The Next Kildare Manager

Glenn Ryan, Davy Burke the U20 manager from last year, Jack O'Connor and Ross Glavin are names I've seen mentioned. An attractive job with plenty of up and coming talent from last year's U20 All Ireland winning team.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 17/07/2019 19:17:27    2212497

Replying To gaelicgab:  "Glenn Ryan, Davy Burke the U20 manager from last year, Jack O'Connor and Ross Glavin are names I've seen mentioned. An attractive job with plenty of up and coming talent from last year's U20 All Ireland winning team."
Has to be Glynn Ryan surely???

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/07/2019 19:47:14    2212509

Replying To gaelicgab:  "Glenn Ryan, Davy Burke the U20 manager from last year, Jack O'Connor and Ross Glavin are names I've seen mentioned. An attractive job with plenty of up and coming talent from last year's U20 All Ireland winning team."
The problem with the u20 talent is it wont be ready to nake the step up next year. These lads usually need 3 or 4 years around a panel to bed in, hit their peak and warrant a starting spot on a senior intercounty team. Anyone from outside the county will want ready made talent to pick from as they will need to hit the ground running to justify the silly money Kildare might pay.

The talent is there though to vastly improve on this year. Dan Flynn, Kevin Flynn, a fully fit Ben McCormack and Paul Cribben would start on that team and improve it. There wil be a few retirees i would think. Eoghan o'Flaherty and Peter Kelly owe the county nothing at this stage.

Regarding the manager I'm not sure about Glen the more I think of it. Sentiment cant come into it. He has been out of intercounty football a while and managing intermediate in Kildare. Again a man who is a Kildare ledgend but this should come into it.

What we need is a mix of hunger and a bit of experience. Ross Glavin and Davy Burke will certainly be hungry but perhaps its a few years to early for these lads.

What we need now is for someone to come in and give us some stability. Malachy Orourke could do that and has a proven record with Monaghan of doing well with what he has. With hopefully a conveyor belt being setup with our underage success we need to be in division one and staying there.

In short this appointment has to be right. If we were to go the wrong way about it we could easily find ourselves in Division 3.

They need to stay away from mercenaries too.

And no. Regardless of McGeeneys future with Armagh I would have him back. I would have Rory Gallagher either.

People suggesting Jim McGuinness or Jack O'Connor are smoking something. Stephen Rochford wont leave donegal as he will feel there is an all ireland there in the next few years.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 17/07/2019 19:49:49    2212511

Replying To daytona11:  "The problem with the u20 talent is it wont be ready to nake the step up next year. These lads usually need 3 or 4 years around a panel to bed in, hit their peak and warrant a starting spot on a senior intercounty team. Anyone from outside the county will want ready made talent to pick from as they will need to hit the ground running to justify the silly money Kildare might pay.

The talent is there though to vastly improve on this year. Dan Flynn, Kevin Flynn, a fully fit Ben McCormack and Paul Cribben would start on that team and improve it. There wil be a few retirees i would think. Eoghan o'Flaherty and Peter Kelly owe the county nothing at this stage.

Regarding the manager I'm not sure about Glen the more I think of it. Sentiment cant come into it. He has been out of intercounty football a while and managing intermediate in Kildare. Again a man who is a Kildare ledgend but this should come into it.

What we need is a mix of hunger and a bit of experience. Ross Glavin and Davy Burke will certainly be hungry but perhaps its a few years to early for these lads.

What we need now is for someone to come in and give us some stability. Malachy Orourke could do that and has a proven record with Monaghan of doing well with what he has. With hopefully a conveyor belt being setup with our underage success we need to be in division one and staying there.

In short this appointment has to be right. If we were to go the wrong way about it we could easily find ourselves in Division 3.

They need to stay away from mercenaries too.

And no. Regardless of McGeeneys future with Armagh I would have him back. I would have Rory Gallagher either.

People suggesting Jim McGuinness or Jack O'Connor are smoking something. Stephen Rochford wont leave donegal as he will feel there is an all ireland there in the next few years."
Jack o'connor Hasn't the tactical nous for the modern game.

Malachy O'Rourke would be my choice if ye are looking outside the county.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/07/2019 20:55:02    2212533

If he's interested should be Glenn Ryan. Did a great job here in Longford, had us very solid at the back and stopped us conceding sloppy goals. From what I've heard players enjoyed working with him too.

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 17/07/2019 21:11:08    2212539

Replying To catchturnscore:  "If he's interested should be Glenn Ryan. Did a great job here in Longford, had us very solid at the back and stopped us conceding sloppy goals. From what I've heard players enjoyed working with him too."
The problem I have with Glenn is that he left Longford 6 years ago. That's a serious time gap in terms of the modern game. Again sentiment shouldnt cone into this.

Sweeney , Ryan and Earley shouldnt be anywhere near it either yet. Possibly as part of a management team but they shouldbt be the manager.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 17/07/2019 22:07:36    2212564

Looks like the Kildare County Board want Jack'O Connor for the job (today's Indo).

Is the right man?

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 06/08/2019 10:18:11    2221467

Replying To CornAghais91:  "Looks like the Kildare County Board want Jack'O Connor for the job (today's Indo).

Is the right man?"
Most in Kildare will be happy if it's Jack.
Daytona will have to ratify it ahead of county board though ...

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 06/08/2019 10:38:38    2221484

At this point in time money would be better spent on good underage coaching with a view to building towards the future. Let's keep building on underage success. Then maybe just maybe we could see kildare holding their own. Kildare have been stagnant and rudderless for years now. People need to be realistic.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 06/08/2019 10:40:35    2221485

Replying To CornAghais91:  "Looks like the Kildare County Board want Jack'O Connor for the job (today's Indo).

Is the right man?"
Looks like he's going to be appointed this week and ratified at the September co Board meeting.
Personally I think he would be a good appointment.
He certainly has the pedigree and I think he would get those who didn't commit this season back on board as well as bringing in a nucleus of underage players.
Some will say that he's too long out of senior inter county at this stage and the game has changed etc, etc. I don't know if that's valid or not. The best can adapt or plod their own furrow.A big factor will be who he brings in as management team
The other advantages is that he is well acquainted with Kildare club football.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2987 - 06/08/2019 10:45:24    2221486

Is the right man?"
I would have to say he is. Has the pedigree and knows the Kildare scene very well from recent years. He'll command instant respect and hopefully give us an identity and shape that has been largely missing over the last number of years

JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 06/08/2019 10:56:36    2221490

I agree with the posters above.

I really think he could reenergise the whole setup and get all the players on board. He could also be one of the best placed to make best use of Kildares undoubted underage talents. And as pointed out he is very familiar with the club scene - I think he actually had some coaching advisory role there not so long ago.

I'd love to some him restore Kildare to genuine Leinster and AI challengers because the ability is definitely there. The work needed won't happen overnight but if players, county board and fans alike buy into it and give him the time needed I'd say the results will follow.

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 06/08/2019 11:16:17    2221504

Is the right man?"
Jack O'Connor will most definitely get the job.

Cuhullain (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 06/08/2019 13:46:05    2221591

JOC is probably the best out of some average contenders. Thats where we are at though. JOC has pedigree though and knows what it takes to win. He should also be able to regain the services of Dan Flynn. We cant be missing players of that quality.
We have some really good and talented players in our side though and more coming through. Id like to see Ross Glavin being involved too. In terms of getting to the level or near the level the dubs are at i think its attainable. We showed this year that we can score against them but we tired in the second half. Again i dont blame our lads for that. We were out the previous 2 weeks and one game went to extra time also.

Monaghan beat us by 2 points and Galway by 3 in the super 8s so we are there or there abouts.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 06/08/2019 14:06:13    2221601

Replying To daytona11:  "JOC is probably the best out of some average contenders. Thats where we are at though. JOC has pedigree though and knows what it takes to win. He should also be able to regain the services of Dan Flynn. We cant be missing players of that quality.
We have some really good and talented players in our side though and more coming through. Id like to see Ross Glavin being involved too. In terms of getting to the level or near the level the dubs are at i think its attainable. We showed this year that we can score against them but we tired in the second half. Again i dont blame our lads for that. We were out the previous 2 weeks and one game went to extra time also.

Monaghan beat us by 2 points and Galway by 3 in the super 8s so we are there or there abouts."
Neither of them are super 8s this year, how far back dya want to go for possitive results ...... JOC should steer well clear of that job, as cian oneill said himself, ridiculous expectations based on nothing really, no past success, even in recent history to warrant the demand kildare people have for success. Loads of talent there to work with tho clearly.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 06/08/2019 15:42:33    2221671

Replying To daytona11:  "JOC is probably the best out of some average contenders. Thats where we are at though. JOC has pedigree though and knows what it takes to win. He should also be able to regain the services of Dan Flynn. We cant be missing players of that quality.

Monaghan beat us by 2 points and Galway by 3 in the super 8s so we are there or there abouts."
That's grand Daytona, so now the county board can go ahead :)

Btw he should get more than Dan back. Jack Robinson for starters, Murray, Masterson etc

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 06/08/2019 16:15:04    2221684

According to the Kildare co board no one has been offered the job yet. What's with all the media pronouncements that Jack O'Connor is about to be announced as the new manager? Did they not learn from the last time when they were well wide of the post so to speak?

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2987 - 06/08/2019 20:06:37    2221851

Replying To St.Conleth:  "That's grand Daytona, so now the county board can go ahead :)

Btw he should get more than Dan back. Jack Robinson for starters, Murray, Masterson etc"
LoL.

Yeh also a few more around the county he should have a look at ( if he does takeover). Sam Doran JTB is a decent baller although we have plenty of forward options. I'd like to see Shane McNamara getting a decent run in goal and Aaron O'Neill in midfield for a few games. We need competition for Donnellan. The backs are a real head scratcher. Usually its forwards we are trying to find.

Im not sure if there are any that stand out. Possibly Conway to centre back and try that.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 06/08/2019 21:36:50    2221912

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Neither of them are super 8s this year, how far back dya want to go for possitive results ...... JOC should steer well clear of that job, as cian oneill said himself, ridiculous expectations based on nothing really, no past success, even in recent history to warrant the demand kildare people have for success. Loads of talent there to work with tho clearly."
I've been saying for years how deluded so many people are here in Kildare, football in Kildare is light years away from the top table. Its been 19 years since the seniors won anything meaningful, we aren't even near challenging for a leinster never mind the bigger prizes.
All you have to do is look at how poor club football is within the county, that tells its own story.
I'd be more interested in seeing what coaches/managers are going into the underage teams, building a strong underage platform that is competing for honours on a yearly basis. This is where the future lies, not in the current senior setup.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 07/08/2019 08:30:38    2222027

Replying To Bon:  "I've been saying for years how deluded so many people are here in Kildare, football in Kildare is light years away from the top table. Its been 19 years since the seniors won anything meaningful, we aren't even near challenging for a leinster never mind the bigger prizes.
All you have to do is look at how poor club football is within the county, that tells its own story.
I'd be more interested in seeing what coaches/managers are going into the underage teams, building a strong underage platform that is competing for honours on a yearly basis. This is where the future lies, not in the current senior setup."
Moorefield won Leinster only two season ago and there are an additional 4/5 teams that can challenge them? I don't see the issue with the Kildare club scene.. I also don't know to what extent your head is in the sand about the current underage success rates, but the latter half of this decade has been one of the most successful periods in the counties history at underage.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 07/08/2019 09:34:02    2222045