Mayo V Donegal. Winner Takes All

Fair play to Mayo, they really grabbed that game by the scruff of the neck & Aidan O Shea showed he is a top class footballer. Fionn Mc Donagh is great to watch, sell the dummy & takes the man on, so great to watch, rather than watching the paint dry as the ball is sent from sideline to sideline like some teams.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 04/08/2019 03:21:51    2220403

I'm hungover but what a bloody result. Write us off at your pearl. Should have been game over at half time but for woeful shooting and then donegal kicked some awful wides in the second half. Stephen Coen had the head taken off him....Googh what the hell? Kevin Mc was excellent when introduced. Jason Doc injured but sure what's new? Old man Andy has no right to be there I hear everyone Say???

Look we will be out of the championship this time next week but at least it will be on the big stage. GAA be thanking Mayo again...Croker will be a sell out next sat eve...Up Mayo

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 04/08/2019 08:01:51    2220409

Congrats to Mayo, best team won on the day for certain and I hope they go on to finally lift the Sam!

Not much new to add to what has been said very well here already by some. Mayo were so physical, hard in the tackle and brought serious intensity to the game throughout. It seemed to make Donegal wobble and make poor decisions all night which we will have to learn a sore lesson from. Mayo's shooting could get cost them yet though.

Luckily for them, we were worse in that department. We got the ball moving more directly in the second half after a really poor first half, but we left the shooting boots at home. Some misses were not even under any pressure. Can only put it down to the fact we were rattled and chasing a game for the first time all season and it didn't sit well with us. Our handling in the rain too was awful compared to Mayo. We have loads of potential and these past two years will bring the young lads on a mile, but we need to deliver in the next year or two before Murphy starts to go back the way.

If Mayo can bring that intensity next weekend again and improve their shooting, they will be very hard to beat. If last night brought too much out of them then it's another story. That's where the one week turnaround is a joke now with Dublin and Tyrone fielding second string teams today.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 04/08/2019 08:13:59    2220412

Replying To Mayfair:  "I'm beginning to think it's time to go back to proper knockout competition for All Irelands - some kind of open draw rather than provincial. Mayo are in a semi final having lost twice. Kilkenny in a final having done the same. Tyrone might be the same after tomorrow. It devalues the championship. And if there were straight knock out championships in football and hurling it could be run off more quickly leaving a lot of the summer for clubs. But maybe Sky and Money rule ok."
I think it's the opposite. Mayo have played eight matches so far against all types of opposition same with Tyrone over the last two years. It is great at the height of the summer going around the country. It must be hard on teams like Fermanagh who have played two games and it is over. The championship should be played over June July August and the club game put in cold storage. At the moment the club game in the summer is a run down effort with few major championship games.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 04/08/2019 08:31:35    2220414

Real championship fayre last night. The quality wasn't stellar, and it was never going to be given the weather conditions, but there was sense of gusto that was missing from Mayo's previous group games.

I felt that Mayo's middle eight got on top for most of the game, winning most of the breaking ball and forcing Patton intolerance few uncharacteristic mistakes from his kickouts. Paddy Durcan was outstanding and I thought Lee Keegan was very good, an extremely soft penalty decision aside.

Andy Moran was again instrumental to most of Mayo's attacks and shows his value to the team. We are simply not as dangerous when he is out of the team IMO.

Even Rob Hennelly, who I am often critical of, had a good game, his kickouts finding his man, one hairy moment in the first half aside. I would still have Clarke return if possible though.

Both teams had some horrendous wides and I don't think that either the Dubs or Tyrone will be bricking it at the thought of facing us in the semi-finals. But that is for another day.

Donegal have a very exciting young running side for whom the conditions were probably not optimal last night. I think this game was probably a learning curve for them and they will be better for it next season.

Having read some of the comments on the Donegal board recently, I do hope that they enjoyed their trip out west (match aside!) and that it was rancour-free for them.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 04/08/2019 08:51:21    2220421

After our 3 battles this year, I have a new found fondness for donegal (particularly their fans) so was hoping it would be their year. However what a turnaround from mayo. Didn't see game as was in Navan but caught a quick look at it on planner.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/08/2019 08:58:28    2220423

Mayo's 8th semi final in 9 years...may not seem like much to a younger crowd but this is unprecedented form from a Mayo team....great character and determination.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 04/08/2019 09:01:29    2220425

Replying To tearintom:  "Cracking game

Amazing what knockout football does isn't it, weeks of utter nothingness with 8 teams and basically we end up with one meaningful game out of the whole lot that's actually exciting.

Who would have thought it. Super 8s me hole."
So we all just imagined the "super" Donegal v Kerry" game two weeks ago.

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 04/08/2019 09:11:02    2220429

Replying To tearintom:  "Cracking game

Amazing what knockout football does isn't it, weeks of utter nothingness with 8 teams and basically we end up with one meaningful game out of the whole lot that's actually exciting.

Who would have thought it. Super 8s me hole."
Did you see the Donegal and Kerry game? It was quite good.

lambofgod (Mayo) - Posts: 116 - 04/08/2019 09:12:45    2220431

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Never crossed my.mind that Murphy was in anyway the kind of player your suggesting. He is a big man and gets plenty of attention from the opposition so he would have to be somewhat physical. Hard but fair player IMO."
Well said. Poster doesn't have the first clue about Murphy, the man is a gent and a warrior. When you get the abuse that man has taken down the years you learn to stand up for yourself.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 04/08/2019 09:56:26    2220439

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo's 8th semi final in 9 years...may not seem like much to a younger crowd but this is unprecedented form from a Mayo team....great character and determination."
Indeed it is. A golden period for Mayo and unprecedented. All they need now is to win an AI.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 04/08/2019 10:09:23    2220441

Replying To Gleebo:  "Real championship fayre last night. The quality wasn't stellar, and it was never going to be given the weather conditions, but there was sense of gusto that was missing from Mayo's previous group games.

I felt that Mayo's middle eight got on top for most of the game, winning most of the breaking ball and forcing Patton intolerance few uncharacteristic mistakes from his kickouts. Paddy Durcan was outstanding and I thought Lee Keegan was very good, an extremely soft penalty decision aside.

Andy Moran was again instrumental to most of Mayo's attacks and shows his value to the team. We are simply not as dangerous when he is out of the team IMO.

Even Rob Hennelly, who I am often critical of, had a good game, his kickouts finding his man, one hairy moment in the first half aside. I would still have Clarke return if possible though.

Both teams had some horrendous wides and I don't think that either the Dubs or Tyrone will be bricking it at the thought of facing us in the semi-finals. But that is for another day.

Donegal have a very exciting young running side for whom the conditions were probably not optimal last night. I think this game was probably a learning curve for them and they will be better for it next season.

Having read some of the comments on the Donegal board recently, I do hope that they enjoyed their trip out west (match aside!) and that it was rancour-free for them."
I am a frequent visitor to Mayo as I have family living there, never have an issue with mayo people who I always find welcoming, the entertainment before the game was great, great atmosphere, until the match started.

The vitriolic shouts to Michael Murphy and other Donegal players was disgusting, booing of players taking frees also has no place in the GAA. There are a section of idiots who go to Donegal games and call themselves fans who also engage in this, but I never witnessed anything like last night.

Not disputing result we were very poor and deserved nothing from the game, nobody likes a sore loser, but a sore winner is worse. The triumphalism at the end and horrible comments that many of us had to endure leaving the ground was disgusting. As a neutral I always liked to see mayo do well, very sour taste in the mouth after yesterday.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 04/08/2019 10:19:42    2220450

Replying To Gleebo:  "Real championship fayre last night. The quality wasn't stellar, and it was never going to be given the weather conditions, but there was sense of gusto that was missing from Mayo's previous group games.

Having read some of the comments on the Donegal board recently, I do hope that they enjoyed their trip out west (match aside!) and that it was rancour-free for them."
Good summation Gleebo. In terms of your last point unfortunately I did not have a good experience in the ground because of a few eejits but I would not put that down to Mayo people, sure I had an amazing evening in Castlebar and on to Westport after the match and I've the hangover to show for it! All the best going forward, I think the week turnaround is an absolute joke considering the intensity brought by your boys yesterday. Keegan looked to roll his ankle or something in the 2nd half but ran it off, I hope it won't be an issue now without adrenaline for him.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 04/08/2019 10:25:52    2220453

Replying To totalrecall:  "I am a frequent visitor to Mayo as I have family living there, never have an issue with mayo people who I always find welcoming, the entertainment before the game was great, great atmosphere, until the match started.

The vitriolic shouts to Michael Murphy and other Donegal players was disgusting, booing of players taking frees also has no place in the GAA. There are a section of idiots who go to Donegal games and call themselves fans who also engage in this, but I never witnessed anything like last night.

Not disputing result we were very poor and deserved nothing from the game, nobody likes a sore loser, but a sore winner is worse. The triumphalism at the end and horrible comments that many of us had to endure leaving the ground was disgusting. As a neutral I always liked to see mayo do well, very sour taste in the mouth after yesterday."
Agreed 100% - had 2 young kids with me and they were appalled

They will never win Sam and this is part of reason why that puts a smile on my face this morning

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/08/2019 10:49:19    2220470

Dublin Beware: Mayo still fight like Evander Holyfield
https://mma-insiders.com/mayovsdonegal

Mmainsider1973 (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 04/08/2019 10:49:56    2220472

I felt the attitude was right from Mayo coming in, while Donegal not naming a team, despite similar doubts to Mayo's over player fitness, was giving Mayo too much respect. I felt beforehand that it could lead the Donegal lads into a mentality of uncertainty... like they needed to fool Mayo in some way and catch them out. All feeds a back foot attitude. But this young Donegal team has plenty of talent and will be a force over the next number of years.

As for Tyrone or Dublin and next, Mayo will be well motivated again by the fact that two shadow teams will be doing their utmost to lose a game in order not to face them.... the Dubs a little less so to be fair to them. Tyrone's poor record against Mayo probably has a lot to do with it, but today makes more of a mockery of the Super 8s than a team losing a couple of games and still being the championship does.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 04/08/2019 11:00:36    2220479

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Good summation Gleebo. In terms of your last point unfortunately I did not have a good experience in the ground because of a few eejits but I would not put that down to Mayo people, sure I had an amazing evening in Castlebar and on to Westport after the match and I've the hangover to show for it! All the best going forward, I think the week turnaround is an absolute joke considering the intensity brought by your boys yesterday. Keegan looked to roll his ankle or something in the 2nd half but ran it off, I hope it won't be an issue now without adrenaline for him."
Hope you enjoyed your night despite the result. Look their are ejects in every county...had two donegal lads shouting at me after laughing saying we will never win Sam...all fun and games

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 04/08/2019 11:03:53    2220481

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Agreed 100% - had 2 young kids with me and they were appalled

They will never win Sam and this is part of reason why that puts a smile on my face this morning"
I will have to admit I heard bad language and some abuse.

No more than you'd hear at any other match though. All big matches get these kind of buffoons. Most of centers around O she's getting flattened after the penalty and McBrearty and Murphy going mental trying to get at O Shea while he was on the ground.

I take it you never stood in the hill when Donegal play the Dubs.

Heard plenty of Donegal supporters still going on about 2012, while leaving early and their team only 2 points behind against a team that gives you a chance even at the death normally. I wouldn't class them as supporters either.

I went for a few pints in castle at afterwards and no matter the jersey, the form was good. Your fairly blowing the thing out of proportion.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1126 - 04/08/2019 11:24:25    2220492

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Agreed 100% - had 2 young kids with me and they were appalled

They will never win Sam and this is part of reason why that puts a smile on my face this morning"
Are donegal not playing Dublin next weekend ? Thought they were through after they drew with Kerry ?

Galway2019 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 04/08/2019 11:27:12    2220496

Replying To Galway2019:  "Are donegal not playing Dublin next weekend ? Thought they were through after they drew with Kerry ?"
No Donegal are out. Kerry 5pts Mayo 4pts Donegal 3pts.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2212 - 04/08/2019 11:41:13    2220507