Limerick V Kilkenny

Replying To ballydalane:  "1905?! Pissing on gunpowder??!! Oh dear!

As Tommie Gorman said to Roy Keane, "this is hurting you, isn't it?""
It was the Doonane colliers, of Welsh decent, Laois. Well known in our area.

More convenient to pin it on KK as big rivals of Wex.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 01/08/2019 10:14:43    2219337

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "It was the Doonane colliers, of Welsh decent, Laois. Well known in our area.

More convenient to pin it on KK as big rivals of Wex."
Yes, I knew that years ago and some say it was English workers based in Doonane and more say the 'dreadful deed' never took place at all or was due to the fact that proper care was not taken of the ammunition. I tend to believe either of the last two options. All the above was a piece of 'creative' nonsense, but not entirely devoid of 'historical' facts. Anyway, you really wonder about people who took it seriously. There is surely one born every minute
However the best of luck to both Tipp and Kilkenny in the Final and may the best team.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/08/2019 10:53:25    2219348

Replying To ballydalane:  "1905?! Pissing on gunpowder??!! Oh dear!

As Tommie Gorman said to Roy Keane, "this is hurting you, isn't it?""
Oh they are very upset about 1905 in Cork yet- well at least they were up to last Thursday. However as they say a week is a long time in politics. Great chatting so cordially with you.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/08/2019 11:03:42    2219354

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Yes, I knew that years ago and some say it was English workers based in Doonane and more say the 'dreadful deed' never took place at all or was due to the fact that proper care was not taken of the ammunition. I tend to believe either of the last two options. All the above was a piece of 'creative' nonsense, but not entirely devoid of 'historical' facts. Anyway, you really wonder about people who took it seriously. There is surely one born every minute
However the best of luck to both Tipp and Kilkenny in the Final and may the best team."
Yes that's all very true.

A lot of the miners were illiterate and history is written by those who are the victor (or can write in some cases). Miles Byrne, 18, and Wexford leader who became a French General wrote most of the bits about the colliers down.

Yes indeed Good Luck to Tipp and KK.

And just to add Limerick were great champions and i think with such good managers and young players they'll be back.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 01/08/2019 11:17:42    2219363

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Oh they are very upset about 1905 in Cork yet- well at least they were up to last Thursday. However as they say a week is a long time in politics. Great chatting so cordially with you."
'hurting'?? I have ardently followed a losing team for 45 long years. Sir, You would not have a clue what REAL HURTING is like.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/08/2019 11:38:39    2219378

Replying To Oldtourman:  "The reason for the 'petty posting' is that your fellow county subscriber said our county board had sent an objection to Croke Park and passed derogatory remarks about them for so doing . All they did was convey their dissatisfaction to the authorities at the level of Performance of the officials on Saturday and ask that people should be helped to be prepared to officiate at major games and instead of passing belittling comments about the Limerick County Board other County Boards should be supporting them, because our players deserve better, from whatever county them come, and on a wider basis our Associations image is not enchanced when mistakes of this nature are highlighted. I then engaged a little of light relief about KK and objections, seeing as our friend had brought up the subject. All a bit of harmless fun, never meant to give offence, only a bit of amusement. After all ' a little nonsence, now and then, is relished by the wisest men'. I take it you are one of the 'the wisest men'"
Afternoon Oldtourman. I didn't say they lodged an "objection", I said they lodged a "complaint".

https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/hurling/hurling-news/limerick-lodge-complaint-gaa-after-18800861

At least with an objection they'd be trying to do something about the result. To me, a "complaint" just comes across as petty and passive-aggressive by the Limerick county board. The ref, linesman and umpire didn't see the deflection. Maybe they should have, but they didn't. What exactly do Limerick want the GAA to do about it?

Like the old Donegal Catch advert, I'm sure the GAA are "putting your complaint oan file. In a filing cyabinet".

No offence taken on the historical anecdotes (although what it has got to do with hurling, I do not know!)

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 01/08/2019 12:52:00    2219407

Replying To ballydalane:  "Afternoon Oldtourman. I didn't say they lodged an "objection", I said they lodged a "complaint".

https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/hurling/hurling-news/limerick-lodge-complaint-gaa-after-18800861

At least with an objection they'd be trying to do something about the result. To me, a "complaint" just comes across as petty and passive-aggressive by the Limerick county board. The ref, linesman and umpire didn't see the deflection. Maybe they should have, but they didn't. What exactly do Limerick want the GAA to do about it?

Like the old Donegal Catch advert, I'm sure the GAA are "putting your complaint oan file. In a filing cyabinet".

No offence taken on the historical anecdotes (although what it has got to do with hurling, I do not know!)"
Thanks for your reply and the best of luck in the Final.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/08/2019 13:05:58    2219416

After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

That said I do think it is just a matter of time before one county objects to a decision like that given the time, effort and money going into team preparation.

It is over now nonetheless and good luck to both teams in the final. Kilkenny and Tipp have been very consistent in the championship and are potentially 70 minutes away from glory. Enjoy the big day!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 01/08/2019 13:56:38    2219439

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Thanks for your reply and the best of luck in the Final."
Westfester, Munsterchamps, Skillet and a few others are staying very quiet!!! Next year is another year!!! Its back to the local Club Championships for now Oldtourman!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 01/08/2019 15:03:12    2219476

Replying To katser:  "Westfester, Munsterchamps, Skillet and a few others are staying very quiet!!! Next year is another year!!! Its back to the local Club Championships for now Oldtourman!"
Yes indeed, that is the glory of the GAA. I go to club games and Fitzgibbon and Harty Cup matches. I saw promise in lads like Hannon, Lynch and Dowling almost a decade ago when they were young lads playing in the Harty Cup with my old school. In later years Ronan Lynch would look a better prospect that any of them, but at least up to know. he does show much hope of repeating this promise at adult level. I am sure similar things happened in Galway. I thought Jack Canning was among the best Galway minors I ever saw, a pity he was lost to the code. I was hugely impressed by the spread of clubs represented in the minor panel last year including at least four clubs, Ballygar, Annaghdown, Slyvane (I think that was the name), it appears it is a small club up around Belclare and Knocknacurra Salthill all clubs more readily associated with football. We should be getting down to brass tacks and trying to encourage lads from similar clubs to give hurling their best shot down here.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/08/2019 16:08:04    2219509

Replying To katser:  "Westfester, Munsterchamps, Skillet and a few others are staying very quiet!!! Next year is another year!!! Its back to the local Club Championships for now Oldtourman!"
You try too hard Kathy...

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 01/08/2019 17:43:09    2219533

Replying To conordee:  "Re the line ball that went no further than 7-8 metres , there is no rule regarding distance travelled , only that players must be 13m away at the taking of it. Galway tried a trick play in Sunday's minor game by tapping it a small distance as the second player walked over pretending to go and take the sideline. However the ref blew it back for no apparent reason."
Galway seniors fell for that trick recently enough (sorry don't remember the game, but it might have been against Wexford or Waterford), and I remember the play being analyzed on that podcast with yer man from Laois. One of the panelists pointed out that they'd used it in a club match, but just to be sure the ref understood that they were doing, they had a word with him before hand for the simple reasons that A. If the ref doesn't see the first touch, he'll call it back; and B. Just to be sure the ref actually understood the rule in the first place!
It was later confirmed in the senior game Galway were involved with, that the opposing team had done the same, and chatted with the ref before.

I'm willing to bet the Galway minors didn't, hence the call-back from a ref who likely didn't see the first touch, or was confused by what was going on and called it back.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 01/08/2019 20:41:57    2219561

Replying To mooncat:  "65s, frees,penalties were all put into perspective for me this evening,I was informed that Brendan Fennelly passed away today,Brendan was in his early sixties and one of the famous Fennelly brothers who brought so much honour to their club and county,Brendan was an uncle to present players Colin Fennellly and Adrian Mullen.RIP Brendan."
Sorry for your loss

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 01/08/2019 20:42:50    2219562

Replying To slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

That said I do think it is just a matter of time before one county objects to a decision like that given the time, effort and money going into team preparation.

It is over now nonetheless and good luck to both teams in the final. Kilkenny and Tipp have been very consistent in the championship and are potentially 70 minutes away from glory. Enjoy the big day!

At least with an objection they'd be trying to do something about the result. To me, a "complaint" just comes across as petty and passive-aggressive by the Limerick county board. The ref, linesman and umpire didn't see the deflection. Maybe they should have, but they didn't. What exactly do Limerick want the GAA to do about it?"
I don't think both teams have been consistent. Tipp shot the lights out in the group stages but got hammered in the Munster final, were merely functional against Laois (I have a feeling they were going in third gear in that match), before pulling out all the stops against Wexford.

Kilkenny were no more than ok in the group stages. Looked in trouble in the first half v Dublin before coming good, nearly pulled out an unlikely draw at home v Galway, battled hard for a draw away to Wexford. I thought we were awful in the Leinster final. I wouldn't have put bad money on us getting past the QFs that evening. The team and management shipped a lot of criticism in the county after that match and maybe that's served as a motivational factor and helped focused minds because the subsequent performances against Cork and Limerick were obviously massive improvements and took most people by surprise.

Still can't fully trust that defence though! If they can effectively shut down that Tipp forward line, then I might change my opinion of them!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 01/08/2019 21:17:02    2219572

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Yes indeed, that is the glory of the GAA. I go to club games and Fitzgibbon and Harty Cup matches. I saw promise in lads like Hannon, Lynch and Dowling almost a decade ago when they were young lads playing in the Harty Cup with my old school. In later years Ronan Lynch would look a better prospect that any of them, but at least up to know. he does show much hope of repeating this promise at adult level. I am sure similar things happened in Galway. I thought Jack Canning was among the best Galway minors I ever saw, a pity he was lost to the code. I was hugely impressed by the spread of clubs represented in the minor panel last year including at least four clubs, Ballygar, Annaghdown, Slyvane (I think that was the name), it appears it is a small club up around Belclare and Knocknacurra Salthill all clubs more readily associated with football. We should be getting down to brass tacks and trying to encourage lads from similar clubs to give hurling their best shot down here."
Sylane is that Club and they have been hurling there for years (actually won my first Co. underage medal against them many moons ago when they were playing in the A grade)!
Even on this years Minors team there is a spread of Clubs represented which is good to see.
The Minors going for 3 in a row this year which would be nice to win!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 01/08/2019 21:20:21    2219574

Replying To ballydalane:  "
Replying To slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

At least with an objection they'd be trying to do something about the result. To me, a "complaint" just comes across as petty and passive-aggressive by the Limerick county board. The ref, linesman and umpire didn't see the deflection. Maybe they should have, but they didn't. What exactly do Limerick want the GAA to do about it?"
I don't think both teams have been consistent. Tipp shot the lights out in the group stages but got hammered in the Munster final, were merely functional against Laois (I have a feeling they were going in third gear in that match), before pulling out all the stops against Wexford.

Kilkenny were no more than ok in the group stages. Looked in trouble in the first half v Dublin before coming good, nearly pulled out an unlikely draw at home v Galway, battled hard for a draw away to Wexford. I thought we were awful in the Leinster final. I wouldn't have put bad money on us getting past the QFs that evening. The team and management shipped a lot of criticism in the county after that match and maybe that's served as a motivational factor and helped focused minds because the subsequent performances against Cork and Limerick were obviously massive improvements and took most people by surprise.

Still can't fully trust that defence though! If they can effectively shut down that Tipp forward line, then I might change my opinion of them!"
I am not been smart, but I do not belive that Tipp were trying their best in the Munster Final. They practically all had Munster medals and their eyes were on bigger fish IMHO. I also feel our lads would have preferred to have got out of Munster in Third place, rather than as championships. I firmly believed that that day in Thurles, they thought Cork woud beat Clare and that would give us an old firm Final and and we would have slipped nice and quietly on to meet a McDonagh Cup side like last year. I also just wonder about your own counties 'simple misses' in the last five minutes of the Leinster Final. They showed no signs of such wastefulness last Saturday anyway or indeed against Cork In both those latter games the wides tally was substantially reduced. That is what makes it very hard to predict between these sides. I thought your fullback line looked nervous and unsure for the first 20 minutes against Cork, but they have been rock solid since. I just think with lads coming back from injury etc your side can only improve and I feel ye will,albeit with great difficulty claim the major prize.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/08/2019 22:00:12    2219587

Replying To Oldtourman:  "
Replying To ballydalane:  "[quote=slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

Still can't fully trust that defence though! If they can effectively shut down that Tipp forward line, then I might change my opinion of them!"
I am not been smart, but I do not belive that Tipp were trying their best in the Munster Final. They practically all had Munster medals and their eyes were on bigger fish IMHO. I also feel our lads would have preferred to have got out of Munster in Third place, rather than as championships. I firmly believed that that day in Thurles, they thought Cork woud beat Clare and that would give us an old firm Final and and we would have slipped nice and quietly on to meet a McDonagh Cup side like last year. I also just wonder about your own counties 'simple misses' in the last five minutes of the Leinster Final. They showed no signs of such wastefulness last Saturday anyway or indeed against Cork In both those latter games the wides tally was substantially reduced. That is what makes it very hard to predict between these sides. I thought your fullback line looked nervous and unsure for the first 20 minutes against Cork, but they have been rock solid since. I just think with lads coming back from injury etc your side can only improve and I feel ye will,albeit with great difficulty claim the major prize."]Ah man, you're not seriously suggesting Kilkenny's wides in the Leinster final were deliberate?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 01/08/2019 23:21:29    2219615

Replying To katser:  "Where are the All Ireland Champions now!! How did you like Saturday!!"
Such bitterness only leads to an early grave.

LimerickKid84 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 02/08/2019 08:33:05    2219642

Replying To Oldtourman:  "
Replying To ballydalane:  "[quote=slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

I am not been smart, but I do not belive that Tipp were trying their best in the Munster Final. They practically all had Munster medals and their eyes were on bigger fish IMHO. I also feel our lads would have preferred to have got out of Munster in Third place, rather than as championships. I firmly believed that that day in Thurles, they thought Cork woud beat Clare and that would give us an old firm Final and and we would have slipped nice and quietly on to meet a McDonagh Cup side like last year. I also just wonder about your own counties 'simple misses' in the last five minutes of the Leinster Final. They showed no signs of such wastefulness last Saturday anyway or indeed against Cork In both those latter games the wides tally was substantially reduced. That is what makes it very hard to predict between these sides. I thought your fullback line looked nervous and unsure for the first 20 minutes against Cork, but they have been rock solid since. I just think with lads coming back from injury etc your side can only improve and I feel ye will,albeit with great difficulty claim the major prize."]For once I agree with you reference the Final, I also feel KK will win.
What's the advantage of finishing 3rd and slipping quietly on to play a McDonagh Cup side....your still going to end up playing the Provincial runner up in the Quarter Finals!!
I'm all for the direct route, win the Province and straight into Semi Final.
In fairness both Provincial Champions this year had lots of opportunities to win their Semi Finals and they bottled it!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 02/08/2019 09:05:15    2219646

Replying To dubarra:  "T J does nothing from play?What game were you watching?"
Guess he thinks putting points(from play) is the ONLY measure of a forward. Wow. Neither of us should be replying to such nonsense.

Gowran_Yank (Kilkenny) - Posts: 96 - 02/08/2019 12:23:22    2219720