Team Of The Decade

Replying To hashtag:  "For me, personally:

GK: David Clarke (Mayo) - Cluxton's kick-outs revolutionised the game but his shot-stopping isn't really tested given the quality of players in front of him- Clarke, on the other hand, made numerous match-winning saves for Mayo over the decade.
Honourable Mentions: Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Rory Beggan (Monaghan), Niall Morgan (Tyrone).

RCB: Karl Lacey (Donegal)
FB: Aidan O'Mahony (Kerry)
LCB: Keith Higgins (Mayo)

Honourable Mentions: Paddy McGrath, Neil McGee, Frank McGlynn (Donegal), Chris Barrett, Brendan Harrison (Mayo), Drew Wylie, Colin Walshe, Vinny Corey (Monaghan), Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone), Jonny Cooper, Philly McMahon (Dublin).

RHB: Lee Keegan (Mayo)
CHB: James McCarthy (Dublin)
LHB: Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

Honourable Mentions: Paul Murphy, Peter Crowley (Kerry), Karl O'Connell, Dessie Mone (Monaghan), Donal Vaughan (Mayo), Kevin Cassidy (Donegal).

MF: Brian Fenton (Dublin)
MF: David Moran (Kerry)

Honourable Mentions: Michael-Dara McAuley, Dennis Bastick (Dublin), Rory Kavanagh, Neil Gallagher (Donegal), Anthoney Maher (Kerry), Aidan Walsh (Cork), Tom Parsons (Mayo), Darren Hughes (Monaghan).

RHF: Ryan McHugh (Donegal)
CHF: Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)
LHF: Paul Flynn (Dublin)

Honourable Mentions: Kevin McManamon, Con O'Callaghan (Dublin), Mattie Donnelly, Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone), Enda Smith (Roscommon), Odhran McNeilis (Donegal), Donnachadh Walsh (Kerry).

RCF: Conor McManus (Monaghan)
FF: Michael Murphy (Donegal)
LCF: Andy Moran (Mayo)

Honourable Mentions: Patrick Mc Brearty, Colm McFadden (Donegal), Kieran Donaghey, James O'Donnaghue, Colm Cooper (Kerry), Damien Comer, Shane Walsh (Galway), John Heslin (Westmeath), Colm O'Neill (Cork), Cillian O'Connor (Mayo).

'Controversial' Ommissions: Bernard Brogan and Aidan O'Shea - whilst I admire both players, I feel those listed above have delivered more on the big occasions. Cian O'Sullivan, Colm Cavanagh, Peter Harte and Ciaran Kilkenny are all players who don't necessarily fit into traditional GAA positions and I didn't' consider forcing them into a position at the expense of others."
Very nice pick and listing. I wouldn't agree with all but that's the nature of opinions.

One point though, Kevin Cassidy as an honourable mention? You might correct me but did he last play for Donegal in 2011? He practically missed the decade.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 25/07/2019 14:53:20    2216323

Team of the decade? Take the Cillian v frees v handy opposition v Culchie Jackeen divide to another thread cos team of the decade is a right good thread.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 25/07/2019 14:54:27    2216324

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "There's six cricket scores you've put up against poor teams:

Mayo 5-19 Limerick 3-07 (he scores 3-09)
Mayo 5-11 London 0-10 (he scores 3-04)
Mayo 2-21 Derry 1-13 (he scores 12 points)
Mayo 4-18 New York 0-08 (he scores 2-05)
Mayo 6-25 Sligo 2-11 (he scores 1-07)
Mayo 4-20 Leitrim 0-10 (he scores 0-06)

And before you fly back about Dublin's opposition then I can fully admit we've dished out some fierce beatings to bang average opposition in Leinster over the last number of years. Just don't come on disputing Mayo don't do the same when it's just not true."
So just to be clear here. You are admitting you went off and did a pile of research on stats just on COC. You are literally proving my point about the obsession with him.

It's actually sad you went and did that. And you talk about splitting hairs yet mention Rock and his percentage from play, which is just slightly higher.

Again I like many will say this, he has the scoring record, who cares? It seems to be you and others from outside the county. It's a great personal accolade but doesn't mean he is better than the Gooch or Murphy or whoever. I mentioned his points tally in the big, big games, go get the stats from play for Rock, Connolly, McManus or whoever else in quarters, semis and finals, see how they fare up against him.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 25/07/2019 14:55:45    2216326

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "There's six cricket scores you've put up against poor teams:

And before you fly back about Dublin's opposition then I can fully admit we've dished out some fierce beatings to bang average opposition in Leinster over the last number of years. Just don't come on disputing Mayo don't do the same when it's just not true."
The fact you're going back to a 2012 game vs Leitrim says it all. Dublin nearly have 6 examples this year! That game vs Derry finished in a draw so they were important scores. Cillian only played 30 minutes in that London game btw.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 25/07/2019 15:04:51    2216332

Replying To TheFlaker:  "So just to be clear here. You are admitting you went off and did a pile of research on stats just on COC. You are literally proving my point about the obsession with him.

It's actually sad you went and did that. And you talk about splitting hairs yet mention Rock and his percentage from play, which is just slightly higher.

Again I like many will say this, he has the scoring record, who cares? It seems to be you and others from outside the county. It's a great personal accolade but doesn't mean he is better than the Gooch or Murphy or whoever. I mentioned his points tally in the big, big games, go get the stats from play for Rock, Connolly, McManus or whoever else in quarters, semis and finals, see how they fare up against him."
Yeah because compiling stats on Mayo players is what really floats my boat. Another poster asked for such a breakdown and I obliged as I had some spare time on my hands. It wasn't to prove or disprove anyone's point on his inclusion it was to satisfy a fellow poster's curiosity as he had asked for it twice. Rock's % from play is significantly higher by the way but doesn't prove a whole lot because at the end of the day it comes down to preference and as I said from the outset I know who I'd have in my team and who I'd want standing over a big free to win the All-Ireland (again)

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 25/07/2019 15:08:58    2216335

I'm not sure how this debate came up between O Connor and Rock as I haven't seen any mention of Rock on a possible team of the decade. If O Connor isn't good enough to make the team I don't think there are many, apart from possibly some Dubs who would replace him with Rock. Rock is an exceptional free taker but has struggled at times over the years to even make the Dublin team. Had Costello been a little more accurate from frees in the earlier games this year then Rock might have to be content with the impact sub tag. Think O Connor averages almost seven points per game whereas Rocks average is nearer to five. Personally I'd take Rock if we could have him but certainly not in place of O Connor.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 25/07/2019 15:13:00    2216337

Replying To MayoDan:  "The fact you're going back to a 2012 game vs Leitrim says it all. Dublin nearly have 6 examples this year! That game vs Derry finished in a draw so they were important scores. Cillian only played 30 minutes in that London game btw."
Jesus lads when the numbers don't come out to back up your argument you resort to saying I'm going back too far or the game ended in a draw which eh no it didn't, it was an 11 point win for you lads in fact. I openly said Dublin put up cricket scores so I'm not disputing that.

I'm happy to agree to differ on this, you have him in your team of the decade and I don't.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 25/07/2019 15:14:30    2216341

Cillian O'Connor is a fine player and I'd welcome him on the Kerry team. I don't think I'd have him on my team of the decade personally but he would be very close to it. I was actually very surprised when I saw his scoring stats lately, he is a machine. If he played for my team I wouldn't be worried about whether they are from play or from frees.

In terms of the inside line McManus and Brogan are nailed on for me as they were the two best inside forwards over the course of the decade in my opinion. Then you've a few that you could make a case for for the last spot like Geaney, O'Connor, Mcbrearty, Andy Moran. Some may even name Sean Cavanagh or Michael Murphy at 14 on their teams. If you take it that Murphy is a full forward that's the the debate over really but I don't know that he played there enough to say that.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 25/07/2019 15:16:24    2216344

My team:

1. Cluxton

2. Cooper
3. N McGee
4. Higgins

5. Keegan
6. Lacey
7. McCaffrey

8. Fenton
9. McCarthy

10. Kilkenny
11. Murphy
12. McHugh

13. McManus
14. Geaney
15. C O'Connor

6 from Dublin, 4 from Donegal, 3 from Mayo and 1 each from Kerry and Monaghan.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 25/07/2019 15:19:09    2216348

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Yeah because compiling stats on Mayo players is what really floats my boat. Another poster asked for such a breakdown and I obliged as I had some spare time on my hands. It wasn't to prove or disprove anyone's point on his inclusion it was to satisfy a fellow poster's curiosity as he had asked for it twice. Rock's % from play is significantly higher by the way but doesn't prove a whole lot because at the end of the day it comes down to preference and as I said from the outset I know who I'd have in my team and who I'd want standing over a big free to win the All-Ireland (again)"
A stranger asked for stats so you felt obliged because he asked twice? Good stuff lad. I would want Rock standing over a free as well, again not my point. You said he isn't top class and offered stats and pointed out big scores against weaker teams.

I again say get the stats for the top class players such as Murphy, McManus, Rock etc and their scores from play in quarters, semis and finals and see how COC fares against them?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 25/07/2019 15:22:49    2216350

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "Team of the decade no All Ireland Medal.

1. Rory Beggan
2. Keith Higgins
3. Ronan McNamee
4. Donal Keoghan
5. Lee Keegan
6. Chrissy McKaigue
7. Boyle/Karl O'Connell
8. Gary Brennan
9.Darren Hughes
10. Dan Flynn
11. Jamie Clarke
12. Peter Harte
13. Conor McManus
14. Andy Moran
15. Cillian O'Connor

Subs. David Clarke, Brendan Murphy, Aaron Kernan, Caolan Mooney, Mattie Donnelly, Michael Quinlavin, Niall McNamee, Drew Wylie.

Probably missing loads."
Ryan McHugh and Odhran Mac Niallais

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 384 - 25/07/2019 15:29:46    2216353

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "Ryan McHugh and Odhran Mac Niallais"
sorry i thought mchugh had an all ireland,

defintely in wing back ahead of boyle. he'd be one of the 1st names on the team.
class player.

Mac Niallais very good player too

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 25/07/2019 15:39:04    2216362

1. Cluxton

2. Lacey
3. N McGee
4. Cooper

5. Keegan
6. C O'Sullivan
7. McCaffrey

8. McCarthy
9. Fenton

10. Flynn
11. McHugh
12. Connolly

13. McManus
14. Murphy
15. B Brogan

Fixed that for ya Lockjaw ;)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/07/2019 16:28:38    2216395

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Flynn got four All Stars in a row towards the start of the decade."
You are right: Paul Flynn got 4 All Stars in a row from 2011 to 2014. The only other error I could find is that Neil McGee got 2 (not 1) All Stars.
BTW, only 3 of the team received Player of the Year Awards: Karl Lacey 2012, Lee Keegan 2016 and Jack McCaffrey 2015. The other POTY winners were Alan Brogan 2011, MD MacAuley 2013, James O Donoghue 2014, Andy Moran 2017 and Brian Fenton 2018.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 25/07/2019 19:19:21    2216466

Team with player of the year 2008-2018, with my own 5 picks.

Cluxton

Marc O Se
Philly McMahon
Higgins

Keegan '16
Lacey '12
McCaffrey '15

Fenton '18
Michael Darragh MacAuley '13

Paul Galvin '09
Alan Brogan '11
Sean Cavanagh '08

Andy Moran '17
James O'Donoghue '14
Bernard Brogan '10

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 25/07/2019 20:37:29    2216500

Replying To Aibrean:  "You are right: Paul Flynn got 4 All Stars in a row from 2011 to 2014. The only other error I could find is that Neil McGee got 2 (not 1) All Stars.
BTW, only 3 of the team received Player of the Year Awards: Karl Lacey 2012, Lee Keegan 2016 and Jack McCaffrey 2015. The other POTY winners were Alan Brogan 2011, MD MacAuley 2013, James O Donoghue 2014, Andy Moran 2017 and Brian Fenton 2018."
Neil McGee has 3. 2011, 2012 and 2014

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 25/07/2019 20:58:50    2216515

aidan o'shea wouldn't get near that team and either would O'Connor. plenty of players who are more deserved of a place than those two

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 25/07/2019 21:40:50    2216531

Donal Keoghan at 6 and captain. surely one of the greatest half backs of the decade

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 25/07/2019 21:42:28    2216532

I can't argue with Fenton over O Se...I do wonder though if Fenton was a Mayo or Tyrone player for example would he be as sublime? He went into a class team, his stats are off the charts put in a poorer team would he be unbeaten in championship?

Likewise I wonder would Aidan O Se be better/more influential if he was in this Dublin team?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 25/07/2019 22:05:58    2216549

Replying To superdub:  "aidan o'shea wouldn't get near that team and either would O'Connor. plenty of players who are more deserved of a place than those two"
Not many players more deserving than O'Connor bud

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 25/07/2019 22:21:24    2216557