Limerick V Kilkenny

Replying To Bon:  "As I've said those type of "decisions" are one man's interpretation, a ball put out over a line by way of an opposition player is black and white there's no debate, it went out or it did not. Simples."
I'd be thinking that holding the hurl of an opposing player while challenging for the ball is fairly Simples!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 28/07/2019 09:21:26    2217419

Just another blatant display of the lack of proper standards from the officials when the players are putting so much effort and commitment in. The linesman and umpires should be better than this and the players deserve better.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 28/07/2019 09:47:02    2217422

I understand the pain and shock of losing, but this stacking up the officials' faults in a game like hurling just smacks of sour grapes. What do they expect the GAA to do? same thing what Limerick should do! review what went right and what went wrong, hopefully both learn from it. Limerick didn't lose the game on that decision alone.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 28/07/2019 10:13:09    2217427

Replying To Bon:  "As I've said those type of "decisions" are one man's interpretation, a ball put out over a line by way of an opposition player is black and white there's no debate, it went out or it did not. Simples."
As are penalties (and dubious ones at that) struck inside the permitted distance, but you don't seem to have your knickers in a twist about that.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 10:13:10    2217428

Replying To endgame:  "Why did Linerick play so defensively in the second half.? They were chasing the game and had whatever wind there was at their backs.Despite all that,Limerick has so few players up front that when they played the ball out of defence,a Limerick forward was outnumbered by Kilkenny backs by at least three to one and the ball came back down .This is a talented Limerick team and there are some doubts about the Kilkenny Defence.Surely Limerick should have been far more attacking in the second half and have attempted to open up Kilkenny for goals.Limerick management got it wrong and were out thought by Cody."
Yes. I absolutely agree with you on this. There was a lot of wides hit from distance because there was no enough men inside at a time when our defence were on top

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 28/07/2019 10:16:48    2217429

Replying To old yellar:  "am from neither county so no skin in the fire, but apart from the 65 at the end, how are we not talking about the 9 steps for fennellys goal??? like i know we all say ah it ends on the field, take your beating like a man etc but in the modern game lads are putting in 20 plus hours a week, putting their lives on hold and then get officiating like this?? in one way its worse than big mistakes say in big soccer games as those lads are doing a job and get paid for it. and then the money it costs to keep the show on the road... jayus.."
What about the bogus penalty the ref gave to "make a game of it" (why do GAA refs think it's their job to keep teams in a game)? And struck inside the permitted distance too.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 10:18:00    2217430

Replying To Ban:  "I'd be thinking that holding the hurl of an opposing player while challenging for the ball is fairly Simples!"
With an opponents hurl wrapped around you and his other arm holding you too?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 28/07/2019 10:21:40    2217432

Replying To ballydalane:  "The Limerick sideline went out of play past the allotted 5 minutes injury time, so regardless of whether it was a wide or a 65, by rights Limerick wouldn't have had time to take the 65 anyway."
No no. He allowed the puck out. If it was not a score direct situation the resultant 65 would and should have been allowed. Remember the phrase is 'at least five minutes added time'. It not allotted in black and white. Remember there was eight extra minutes time called in last years Final and 10 minutes extra time ensued. In any code if something is conceded teams are allowed to take it. I just can imagine Cody 'addressing' the ref if the situation was reversed. Marty Morrissey certainly got both barrels in 2009.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 28/07/2019 10:24:34    2217434

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Good summation byBon and corkcelt.. officiating and use of technology etc should be addressed at annual Central Council meetiings or GAA cMCongress. This year's event seemed to be a 1/2 hour railroad job which was attended by by few or no delegates and brushed aside with a trip to the chipper. That is why we have imbeciles for umpires and linesman , and refs who cannot keep up with the pace. ( Kilkenny have been capitalizing on this for years)- ..worthy winners today, apart from that. This is happening with increasing frequency and appears to be getting the blind-eye treatment. Please pass the "gravy"."
Ha, short of putting on a green jersey and taking the frees himself, the ref couldn't have done more to help ye yesterday. Dodgy penalty and all at 6 points down (dodgy in every way, its awarding and its execution).

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 10:25:45    2217435

To ALL the Kilkenny fans (and it was all I met) who moaned about the penalty not ONE single analyst thought it wasn't a penalty. As for Cillian Buckleys tackle on Nash I suppose ALL those fans think that's part of the game. Tough game for the ref but missing a blatant red and a blatant 65 is unforgivable. To Kilkenny fans I simply say the ref is not only there for Kilkenny .

Green2debone (Limerick) - Posts: 18 - 28/07/2019 10:27:45    2217437

Replying To Clubgaa:  "Did you not see the reaction of the crowd in the Cusack and Davin Stands. We went crazy. Brian Geary ran the length of the sideline with the linesman who had to have seen it. That same linesman insisted on Diarmuid Byrnes moving a long range free back 2 feet earlier in the game."
..... the plot thickens.....

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 10:32:57    2217441

I wonder would there be the same uproar had Kilkenny been denied a 65? Somehow I think not.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 10:34:58    2217443

Plus I have it on good authority that one of the Kilkenny players near the incident is "100% certain" that it should never have been a Limerick line ball in the first place. I'm gonna watch it back to confirm.....

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 10:37:50    2217445

Replying To Oldtourman:  "When consider there were two umpires, two linesmen and a referee in fairly close proximity and nobody saw a deflection that Kilkenny supporters around us freely admitted was a sixty five, you do wonder."
Its just a shame that so many people can't see or don't want to see this incident for what it is. Its those kind of attitudes that keep the GAA in the dark ages. Why can't we ask serious questions of officials over these type of calls? Why are people just happy to accept these short comings of referees/linesmen/umpires time and time again? Its irrevelant how many wides limerick hit, they were denied what was rightly theirs at the death by mediocre officiating.
Just say it was the other way around and limerick pipped Kilkenny by one point and Kilkenny we're denied that 65 there would be uproar.
Or could you imagine a team playing against Dublin footballers and losing in similar circumstances? All 31 counties would be up in arms.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 28/07/2019 10:41:28    2217448

Anyone see the real problem here as cork have found out to the detriment many time only twice in a decade have the Munster champions won next game after 4 week break
Hurling Is a timing game like golf darts act u need to be competitive all times to be at your peak and no amount of a vs b games can rectify this. TIME FOR OPEN CHAMPIONSHIP KNOCK OUT!!!!!! Real championship ...
As for yesterday one decision didn't cost limerick you could go back over 75 mins and question a dozen decisions 50/50 which could gone either way the fact is kk ran riot st start because limerick were not up to pace and I'm after last week's game were razor sharp and battle hardend

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 28/07/2019 10:44:42    2217452

Replying To ballydalane:  "Ha, short of putting on a green jersey and taking the frees himself, the ref couldn't have done more to help ye yesterday. Dodgy penalty and all at 6 points down (dodgy in every way, its awarding and its execution)."
Execution? Sure he sent eoin Murphy the wrong way??
Weren't ye the beneficiaries of a similar "dodgy" penalty that sent ye on your way against Tipperary some time back...

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 28/07/2019 11:01:32    2217463

Replying To ballydalane:  "I wonder would there be the same uproar had Kilkenny been denied a 65? Somehow I think not."
Well if it meant that they were out of the championship I think you'd be very surprised, as would there be for any county for that matter.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 28/07/2019 11:06:05    2217466

Replying To ballydalane:  "What about the bogus penalty the ref gave to "make a game of it" (why do GAA refs think it's their job to keep teams in a game)? And struck inside the permitted distance too."
I think you're missing my point here man but making it for me in another!! I be no interest in either of them winning. I love the game. But the decisions are what interest me. If the penalty wasn't a penalty, if he hit it inside the 21, - haven't seen a clear angle on this I must say, if fennelly did take 8 steps for the goal - easy count these, if the sideline was really a kk ball and if the ball was deflected for a 65 and missed.. Disputed calls with a huge bearing on the game for both teams. And it's not acceptable anymore given what's at stake. The old comment of what goes around comes around or things balance out etc is not acceptable anymore given the input players put in. And it's not just in yesterday's game but others. Players have moved their prep etc to near professional levels but they are subject to v poor reffing standards. A big deficit in both codes still.

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2625 - 28/07/2019 11:12:38    2217472

Replying To Hitnhurl:  "Anyone see the real problem here as cork have found out to the detriment many time only twice in a decade have the Munster champions won next game after 4 week break
Hurling Is a timing game like golf darts act u need to be competitive all times to be at your peak and no amount of a vs b games can rectify this. TIME FOR OPEN CHAMPIONSHIP KNOCK OUT!!!!!! Real championship ...
As for yesterday one decision didn't cost limerick you could go back over 75 mins and question a dozen decisions 50/50 which could gone either way the fact is kk ran riot st start because limerick were not up to pace and I'm after last week's game were razor sharp and battle hardend"
I agree with you about being competitive at all times to be at your peak, but the issue here isn't with 50/50 decisions, its with a black and white decision that should never have missed by any official.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 28/07/2019 11:16:58    2217474

Replying To Bon:  "Its just a shame that so many people can't see or don't want to see this incident for what it is. Its those kind of attitudes that keep the GAA in the dark ages. Why can't we ask serious questions of officials over these type of calls? Why are people just happy to accept these short comings of referees/linesmen/umpires time and time again? Its irrevelant how many wides limerick hit, they were denied what was rightly theirs at the death by mediocre officiating.
Just say it was the other way around and limerick pipped Kilkenny by one point and Kilkenny we're denied that 65 there would be uproar.
Or could you imagine a team playing against Dublin footballers and losing in similar circumstances? All 31 counties would be up in arms."
Officiating errors happen in all sports, amateur and professional.

Most Limerick fans, players and management will sportingly (and did yesterday as I was at the match) that it was the wides that cost them and KK were very good.

I feel like saying to you, as Brian Cody did in 2009, 'did you analyse every single decisionin that match?'. For example from my vantage point the line ball at the end was a KK ball,50/50 at best.

This faux outrage is probably an anti Kilkenny winning thing, and i'msure you know that.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 28/07/2019 11:26:59    2217479