Limerick Victory Scenes

Brilliant scenes in the Gaelic grounds after today's munster final , even surpassed the 2013 celebrations . Roscommon has similar scenes after Connacht final recently . These are days never to be forgotten by young and old . Why weren't Wexford allowed the same enjoyment today in Croke Park ??
Talking to limerick players they love days like today carried shoulder high off the field so don't give us that line . It seems some drama queens and health and safety job seekers are making mountains out of molehills and trying to create an ever boring sterile world for us all .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 683 - 30/06/2019 21:10:28    2203126

One of the best supported teams up there with Wexford and both win on the same day!!!!
Had to leave when full time whistle went but saw on the news fantastic scenes. Agree with your post 100%.
What a time to be a Limerick supporter after many disappointing years.
Enjoy the celebrations.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 30/06/2019 21:22:22    2203130

Replying To OpenStand:  "Brilliant scenes in the Gaelic grounds after today's munster final , even surpassed the 2013 celebrations . Roscommon has similar scenes after Connacht final recently . These are days never to be forgotten by young and old . Why weren't Wexford allowed the same enjoyment today in Croke Park ??
Talking to limerick players they love days like today carried shoulder high off the field so don't give us that line . It seems some drama queens and health and safety job seekers are making mountains out of molehills and trying to create an ever boring sterile world for us all ."
It was brilliant. Dubs did similar after their win over Galway at Parnell Park. I know the H&S brigade frown upon it but it creates unique moments in our national sport when players and fans can unite for a few minutes and ride on the euphoric wave of a hard earned victory. It will live long in the memory. Great game today and delighted that Limerick came through and what a last 20m that was.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 30/06/2019 21:23:03    2203131

Judges award large sums of money to ridicules claims. Health and Safety becomes strict.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1421 - 30/06/2019 21:23:35    2203132

Replying To OpenStand:  "Brilliant scenes in the Gaelic grounds after today's munster final , even surpassed the 2013 celebrations . Roscommon has similar scenes after Connacht final recently . These are days never to be forgotten by young and old . Why weren't Wexford allowed the same enjoyment today in Croke Park ??
Talking to limerick players they love days like today carried shoulder high off the field so don't give us that line . It seems some drama queens and health and safety job seekers are making mountains out of molehills and trying to create an ever boring sterile world for us all ."
We certainly enjoyed it in Salthill and there was absolutely no problem.It is a pity that great victories in Croke Park don't lead to similar joyous celebrations by ecstatic supporters.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2190 - 30/06/2019 21:24:36    2203133

Was good, but no where near Croker last Sunday :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 30/06/2019 21:28:26    2203136

And yet you have countless people suggesting we get rid of the provincials! Great scenes after both games today. Obviously disappointed with the result today but we're in great era for hurling.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 30/06/2019 21:35:00    2203141

Replying To Ban:  "Judges award large sums of money to ridicules claims. Health and Safety becomes strict."
Maybe we could throw the judges around like beach balls as well while we're out on the field lol !

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 683 - 30/06/2019 21:37:52    2203144

Replying To tiobraid:  "And yet you have countless people suggesting we get rid of the provincials! Great scenes after both games today. Obviously disappointed with the result today but we're in great era for hurling."
I would be one of them. Good days today but they are well past their sell by date. Imbalance between Leinster and Munster in terms of number of competiive teams, no relegation from Munster and the simple lack of competitive teams are all problems that persist despite a good day. Time to get rid of them...

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 30/06/2019 22:01:25    2203155

Class message by WildPundit. Fair play to you.

LaLu (Louth) - Posts: 233 - 30/06/2019 22:10:34    2203162

Brilliant scenes today at the final whistle it was brilliant to see and fair play to Limerick.
To put a bit of a downer on it I was very disappointed in the Tipp crowd. Having travelled a fair distance today to support Tipp myself I was very disappointed to see lads sneaking half way through the second half. I know the game was slipping away from Tipp but it's a munster final, stay till the end after the group games the players gave you.
Limerick fans are a different class tho....fair play they know how to support their team. Got a standing ovation at half time surely gave the team a lift for the second half.

hurlinglad15 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 30/06/2019 23:01:03    2203175

Was lucky enough to enjoy a good few All Ireland victories for Kerry when the famous "stewards plan B" rang out in Croker. Last time it was allowed was the 2009 final against Cork.
Then the perspex went up at the foot of the Hill.
Often thought that there should be some simple legal disclaimer introduced into the purchasing of a GAA ticket to the effect that if you choose to enter the pitch at any stage the GAA is not liable for any injury etc caused.
But then look what happened after the 2008 final when some brave lad from Tyrone gave Gooch a box in the back of the head when the fans ran on at full time. As with everything in life, the actions of 1 or 2 ruin it for everyone.
When it came to Croker on All Ireland day can't understand why, to stop stuff like the above, they couldn't just give stewards 5 minutes to corden off the two squads around the presentation area and once it's done let supporters on the pitch.
But sure in this country it's simpler to ban something outright than use a bit of imagination to retain the spirit of a thing :(

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/06/2019 23:48:46    2203192

Completely agree.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1365 - 30/06/2019 23:51:25    2203194

Replying To WildPundit:  "One of the best supported teams up there with Wexford and both win on the same day!!!!
Had to leave when full time whistle went but saw on the news fantastic scenes. Agree with your post 100%.
What a time to be a Limerick supporter after many disappointing years.
Enjoy the celebrations."
Thanks Wild Pundit. Nice to see a touch of class in defeat.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4353 - 30/06/2019 23:57:44    2203196

Great scenes in Limerick & Pearse Stadium a few weeks ago, it was a pity the Wexford crowd weren't allowed celebrate on the field. The GAA tell us it's about injury claims but all we hear is anecdotal evidence from the GAA give us the facts for grounds & games all over the country in relation to claims specifically after pitch invasions (not slips or falls within the grounds) so as we can see what the facts are.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 01/07/2019 00:03:45    2203198

Replying To hurlinglad15:  "Brilliant scenes today at the final whistle it was brilliant to see and fair play to Limerick.
To put a bit of a downer on it I was very disappointed in the Tipp crowd. Having travelled a fair distance today to support Tipp myself I was very disappointed to see lads sneaking half way through the second half. I know the game was slipping away from Tipp but it's a munster final, stay till the end after the group games the players gave you.
Limerick fans are a different class tho....fair play they know how to support their team. Got a standing ovation at half time surely gave the team a lift for the second half."
The biggest issue with leaving early for me is Tipp are 3 games away from winning the Liam. Now more then ever they need the moral support from fans. You don't want them demoralised after the loss. Dublin or Laois next. Huge game which if they win I'd have them as favourites to beat Wexford. So there's still so much to play for.

As for H&S would it take changes in government legislation to knock a bit of common sense back into those clowns?

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/07/2019 00:20:17    2203205

Players in a lot of cases would prefer the time to themselves to celebrate with their teammates. Surely to God they have to be the ones who are considered most of all.
H&S is bananas I know but it's down to the silly money some of these eejits can be awarded by gobsh*te judges who have a lot to answer for.
A lot of the crowd that appear on the pitch at the end probably haven't gone to a game until the final and you won't see them again until the next big day.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 01/07/2019 08:35:22    2203227

Replying To moc.dna:  "Great scenes in Limerick & Pearse Stadium a few weeks ago, it was a pity the Wexford crowd weren't allowed celebrate on the field. The GAA tell us it's about injury claims but all we hear is anecdotal evidence from the GAA give us the facts for grounds & games all over the country in relation to claims specifically after pitch invasions (not slips or falls within the grounds) so as we can see what the facts are."
On another note why is it bag searching only happens in croke park???? Is this purely to prevent people from smuggling in beverages and avoiding having to pay 4 Euro for a soft drink in croke park ??... Excellent value for the faithful club members/lotto sellers/kit washers/ team mentors etc who get continually fleeced by our beloved association at every turn....

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 925 - 01/07/2019 13:41:45    2203552

Already said it's not for me. I'd rather players do a lap of honour and be left alone without the annoyance of thousands of people, alot intoxicated, pulling at me, kissing me and harassing me. I'd just want to celebrate it with my team mates on the pitch and be able to commiserate opponents both of which put in unreal graft, without thousands of people crowding me. The argument put forward is that players enjoy it, of course they enjoy winning, but I still reckon they'd enjoy it more not being swamped.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/07/2019 14:08:43    2203585

Replying To waynoI:  "Already said it's not for me. I'd rather players do a lap of honour and be left alone without the annoyance of thousands of people, alot intoxicated, pulling at me, kissing me and harassing me. I'd just want to celebrate it with my team mates on the pitch and be able to commiserate opponents both of which put in unreal graft, without thousands of people crowding me. The argument put forward is that players enjoy it, of course they enjoy winning, but I still reckon they'd enjoy it more not being swamped."
Ye might not want pitch celebrations in Dublin where ye win every year but other counties players want to more part of the people celebrating not charging 6 grand to shake hands with at a car dealership tomorrow .
Look at the picture of Aaron Gillane been carried shoulder high of the field yesterday and the smile on him on the front page of examiners sport supplement today .

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 01/07/2019 17:18:23    2203758