Mayo V Donegal. Winner Takes All

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I wouldn't say bitterness as we haven't a whole lot to be bitter towards you guys about. Have a look at the Donegal forum for some insight maybe. Personally I think this is a great game and really looking forward to it, the battle of the emigrants, two gorgeous counties with so much in common in many ways. A battle royale in store."
There are eejits in every county, 1 or 2 people had a bad experience in 2013 and it's blown out of proportion. Many a time I have told a Mayo fan around me to sit down and relax, and have done the same for other counties.

I was in the Hill in 2012 surrounded by Donegal fans and there wasn't a bad word before or after, and the same in 2013. Isolated incidents get too much oxygen.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 26/07/2019 11:08:16    2216694

Well said TheFlaker, I had some bad experiences in 2013 as well but other than that day have only had good days out when playing Mayo. Even the last day with the double header I had a great Mayo man beside me for the duration, great chats.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 26/07/2019 12:04:37    2216712

Replying To JuniorBee:  "Why should Mayo give up a home game? The game was played in Limerick because that was the games in that round were to be played on a neutral field and Mayo is entitled to one home game as part of the Super 8s."
Mayo are a Croke Park team, do you not read the word according to "Willie Joe" unbeatable there and now McHale park has only 25k capacity, it is now smaller than Pearse Stadium. How will the 40k of supporters see the match. Your crew have also been moaning since 2014 that various venues aren't big enough to accommodate your supporters, remember Newbridge or Nowhere campaign that Kildare had to start when ye started complaining. By the way the game in Limerick against Galway this year was because your county board wouldn't toss for venue in Castlebar or Salthill, probably wanted it in Croke Park as you're a Croke Park team.....didn't you know you are a Croke Park team.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 26/07/2019 12:08:44    2216715

Replying To EDH:  "Mayo are a Croke Park team, do you not read the word according to "Willie Joe" unbeatable there and now McHale park has only 25k capacity, it is now smaller than Pearse Stadium. How will the 40k of supporters see the match. Your crew have also been moaning since 2014 that various venues aren't big enough to accommodate your supporters, remember Newbridge or Nowhere campaign that Kildare had to start when ye started complaining. By the way the game in Limerick against Galway this year was because your county board wouldn't toss for venue in Castlebar or Salthill, probably wanted it in Croke Park as you're a Croke Park team.....didn't you know you are a Croke Park team."
Your making up stuff...Mayo fans had no problem with Kildare going to Newbridge. Mayo fans interviewed on tv going into the ground that day also said that.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 26/07/2019 12:34:39    2216731

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Good man yew_tree cheers, been to Westport many times and will more than likely be staying with friends there. Only just realising how close it is to Castlebar!"
No problem, the two towns will be even closer when the new dual carriageway is started later this year.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 26/07/2019 12:37:14    2216733

Having played both of ye in the super eights(Meath that is)I'd have Donegal to win by a very narrow margin.As the dog's on the street know Murphy is just a class act a joy to watch(even though we were on the receiving end of him)turned the league final v us around by himself and was the go to man when we led in the super eights with ten or so to go with Ryan mchugh as well.Donegal's keeper was very good that day in ballybofey.His kickouts were top notch as they were in Croker the last day and he caught a couple of high balls under real pressure near the end.He found his man nearly all the time and it wasn't just Murphy,short and long was very good.In saying that I think Mayo have more ball winners than Meath so might get joy by forcing him long.Is there a bounce in Mayo i certainly wouldn't right them off but will have to improve a lot from the last day.it should be a good game won't see it as I'll be in navan cheering on the royal v Kerry.Best of luck to both teams,both have a great set of fans.enjoy

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 26/07/2019 13:23:02    2216755

Replying To yew_tree:  "Your making up stuff...Mayo fans had no problem with Kildare going to Newbridge. Mayo fans interviewed on tv going into the ground that day also said that."
..... and there it is Yew tree storming into every discussion no wonder you have almost 10k's in posts on every forum and thread, sure an view or oppinion on everything. Now here is a taste of the blog from last year, a post from Willie Joe himself...

"I don't believe there are any grounds, Ultair. It's the CCCC who set the fixtures for qualifiers, not the Kildare County Board, and they've fixed it for Croke Park (confirmation here). When our semi-final replay against Kerry was shifted to Limerick in 2014 we were told in no uncertain terms by Uachtarain CLG that we'd do what's good for us and do what we'd been told. Kildare could never hope to play a Leinster match against Dublin at home so I'm not sure they've any valid grounds for digging their heels in here, not least given the crowd we're likely to bring to it" and it goes on and on almost 1000 posts in three or four days.

Now Mayo have been telling us all for years they bring 25k plus to big games. Move the game to Croke Park and let everybody see the game live....it is the right thing to do so peoole don't have to watch it on tv or listen on the radio with car window open!!!

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 26/07/2019 14:26:38    2216787

seems like its gonna be an unpopular opinion but I fancy mayo here, not only will the home tie be a huge boost for the mayo lads but I feel this particular group of players have a lot of big game experience over recent years and I feel like some of the battles in all Ireland semis and finals recently may just be enough to push mayo over the line, provided they turn up of course. Mayo by 3

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 26/07/2019 14:36:17    2216794

Replying To EDH:  "Mayo are a Croke Park team, do you not read the word according to "Willie Joe" unbeatable there and now McHale park has only 25k capacity, it is now smaller than Pearse Stadium. How will the 40k of supporters see the match. Your crew have also been moaning since 2014 that various venues aren't big enough to accommodate your supporters, remember Newbridge or Nowhere campaign that Kildare had to start when ye started complaining. By the way the game in Limerick against Galway this year was because your county board wouldn't toss for venue in Castlebar or Salthill, probably wanted it in Croke Park as you're a Croke Park team.....didn't you know you are a Croke Park team."
Be more in yer line to support your own county teams! Worst supporters in Ireland.

Tizcold (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 26/07/2019 14:37:31    2216795

What a miracle it is that we can get to play in Croke Park by playing in games not in Croke park. This Croke Park team stuff is rubbish, lazy punditry. A good team should win in whatever venue they play, home or away, day or night, rain or fair, shake their opponents hand and have no excuses in defeat. James Horan and the team believe they'll beat Donegal and Declan Bonner and his team believe they'll beat us. They won't be referencing posters on Hoganstand for inspiration.

May the best team win.

Maigh Eo Abú !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 26/07/2019 14:48:15    2216797

Replying To Tizcold:  "Be more in yer line to support your own county teams! Worst supporters in Ireland."
I never said Galway have huge support, show we where I said it. I was perfectly happy to go to Roscommon or Castlebar or Limerick for the Mayo game, it is an easy spin, as was Portlaoise, Drogheda, Letterkenny, Clones, Navan, Enniskillen or even London this year or an of the other exotic locations Galway have been in. I go no matter where unless absolutely impossible due to family or work commitments.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 26/07/2019 14:56:26    2216799

Health and safety should have been done before the redevelopment of the stadium rather than after it. This is most annoying and totally defeats the purpose of developing a stadium ie to allow more people to see the games.

A waste of money on 2 counts. the development of the stadium and then, the reduced capacity. You couldnt make it up.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 26/07/2019 15:34:18    2216816

Replying To EDH:  "..... and there it is Yew tree storming into every discussion no wonder you have almost 10k's in posts on every forum and thread, sure an view or oppinion on everything. Now here is a taste of the blog from last year, a post from Willie Joe himself...

"I don't believe there are any grounds, Ultair. It's the CCCC who set the fixtures for qualifiers, not the Kildare County Board, and they've fixed it for Croke Park (confirmation here). When our semi-final replay against Kerry was shifted to Limerick in 2014 we were told in no uncertain terms by Uachtarain CLG that we'd do what's good for us and do what we'd been told. Kildare could never hope to play a Leinster match against Dublin at home so I'm not sure they've any valid grounds for digging their heels in here, not least given the crowd we're likely to bring to it" and it goes on and on almost 1000 posts in three or four days.

Now Mayo have been telling us all for years they bring 25k plus to big games. Move the game to Croke Park and let everybody see the game live....it is the right thing to do so peoole don't have to watch it on tv or listen on the radio with car window open!!!"
Now your complaining that I have an opinion on everything...well am this is an Internet forum. Also why would Mayo move their "home" super 8 game to Dublin? Just like Kildare we're entitled to their home qualifier game last year.

I think it's time you chilled out and maybe concentrate on the racing since Galway are already out.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 26/07/2019 16:12:38    2216828

Replying To Donegalman:  "Health and safety should have been done before the redevelopment of the stadium rather than after it. This is most annoying and totally defeats the purpose of developing a stadium ie to allow more people to see the games.

A waste of money on 2 counts. the development of the stadium and then, the reduced capacity. You couldnt make it up."
this is croke park doing this .McHale park can seat 38000 with no issues and no hassle getting away after cant see how they could down capicity by 13000 with no reason

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 26/07/2019 16:46:55    2216837

Replying To yew_tree:  "
Replying To EDH:  "..... and there it is Yew tree storming into every discussion no wonder you have almost 10k's in posts on every forum and thread, sure an view or oppinion on everything. Now here is a taste of the blog from last year, a post from Willie Joe himself...

Now Mayo have been telling us all for years they bring 25k plus to big games. Move the game to Croke Park and let everybody see the game live....it is the right thing to do so peoole don't have to watch it on tv or listen on the radio with car window open!!!"
Now your complaining that I have an opinion on everything...well am this is an Internet forum. Also why would Mayo move their "home" super 8 game to Dublin? Just like Kildare we're entitled to their home qualifier game last year.

I think it's time you chilled out and maybe concentrate on the racing since Galway are already out."
Keep listening to " Too Young" Nat King Cole and "Because of You" Tony Bennet, they were big in 1951 also.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 26/07/2019 16:47:10    2216838

Replying To mayo_123:  "this is croke park doing this .McHale park can seat 38000 with no issues and no hassle getting away after cant see how they could down capicity by 13000 with no reason"
http://www.mayonews.ie/sports/34045-mayo-and-donegal-fans-face-anxious-wait-for-news-on-tickets

It is all explained here. There is no 38k capacity. Long gone are the days of no disabled access or using a back wall for a toilet. It doesn't have the facilities for 38k. Bygone days with over 30k in Tuam. It is now ticket only and no cash, the old turnstyle soldiers hate that concept also......

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 26/07/2019 17:21:49    2216848

Replying To EDH:  "http://www.mayonews.ie/sports/34045-mayo-and-donegal-fans-face-anxious-wait-for-news-on-tickets

It is all explained here. There is no 38k capacity. Long gone are the days of no disabled access or using a back wall for a toilet. It doesn't have the facilities for 38k. Bygone days with over 30k in Tuam. It is now ticket only and no cash, the old turnstyle soldiers hate that concept also......"
This is not accurate.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 26/07/2019 17:42:19    2216855

Replying To GreenandRed:  "What a miracle it is that we can get to play in Croke Park by playing in games not in Croke park. This Croke Park team stuff is rubbish, lazy punditry. A good team should win in whatever venue they play, home or away, day or night, rain or fair, shake their opponents hand and have no excuses in defeat. James Horan and the team believe they'll beat Donegal and Declan Bonner and his team believe they'll beat us. They won't be referencing posters on Hoganstand for inspiration.

May the best team win.

Maigh Eo Abú !"
Funny thing is though so lads on here think their opinion matters to how a team performs or how the play an opponent. Headbangers a lot of them.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 26/07/2019 17:51:58    2216860

Replying To Donegalman:  "This is not accurate."
It's definitely confusing anyway. Can only have reserved seating in the stand.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 26/07/2019 18:01:49    2216865

Replying To Donegalman:  "This is not accurate."
I'm referencing a Mayo paper, I'm sure they know the facts. It appears pretty accurate.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 26/07/2019 18:26:04    2216872