Team Of The Decade

If anyone could find the stats on O'connor's scoring statistics in terms of what he's contributed from play vs dead ball situations that'd be great. I can't find them anywhere.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 24/07/2019 15:18:38    2215801

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "His equaliser in 2016 was from about 40 yards, hardly way out as you say and you'd expect any forward worth his salt to slot that. What about his handy enough free in the replay that year which he failed to convert? The difference between him and Dean Rock (who'd incidentally I'd have over him in the team of the decade but probably could even pick 3 or 4 more who should be in ahead of Dean at the same time) is Dean will always stand up and slot you that crucial free. O'Connor on the other hand is liable to crumble and that's what separates him from being a top top class player."
45 metres after taking a 1-2 5 minutes into injury time in the lashing rain. Dean Rock is a better free taker than him, so is Murphy, I am not disputing that. I am baffled as to how people forget his performances from play in finals and semi finals. It's bizaare. Let's look at recent years from play:

2017 Final- 0-3
2016 Final first game- 0-2
2015 Semi First game- 1-1
2015 Replay- 0-2
2014 Semi First Game- 0-3
2014 Replay- 1-2

Yes he may have only scored frees in other games but Jesus lads look up all the top players. Some claim Connolly is the best forward of all time but has been quiet in a lot of the big games at Croker. Even Gooch has been kept quiet on the big days and he is probably the best we have seen . Do some research lads. A missed free even in the biggest games doesn't mean you can call him a liability in big games.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 24/07/2019 15:28:02    2215808

Replying To JoeSoap:  "1. Cluxton

2. Lacey
3. N McGee
4. McMahon

5. Keegan
6. C O'Sullivan
7. McCaffrey

8. McCarthy
9. Fenton

10. Kilkenny
11. Murphy
12. Connolly

13. Geaney
14. C O'Connor
15. B Brogan

--

Felt bad leaving out McManus but I really think Geaney has been sensational this decade and only for some eejits in the media he'd be better appreciated. In every position as well I felt like I could have just subbed in a Dublin player, what a team they've been. From a Donegal POV I really wanted to get Neil Gallagher or Frank McGlynn in there but really couldn't justify dropping any of the half-backs or midfield in my view.

Hard to leave out McManus, Peter Harte, Ryan McHugh but they all play in positions that are overflowing with fantastic players.

Would be interesting to have a "B" team of players who have yet to win an All-Ireland as you would get to see the amount of great talent that's out there across a good variety of counties."
Sean Cavanagh another man who deserves a shout in this debate. People forget how good he was between 2010 - 2016. He carried Tyrone through a few tough years.

Its a pity he's been such a p*ick since right enough.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 24/07/2019 15:38:34    2215814

My two pence worth would be:

Cluxton - I think his distribution revolutionised the game

Lacey - A real driver in 2012, however has not played nearly half the decade so not 100%

Cooper - Mr consistent throughout the period

Higgins - A real swashbuckling Defender that always drives forward from the back (if that makes sense)

Keegan - Never let Mayo down, tough opponent and always good for a score or two.

McCarthy - tough choice between him and O'Sullivan. I gave him the nod. Those two are peerless from that central position.

McCaffrey - For me one of the top 3 or 4 years layers over the period. His speed and running from deep does so much to unsettle and unlock defences for the ruthless forward line.

Fenton - Guy has everything and oozes class and control.

Murphy - Could play anywhere from midfield up and probably be the best full forward. (Moran unlucky to have these two ahead of him).

R McHugh - Effectively plays as a forward. His running from deep is unmarkable and he scores so many goals and points. Top player.

Kilkenny - The complete exponent of the "figaro" in GAA. He conducts the tempo of the Dublin orchestra like a maestro.

Connolly - An enigma. Superb all rounder with outrageous ability that few others have had. Had his dark moments but his ability shines through.

C O'Connor - I see some detractors on here but this guy is Mr Reliable. Yes a lot of frees, but he has kicked some under massive pressure and don't forget his goals. Mayo are simply not competitive at the top level without him.

Geaney - I know some feel he has had an off year last year. I don't. He's a marked man. Now that O'Shea and Clifford are sharing the burden, he is very prominent again. A class finisher.

B Brogan - Has the X factor and was always able to find scores when Dublin needed them.

There are many players unlucky not to make the list. McManus is class but never delivered on the biggest stage. Rock, Flynn, Mannion and I think Andrews (i always rate him) are very unlucky. Only one Kerry player does not feel right, with 3 Donegal and 3 Mayo, but that's how I've come to it.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 24/07/2019 15:42:14    2215815

1. Cluxton

2. Cooper
3. N McGee
4. McMahon

5. Keegan
6. C O'Sullivan
7. McCaffrey

8. Murphy
9. Fenton

10. O'Brien
11. Kilkenny
12. Connolly

13. McManus
14. A.Moran
15. B Brogan

or...
Clarke

McMahon
Wylie
Higgins

P.Murphy
Lacey
McHugh

G.Brennan
J McCarty

Harte
A O'Shea
Donnelly

O'Connor
Geaney
Mannion

Plus Clifford will probably make these picks redundant by the end of the year!

matdon (Mayo) - Posts: 8 - 24/07/2019 15:43:46    2215816

Replying To TakeyourPoint.:  "Sean Cavanagh another man who deserves a shout in this debate. People forget how good he was between 2010 - 2016. He carried Tyrone through a few tough years.

Its a pity he's been such a p*ick since right enough."
Very fair point, I'd forgotten (or maybe blocked from my mind) but Cavanagh was still a colossus in a poorer Tyrone team in the early part of this decade. His performance in the Ulster final 2016 is one that still hurts.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 24/07/2019 16:09:38    2215828

Karl Lacey corner-back or half-back team of the 2000s decade, this decade only played at a top level 2011, 12, 13, 14.

Frank McGlynn half-back team of the 2010s decade. Playing at top level from 2011 - 2018 and is still providing crucial involvements in Donegal's current unbeaten championship run. Has two Ulsters and an All-Ireland over Ryan McHugh. Can't just put McHugh in at half-back when he's a half-forward.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 384 - 24/07/2019 16:36:01    2215846

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "If anyone could find the stats on O'connor's scoring statistics in terms of what he's contributed from play vs dead ball situations that'd be great. I can't find them anywhere."
Hey Cavan so I've taken advantage of my day off sitting here in my shorts and have done the following analysis. His from play percentage of total points scored in championship is 27.22%.

Year
2011Opposition Score Frees From play %
London 0-01 0-00 100.00%
Galway 0-01 0-00 100.00%
Roscommon 0-08 0-08 0.00%
Cork 0-06 0-05 16.67%
Kerry 1-03 0-03 50.00%
2012Leitrim 0-06 0-06 0.00%
Sligo 0-03 0-03 0.00%
Down 0-07 0-06 14.29%
Dublin 0-07 0-06 14.29%
Donegal 0-05 0-05 0.00%
2013Galway 0-06 0-04 33.33%
London 3-03 1-02 58.33%
Donegal 3-04 0-03 76.92%
Tyrone 0-01 0-01 0.00%
Dublin 0-08 0-08 0.00%
2014New York 2-05 2-03 18.18%
Roscommon 0-05 0-05 0.00%
Galway 0-08 0-05 37.50%
Cork 0-05 0-03 40.00%
Kerry 1-08 1-05 27.27%
Kerry 2-05 1-03 45.45%
2015Galway 0-09 0-08 11.11%
Sligo 1-07 0-05 50.00%
Donegal 0-03 0-02 33.33%
Dublin 1-09 1-09 0.00%
Dublin 1-06 0-05 44.44%
2016Galway 0-06 0-06 0.00%
Fermanagh 1-05 1-04 12.50%
Kildare 0-02 0-02 0.00%
Westmeath 1-05 0-02 75.00%
Tyrone 0-07 0-04 42.86%
Tipperary 0-03 0-03 0.00%
Dublin 0-07 0-05 28.57%
Dublin 0-09 0-09 0.00%
2017Sligo 1-06 0-05 44.44%
Galway 0-06 0-05 16.67%
Derry 0-12 0-10 16.67%
Clare 1-05 0-05 37.50%
Cork 0-11 0-05 54.55%
Roscommon 0-03 0-02 33.33%
Roscommon 1-06 0-05 44.44%
Kerry 0-04 0-01 75.00%
Kerry 0-06 0-06 0.00%
Dublin 0-07 0-04 42.86%
2018Galway 0-06 0-06 0.00%
Limerick 3-09 1-06 50.00%
Tipperary 0-05 0-05 0.00%
Kildare 0-06 0-06 0.00%
2019Armagh 0-02 0-02 0.00%
Galway 0-06 0-05 16.67%
Kerry 0-06 0-04 33.33%
Meath 0-05 0-04 20.00%

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 24/07/2019 16:37:42    2215847

Replying To JoeSoap:  "1. Cluxton

2. Lacey
3. N McGee
4. McMahon

5. Keegan
6. C O'Sullivan
7. McCaffrey

8. McCarthy
9. Fenton

10. Kilkenny
11. Murphy
12. Connolly

13. Geaney
14. C O'Connor
15. B Brogan

--

Felt bad leaving out McManus but I really think Geaney has been sensational this decade and only for some eejits in the media he'd be better appreciated. In every position as well I felt like I could have just subbed in a Dublin player, what a team they've been. From a Donegal POV I really wanted to get Neil Gallagher or Frank McGlynn in there but really couldn't justify dropping any of the half-backs or midfield in my view.

Hard to leave out McManus, Peter Harte, Ryan McHugh but they all play in positions that are overflowing with fantastic players.

Would be interesting to have a "B" team of players who have yet to win an All-Ireland as you would get to see the amount of great talent that's out there across a good variety of counties."
Good team but I'd had have Higgins instead of Lacey and McMahon all day long

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 24/07/2019 16:48:26    2215854

Cant understand people leaving McManus out. This guy has been nothing short of unmarkable for the last load of years.

I think some of ye need a reality check as regards whats a good player. It's not a guy the wins stuff, makes beautiful passes, scores nice points or has medals in his back pocket. He's your go to guy, the lad that will grab a game by the scruff of the neck and dominate a game changer when needed. 2 points down with 5 mins to go, where is he? Can he lift a team on his own ? Mr dependable, it does what it say on the tin day in day out... and your not one bit surprised when he delivers...the one you fear is on their teamsheet

He are a few outside the "well if your not in Division 1 or winning all-Irelands you can only be considered brigade"

David Tubridy
Gary Brennan
Donie Kingston
Leighton Glynn
Kevin Mc Kiernan
Micky Quinn
Robbie Kiely
Michael Quinlivan
Paul Kerrigan
Kevin Reilly

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 541 - 24/07/2019 17:09:26    2215861

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A bit premature maybe but next year as hard as it is to believe will be 2020 and there will be debates no doubt about players, teams etc. Dublin will unquestionably go down as the team of the decade. I can't see there being many arguments like we had in the preceding one, where Tyrone or Kerry was a heated discussion for those old enough to remember.

Now, all that said this is my preliminary combined team of the decade. Open to debate!

1. Cluxton

2. Lacey
3. N McGee
4. Cooper

5. Keegan
6. C O'Sullivan
7. McCaffrey

8. McCarthy
9. A O'Shea

10. Flynn
11. Murphy
12. Connolly

13. McManus
14. C O'Connor
15. B Brogan"
Love to see O Shea in it somewhere because he has been immense for us but I'd have to put Fenton at midfield. The thing people seem to miss about Cillian is that apart from his scores his overall work rate is first class. He tracks back, wins turnovers, sets up scores and generally runs himself into the ground every game. Averages roughly seven points per game as well. Some team that, probably even run the Dubs close!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 24/07/2019 17:10:23    2215863

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Hey Cavan so I've taken advantage of my day off sitting here in my shorts and have done the following analysis. His from play percentage of total points scored in championship is 27.22%.

Year
London 0-01 0-00 100.00%
Galway 0-01 0-00 100.00%
Cork 0-06 0-05 16.67%
Kerry 1-03 0-03 50.00%
Sligo 0-03 0-03 0.00%
Down 0-07 0-06 14.29%
Dublin 0-07 0-06 14.29%
Donegal 0-05 0-05 0.00%
London 3-03 1-02 58.33%
Donegal 3-04 0-03 76.92%
Tyrone 0-01 0-01 0.00%
Dublin 0-08 0-08 0.00%
Galway 0-08 0-05 37.50%
Cork 0-05 0-03 40.00%
Kerry 1-08 1-05 27.27%
Kerry 2-05 1-03 45.45%
Sligo 1-07 0-05 50.00%
Donegal 0-03 0-02 33.33%
Dublin 1-09 1-09 0.00%
Dublin 1-06 0-05 44.44%
Kildare 0-02 0-02 0.00%
Tyrone 0-07 0-04 42.86%
Dublin 0-07 0-05 28.57%
Dublin 0-09 0-09 0.00%
Galway 0-06 0-05 16.67%
Derry 0-12 0-10 16.67%
Clare 1-05 0-05 37.50%
Cork 0-11 0-05 54.55%
Kerry 0-04 0-01 75.00%
Kerry 0-06 0-06 0.00%
Dublin 0-07 0-04 42.86%
Kildare 0-06 0-06 0.00%
Galway 0-06 0-05 16.67%
Kerry 0-06 0-04 33.33%
Meath 0-05 0-04 20.00%"
Well done. Can you do the same for the gooch there while you have a bit of spare time, thanks -)

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 24/07/2019 17:16:53    2215866

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A bit premature maybe but next year as hard as it is to believe will be 2020 and there will be debates no doubt about players, teams etc. Dublin will unquestionably go down as the team of the decade. I can't see there being many arguments like we had in the preceding one, where Tyrone or Kerry was a heated discussion for those old enough to remember.

Now, all that said this is my preliminary combined team of the decade. Open to debate!

1. Cluxton

2. Lacey
3. N McGee
4. Cooper

5. Keegan
6. C O'Sullivan
7. McCaffrey

8. McCarthy
9. A O'Shea

10. Flynn
11. Murphy
12. Connolly

13. McManus
14. C O'Connor
15. B Brogan"
O'Shea on at the expense of Fenton. Are you kidding???

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 24/07/2019 17:32:02    2215877

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Hey Cavan so I've taken advantage of my day off sitting here in my shorts and have done the following analysis. His from play percentage of total points scored in championship is 27.22%.

Year
London 0-01 0-00 100.00%
Galway 0-01 0-00 100.00%
Cork 0-06 0-05 16.67%
Kerry 1-03 0-03 50.00%
Sligo 0-03 0-03 0.00%
Down 0-07 0-06 14.29%
Dublin 0-07 0-06 14.29%
Donegal 0-05 0-05 0.00%
London 3-03 1-02 58.33%
Donegal 3-04 0-03 76.92%
Tyrone 0-01 0-01 0.00%
Dublin 0-08 0-08 0.00%
Galway 0-08 0-05 37.50%
Cork 0-05 0-03 40.00%
Kerry 1-08 1-05 27.27%
Kerry 2-05 1-03 45.45%
Sligo 1-07 0-05 50.00%
Donegal 0-03 0-02 33.33%
Dublin 1-09 1-09 0.00%
Dublin 1-06 0-05 44.44%
Kildare 0-02 0-02 0.00%
Tyrone 0-07 0-04 42.86%
Dublin 0-07 0-05 28.57%
Dublin 0-09 0-09 0.00%
Galway 0-06 0-05 16.67%
Derry 0-12 0-10 16.67%
Clare 1-05 0-05 37.50%
Cork 0-11 0-05 54.55%
Kerry 0-04 0-01 75.00%
Kerry 0-06 0-06 0.00%
Dublin 0-07 0-04 42.86%
Kildare 0-06 0-06 0.00%
Galway 0-06 0-05 16.67%
Kerry 0-06 0-04 33.33%
Meath 0-05 0-04 20.00%"
Incredible work lad!

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 24/07/2019 17:38:49    2215880

Anyone that picks a team of the decade without including Brian Fenton is absurd. Fenton is unbeaten in all Championship games he played, and is the rolls Royce of this fantastic Dublin squad. A proper all rounder, can field, kick pass and shoot off left and right, and his sheer athleticism makes him a superb footballer. I genuinely believe there is an argument that he is the best footballer to ever grace the game. Lots of people won't like to hear it as he's a Dub

RealTalk101 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 24/07/2019 17:50:00    2215882

Year
London 0-01 0-00 100.00%
Galway 0-01 0-00 100.00%
Cork 0-06 0-05 16.67%
Kerry 1-03 0-03 50.00%
Sligo 0-03 0-03 0.00%
Down 0-07 0-06 14.29%
Dublin 0-07 0-06 14.29%
Donegal 0-05 0-05 0.00%
London 3-03 1-02 58.33%
Donegal 3-04 0-03 76.92%
Tyrone 0-01 0-01 0.00%
Dublin 0-08 0-08 0.00%
Galway 0-08 0-05 37.50%
Cork 0-05 0-03 40.00%
Kerry 1-08 1-05 27.27%
Kerry 2-05 1-03 45.45%
Sligo 1-07 0-05 50.00%
Donegal 0-03 0-02 33.33%
Dublin 1-09 1-09 0.00%
Dublin 1-06 0-05 44.44%
Kildare 0-02 0-02 0.00%
Tyrone 0-07 0-04 42.86%
Dublin 0-07 0-05 28.57%
Dublin 0-09 0-09 0.00%
Galway 0-06 0-05 16.67%
Derry 0-12 0-10 16.67%
Clare 1-05 0-05 37.50%
Cork 0-11 0-05 54.55%
Kerry 0-04 0-01 75.00%
Kerry 0-06 0-06 0.00%
Dublin 0-07 0-04 42.86%
Kildare 0-06 0-06 0.00%
Galway 0-06 0-05 16.67%
Kerry 0-06 0-04 33.33%
Meath 0-05 0-04 20.00%"
I'm surprised that it's just 9 points from play in his 8 games against Galway. My memory leads me to think he did more damage against us, but I suppose the regular frees will add to that feeling.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2046 - 24/07/2019 18:43:18    2215905

1. Cluxton

2. Higgins
3. N. McGee
4. McMahon

5. Keegan
6. McCarthy
7. McCaffrey

8. S. Cavanagh
9. Fenton

10. A. Brogan
11. Murphy
12. Connolly

13. Clifford
14. Donaghy
15. McManus

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 24/07/2019 18:48:21    2215909

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Love to see O Shea in it somewhere because he has been immense for us but I'd have to put Fenton at midfield. The thing people seem to miss about Cillian is that apart from his scores his overall work rate is first class. He tracks back, wins turnovers, sets up scores and generally runs himself into the ground every game. Averages roughly seven points per game as well. Some team that, probably even run the Dubs close!"
Bernard OShea is it ? Would you go way outta that.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 24/07/2019 19:18:29    2215921

Interesting to see a lot of picking Higgins at corner back. Maybe I'm a bit old school in my thinking but I like a corner back who can mark as well as bomb forward. Now don't get me wrong I think Higgins is a brilliant footballer but he's not a great corner back in my opinion. I've seen him roasted on a good few occasions.

Cooper and Lacey were much superior defenders in my opinion. I'll never forget Karl dispossessing a Monaghan forward in the 2014 Ulster final. It was like a magic trick. Karl was away with the ball and the Monaghan player was still deciding if he was going to solo the ball or lay it off.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 24/07/2019 19:45:47    2215933

Replying To RealTalk101:  "Anyone that picks a team of the decade without including Brian Fenton is absurd. Fenton is unbeaten in all Championship games he played, and is the rolls Royce of this fantastic Dublin squad. A proper all rounder, can field, kick pass and shoot off left and right, and his sheer athleticism makes him a superb footballer. I genuinely believe there is an argument that he is the best footballer to ever grace the game. Lots of people won't like to hear it as he's a Dub"
The number of All Star awards won by a player is a good indication of his performances and consistency. See list below.

1. S. Cluxton 2
2. K. Lacey 2
3. N McGee 1
4. J. Cooper 2
5. L. Keegan 4
6. C O'Sullivan 3
7. McCaffrey 3
8. McCarthy 3
9. A O'Shea 3
10. P. Flynn 2
11. M. Murphy 3
12. D. Connolly 1
13. McManus 3
14. C O'Connor 1
15. B Brogan 3

Some of the other contenders mentioned by posters have AS awards as follows: C. Kilkenny 3, P. Harte 1, R. McHugh 2, B. Fenton 3, P. Geaney 2, K. Higgins 4, P. Mannion 2, D. Clarke 2, F. McGlynn 2, S. Kavanagh 1, F. McGlynn 1.

So, the selection is fairly robust. However, maybe K. Higgins and C. Kilkenny deserve to be included while N. McGee, D. Connolly and C. O Connor are 'lucky' to be on.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 24/07/2019 19:58:47    2215940