Mayo V Donegal. Winner Takes All

A proper 1/4 final knockout game between 2 of the country's best. Should be a cracker. Donegal appear to be the team with the momentum and are playing really well. But a one off game for Mayo, in front of their own fans throws all form books out the window. Will be nothing between them and I really looking forward to it. I'm going to go with Mayo to raise their game and take it by 2/3 points

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 30/07/2019 08:40:51    2218580

This game is too difficult to call, Donegal are the in form team and look like they are the best to challenge the dubs but Mayo always have a big game in them, the home advantage is a minor issue, Mayo do not play well in Castlebar, former Mayo manager Stephen Rochford is now involved with Donegal, the fact that Mayo drew with Donegal in Ballybofey in the League last year 2018 and relegated Donegal to Division 2 for 2019 (even though that was a blessing in disguise for Donegal), Donegal beat Mayo in the 2012 All Ireland Final, in 2013 Mayo got revenge for that, the fact that loads of Mayo people are living in Donegal and vice versa, nothing ever between these 2 teams, injuries aren't helping either side, its a toss of a coin who will win

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 30/07/2019 10:59:15    2218648

Replying To riverboys:  "This game is too difficult to call, Donegal are the in form team and look like they are the best to challenge the dubs but Mayo always have a big game in them, the home advantage is a minor issue, Mayo do not play well in Castlebar, former Mayo manager Stephen Rochford is now involved with Donegal, the fact that Mayo drew with Donegal in Ballybofey in the League last year 2018 and relegated Donegal to Division 2 for 2019 (even though that was a blessing in disguise for Donegal), Donegal beat Mayo in the 2012 All Ireland Final, in 2013 Mayo got revenge for that, the fact that loads of Mayo people are living in Donegal and vice versa, nothing ever between these 2 teams, injuries aren't helping either side, its a toss of a coin who will win"
Would agree with you, nearly impossible to call. I'd settle for a nail biting draw!!

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 30/07/2019 11:53:06    2218682

Hard to see past a Donegal win , playing at a different level to us .

Fiftyone (Mayo) - Posts: 20 - 30/07/2019 23:21:50    2218950

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I think a lot can be made of home advantage. It's true that the Mayo players will obviously be more familiar with the surroundings. But if Donegal are serious about wanting to be the team that could topple the Dubs then none of this should matter. We saw how Tyrone came to Ballybofey last year and ended our proud home record quite comfortably in the end. If a team is good enough they'll beat any opposition regardless of the venue.

I suppose we won't know for sure until throw in what the personnel will be on both sides. I think it will be a battle for 55-60 minutes but that we'll have the legs on Mayo in the home strait. Donegal by 4 or 5 points!"
Donegal would want to relax with this "beating the dubs" talk. Only team who keeps chirping on about it, form goes out the window from here on out. Play what's in front of ye first then worry about Dublin when that time comes around.

Galway2019 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 31/07/2019 08:37:38    2218988

Replying To Galway2019:  "Donegal would want to relax with this "beating the dubs" talk. Only team who keeps chirping on about it, form goes out the window from here on out. Play what's in front of ye first then worry about Dublin when that time comes around."
I never heard any word from donegal camp about playing Dublin. Just because a few posters on here are on about it means nothing. That's what supporters do but this donegal team is focused on one game and that's Saturday's. I see reports circulating today about paddy been doubtful. If true it's a massive loss he's our go to man in attack and our right sided free kicker. I still think we'll i hope he's ok.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 31/07/2019 10:06:16    2219004

Replying To Galway2019:  "Donegal would want to relax with this "beating the dubs" talk. Only team who keeps chirping on about it, form goes out the window from here on out. Play what's in front of ye first then worry about Dublin when that time comes around."
Noone is underestimating Mayo.

But if we do get to face the Dubs hopefully we'll make a better fist of it than your boys did last year in the semi final. Barely laid a glove on them so maybe it's yous that need to keep the chirping down.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 31/07/2019 10:07:25    2219005

if mcbrearty and jason mcgee are out as reported (hammer injuries dont clear in 10 days) then that changes everything.
Those 2 are key for donegal,i would make mayo strong favourites if true.

Pity really, sick of this mayo psychodrama and really wanted to see this 2019 donegal team get a rattle at the dubs

Pullhard1985 (USA) - Posts: 68 - 31/07/2019 10:18:42    2219012

Replying To rorysboys:  "I never heard any word from donegal camp about playing Dublin. Just because a few posters on here are on about it means nothing. That's what supporters do but this donegal team is focused on one game and that's Saturday's. I see reports circulating today about paddy been doubtful. If true it's a massive loss he's our go to man in attack and our right sided free kicker. I still think we'll i hope he's ok."
Paddy would be a big loss for sure. But young Gallen has showed that he isn't phased by the big occasion, his performances in the the League final and against Kerry when introduced spoke volumes about his ability and temperament. We'd also have Ciaran Thompson for the frees from the right so it wouldn't be an unmitigated disaster if McBrearty isn't fit.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 31/07/2019 10:28:00    2219018

Enjoy the Races...

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 31/07/2019 10:44:39    2219022

Looks like Lee will be marking Michael Murphy. No small task but we've no one else that could be up to it.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 31/07/2019 10:55:26    2219025

Replying To Pullhard1985:  "if mcbrearty and jason mcgee are out as reported (hammer injuries dont clear in 10 days) then that changes everything.
Those 2 are key for donegal,i would make mayo strong favourites if true.

Pity really, sick of this mayo psychodrama and really wanted to see this 2019 donegal team get a rattle at the dubs"
Mayo were out of the championship early last year, no psychodrama going into the super eights. Everyone else had a clear run at the Dubs and how did that go! If you think you can't beat an aging Mayo team who have been crippled with injuries, just because a couple of your lads are out how the f### do you think you're going to beat the Dubs! If you're good enough to beat Mayo and go on to play the Dubs then good luck. If not then stop blaming Mayo for your own failures.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 31/07/2019 10:56:44    2219026

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Paddy would be a big loss for sure. But young Gallen has showed that he isn't phased by the big occasion, his performances in the the League final and against Kerry when introduced spoke volumes about his ability and temperament. We'd also have Ciaran Thompson for the frees from the right so it wouldn't be an unmitigated disaster if McBrearty isn't fit."
It would be in my eyes and I think your kidding yourself if you think otherwise. Experienced heads. Are needed Saturday. Yea young Gallen obvious replacement but for a nineteen year old in his first championship year, it would be placing a big burden on the lads shoulders plus it would be taking away a big impact player, who I think could rattle this mayo defence when introduced with the game entering the final quarter.. I've no doubt mc brearty will be given up till Saturday by the medics to prove his fitness and if they say he's not right he'll not be togged out. It'll probably pave the way for eoghan mc gettigan to probably get game time if paddy not fit.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 31/07/2019 11:00:03    2219028

This is a do or die one for Mayo and with it being at home I'd say they'll give it a right lash.
Donegal will be favorites alright but it'll be a close one and could be a draw. Extra time required.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 31/07/2019 11:19:03    2219037

There seems to be some kind of false hope around our injured players coming back into the fold . Ruane broke his collarbone six weeks ago and will not be available for at least another two weeks at best .

Diarmuid broke his wrist six weeks ago also and was still in a cast yesterday outsider JJ Burke car sales pic is on social media for everyone to see .

Tom parsons , won't play football in 2019 .

Paddy has a fighting chance and Keith also .

That is far too many central players injured not to mention both aido and Lee have been playing with niggles . We will find it next to impossible to win the battle around the middle eight like Killarney and this will pave the way for a rather routine victory for Donegal .

Let's hope I've got it all wrong

Fiftyone (Mayo) - Posts: 20 - 31/07/2019 11:56:27    2219051

Replying To catch22:  "This is a do or die one for Mayo and with it being at home I'd say they'll give it a right lash.
Donegal will be favorites alright but it'll be a close one and could be a draw. Extra time required."
Extra time? A draw is good for Donegal and I'd take that right now!!

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 31/07/2019 11:58:04    2219052

Replying To Fiftyone:  "There seems to be some kind of false hope around our injured players coming back into the fold . Ruane broke his collarbone six weeks ago and will not be available for at least another two weeks at best .

Diarmuid broke his wrist six weeks ago also and was still in a cast yesterday outsider JJ Burke car sales pic is on social media for everyone to see .

That is far too many central players injured not to mention both aido and Lee have been playing with niggles . We will find it next to impossible to win the battle around the middle eight like Killarney and this will pave the way for a rather routine victory for Donegal .

Let's hope I've got it all wrong"
You have.

Welcome.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 31/07/2019 12:06:20    2219058

McBrearty injury is a game changer. Hope Mayo can advance, season defining game for both counties.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1671 - 31/07/2019 12:07:19    2219060

Replying To Fiftyone:  "There seems to be some kind of false hope around our injured players coming back into the fold . Ruane broke his collarbone six weeks ago and will not be available for at least another two weeks at best .

Let's hope I've got it all wrong"
That is a lengthy injury list to contend with!! I do think as before a lot of games there is a lot of smoke and mirrors going on though and always rumours flying around of who is an injury doubt. If Mayo get Durcan and Higgins back and IF McBrearty is out for Donegal I think the balance is tipped in Mayo's favour. I have to disagree with one poster above who says McBrearty isn't a massive loss. I think the attention he requires over 70 minutes would sap the energy of any top defender never mind the scoring threat he offers from both play and dead balls.

Lastly... O'Connor looks to have the cast off in that pic from yesterday or are my eyes deceiving me??

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 31/07/2019 12:11:20    2219064

Extra time won't be necessary as Donegal are on on 3 points and Mayo on 2points after two games played each. Just as well as the winners play again next week end. The balance is beginning to shift towards Mayo with possibility of having a few players returning, Donegal injury list getting worse...throw in home advantage and the first free week end in over a month for tired limbs.. can't call it but looking forward to a good contest

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 31/07/2019 12:15:52    2219069