Mayo V Donegal. Winner Takes All

Booing the free taker is appauling I think, we are not soccer fans but sadly it seems to be going that way. Not just a few eejits either that were doing it. Things can heated, I understand that but supporters need to behave and respect the players on the pitch, they are ametuers after all.

Mayo were far the better team yesterday and we were lucky to be still in the game at half time. We did play better in the second half but our shooting really let us down. Best of luck to Mayo going forward.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 04/08/2019 12:22:13    2220530

Replying To yew_tree:  "Hope you enjoyed your night despite the result. Look their are ejects in every county...had two donegal lads shouting at me after laughing saying we will never win Sam...all fun and games"
100% yew_tree was a great night as I mentioned earlier I had the game dissected perfectly a million times with Donegal and Mayo folk alike, I knew exactly what went wrong and what to do to fix it, I would tell Declan Bonner if only I could remember it!

Some pint in Johnny's, was an effort to leave there for Westport

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 04/08/2019 12:24:47    2220533

Any word on Doherty? Looked a nasty one, with the conditions that way there's always a risk of something bad happening. Hope he's ok.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 04/08/2019 12:26:28    2220538

Replying To JoeSoap:  "100% yew_tree was a great night as I mentioned earlier I had the game dissected perfectly a million times with Donegal and Mayo folk alike, I knew exactly what went wrong and what to do to fix it, I would tell Declan Bonner if only I could remember it!

Some pint in Johnny's, was an effort to leave there for Westport"
I did tell ya about Johnny's, whatever they're doing there works very well indeed. Great spot indeed, used to be my local.

Regrettable to hear about some of the bad stories that Donegal posters are relaying here, but frankly I do get the impression that one or two of them are either looking for an excuse to slag us or are better off at the vicarage tea party than a big championship game.

As for the game, Mayo just wanted it that bit more and came through in spite of a few shocking misses. I thought our defence did very well to restrict what is an excellent Donegal attack to 1-10 given the scores they've been posting.

Read somewhere though that Donegal won 35 per cent of our kickouts, if Clarke had that sort of return he'd be slaughtered by some.

So plenty to work on in the next six days (seriously) ahead of the Dubs or Tyrone.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 04/08/2019 12:49:54    2220552

Replying To mayomanic:  "Be careful buddy Aos might just destroy ye the next day"
What's opinion on Aiden O'Shea now?

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 04/08/2019 12:53:49    2220554

Replying To JoeSoap:  "100% yew_tree was a great night as I mentioned earlier I had the game dissected perfectly a million times with Donegal and Mayo folk alike, I knew exactly what went wrong and what to do to fix it, I would tell Declan Bonner if only I could remember it!

Some pint in Johnny's, was an effort to leave there for Westport"
Michael Murphy is worth the admission fee alone, catch, turn, score. I think he had 5 wides in a row in the second half, including one dropped short to Hennelly....that cost ye big time.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 04/08/2019 12:54:24    2220555

Replying To yew_tree:  "Michael Murphy is worth the admission fee alone, catch, turn, score. I think he had 5 wides in a row in the second half, including one dropped short to Hennelly....that cost ye big time."
Many will have a go at the Donegal lads but it Its all about putting serious pressure on the kicker.

Mayo are awesome at this , and did it to Meath in the final 15 when they knew that we were running out of gas and gave us a swift ending.
Donegal are back for the long haul

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 04/08/2019 13:22:22    2220573

Replying To mayomanic:  "What's opinion on Aiden O'Shea now?"
Great player, always was and still is. One of the best midfielders in the country. I really dont understand why he gets so much stick. Sure he had some quiet All-Irelamd finals but that doesnt make him a bad player.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 04/08/2019 13:29:50    2220579

Replying To yew_tree:  "Michael Murphy is worth the admission fee alone, catch, turn, score. I think he had 5 wides in a row in the second half, including one dropped short to Hennelly....that cost ye big time."
* Donegal had 5 wides in a row not specifically Murphy

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 04/08/2019 13:49:58    2220588

There are eejets in every county that boo and whistle at frees and this in turn gets contagious, more and more carry it onwards through a game but a lot of this nonsense is caused by shockingly poor referee decisions, at times yesterday both sides couldn't win a free and other times ref blew for frees that weren't even a foul, by far the worse game Gough reffed in a long time, it has been said time and time again linesmen and umpires need to have more say, help the ref out, was Higgins a black card? Yes, how many off the ball incidents that the ref didn't see and played on, in one incident a player was on the ground near a linesman he put up the flag to signal the ref and the crowd were saying he saw something and will tell the ref, what happened, he had the flag up to signal a sub was coming on, he didn't see the incident, that kind of nonsense drives supporters mad. After the game from what I saw was both sets of supporters getting out of the rain and back to their cars as fast as they could, very little spoken as to talk you would have to stop and get wet, didn't hear any abuse to or from any supporters

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 04/08/2019 14:24:54    2220602

Replying To Breezy:  "Name me 1 sport where the top level competitions in the sport dont have a situation where you can win the tournament after losing a game.

If you want players to train very hard and sacrifice loads all year for possibly 1 game it will just drive more kids to soccer rugby AFL or whatever.

Hope You enjoy spending your weekends shouting at clouds with the other old men but the world has moved on.

As for Mayo well done. Not always great for Mayo people but yer unpredictablity is a joy to watch from a far and god I hope ye suprise everyone 1 more time and go all the way"
Tennis and boxing spring to mind immediately but it has to do with how games and tournaments are structured - and I did mention teams having lost twice.
It's always good to exchange ideas and opinions but is it necessary to attempt to made smart-alecky personalised remarks considering you know nothing of my age or gender? It is what has totally demeaned discussion on social media sites.
Anyway, old men are quite entitled to spend weekends shouting at clouds if they so wish - and wonder of wonders, yes the world always moves on, but whether it's always an improvement is a matter of opinion.

Mayfair (Galway) - Posts: 65 - 04/08/2019 14:41:58    2220611

Well done Mayo great performance last night with your season on the line - deserved winners. Hope Jason Dohertys injury isn't as bad as it looked. Huge ask obviously against Dublin but once your there there's always a chance. Best of luck lads

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 04/08/2019 15:01:59    2220621

Ah I could wax lyrical about him all day long. The nature of how good he is, you expect every shot to sail over the black spot. He had a few wides from frees and one dropped short and that's disappointing, but he was really fantastic yesterday, stood up when we needed him.

There was one bit of play second half where Niall O'Donnell played a lovely ball almost horizontal across the 21, Murphy took it and shot on his left on the halfturn. Went wide and I really felt that was the game slipping away from us.

I thought AOS was great but Hugh gave him a good battle too. From our POV I'd say really only O'Baoil, McMenamin and Murphy performed to a level you'd need to win... Niall O'Donnell too maybe, second half in particular. Mayo did a great job of bullying us and winning the key 50/50s with the game in the melting pot. Paddy Durcan was my MOTM anyway, some player.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 04/08/2019 15:02:30    2220622

Well done to Mayo on a hard earned win, the two week break worked wonders.

Not sure why so many was tipping Donegal to win. Could people not see it was a game perfectly set up for Mayo to win? The game itself was far from a classic 26 scores v 26 wides says it all. I thought weather conditions suited the more physical and experienced team and last night proved that Donegal have not improved on last summer.

If it's Dublin that Mayo play next I can't see them getting any closer than neighbors Galway did last year in the AI semi who was competitive but fell away in the final quarter due to Dublin's superior fitness and bench.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 04/08/2019 15:29:35    2220635

Replying To Yondu:  "Well done to Mayo on a hard earned win, the two week break worked wonders.

Not sure why so many was tipping Donegal to win. Could people not see it was a game perfectly set up for Mayo to win? The game itself was far from a classic 26 scores v 26 wides says it all. I thought weather conditions suited the more physical and experienced team and last night proved that Donegal have not improved on last summer.

If it's Dublin that Mayo play next I can't see them getting any closer than neighbors Galway did last year in the AI semi who was competitive but fell away in the final quarter due to Dublin's superior fitness and bench."
based on Galway.. .
Youve got to be kidding me.

This team has reached 8 All -Ireland semi finals in 9 years under 4 different Managers
Galway are worlds away.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 04/08/2019 15:34:37    2220636

Replying To BeJasus:  "based on Galway.. .
Youve got to be kidding me.

This team has reached 8 All -Ireland semi finals in 9 years under 4 different Managers
Galway are worlds away."
Galway were good last year let's not forget. Finishing top and losing no group game in the NFL and only lost the final to Dublin by 4 points. The championship won Connacht by beating both Mayo and Roscommon in their own backyards and reached the AI semi final with a game to spare which included beating Kerry in Croke Park.

Dublin in the AI semi final proved to be a bridge too far for Galway and I expect the same for Mayo if it's Dublin they play next Saturday.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 04/08/2019 15:44:52    2220641

Replying To Yondu:  "Galway were good last year let's not forget. Finishing top and losing no group game in the NFL and only lost the final to Dublin by 4 points. The championship won Connacht by beating both Mayo and Roscommon in their own backyards and reached the AI semi final with a game to spare which included beating Kerry in Croke Park.

Dublin in the AI semi final proved to be a bridge too far for Galway and I expect the same for Mayo if it's Dublin they play next Saturday."
not getting involved in a petty argument that does not bear any weight.
The proof is in the pudding.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 04/08/2019 16:37:09    2220664

Replying To BeJasus:  "not getting involved in a petty argument that does not bear any weight.
The proof is in the pudding."
Petty argument? What I told you carries plenty of weight now we'll see how that Mayo v Dublin game goes as I have already given my opinion on it and if you don't agree with it then that's fine.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 04/08/2019 19:11:19    2220766

Replying To gloryof1982:  "Hate to say I told you so but...

Some performance from Mayo. Looked hungry and determined.
Donegal believed their own hype and plenty of players went hiding on the day, except Murphy. That said, Murphy is a pup. Refs in awe of him."
Yes indeed, I recall you forecasting a Mayo ambush
You're being very harsh on Murphy .. accusing him of acting the scut, calling him a pup and getting involved in a lot of shit housing in a different thread .. care to elaborate?
I thought Murphy was one of the few Donegal players to offer any resistance to Mayo's ferocious tackling. He single handedly dragged Donegal back into the game but was out of luck with his shooting at a crucial stage. He is strong and competitive and endures a lot of special attention in some matches. His after match interview was gracious, offering no excuses and wishing Mayo well. He also sounds very humble after winning.
Colleagues of mine from Mayo keep saying that had he opted to play for his father's county that they might well have got over the line once or twice in the past decade.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 05/08/2019 01:28:17    2220958

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Mayo to win. If they get their tails up and have right attitude Mayo can blow any team out the water. They will need to be psyched up but they have the players to do it. Bring on a siege mentality, a knock out game and a massive Mayo support then the result will be hell for leather for 70+ mins. They have the man markers to sort out Murphy and McHugh."
Well played!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 05/08/2019 19:26:06    2221280