Limerick Victory Scenes

Replying To bennybunny:  "I would be one of them. Good days today but they are well past their sell by date. Imbalance between Leinster and Munster in terms of number of competiive teams, no relegation from Munster and the simple lack of competitive teams are all problems that persist despite a good day. Time to get rid of them..."
so whats your proposals? Have one cship cup for everyone to fight over? Last year 3 teams lifted silverware. Looked what yesterday meant to Wexford. Provincial titles was a realisitic target for all teams this year with the exception of Carlow and don't underestimate what it means to players.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/07/2019 17:44:09    2203780

Replying To hurlinglad15:  "Brilliant scenes today at the final whistle it was brilliant to see and fair play to Limerick.
To put a bit of a downer on it I was very disappointed in the Tipp crowd. Having travelled a fair distance today to support Tipp myself I was very disappointed to see lads sneaking half way through the second half. I know the game was slipping away from Tipp but it's a munster final, stay till the end after the group games the players gave you.
Limerick fans are a different class tho....fair play they know how to support their team. Got a standing ovation at half time surely gave the team a lift for the second half."
Agreed but that happens in every county and in every sport. In every county there is only a small core group of loyal fans. You only need to look at the attendance for minor games before senior games to see that. Only the real GAA people go in for them and stick until the end and it happens in every single county and thats the reality of it.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/07/2019 17:48:08    2203786

Replying To waynoI:  "Already said it's not for me. I'd rather players do a lap of honour and be left alone without the annoyance of thousands of people, alot intoxicated, pulling at me, kissing me and harassing me. I'd just want to celebrate it with my team mates on the pitch and be able to commiserate opponents both of which put in unreal graft, without thousands of people crowding me. The argument put forward is that players enjoy it, of course they enjoy winning, but I still reckon they'd enjoy it more not being swamped."
Imagine Way No the thousands of people you are denying the pleasure out of pulling out of you, kissing you & harassing you with big slobbery porter gobs on them, go on out of that you would love the attention, just like on here.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 01/07/2019 17:54:22    2203789

Replying To hurler32:  "Ye might not want pitch celebrations in Dublin where ye win every year but other counties players want to more part of the people celebrating not charging 6 grand to shake hands with at a car dealership tomorrow .
Look at the picture of Aaron Gillane been carried shoulder high of the field yesterday and the smile on him on the front page of examiners sport supplement today ."
What would you prefer as a player? To celebrate in the moment with the players you won the game/trophy/competition with as well as coaches, management team that helped you do it as well as your close family or have hundreds maybe thousands of strangers although well meaning who are pulling and dragging out of you? I know I'd prefer the first. The pitch should be for players and then that also allows defeated players enough time to get off pitch or whatever else they want to do without potential of being hassled by people trying to celebrate their win. You can celebrate your win from the stand as much as you can on the pitch.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3514 - 01/07/2019 20:44:57    2203930

Replying To hurler32:  "Ye might not want pitch celebrations in Dublin where ye win every year but other counties players want to more part of the people celebrating not charging 6 grand to shake hands with at a car dealership tomorrow .
Look at the picture of Aaron Gillane been carried shoulder high of the field yesterday and the smile on him on the front page of examiners sport supplement today ."
The Wexford players brought Bob home with the fans. Everyone got to hold the Cup and get pictures took etc. Magic!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12114 - 01/07/2019 21:11:05    2203961

Replying To KillingFields:  "What would you prefer as a player? To celebrate in the moment with the players you won the game/trophy/competition with as well as coaches, management team that helped you do it as well as your close family or have hundreds maybe thousands of strangers although well meaning who are pulling and dragging out of you? I know I'd prefer the first. The pitch should be for players and then that also allows defeated players enough time to get off pitch or whatever else they want to do without potential of being hassled by people trying to celebrate their win. You can celebrate your win from the stand as much as you can on the pitch."
Exactly

Spot on.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/07/2019 21:31:33    2203981

yesterday was great for Wexford but hurling cant progress with the elephant in the room of the provincial system.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 01/07/2019 22:17:53    2204016

Replying To KillingFields:  "What would you prefer as a player? To celebrate in the moment with the players you won the game/trophy/competition with as well as coaches, management team that helped you do it as well as your close family or have hundreds maybe thousands of strangers although well meaning who are pulling and dragging out of you? I know I'd prefer the first. The pitch should be for players and then that also allows defeated players enough time to get off pitch or whatever else they want to do without potential of being hassled by people trying to celebrate their win. You can celebrate your win from the stand as much as you can on the pitch."
You'd know a large amount of people coming on to the pitch. The hurling fraternity, and Gaelic football, in rural counties especially, know one another from league matches, club interaction etc. No strangers.

Laois v London footballers in London in last year's league was a great occassion for players and fans to bond. You're playing for your own county people, not the few who happen to be on the panel at any particular time.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 01/07/2019 23:07:07    2204045

Replying To tiobraid:  "Agreed but that happens in every county and in every sport. In every county there is only a small core group of loyal fans. You only need to look at the attendance for minor games before senior games to see that. Only the real GAA people go in for them and stick until the end and it happens in every single county and thats the reality of it."
There was a fine crowd in for the minor game yesterday.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 01/07/2019 23:21:37    2204048

Replying To perfect10:  "yesterday was great for Wexford but hurling cant progress with the elephant in the room of the provincial system."
Didnt see any elephants yesterday but in fairness my memory of Yesterday is hazy.
Do remember seeing 10s of thousands of happy people celebrating though

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 02/07/2019 00:30:11    2204076

For me they fans should be kept off the pitch from a Limerick perspective remember last yr after all ireland with the team out enjoying photos by the hill, selfies, plus how could they have done the lap of honour if there had been thousands on the pitch. It's not as if we'd be miles away from the celebrations

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 02/07/2019 08:23:57    2204105

Replying To perfect10:  "yesterday was great for Wexford but hurling cant progress with the elephant in the room of the provincial system."
You'll need to give detail on your issue.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 600 - 02/07/2019 08:26:15    2204107

I find it hard to believe you're a Wexford hurlin g man saying that. Baffling. Never has provincial championships been more open. It's not long ago kk were virtually unbeatable in the all Ireland, never mind Leinster. That has all changed now and you want to get rid of teams chances of claiming silverware! Wexford's aim this year would have been Leinster. Would the players have believed Davy if the all Ireland was the aim and the only chance of silverware? That's not being disrespectful of Wexford's chances from here on but at the start of the year I'm not even sure they'd buy into the belief that they win the all Ireland.
Provincials, now more than ever are going no where

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 02/07/2019 09:32:14    2204135

My beef is that we missed these Limerick Victory Scenes, surely having 1 final on Saturday evening at 7pm and one on Sunday is the way forward next year? Alternate the year as in fairness Saturday doesn't suit everybody.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1737 - 02/07/2019 13:49:28    2204297

Replying To OpenStand:  "Brilliant scenes in the Gaelic grounds after today's munster final , even surpassed the 2013 celebrations . Roscommon has similar scenes after Connacht final recently . These are days never to be forgotten by young and old . Why weren't Wexford allowed the same enjoyment today in Croke Park ??
Talking to limerick players they love days like today carried shoulder high off the field so don't give us that line . It seems some drama queens and health and safety job seekers are making mountains out of molehills and trying to create an ever boring sterile world for us all ."
It is because a couple of idiots ruin it for everyone and Health and Safety rules are designed with them in mind.

Limerick are bringing huge crowds to their games just like in 2013.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 02/07/2019 16:32:27    2204391