How do you see it going in 2 weeks lads? Back to 15 on 15 so Dublin will surely be hot favourites. Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/09/2019 19:45:07 2231466 Link 5 |
Not hot favourites. This is a good Kerry team with a good manager. The Dubs are a team in decline imho. But that said if Dubs keep 15 men on field, surely they should be favourites. galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2625 - 01/09/2019 20:44:09 2231507 Link 0 |
No evidence whatsoever that Dublin are in decline.They only won the 2016( after a replay) and 2017 Finals by a point.They played 44 minutes today down a player.That's a huge disadvantage in the modern game where so much depends on movement and athleticism.I think it was there for Kerry in the last 10 minutes.If Kerry had pushed on after taking the lead and with the extra man,I think they'd have won.Jim Gavin has plenty to think about ahead of the replay(particularly his defence) but I still think Dublin will win the next day.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2504 - 01/09/2019 20:57:26 2231522 Link 2 |
Dublin should win. Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4593 - 01/09/2019 21:23:58 2231539 Link 7 |
I thought Gavin was poor on the line today, he should have switched Johnny Cooper after the peno and yellow card, Dublin are favs in my book for the replay but they will be longer odds than today, you'd have to fancy Dublin to win it but it's Kerry and they have serious talent in that team, should be another cracker, can't wait. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3310 - 01/09/2019 21:39:36 2231553 Link 0 |
It will be interesting to see what, if any, changes are made by both managers and also to see what changes to 'match-ups' will be made. Some of the Kerry subs made big impressions when introduced today and could be pushing for starts the next day. Kerry failed to get O'Brien into the game to much effect today while Dublin's choice of marker for Clifford did not pay off. Dublin will hope to have McCaffrey flying again the next day whilst Kerry will have to look at ways to stop him from racing through so easily. Lots for managements to mull over neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 01/09/2019 21:41:51 2231554 Link 0 |
Want Kerry to win but think they've missed the boat today bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 01/09/2019 21:48:42 2231560 Link 3 |
I'd be almost certain he was going to sub him at half time. He'll be raging Cooper couldn't hold onto half time without getting sent off.
Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/09/2019 22:32:30 2231584 Link 5 |
I can't see Dublin playing that poorly the next day. They will have seen Clifford up close today and will have a plan. Dublin are very reliant on 3 forwards for firepower and if they don't play the scores dry up. Howard, Scully and Kilkenny are playmakers and disrupters but not scorers. We could see DC in for Scully to add some threat up there. McCarthy may start in the middle with Cian taking the CHB slot. Philly may start in the FB line. I expect a different Dublin performance the next day with a lot more physicality and urgency. Gavin will have a plan. Dubs by 3. Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 01/09/2019 22:54:24 2231606 Link 5 |
Is fatigue leading to more Dublin injuries? Are players getting older and starting to look at other things in life which is having an effect on the committment? Dublin are going a very long time and I've never taken to the argument money put them where they are. The more senior players are still critical to this team and I believe the nucleus of this team are a a very special group of players. Brogan, McMahon, Connolly, Cooper, Cluxton (Is it too much a risk to take him out the field for frees now?) where the main part of this period of dominance. My take on it is Dublin privately discussed 5 in a row a good few years back and it's what this team has always been driving for - I reckon Dublin will be very vulnerable in 2020. Today showed very early signs of the difficulty Dublin may face when a new young team come on the block. To me Dublin will learn from today; but I expect Kerry to be even stronger the next day; they're a serious team with a serious manager. Kerry have a panel as I think Dublin are down to barebones with limited options to geniunely change a game. Kerry's bench was unreal today and this will be the same in the replay. After watching the highlights again I tipped Kerry before today and I reckon Kerry will go on to win this All Ireland. sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 01/09/2019 23:11:59 2231612 Link 2 |
A lot of play is made of the Yerrah culture. I got up this morning and put £10 on Kerry at 9/2. Why? Because I knew Sam right well we were better than a ten point drubbing from a team that is seldom if ever stretched. As I left the pub I watched the game in here in London, I saw a gaggle of Yahoos bawling "14 men 14 men 14 men". Sure, if it makes ye feel better, feel free to start again with 15. Ye might even want to try and finish with 15 this time. Either way, I think we have yere number!
plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 01/09/2019 23:15:29 2231614 Link 4 |
Dubs by three is it, your honour? Sure weren't we only expecting to be bate out the gap by ten or more today. Thanking you kindly for your leniency at the second time of asking. Sure, Kerry are bound, at the second time of asking, to miss another penalty, have the marquee forward misfire in the first half and get the yips when closing it out. It do be written in the shtars Joxer so it be. Just ahsk that sage Vince Hogan at the Indo. He do be our firhst our lahst our everythaing.
plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 01/09/2019 23:34:07 2231620 Link 1 |
Dubs looked spooked by the Kerry forwards big time....Clifford did nothing 2day and still had da dubs rattled! Great experience for our young lads..a couple of tweaks an we've every chance. blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 01/09/2019 23:37:10 2231621 Link 1 |
A very good plan is needed for Clifford. He didn't play to his full potential at all today. He'll be determined to change that next day out. DC didn't make any real impact and yes, Philly should start in backs for certain. Very much looking forward to Sat week. GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 02/09/2019 02:11:05 2231651 Link 0 |
Really DC in for Scully? I think that'd be crazy. Scully was really important for you guys getting the ball up the field with MDMA and Fenton more tied up than usual in midfield. He was only taken off because of the amount of work he'd put in.
Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4593 - 02/09/2019 03:58:22 2231656 Link 6 |
Dublin will win replay, Kerry missed their chance today. They're never going to get a better chance. I think their inexperience showed in the last ten minutes, they coughed up possession to Dublin several times at a stage of the match where they could have gone 2 or 3 points up. Kerry brought great energy and intensity in the first quarter but I thought their shot selection was poor. Maybe it was the adrenaline but there seemed to be a lot of Hail Mary shots from distance when maybe the ball could've been worked in closer to goal. Did Tomas O Se say they kicked 8 wides from 11 shots from play in the first half? Plus of course the goal chances they missed. Need to bring the same energy but cooler heads in the replay. ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1257 - 02/09/2019 05:30:18 2231663 Link 2 |
BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 02/09/2019 06:13:44 2231665 Link 0 |
If McAuley starts Dublin may as well be playing with 14 from the start. AC (None) - Posts: 318 - 02/09/2019 08:15:17 2231681 Link 0 |
Amazed me how perceptions change after ONE game. Dublin are not in decline. Kerry though have shown they are ready to challenge, I thought they would be a year or 2 too soon but fair play to them. That said I believe Dublin will win the replay . yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11676 - 02/09/2019 08:51:11 2231697 Link 10 |
Recent history suggests that you don't get second chances against the Dubs. They have, on a few occasions in recent years played poorly, but you have to take your chances on the day. Mayo didn't manage it despite having several bites at it and ended up empty-handed. Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 02/09/2019 10:07:05 2231732 Link 1 |