Team Of The Decade

Neil McGee has 3 All Star awards and Lacey has 4.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 24/07/2019 20:07:21    2215943

Replying To ponger:  "Cant understand people leaving McManus out. This guy has been nothing short of unmarkable for the last load of years.

I think some of ye need a reality check as regards whats a good player. It's not a guy the wins stuff, makes beautiful passes, scores nice points or has medals in his back pocket. He's your go to guy, the lad that will grab a game by the scruff of the neck and dominate a game changer when needed. 2 points down with 5 mins to go, where is he? Can he lift a team on his own ? Mr dependable, it does what it say on the tin day in day out... and your not one bit surprised when he delivers...the one you fear is on their teamsheet

He are a few outside the "well if your not in Division 1 or winning all-Irelands you can only be considered brigade"

David Tubridy
Gary Brennan
Donie Kingston
Leighton Glynn
Kevin Mc Kiernan
Micky Quinn
Robbie Kiely
Michael Quinlivan
Paul Kerrigan
Kevin Reilly"
I take your point, but did you not think that the reason these teams are winning is that they have more than one of these types of player in their teams. McManus is a superb player. However unless you deliver against the biggest teams in the biggest games, it is difficult to make the team of the decade. That being said he would be right up there amongst those players and deservedly so.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 24/07/2019 20:13:31    2215947

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Interesting to see a lot of picking Higgins at corner back. Maybe I'm a bit old school in my thinking but I like a corner back who can mark as well as bomb forward. Now don't get me wrong I think Higgins is a brilliant footballer but he's not a great corner back in my opinion. I've seen him roasted on a good few occasions.

Cooper and Lacey were much superior defenders in my opinion. I'll never forget Karl dispossessing a Monaghan forward in the 2014 Ulster final. It was like a magic trick. Karl was away with the ball and the Monaghan player was still deciding if he was going to solo the ball or lay it off."
To be fair I would label that about Lacey as a player that bombs forward more than marks before Higgins

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 24/07/2019 20:17:11    2215950

Replying To catch22:  "Bernard OShea is it ? Would you go way outta that."
Sorry maybe it's the time difference or maybe the loss of brain cells has finally caught up with me but I don't know what exactly you are disagreeing with. I presume it's with something.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 24/07/2019 20:52:36    2215979

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "To be fair I would label that about Lacey as a player that bombs forward more than marks before Higgins"
Lacey was winning All Stars at corner back before blanket defense was a concept though. Jimmy McGuinness recognized that as great a man marker Karl was, there was a lot more to him than that and allowed him license to bomb forward.

Back when Derry were at themselves and had the Bradley brothers firing on all cylinders I witnessed Karl man mark one after the other. Didn't give either a kick. I also saw him handle Michael Meehan better than most when he was at the peak of his powers.

Ok it could be argued that in terms of the past decade alone maybe Lacey shouldn't be at corner back. If that is the case I'd move him to CHB ahead of Cian O'Sullivan.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 24/07/2019 20:53:09    2215980

Ah jaysus, even I know you'd pick Brian Fenton ahead of Aidan O'Shea!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 25/07/2019 00:18:03    2216085

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Fenton over A O'Shea everyday of the week and twice on a Sunday"
O'Shea wouldn't be fit to lace the mans boots.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 25/07/2019 00:24:20    2216088

Agreed on the comments regarding Fenton over O'Shea. Fenton is as close to a nailed on certainty for any team of the decade, as any player could be.
O'Shea while clearly a talisman for Mayo, has underperformed in many big games. He faded badly in the last 15-20 mins a number of times against Dublin. He was taken to the cleaners as recently as 2 weeks ago by David Moran. In recent years, he has had very little scoring threat too, whereas Fenton pops up with scores in almost every game. O'Shea is an absolute warrior however, and I'd love to have him playing for Galway.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2046 - 25/07/2019 09:53:20    2216145

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Agreed on the comments regarding Fenton over O'Shea. Fenton is as close to a nailed on certainty for any team of the decade, as any player could be.
O'Shea while clearly a talisman for Mayo, has underperformed in many big games. He faded badly in the last 15-20 mins a number of times against Dublin. He was taken to the cleaners as recently as 2 weeks ago by David Moran. In recent years, he has had very little scoring threat too, whereas Fenton pops up with scores in almost every game. O'Shea is an absolute warrior however, and I'd love to have him playing for Galway."
You're not the first person to say Moran roasted him.

But they weren't marking each other. Moran was on Vaughan.

Doesn't affect this particular argument but at least be factual.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 25/07/2019 10:01:39    2216151

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Interesting to see a lot of picking Higgins at corner back. Maybe I'm a bit old school in my thinking but I like a corner back who can mark as well as bomb forward. Now don't get me wrong I think Higgins is a brilliant footballer but he's not a great corner back in my opinion. I've seen him roasted on a good few occasions.

Cooper and Lacey were much superior defenders in my opinion. I'll never forget Karl dispossessing a Monaghan forward in the 2014 Ulster final. It was like a magic trick. Karl was away with the ball and the Monaghan player was still deciding if he was going to solo the ball or lay it off."
100% a defender's attacking ability shouldn't influence a decisiin. Arguably Cooper and Lacey don't have Keith's longevity and his man marking powers have waned in the past few years compared to early in the decade. Michael Meehan and James O'Donoghue amongst other can testify he was a decent manmarker and often in times when the rest of our back line wasn't so good. Forgetting his attacking abilities there's a lot more to his defensive game than man marking. I'm biased though!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 25/07/2019 10:05:41    2216152

Aidan O Shea is a top class footballer by the way who has been brilliant all year this year. Despite carrying an injury for the last 3 games, break will do him good. People want him to fail, same for Cillian O Connor but both top class players. Saying he is not as good as Fenton is hardly an insult.

And the lads saying Moran roasted him despite the fact Vaughan was marking Moran goes to show the level of armchair fan on here. The same lads who think Cillian O Connor only scores frees. Get over it lads.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 25/07/2019 10:26:14    2216159

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Aidan O Shea is a top class footballer by the way who has been brilliant all year this year. Despite carrying an injury for the last 3 games, break will do him good. People want him to fail, same for Cillian O Connor but both top class players. Saying he is not as good as Fenton is hardly an insult.

And the lads saying Moran roasted him despite the fact Vaughan was marking Moran goes to show the level of armchair fan on here. The same lads who think Cillian O Connor only scores frees. Get over it lads."
I posted Cillian O'Connors frees to scores from play ratio but you chose to casually ignore that. I'm not arguing the fact he of course contributes in other ways than on the scoreboard but for me he is not a top class forward. He wouldn't get in the Dublin front 6, in fact I'm not sure he'd even be a prominent figure off the bench. I think his top scorer record can be taken with a certain pinch of salt too. He's scored 8-18 of that against London, New York and Limerick!

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 25/07/2019 10:54:05    2216171

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "I posted Cillian O'Connors frees to scores from play ratio but you chose to casually ignore that. I'm not arguing the fact he of course contributes in other ways than on the scoreboard but for me he is not a top class forward. He wouldn't get in the Dublin front 6, in fact I'm not sure he'd even be a prominent figure off the bench. I think his top scorer record can be taken with a certain pinch of salt too. He's scored 8-18 of that against London, New York and Limerick!"
You think that post was solely directed at you? Get off the stage there lad. Tonnes of posts on here from lads who say he does nothing from play. Go get the ratios of other forwards who also took frees. People love to knock COC.

And I couldn't give a hoot about his top scorer record, I pointed out the big games where he outscored the other top forwards from Dublin and Kerry from play.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 25/07/2019 11:02:43    2216172

Replying To cavanman47:  "You're not the first person to say Moran roasted him.

Doesn't affect this particular argument but at least be factual."
They aren't corner backs and corner forwards, solely responsible for each other. When your team can hardly win its own kickout in the first half and an opposition midfielder is mopping them up, it's your primary ball winner's job to step up. Donal Vaughan isn't even a midfielder. O'Shea is a brilliant fetcher of a ball, but wasn't a factor in midfield in that game, while Moran lorded it.
When Galway were struggling to win ball in the late 90s, Kevin Walsh would make himself the target, if it was Ó Domhnaill's man who was doing damage.
To simply abdicate your main midfielder of responsibility by saying Moran was Vaughan's responsibility is nonsense. Anyone who has played in midfield would know that.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2046 - 25/07/2019 11:06:30    2216175

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "I posted Cillian O'Connors frees to scores from play ratio but you chose to casually ignore that. I'm not arguing the fact he of course contributes in other ways than on the scoreboard but for me he is not a top class forward. He wouldn't get in the Dublin front 6, in fact I'm not sure he'd even be a prominent figure off the bench. I think his top scorer record can be taken with a certain pinch of salt too. He's scored 8-18 of that against London, New York and Limerick!"
Is that the same thing as saying Dean rock isn't a top class forward as all he does is score frees ?

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 25/07/2019 11:09:23    2216177

Regardless what anyone thinks of COC personally to score 24 -290 in 52 games is a serious return ,comparing that to Dean rock the best free taker in the country he has scored 8 -173 in 38 games,COC is an a pr*ck on the pitch and people don't like him but he does deserve massive credit for the scoring he had done

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 25/07/2019 11:18:43    2216185

There were a lot of mistakes in your list but there's no point not picking. Apparently scores against weaker counties shouldn't count? Of the teams we played regularly this decade, Cillian has scored most against Kerry and Dublin.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 25/07/2019 11:19:12    2216186

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Aidan O Shea is a top class footballer by the way who has been brilliant all year this year. Despite carrying an injury for the last 3 games, break will do him good. People want him to fail, same for Cillian O Connor but both top class players. Saying he is not as good as Fenton is hardly an insult.

And the lads saying Moran roasted him despite the fact Vaughan was marking Moran goes to show the level of armchair fan on here. The same lads who think Cillian O Connor only scores frees. Get over it lads."
He is indeed a top class footballer and of course it's not an insult to say he's not as good as Fenton. Why would it be? We're simply debating why most people think Fenton should be in the team ahead of him, after the original poster had picked O'Shea.
Why would anyone want him to fail? Anyone who thinks like that is petty and small-minded. My judgements are purely on him as a footballer, of which he is an excellent one. However, he has a number of weaknesses and has been poor in key moments. Highlighting them shouldn't be dismissed as people wanting 'him to fail'. That's a weak argument and ignores any footballing points made.
He will get judged by a higher standard than most, precisely because of the ability he has. Here we're comparing him to the best midfielder in the game.
Finally, anyone who thinks it's more Donal Vaughan's fault, rather than O'Shea's that Moran dominated in that game might be better suited to the armchair. One of those players is not an intercounty midfielder. The other is one of Mayo's leaders for the last 10 years, the biggest and most physical player on the team and one of the best midfielders they've had in my time watching football.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2046 - 25/07/2019 11:19:39    2216187

Replying To cavanman47:  "You're not the first person to say Moran roasted him.

Doesn't affect this particular argument but at least be factual."
Amazing the amount of troll keep saying that. Actually in the 2nd half of that game, Aidan went on David Moran and arguably won the battle!

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 25/07/2019 11:20:49    2216188

And it is only people from other counties who seem to care about him overtaking the Gooch, the comments on here and on Twitter were cringe. As if Mayo people were saying he is better than the Gooch.

People really need to get over the obsession with certain players.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 25/07/2019 11:22:20    2216189