Donegal Population Not Big Enough

Surely... Surely this is a satirical post ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/06/2019 00:05:38    2200384

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah we took Paul Brennan across the border at gun point alright,,,Jaysus...."
Oh dear have I touched a nerve.
I feel there was a hint of sarcasm out of your reply.
I believe that military ammunition was not used.
Just ponder this. Wouldn't it of been wonderful if last Sunday's Donegal team consisted of all 15 players been from Bundoran to Malin.
Again sorry for touching a nerve by been truthful.

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 25/06/2019 09:04:04    2200423

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "Emlyn Mulligan was born in Donegal. So it's a more than fair swap ;-)"
Thanks for that information.
There is only one county that has not got a maternity unit. No marks for get answer.
PS I was born in Ballyshannon

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 25/06/2019 09:07:48    2200424

Replying To MesAmis:  "I bet you weren't complaining when Declan D'Arcy lined out for yous!"
Where did Darcy play all his club football including u12 to u21
Answer Aughawillan Co Leitrim

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 25/06/2019 09:16:17    2200427

Replying To waynoI:  "Surely... Surely this is a satirical post ?"
Oh the truth now is satire.
Oh dear

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 25/06/2019 09:18:20    2200429

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ahh now

Don't be falling back on generic put downs

You were happy to stick your chest out and give it above

" 100 reasons blah blah blah"

Mega panty twist"
Tried to reply to you last night but apparently it wasn't PC enough. It's a discussion forum so I'll say what I want (with moderation approval) and the only one sticking the chest out is you, you seem very agitated.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 25/06/2019 09:46:22    2200445

Replying To Shannonview:  "Oh dear have I touched a nerve.
I believe that military ammunition was not used.
Just ponder this. Wouldn't it of been wonderful if last Sunday's Donegal team consisted of all 15 players been from Bundoran to Malin.
Again sorry for touching a nerve by been truthful."
Maybe the bigger truth is he picked Donegal over Leitrim. Sore enough one clearly for you.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 25/06/2019 09:47:57    2200448

Replying To Shannonview:  "Thanks for that information.
There is only one county that has not got a maternity unit. No marks for get answer.
PS I was born in Ballyshannon"

So no marks for your answer either.

Two quotes from this article:

'Mulligan grew up in Donegal and has often been asked why he didn't switch to the Tir Chonaill, considering it would offer a greater chance of success.'

"You have your roots and I've always been passionate about Donegal. I supported them when they won the All-Ireland in 2012, I have a soft spot for them. If I had a Donegal jersey with me, I would have had it on me, you know that kind of way!'

https://aib.ie/gaa/blog/2018/06/emlyn-mulligan-there-s-green-and-gold-blood-in-my-veins

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 246 - 25/06/2019 09:52:37    2200451

Bit of a strange post, I understand when you have limited resources it's frustrating to lose a talented player, but this specific situation was very much down to Paul himself. Donegal didn't go head-hunting him or anything, he made the switch at club level and was playing for Bundoran for a good year before Rory Gallagher called him into the county squad I'm nearly sure of that but happy to be corrected.

Players move clubs and counties all the time but as I say I understand the frustration from a Leitrim POV. All I'd say is that Donegal aren't the enemy here, the structures and facilities need to be in place for all counties to have the best chance to retain their best players and in that regard the GAA are failing the vast majority.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 25/06/2019 09:54:36    2200453

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Tried to reply to you last night but apparently it wasn't PC enough. It's a discussion forum so I'll say what I want (with moderation approval) and the only one sticking the chest out is you, you seem very agitated."
Apparently you couldn't say what you want..

Safe travels to you.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/06/2019 10:31:52    2200478

Replying To jimbodub:  "Apparently you couldn't say what you want..

Safe travels to you."
Yea bon voyage and all that

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 25/06/2019 10:53:01    2200492

Replying To Shannonview:  "Oh the truth now is satire.
Oh dear"
Was Brennan not born in Antrim and grew up and played underage football in Bundoran?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 25/06/2019 11:23:08    2200513

Replying To MesAmis:  "Just to be pedantic McBrearty is actually Dublin born.

No doubting he's a Donegal man though.

Great player."
Exactly.

Many players across this very small island will have backgrounds and affiliations with other parts of the country and at this stage the world. The list is long at this stage.

Two adages come to mind. 1. Being born in a stable doesn't make you a horse. 2. If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it probably is a duck.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 25/06/2019 11:44:21    2200526

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Was Brennan not born in Antrim and grew up and played underage football in Bundoran?"
http://www.donegalsporthub.com/paul-brennan-donegal-switch-wasnt-talked-about-but-i-wouldnt-turn-them-down/

Yep - according to this.

Though think he lived in Leitrim and went to school in Bundoran.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 246 - 25/06/2019 12:04:08    2200537

Replying To Shannonview:  "Thanks for that information.
PS I was born in Ballyshannon"
There are a number of counties without maternity units, not too sure about the country in general, but there is no maternity unit in Kildare, Meath or Wicklow, which incidentally are the major commuter counties in Ireland!!

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 25/06/2019 12:05:52    2200538

Shannonview this is embarrassing. Donegal are in no way to blame for this.
Paul Brennan was not headhunted by Donegal. He went to Bundoran because his partners father was managing Bundoran. He comes from Kinlough which is only a mile or 2 from Bundoran. Theres also more to the story but I won't print it here. Ask some people involved in reffing in Leitrim and they might fill you in.
Cut and dried this conversation should be over.

Ludovic_Giuly (Leitrim) - Posts: 111 - 25/06/2019 12:29:24    2200559

Replying To Shannonview:  "I am from Co Leitrim a population of 32000 thus a male population of 16000
My dear neighbours from Donegal have a population of 159000 thus a male population of 79500.
Referring to the last census 47% of the population are aged 45 or over.

Calculating this tells me that the Leitrim team is picked out of every 565 men.
Our beloved neighbours (tongue in cheek) Donegal team is picked from every 2809 men.

Oh dear that's not a big enough pick for the lads from the hills!!! Low and behold they now have a former Leitrim club player and he played for the Leitrim county team. Paul Brennan is his name.

Alas when the final whistle went in Clones yesterday and Donegal were kings of Ulster 7% of the team were not Donegal men.

Pride of the parish and pride of the county is a great GAA ethos. Sadly not applicable to Donegal!!!!!"
Churlish post, did ya just get your summer hols from primary school???........Paul Brennan' s missus is Donegal greatseamie granaghan's daughter and they live in bundoran, so what exactly is your point???....if you have one that is

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 25/06/2019 12:55:53    2200569

If they bring a tiered championship it's possible that the stronger counties might scout potential players from so-called weaker counties who want to play a higher standard of football.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 25/06/2019 13:05:11    2200576

Replying To totalrecall:  "Churlish post, did ya just get your summer hols from primary school???........Paul Brennan' s missus is Donegal greatseamie granaghan's daughter and they live in bundoran, so what exactly is your point???....if you have one that is"
I was talking to bundoran man last Fri and we were talking about both Brennans. Their links with bundoran are equally strong as they are with Leitrim. I do feel a bit for Leitrim gaa but their choice was exactly that. Their choice. They were not stolen or propositioned by dl and have family and school roots in donegal.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/06/2019 13:19:06    2200584

Holy Cow, reading this thread was like watching loveIsland.... I cannot believe this is really happening and people are willingly participating, and I'm sitting on the sofa wasting my evenings watching this rubbish, all while my IQ is dropping by the second, yet I cannot stop!!!! Dear Lord, what is it going to be like when the All Ireland is over and there is no football to talk about!

fatfrog (Donegal) - Posts: 200 - 25/06/2019 14:20:23    2200625