Dublin V Cork Super 8S

The Cork takeover of my gaf for the weekend is complete. Arrived home yesterday to 5 more Corkonians in my house, in addition to the one I already keep on a full time basis.

Myself and the kids are outnumbered for the weekend but with a bit of luck we'll be shot of them by Monday, although with the Cork footballers due to take on Tyrone up here again next week and the hurlers in with a shout of beating Kilkenny it may only be a temporary reprieve.

I suppose we all have our crosses to carry.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 13/07/2019 09:24:42    2210212

Replying To MesAmis:  "The Cork takeover of my gaf for the weekend is complete. Arrived home yesterday to 5 more Corkonians in my house, in addition to the one I already keep on a full time basis.

Myself and the kids are outnumbered for the weekend but with a bit of luck we'll be shot of them by Monday, although with the Cork footballers due to take on Tyrone up here again next week and the hurlers in with a shout of beating Kilkenny it may only be a temporary reprieve.

I suppose we all have our crosses to carry."
Be thankful they arent into Westlife.

I was that solider last weekend.

Ever try explaining a leap card to a culchie, id say its the first time a rosary has been said on the Luas. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/07/2019 10:25:11    2210223

Is there any game on tonight beforehand?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/07/2019 10:40:01    2210225

Complete non event here, cork our a poor team the dubs will hammer them by 12 plus.
Hopefully this is not the case and cork give them a a run for there money but chances our slim to none.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 705 - 13/07/2019 11:09:42    2210231

Replying To Yourjoking:  "Complete non event here, cork our a poor team the dubs will hammer them by 12 plus.
Hopefully this is not the case and cork give them a a run for there money but chances our slim to none."
I see where you got your name now.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 13/07/2019 13:01:53    2210261

Replying To TheUsername:  "Be thankful they arent into Westlife.

I was that solider last weekend.

Ever try explaining a leap card to a culchie, id say its the first time a rosary has been said on the Luas. ;)"
Leap Card? Why bother with public transport when their daughter can just volunteer MesAmis to ferry them to and fro!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 13/07/2019 13:19:31    2210266

I'm heading down early to use the free Croke Park broadband

Mes Amis I'll keep an eye out for the Dub supporter surrounded by cork fans eating ham sandwiches

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/07/2019 16:16:23    2210289

I am hearing rumours of a poor crowd in croker.

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 248 - 13/07/2019 18:56:11    2210314

Great team work from ref and umpires best ref in country

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 13/07/2019 19:06:17    2210319

Jack McCaffrey and Paul Kerrigan are superb footballers.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 13/07/2019 19:27:11    2210323

Fair play to Cork, giving it a real go with some good attacking football and some nice scores.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 13/07/2019 19:45:08    2210329

game over ive watched enough..poor turnout worrying times for the gaa funds

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 13/07/2019 19:50:03    2210331

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Fair play to Cork, giving it a real go with some good attacking football and some nice scores."
Cue patronising guff from Dublin fans now. While undoubtedly Dublin have some very good footballers the big difference is that from 30 mins onwards their fitness and conditioning starts to take over and they begin to pull away. Football wise for half an hour Cork were as good as Dublin and just as talented and capable. However you could see Dublin's superior physical state give them a clear advantage. Now if people are saying that's nothing to do with the finance, facilities, coaching etc they are deluded. It was the same in lady year's All Ireland final. Tyrone were excellent for a half hour but Dublin's physical superiority took over.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 13/07/2019 19:54:01    2210334

The Cork fullback line looks in serious trouble. Hopefully they can regroup in the second half.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 13/07/2019 19:56:48    2210335

Good open game old school game of ball in large parts, Cork look perhaps game sharper to me, recent games might be standing to them
Pitch looks very poor in front of Hill 16, no excuse for so many players losing footing on a dry warm day. Pitch dodgy.
Con and Jack the two stand out players for Dublin, Cork have talented footballers up front but seem to be consistently tactically fouling Dublin's runners and that won't do much good across the entire game already picking up yellows
Hats off to Cluxton very important save
Dubs standing off way to much in defense far too easy for Cork to shoot
Rock on bench!! I'm a big fan of Cormac but for me it's Rock in FF with Costello at HF or coming in to impact the game. Rock far more consistent and brings more to Dublin FF line
Poor crowd, Cork have tomorrow to think about was hoping to see more Dubs.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/07/2019 19:56:50    2210336

Dublin lucky with their 2nd goal. Clear push on cork forward beforehand. Huge score just before half time

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 13/07/2019 20:01:48    2210337

RTE's bias towards Dublin is so embarrassing. Dolan calling all their players by their first name. Moloney commentating on every single Dublin game and mentioning they've changed sponsors today as if that is relevant to anything. It's meant to be impartial.

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 13/07/2019 20:03:01    2210338

Black card for Dublin No.6 surely?? Dragging an opponent down.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 13/07/2019 20:08:18    2210340

The blackest of black cards for cian o sullivan.
Deliberate pull down in front of goal. But sure look....

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 13/07/2019 20:09:27    2210341

Are black cards gone ??

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 13/07/2019 20:11:30    2210342