they would have won
Kerry forwards had 3 goal chance when Dubs had
there full team , Kerry will finish them off on Sunday

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 11/09/2019 12:15:20    2234375

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Which part is hilarious? Remember I am not disputing his talent. A lot of the Dubs say best ever, plenty on here. So that is the yardstick I judge him with."
suggesting that it is fanboy stuff to be on the Connolly bandwagon, he makes the game look so simple. Fair enough the last couple of years hes been inactive we shall say but up until his departure he has been and still is one of the very elites

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 11/09/2019 13:18:42    2234396

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Seen it myself , for posters who haven't theres a picture of this Sunday's Dublin team in the match program with Connolly selected at 7 not sure if it's for real but if it is It would mean Small is out through a hand injury I presume."
Who are Dublin playing Sunday

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 11/09/2019 13:22:18    2234398

Replying To RAHKILL:  "Who are Dublin playing Sunday"
Lol.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/09/2019 13:51:14    2234410

Replying To wfkerry:  "Kerry will play better on Sunday against 15 i love
there full team , Kerry will finish them off on Sunday"
Maybe maybe not !! it's very cocky you are ,but sure hopefully there is one last huge effort in this ageing Dublin team and we can take down the mighty Kingdom. COYBIB...

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/09/2019 14:14:30    2234417

Can we all agree on one thing so lads

For all the talk all summer that "GAA is dead" that the Dubs juggernaut was a financially doped wrecking ball destroying the sport we all love and the end was nigh, waa waa waa waa

Now that so many have seen enough evidence to say that the Dubs are NOT as invincible as they thought, that there IS life in the championship and that so many think Kerry will BEAT Dublin on Saturday, can we all agree......ye were all talking nonsense, and the championship is actually NOT as dead in water as all ye bellyachers would have had us believe all summer !!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 11/09/2019 14:28:37    2234429

Nah. The match is on Saturday.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 11/09/2019 14:31:12    2234435

Replying To boman11:  "suggesting that it is fanboy stuff to be on the Connolly bandwagon, he makes the game look so simple. Fair enough the last couple of years hes been inactive we shall say but up until his departure he has been and still is one of the very elites"
Still is? Based on what? And calling him the GOAT as people do on here. That is fanboy stuff. How many times do I have to say he can be recognised as a class act but he has to be judged on his influence on the biggest days. That record is not great.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 11/09/2019 14:40:25    2234449

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Which part is hilarious? Remember I am not disputing his talent. A lot of the Dubs say best ever, plenty on here. So that is the yardstick I judge him with."
Dubs don't anoint their players with the "best ever" tag lightly. I'm guessing that Dublin fans who have watched DC in the flesh for over a decade and he starring for club, college and county are probably better placed than yourself in ranking him amongst other Dublin greats of old. Would you not agree?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/09/2019 14:53:58    2234453

Replying To Joxer:  "Dubs don't anoint their players with the "best ever" tag lightly. I'm guessing that Dublin fans who have watched DC in the flesh for over a decade and he starring for club, college and county are probably better placed than yourself in ranking him amongst other Dublin greats of old. Would you not agree?"
Obviously you are one of those. Bringing college and club into it is clutching at straws. I have said he is outstanding, to call him the best ever is laughable stuff. Even this decade he wasn't anywhere near the most important Dublin player. Brilliant as he was.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 11/09/2019 15:03:23    2234458

Nah you're mixing the match up with the ploughing championships. Match is Sat, Ploughing Championships is Sun. You won't find any Dubs at the Ploughing Championships, so your lads will be wasting their time trying to finish the Dubs off there. On the plus side I hear that Clifford is good at welly tossing so he might win himself a cuddly toy at the ploughing, the only thing he will win this weekend ;)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/09/2019 15:07:20    2234461

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Can we all agree on one thing so lads

For all the talk all summer that "GAA is dead" that the Dubs juggernaut was a financially doped wrecking ball destroying the sport we all love and the end was nigh, waa waa waa waa

Now that so many have seen enough evidence to say that the Dubs are NOT as invincible as they thought, that there IS life in the championship and that so many think Kerry will BEAT Dublin on Saturday, can we all agree......ye were all talking nonsense, and the championship is actually NOT as dead in water as all ye bellyachers would have had us believe all summer !!!"
Here here.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/09/2019 15:07:53    2234462

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Obviously you are one of those. Bringing college and club into it is clutching at straws. I have said he is outstanding, to call him the best ever is laughable stuff. Even this decade he wasn't anywhere near the most important Dublin player. Brilliant as he was."
No I'm not "one of those" actually. Anyway, perhaps you could answer my question?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/09/2019 15:08:29    2234463

Replying To Joxer:  "No I'm not "one of those" actually. Anyway, perhaps you could answer my question?"
I already did or perhaps you missed my comment on club and college. The criteria for Mayo players and other counties is All Ireland final day, if we are being consistent.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 11/09/2019 15:15:57    2234468

Flaker,

I think you are mixing up Dublins "best player" with our most important player
Now, I personally think Cluxton is both the best and most important ever, I have never seen his equal. For me, Cluxton is THE Hero of the current era of Dubs football

But........
I can see why some are saying Connolly is the best. I don't think anyone is saying he has been the most important though, have they?
DC can do things no other Dublin footballer can do. He has 2 wands of feet. He is only comparable in my lifetime to Maurice Fitz and Ciaran McDonald. Curiosly, like DC, neither of those 2 lads were consistent starters for their counties in their primes either.
There seems to be something about maverick geniuses in gaelic football, that people don't trust them the same way they will trust a Johnny Crowley or an Andy Moran. Mavericks like Fitzgerald, McDonald and Connolly are very very rare and many GAA managers just don't know how to handle them.

I have seen Connolly do things with a ball that you had to be in the stadium to appreciate it. I remember a Leinster final V Tom Cribbins Westmeath a few years back, he pinged a pass with the outside of his boot fully 60 yards into Alan Brogan's chest. To watch it on tele it looked good, to see it in person, from behind with the curve...there were people from both counties around us just gasping at it.
The point he kicked V Kerry to win the game a few years back off his left, full throttle on the run from in front of the hoganstand was outrageous.
You could say Bernard has been more consistent, he has
You could say Alan contributed more, he did
You could say Paul Flynn left more out there, he did
But you could NOT say, any of them were better footballers than Connolly.......

They weren't

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 11/09/2019 15:52:10    2234476

I heard a siren from the docks
Saw a train set the night on fire
I smelled the spring on the smoky wind
Dirty old town

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/09/2019 16:08:10    2234482

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Flaker,

I think you are mixing up Dublins "best player" with our most important player
Now, I personally think Cluxton is both the best and most important ever, I have never seen his equal. For me, Cluxton is THE Hero of the current era of Dubs football

But........
I can see why some are saying Connolly is the best. I don't think anyone is saying he has been the most important though, have they?
DC can do things no other Dublin footballer can do. He has 2 wands of feet. He is only comparable in my lifetime to Maurice Fitz and Ciaran McDonald. Curiosly, like DC, neither of those 2 lads were consistent starters for their counties in their primes either.
There seems to be something about maverick geniuses in gaelic football, that people don't trust them the same way they will trust a Johnny Crowley or an Andy Moran. Mavericks like Fitzgerald, McDonald and Connolly are very very rare and many GAA managers just don't know how to handle them.

I have seen Connolly do things with a ball that you had to be in the stadium to appreciate it. I remember a Leinster final V Tom Cribbins Westmeath a few years back, he pinged a pass with the outside of his boot fully 60 yards into Alan Brogan's chest. To watch it on tele it looked good, to see it in person, from behind with the curve...there were people from both counties around us just gasping at it.
The point he kicked V Kerry to win the game a few years back off his left, full throttle on the run from in front of the hoganstand was outrageous.
You could say Bernard has been more consistent, he has
You could say Alan contributed more, he did
You could say Paul Flynn left more out there, he did
But you could NOT say, any of them were better footballers than Connolly.......

They weren't"
Some fair points there. As I said he has the same magic McDonald had but he is a better athlete. However people on here have called him the GOAT and more importantly have overstated his role in big games. And that is the point of my whole argument . It's 2019 and posters are telling me he should be starting as he is still the best footballer in the country. I have seen Connolly at full flow in person, and in club games as well. I have seen McDonald dominate a club final just like Connolly. But that is not the debate I am having. I am speaking in the now and how it might effect morale. Anyone saying it is a questionable decision is not being fair.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 11/09/2019 17:09:01    2234507