Mayo V Donegal. Winner Takes All

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "That is a lengthy injury list to contend with!! I do think as before a lot of games there is a lot of smoke and mirrors going on though and always rumours flying around of who is an injury doubt. If Mayo get Durcan and Higgins back and IF McBrearty is out for Donegal I think the balance is tipped in Mayo's favour. I have to disagree with one poster above who says McBrearty isn't a massive loss. I think the attention he requires over 70 minutes would sap the energy of any top defender never mind the scoring threat he offers from both play and dead balls.

Lastly... O'Connor looks to have the cast off in that pic from yesterday or are my eyes deceiving me??"
His wrist is not 100% but ge's back training and might start on the bench on Saturday night.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 31/07/2019 12:53:24    2219077

Donegal are the better team and in my opinion joint second in the country at the minute. However I have a feeling we're going to see the most passionate Mayo performance in two years. They're the league champions and a lot of players know this is likely their last chance to win an All Ireland. It's Donegal, Dublin, Kerry from winning that All Ireland which is a tough run. However I've a feeling the better team on paper will lose on Saturday and we'll see Mayo show why they're the only team who have got close to Dublin over the last 4 years. Mayo to win by 2 points and set up a great semi final with the Dubs.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 31/07/2019 13:17:12    2219084

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "That is a lengthy injury list to contend with!! I do think as before a lot of games there is a lot of smoke and mirrors going on though and always rumours flying around of who is an injury doubt. If Mayo get Durcan and Higgins back and IF McBrearty is out for Donegal I think the balance is tipped in Mayo's favour. I have to disagree with one poster above who says McBrearty isn't a massive loss. I think the attention he requires over 70 minutes would sap the energy of any top defender never mind the scoring threat he offers from both play and dead balls.

Lastly... O'Connor looks to have the cast off in that pic from yesterday or are my eyes deceiving me??"
The opening line of my last post was literally, "Paddy would be a big loss for sure"
All I said was that in Gallen we have an alternative option, something we did not have last year when Paddy did his cruciate. I'm not expecting Gallen to come in and destroy Mayo on his own. But if he chips in with 3 or 4 points, and we have Thommo on frees then Paddy's loss might not be as keenly felt as it was last year.

Obviously I hope that Paddy is fit - he's one of the best inside forwards in the game.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 31/07/2019 13:36:51    2219088

Replying To Galway2019:  "Donegal would want to relax with this "beating the dubs" talk. Only team who keeps chirping on about it, form goes out the window from here on out. Play what's in front of ye first then worry about Dublin when that time comes around."
The point is that if we've any aspirations of taking on the Dubs this year, we should be winning this game. Form goes out the window but with serious teams, it really shouldn't. Obviously Mayo are Mayo, you just never know, but we've been improving all year, have given Kerry a serious rattle (a Kerry team that destroyed Mayo in the first half) and there's no doubt our squad have big aspirations. They have to go out and prove that they're good enough now.

If we can't get a result on Saturday with all the form indicators in our favour, then we've no business being anywhere near the Dubs anyway. Don't see the harm in Donegal fans pointing that out, and don't think it's disrespectful to Mayo either - Mayo lads would be the first to tell you that all form would say Donegal should win Saturday. The only reason there's even a question is because this is Mayo and they are probably the best panel in the country with their backs against the wall and pulling a massive performance out of the bag. If we were going to Salthill with all the same indicators I'd be a lot more confident let me tell you.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 31/07/2019 14:07:25    2219104

Replying To Lockjaw:  "The opening line of my last post was literally, "Paddy would be a big loss for sure"
All I said was that in Gallen we have an alternative option, something we did not have last year when Paddy did his cruciate. I'm not expecting Gallen to come in and destroy Mayo on his own. But if he chips in with 3 or 4 points, and we have Thommo on frees then Paddy's loss might not be as keenly felt as it was last year.

Obviously I hope that Paddy is fit - he's one of the best inside forwards in the game."
I get your point but I was more focused on the last line of your post as I do believe losing McBrearty would be a total and utter disaster for Donegal and in my opinion if he isn't playing it completely tips the balance in Mayo's favour. I've seen him at the Ulster final and the last day v Kerry and I thought his movement was unbelievable and he is just far more of a handful than any other forward you guys have at the moment. At to think he's not even at full throttle yet! I have been impressed with Gallen from what I've seen of him also but if you have McBrearty fit and on song he could be the difference.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 31/07/2019 14:10:12    2219105

Paddy would be a massive massive loss but I think we could handle it to get over the line on Saturday. It would mean even more attention for the likes of Jamie Brennan who has struggled since the Ulster Championship and of course huge pressure on young Oisin Gallen.

Losing Paddy would be even harder to take if even one of Jason McGee or Hugh McFadden are injured. If we have both of them fit and firing, it means Murphy can spend more time further up the field and maybe that will make losing Paddy a bit easier to take.

But yes, massive loss regardless of what way you look at it. On the plus side I'd be confident of Neil McGee being back and hopefully Paddy McGrath too.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 31/07/2019 14:14:42    2219106

Replying To JoeSoap:  "The point is that if we've any aspirations of taking on the Dubs this year, we should be winning this game. Form goes out the window but with serious teams, it really shouldn't. Obviously Mayo are Mayo, you just never know, but we've been improving all year, have given Kerry a serious rattle (a Kerry team that destroyed Mayo in the first half) and there's no doubt our squad have big aspirations. They have to go out and prove that they're good enough now.

If we can't get a result on Saturday with all the form indicators in our favour, then we've no business being anywhere near the Dubs anyway. Don't see the harm in Donegal fans pointing that out, and don't think it's disrespectful to Mayo either - Mayo lads would be the first to tell you that all form would say Donegal should win Saturday. The only reason there's even a question is because this is Mayo and they are probably the best panel in the country with their backs against the wall and pulling a massive performance out of the bag. If we were going to Salthill with all the same indicators I'd be a lot more confident let me tell you."
I think all of that is fair comment.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 31/07/2019 14:49:01    2219115

Replying To Fiftyone:  "There seems to be some kind of false hope around our injured players coming back into the fold . Ruane broke his collarbone six weeks ago and will not be available for at least another two weeks at best .

Diarmuid broke his wrist six weeks ago also and was still in a cast yesterday outsider JJ Burke car sales pic is on social media for everyone to see .

Tom parsons , won't play football in 2019 .

Paddy has a fighting chance and Keith also .

That is far too many central players injured not to mention both aido and Lee have been playing with niggles . We will find it next to impossible to win the battle around the middle eight like Killarney and this will pave the way for a rather routine victory for Donegal .

Let's hope I've got it all wrong"
The picture of diarmuid outside jj burke car sales yesterday getting his new Peugeot 3008 shows him with his cast off. You've got it all so horribly wrong.

mayoabu (Mayo) - Posts: 29 - 31/07/2019 14:50:14    2219116

Mayo to win this and there will be a team from each province in the semi.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 31/07/2019 14:52:21    2219118

Still has a light cast on . I don't know why people want the impossible , diarmuid will not start on Sat . Paddy mcbrearty is grand , Donegal manager reported a clean bill of health bar eoin ban Gallagher at Mondays press conference , what has changed ?

Fiftyone (Mayo) - Posts: 20 - 31/07/2019 15:08:00    2219124

Replying To Fiftyone:  "Still has a light cast on . I don't know why people want the impossible , diarmuid will not start on Sat . Paddy mcbrearty is grand , Donegal manager reported a clean bill of health bar eoin ban Gallagher at Mondays press conference , what has changed ?"
"I am not going to talk about injuries to any individual.

We have still a few sessions to go through and there are at least three or four players we need to check on

The players who didn't play against Kerry are all in contention.

Bar Eoghan Bán, I'd be very hopeful that we'll have a full squad."

Interesting that you read that as "reporting a clean bill of health".

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 31/07/2019 15:24:43    2219130

Replying To Fiftyone:  "Still has a light cast on . I don't know why people want the impossible , diarmuid will not start on Sat . Paddy mcbrearty is grand , Donegal manager reported a clean bill of health bar eoin ban Gallagher at Mondays press conference , what has changed ?"
Before the Mayo game He also said there was a full bill of health even though Paddy McGrath hadn't trained in like 4 weeks. At this stage I'm more likely to believe the stories about injuries than no stories.

Ill be sickened but I haven't heard this McBrearty news from inside the panel yet so I'm crossing my fingers that its not true.

I heard that both McGees should play. Doubts were still there about McGrath and McFaddan but I believe they played some part in training but never heard how much.

Its going to be a tight game no matter what teams start. No love lost here.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 31/07/2019 15:49:37    2219145

there seems to be a good bit of hype around donegal and fairly confident vibes coming from their camp. I just don't see mayo going down that easy, I think there's going to be a big performance from them at the weekend

gloryof1982 (Offaly) - Posts: 8 - 31/07/2019 17:36:11    2219183

Was up in Donegal yesterday and many of their fans are making it a weekend in Mayo and fully reckon they will be celebrating. I hope ye enjoy the weekend down here and we can give ye a decent warm up for a crack at the dubs ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 31/07/2019 18:07:58    2219188

Replying To dstuction:  "Before the Mayo game He also said there was a full bill of health even though Paddy McGrath hadn't trained in like 4 weeks. At this stage I'm more likely to believe the stories about injuries than no stories.

Ill be sickened but I haven't heard this McBrearty news from inside the panel yet so I'm crossing my fingers that its not true.

I heard that both McGees should play. Doubts were still there about McGrath and McFaddan but I believe they played some part in training but never heard how much.

Its going to be a tight game no matter what teams start. No love lost here."
We all love ye.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 650 - 31/07/2019 18:30:30    2219198

Like Tru Blu commented on there is an element of smoking mirrors going on which is to be expected. However I completely agree with Lock in that of course Paddy will be a huge loss however Donegal are in a much better position to cope with it this year than last. However if Paddy does not play hopefully we got the reinforcements in midfield as I expect Michael Murphy will play more advanced. Himself, Gallen and Jamie Brennan really combined well together in the latter stages of the league. The bench will be weakened as a result but don't be surprised if there surprises when it comes to team selection. As for talk of Dublin that is not the case with Donegal supporters. Nobody is looking beyond Saturday. I think any talk is looking forward to being potential challengers in years to come which is natural given the age profile and potential in Donegal.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 31/07/2019 18:44:55    2219205

Replying To gloryof1982:  "there seems to be a good bit of hype around donegal and fairly confident vibes coming from their camp. I just don't see mayo going down that easy, I think there's going to be a big performance from them at the weekend"
Nope. Lots of interest and enthusiasm. Hype? A la 2012, u must be joking. That was hype. This is hope mixed up with expectation based on good performances. I still believe we can win this, but the 2 week break is more likely to suit mayo than us. Time will tell. Injuries will effect us both so it will be crucial to go into the game with as many big performances from the new lads as is possible.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 31/07/2019 19:46:27    2219214

Gonna be epic I think.

Donegal to shade it by a the minimum but you can never right off this Mayo team!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 31/07/2019 19:48:36    2219215

I hate this narrative that has emerged that Donegal and their supporters are super confident of descending on Castlebar to put Mayo to the sword & waltz to the semi finals with cigars and brandy in hand.

Sure. We have shown good form and have won back to back Ulsters. But this is Mayo in their back yard. They have seasoned, crafty players who play with great physicality and will have fervent support behind them as always.

We're confident that we can go down there and get the result we need. But it's not arrogance. Leave the poor mouth stuff to the Kerry men.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 31/07/2019 19:49:14    2219216

Replying To yew_tree:  "Was up in Donegal yesterday and many of their fans are making it a weekend in Mayo and fully reckon they will be celebrating. I hope ye enjoy the weekend down here and we can give ye a decent warm up for a crack at the dubs ;)"
Oh now, you have full faith in a Mayo win, talking to enough lads down there this week who can't wait for Mayo to tear into us!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 31/07/2019 19:52:32    2219217