Day Out In An Empty Croke Park

Eastenders omnibus - 10k.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/06/2019 21:05:30    2193211

Replying To RoyalClass:  "Plenty of incentive for Dublin fans no doubt. They have a fantastic team who play a brilliant brand of football and there are only a handful of teams who can relatively compete with them.

However, facts don't lie. Poor attendances over recent years speak for themselves. Match-day goers expect to get some kind of value for their money by seeing their team compete. People will always be interested when they know their team has a chance. No one wants to go and see their team humiliated. Fair play to Kildare fans who actually went but I doubt they'll have got any satisfaction out of seeing their team slowly strangled to death.

If you create a non competitive competition, how do you hope to attract spectators? I think its easy to take a punt at rival fans for not being "loyal" to their county team but logically speaking, the average supporter has zero incentive."
Well firstly nobody has "created a non-competitive" competition. Dublin managed to assemble a golden generation of players. I've said it a couple of times today, 8 players from 2011 are the backbone of that team and are starters. A further 3 are on the bench. So 11 key players from 2011 are key to this success. They have many miles on the clock, the minors are nowhere to be seen. How long do you think this will last? If they make history this year, how many of that core 11 will stay on? Would you? Coupled with Dublin's success was a severe regression in quality of their two closest rivals. Shambolic mismanagement meant that Meath and Kildare have been featherweights for nearly a decade. Their shambolic state coinciding with Dublin's golden generation and has meant that Leinster has been uncompetitive. It was a double whammy for these counties. It wasn't "created", competitions are never deliberately made uncompetitive, it defeats the purpose. Lets face it if Meath or Kildare were in any other province over the past 10 years they wouldn't have won a title. Any of Kerry, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone would have beaten them annually. Munster incidentally is no more competitive than Leinster, it has never been competitive yet where are the whingers? It has been generally one of two in Connaught, Galway 48 times and Mayo 45. Anyone whinging about it? The solution by some to Dublin's string of closely fought AI wins, four of them by a point, seems to be some kind of gerrymandering, to artificially create a more competitive LSFC. It's a bizarre suggestion. It's like suggesting that the NFL penalise the Patriots, the NBA penalise the Warriors, the SPL penalise Celtic and La Liga penalise Barca. It's unprecedented in sport to my knowledge. The logic seems to be, punish the successful team and reward the under-performers, leaving them with no incentive to raise the bar. It's really strange. The unionists up north successfully implemented such tactics to win elections. It could work. If such a blunt tool was to be used to butcher a county then this should be implemented across the board. A combination of success and population should be baked into the equation to ensure that there is an evenness to the process. Leitrim, Carlow, Waterford, Offaly should all have the bar dropped for their benefit. The overall standard would drop but sure that's the goal. Make it a level playing field for everyone and disarm the top counties. Sure why not.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/06/2019 21:08:43    2193213

Replying To festinog:  "You're wasting your breath. I was at a scouting conference years ago and when the subject of rural units struggling with small numbers came up, a Dublin delegate couldn't understand why they couldn't just hop on a bus and amalgamate units; the fact that the next unit might by 40-60 miles away was beyond the poor lads ken.

But a dub congratulating himself because a game hosted in his home town which happens to have a population of 1.5 million is attended by a slightly larger crowd than a game held in a town of a few thousand is pretty entertaining.

As long as they keep winning AIs, the Dubs on this website seem completely blind to everything else."
Dubs are not completely blind to everything going on, we are too busy defending ourselves for having the foresight to invest in players as in like U8/U9/U10/U11 etc etc years ago. Unlike some of the other counties particularly in Leinster who got the notion that building a centre of excellence would be some sort of GAA factory churning out top-class players. Some counties nearly bankrupted themselves in the process. And the reverse of what you were saying about Dubs not understanding the rural game - well there is precious little insight into how Dublin GAA operates internally apart from the usual Rural myths. And everyone elses solution seems to be to cap Dublin's population, cap its finances, cap its clubs etc I saw a program on TG4 about Slaughtneil, how it is not just a fantastic club embraces all FOUR codes (not cherry picking like some of the laggard counties), successfully in county and All Ireland. The most impressive thing was how it empowered the local community, helping the local economy, people returning to the area and making it a place worth living, working and playing in. That is REAL success, so away with the poor mouthing and go and do something useful.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 10/06/2019 21:26:24    2193221

GAA have a number of issues to address, the Dublin public aren't supporting Dublin in the same force as they used to for whatever reason. The DUBS have been long held up as the GAA'S cash cow. Even back in the early 2000's dubs v Donegal filled croke park twice at quarter final stage, fast forward to super 8s last year and croke park barely half full.

Of course the Sky deal has offset all of this so Horan, duffy, Mc Kenna and Co will continue to clap themselves on the back.

Thirdly the GAA'S ticket pricing needs to be reviewed, they need to stop trotting out comparisons with professional sports ticket pricing.

The game is dying on it's feet at club level and the powers that be are only concerned with the electrician players.

I was in breffni park supporting my native Donegal and the crowd was disappointing. We managed to turn over Tyrone this time but in reality both counties can meet again in the super 8s, they shouldn't be written off yet.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 10/06/2019 21:28:28    2193222

Joxer bertie and GAA would laugh at ya

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 10/06/2019 21:39:49    2193229

Replying To Joxer:  "
Replying To RoyalClass:  "Plenty of incentive for Dublin fans no doubt. They have a fantastic team who play a brilliant brand of football and there are only a handful of teams who can relatively compete with them.

However, facts don't lie. Poor attendances over recent years speak for themselves. Match-day goers expect to get some kind of value for their money by seeing their team compete. People will always be interested when they know their team has a chance. No one wants to go and see their team humiliated. Fair play to Kildare fans who actually went but I doubt they'll have got any satisfaction out of seeing their team slowly strangled to death.

If you create a non competitive competition, how do you hope to attract spectators? I think its easy to take a punt at rival fans for not being "loyal" to their county team but logically speaking, the average supporter has zero incentive."
Well firstly nobody has "created a non-competitive" competition. Dublin managed to assemble a golden generation of players. I've said it a couple of times today, 8 players from 2011 are the backbone of that team and are starters. A further 3 are on the bench. So 11 key players from 2011 are key to this success. They have many miles on the clock, the minors are nowhere to be seen. How long do you think this will last? If they make history this year, how many of that core 11 will stay on? Would you? Coupled with Dublin's success was a severe regression in quality of their two closest rivals. Shambolic mismanagement meant that Meath and Kildare have been featherweights for nearly a decade. Their shambolic state coinciding with Dublin's golden generation and has meant that Leinster has been uncompetitive. It was a double whammy for these counties. It wasn't "created", competitions are never deliberately made uncompetitive, it defeats the purpose. Lets face it if Meath or Kildare were in any other province over the past 10 years they wouldn't have won a title. Any of Kerry, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone would have beaten them annually. Munster incidentally is no more competitive than Leinster, it has never been competitive yet where are the whingers? It has been generally one of two in Connaught, Galway 48 times and Mayo 45. Anyone whinging about it? The solution by some to Dublin's string of closely fought AI wins, four of them by a point, seems to be some kind of gerrymandering, to artificially create a more competitive LSFC. It's a bizarre suggestion. It's like suggesting that the NFL penalise the Patriots, the NBA penalise the Warriors, the SPL penalise Celtic and La Liga penalise Barca. It's unprecedented in sport to my knowledge. The logic seems to be, punish the successful team and reward the under-performers, leaving them with no incentive to raise the bar. It's really strange. The unionists up north successfully implemented such tactics to win elections. It could work. If such a blunt tool was to be used to butcher a county then this should be implemented across the board. A combination of success and population should be baked into the equation to ensure that there is an evenness to the process. Leitrim, Carlow, Waterford, Offaly should all have the bar dropped for their benefit. The overall standard would drop but sure that's the goal. Make it a level playing field for everyone and disarm the top counties. Sure why not."
At the risk of playing devils advocate do the NFL, NBA and other pro sports not have salary caps and draft systems to help the weaker teams and level the field? Look at the browns going from jokeshop to contenders in a few short years through the draft. Pats dominate because of Belichiek and the warriors because they have the best set of players ever assembled in a sport where one elite player can make all the difference.

I'm not so sure about this old core either. Looking at the team sheet from the last day most are in their mid twenties and Dublin do have four successful U21 teams to pick from in recent years. They are not overly dependent on anybody from 2011 at this stage except maybe McCarthy.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/06/2019 21:48:06    2193231

Replying To arock:  "Dubs are not completely blind to everything going on, we are too busy defending ourselves for having the foresight to invest in players as in like U8/U9/U10/U11 etc etc years ago. Unlike some of the other counties particularly in Leinster who got the notion that building a centre of excellence would be some sort of GAA factory churning out top-class players. Some counties nearly bankrupted themselves in the process. And the reverse of what you were saying about Dubs not understanding the rural game - well there is precious little insight into how Dublin GAA operates internally apart from the usual Rural myths. And everyone elses solution seems to be to cap Dublin's population, cap its finances, cap its clubs etc I saw a program on TG4 about Slaughtneil, how it is not just a fantastic club embraces all FOUR codes (not cherry picking like some of the laggard counties), successfully in county and All Ireland. The most impressive thing was how it empowered the local community, helping the local economy, people returning to the area and making it a place worth living, working and playing in. That is REAL success, so away with the poor mouthing and go and do something useful."
Get off your high horse re Dublin's investment strategy. It goes against everything the GAA stands for.

The super clubs are getting huge money pumped into them. Young players are coming thru the doors and elite players are making it to the senior ranks.

But there is ZERO help being given to the smaller clubs in the county, and many are struggling to keep going, pay for training facilities, floodlit training areas, etc. while having their catchment areas eaten into by the super clubs and their top players poached when they reach 17/18 years of age.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 10/06/2019 21:49:57    2193234

Replying To arock:  "Dubs are not completely blind to everything going on, we are too busy defending ourselves for having the foresight to invest in players as in like U8/U9/U10/U11 etc etc years ago. Unlike some of the other counties particularly in Leinster who got the notion that building a centre of excellence would be some sort of GAA factory churning out top-class players. Some counties nearly bankrupted themselves in the process. And the reverse of what you were saying about Dubs not understanding the rural game - well there is precious little insight into how Dublin GAA operates internally apart from the usual Rural myths. And everyone elses solution seems to be to cap Dublin's population, cap its finances, cap its clubs etc I saw a program on TG4 about Slaughtneil, how it is not just a fantastic club embraces all FOUR codes (not cherry picking like some of the laggard counties), successfully in county and All Ireland. The most impressive thing was how it empowered the local community, helping the local economy, people returning to the area and making it a place worth living, working and playing in. That is REAL success, so away with the poor mouthing and go and do something useful."
Gaa hierarchy invested in your u8, u10, u12 etc programmes etc in early noughties, as dublin cb were concerned about threat rugby and soccer in the county. Unfortunately for the rest of us, they havent stopped feeding money into the gaa cash cow. To say dublin cb invested within, themselves, is only partly correct.

Longfordbaz (Longford) - Posts: 145 - 10/06/2019 21:54:48    2193235

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "
Replying To Joxer:  "[quote=RoyalClass:  "Plenty of incentive for Dublin fans no doubt. They have a fantastic team who play a brilliant brand of football and there are only a handful of teams who can relatively compete with them.

Well firstly nobody has "created a non-competitive" competition. Dublin managed to assemble a golden generation of players. I've said it a couple of times today, 8 players from 2011 are the backbone of that team and are starters. A further 3 are on the bench. So 11 key players from 2011 are key to this success. They have many miles on the clock, the minors are nowhere to be seen. How long do you think this will last? If they make history this year, how many of that core 11 will stay on? Would you? Coupled with Dublin's success was a severe regression in quality of their two closest rivals. Shambolic mismanagement meant that Meath and Kildare have been featherweights for nearly a decade. Their shambolic state coinciding with Dublin's golden generation and has meant that Leinster has been uncompetitive. It was a double whammy for these counties. It wasn't "created", competitions are never deliberately made uncompetitive, it defeats the purpose. Lets face it if Meath or Kildare were in any other province over the past 10 years they wouldn't have won a title. Any of Kerry, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone would have beaten them annually. Munster incidentally is no more competitive than Leinster, it has never been competitive yet where are the whingers? It has been generally one of two in Connaught, Galway 48 times and Mayo 45. Anyone whinging about it? The solution by some to Dublin's string of closely fought AI wins, four of them by a point, seems to be some kind of gerrymandering, to artificially create a more competitive LSFC. It's a bizarre suggestion. It's like suggesting that the NFL penalise the Patriots, the NBA penalise the Warriors, the SPL penalise Celtic and La Liga penalise Barca. It's unprecedented in sport to my knowledge. The logic seems to be, punish the successful team and reward the under-performers, leaving them with no incentive to raise the bar. It's really strange. The unionists up north successfully implemented such tactics to win elections. It could work. If such a blunt tool was to be used to butcher a county then this should be implemented across the board. A combination of success and population should be baked into the equation to ensure that there is an evenness to the process. Leitrim, Carlow, Waterford, Offaly should all have the bar dropped for their benefit. The overall standard would drop but sure that's the goal. Make it a level playing field for everyone and disarm the top counties. Sure why not."
At the risk of playing devils advocate do the NFL, NBA and other pro sports not have salary caps and draft systems to help the weaker teams and level the field? Look at the browns going from jokeshop to contenders in a few short years through the draft. Pats dominate because of Belichiek and the warriors because they have the best set of players ever assembled in a sport where one elite player can make all the difference.

I'm not so sure about this old core either. Looking at the team sheet from the last day most are in their mid twenties and Dublin do have four successful U21 teams to pick from in recent years. They are not overly dependent on anybody from 2011 at this stage except maybe McCarthy."]Dublin first choice keeper and full back line are all 2011. Half back line Cian and James are both 2011. Of the 7 defenders, including Cluxton, 6 of them are from 2011 and then add McCauley in midfield. Granted not many of the forwards are from 2011 given Flynn and Connolly's retirement and Bernard's step down. Andrews, Kev Mc, Bernard, O'Gara were all in the match day panel yesterday. So yes absolutely this team is built around the 2011 core. Remove them and there is no team.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/06/2019 22:18:33    2193244

You're stretching it there none of them are critical now bar Cluxton and McCarthy. O'Sullivan and McMahon are pale shadows of the players they were and O'Carroll was missing for years without it causing an issue. The team is backboned more by the 2014 U21 team more than the 2011 team if anything. Not that there is anything wrong with that.

To be honest I was more perplexed at your comparison to the American sports which was really bizarre given they have player recruitment and salary systems deliberately designed to deter one team dominating.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/06/2019 22:35:21    2193249

Replying To Joxer:  "

False lazy analysis there lad, whilst meath or kildare wouldn't have beat Kerry in Munster they could quite easily have won an ulster or connaught around the turn of the decade. Connaught was average didnt meath beat mayo in all Ireland qf in 09? While in ulster the great Tyrone team were nearing an end and donegal were bang average pre- mcguiness. People like to exaggerate things saying theres been problems for far longer than there has been but leinster was competitive until 2014 when meath and kildare went downhill massively and dublin turned into an absolute machine of a team

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 10/06/2019 22:46:02    2193259

Poor old Micky Fitz, he's always forgot about, just the six All Ireland's.

If anything Cian O Sullivan is getting better to be honest, first name on the team sheet.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/06/2019 23:01:28    2193263

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "You're stretching it there none of them are critical now bar Cluxton and McCarthy. O'Sullivan and McMahon are pale shadows of the players they were and O'Carroll was missing for years without it causing an issue. The team is backboned more by the 2014 U21 team more than the 2011 team if anything. Not that there is anything wrong with that.

To be honest I was more perplexed at your comparison to the American sports which was really bizarre given they have player recruitment and salary systems deliberately designed to deter one team dominating."
Cian o Sullivan looked sharp yesterday imo and is far from finished

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 10/06/2019 23:05:17    2193264

Replying To festinog:  "You're wasting your breath. I was at a scouting conference years ago and when the subject of rural units struggling with small numbers came up, a Dublin delegate couldn't understand why they couldn't just hop on a bus and amalgamate units; the fact that the next unit might by 40-60 miles away was beyond the poor lads ken.

But a dub congratulating himself because a game hosted in his home town which happens to have a population of 1.5 million is attended by a slightly larger crowd than a game held in a town of a few thousand is pretty entertaining.

As long as they keep winning AIs, the Dubs on this website seem completely blind to everything else."
Oh give it a rest , population of 1.5 million , so what ? How many of that 1.5 million even know / care about Gaa ? how many of the 1.5 million are Dublin born ? How many of the 1.5 million are even Irish ? As I'm sure you know already Cork have more Gaa clubs than Dublin, population of Dublin 1.5 million means diddly.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/06/2019 23:13:08    2193269

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "You're stretching it there none of them are critical now bar Cluxton and McCarthy. O'Sullivan and McMahon are pale shadows of the players they were and O'Carroll was missing for years without it causing an issue. The team is backboned more by the 2014 U21 team more than the 2011 team if anything. Not that there is anything wrong with that.

To be honest I was more perplexed at your comparison to the American sports which was really bizarre given they have player recruitment and salary systems deliberately designed to deter one team dominating."
Sorry Gerry but Jonny Cooper, Fitzy, ROC, Cian, Philly, Clucko are all the backbone of this 4 in a row team and would waltz onto any team in the country. To suggest that Cian and Philly are on or close to the scrap heap is comical. Granted in the forwards Mannion and of course Kilkenny have been immense. Fenton was a gem of a find but the team is built around the 2012 key players. Trust me. I see them playing a lot. It's going to be an interesting end to their championship one way or the other. Win or lose I'm sure several will hang up their boots. The NFL and NBA aren't perfect comparisons due to the pick system and then swaps and trades but the sentiment is the same. Teams dominate certain sports for certain eras. Always has been that way, always will be. You don't see that dominance broken artificially because their rivals don't like being beaten and you don't see gerrymandering to shrink population/pick size either. How did the well funded ROI football team of millionaires with a population of 4.6m do against the plumbers are carpenters of Gibraltar with a population of 35,000 tonight?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/06/2019 23:22:18    2193271

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You're the king of spin and propaganda username.

Leo could use you on his team I'd say."
And you are the king of I'm going to get involved with anything to do with Dublin , but that's understandable I suppose , a bitter kerryman finding it impossible to cope with a Dublin team going for a record breaking 5 in a row. :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/06/2019 23:22:26    2193272

Like Dublin attendances the number of Dubs on here is dwindling too. This place used to be packed with Dubs and was great craic. Seems many have lost interest and went away.

cavanman47:
"But if you look at a die hard Celtic fan (and that's the level of the gulf we're talking about), they're happy out to be winning 8 leagues in a row without breaking a sweat. Will the GAA remain blissfully ignorant when Dublin win 5, 6 , 7 etc in a row? Maybe falling attendances is all that will shake things up."

I've thought about Celtic as there are no doubt comparisons but it's a little different. Celtic have two motivations. Doing the 10 in a row as Rangers previously managed 9. A bit like Dublins motivation to do the 5 in a row. Basically make history.

Another similarity is Celtic are about 5 or 6 titles behind the total of 54 Rangers have won. Dublin are 9 behind Kerry so likewise I'm sure the Dubs will be desperate to top that.

However the major difference for Celtic is they have the champions league and Europe league to aim for. So do the runners up in Scotland. In Ireland if Dublin dominate leinster and the AI that's it. There's no bigger competition to get excited about.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 11/06/2019 00:34:27    2193295

Replying To Joxer:  "Sorry Gerry but Jonny Cooper, Fitzy, ROC, Cian, Philly, Clucko are all the backbone of this 4 in a row team and would waltz onto any team in the country. To suggest that Cian and Philly are on or close to the scrap heap is comical. Granted in the forwards Mannion and of course Kilkenny have been immense. Fenton was a gem of a find but the team is built around the 2012 key players. Trust me. I see them playing a lot. It's going to be an interesting end to their championship one way or the other. Win or lose I'm sure several will hang up their boots. The NFL and NBA aren't perfect comparisons due to the pick system and then swaps and trades but the sentiment is the same. Teams dominate certain sports for certain eras. Always has been that way, always will be. You don't see that dominance broken artificially because their rivals don't like being beaten and you don't see gerrymandering to shrink population/pick size either. How did the well funded ROI football team of millionaires with a population of 4.6m do against the plumbers are carpenters of Gibraltar with a population of 35,000 tonight?"
Scrapheap is a strong word that I didn't use. No longer elite players is how I'd put it. As for OSullivan getting better @Username he certainly didn't look it to me last year, perhaps he was injured or something. His pace is gone, I know Dublin's system will protect him somewhat but if he gets in a one v one with any good forward id fear for him.

I'll bow to your superior knowledge but at the end of the day we were all told this was a golden generation and the run was coming to an end once the Brogans and Flynn's etc slowed down. They have been replaced seamlessly and so will O'Sullivan, Philly and the rest. My hope is that ourselves, Galway, Donegal, Tyrone, Mayo and others can raise it in the coming years and make it a competition again. There is nobody to do that this year in my honest opinion.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 11/06/2019 09:15:18    2193337

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Scrapheap is a strong word that I didn't use. No longer elite players is how I'd put it. As for OSullivan getting better @Username he certainly didn't look it to me last year, perhaps he was injured or something. His pace is gone, I know Dublin's system will protect him somewhat but if he gets in a one v one with any good forward id fear for him.

I'll bow to your superior knowledge but at the end of the day we were all told this was a golden generation and the run was coming to an end once the Brogans and Flynn's etc slowed down. They have been replaced seamlessly and so will O'Sullivan, Philly and the rest. My hope is that ourselves, Galway, Donegal, Tyrone, Mayo and others can raise it in the coming years and make it a competition again. There is nobody to do that this year in my honest opinion."
To be fair to Cian hes been carrying a hamstring injury for a couple of years, ive been critical of how Dublin have managed that especially in league games. I believe appropriate intervention has been taken and he looks back to his old self. if there is one player we cant do without in all honesty i think its Cian i think that shows in selections, if there is an environment and a manager that wont accommodate a fading star its the Dublin team and Jim Gavin, he was my man of the match yesterday, he played at 3 for most of the game and was superb. He has won All Irelands at 2, 9 and 6 and absolutely brilliant and very underrated player. Dublin haven't been on Tv much this year, but trust me, his powers arent on the wane. The back lines are ironically our most competitive this year then i have seen them in any year they have been this year. we have the best half back line in the country, Cian, Jack, Jamsey, Howard, Small, . While we have Davey Byrne, Eric Lowdness, Murch, Cooper, Philly, ROC, Fitzer, Daren Daly all looking for spot in there.

I take your point though if someone told in 2013 me we would still be winning All Irelands, without Flynn, Connolly, Brogan, Macker, Bastick, Ger in the first team i would have been doubtful.

Still a decent cohort from those early years, but we've taken it on really. I heard from numerous sources that Flynner, was finding keeping up with the pace in the Dublin training difficult in addition to his back trouble and that helped to guide his decision to call it a day.

I said a couple of years ago that Dublin were in transition on here and lads though i was winding up, we certainly were and have been thats an ongoing process, a few other bodies added this year and it will be the same this year. Once they get into the Dublin set up one of our key strengths is that we improve players, we arent a Representative county we are a coaching county, we try to improve players and their skills, in fact we try to do improve lads generally holistically, its part of the culture. we have a lot of lads not at their prime yet, but we will loose other certainly.

When we look at our team we have lads in their mid 20's with multiple medals, who havent come in their prime yet. There will be more added next year from this years U20s. I think we have gems on this years minor team to and just in the spots they will be needed in a couple years.

I would say this though, some of the class of 2011 are still vital to us and always on the team sheet, Jamesy, Cian, Stevo even Fitzer i suspect there is a couple of years in each, i also expect Rory to be starting come the S8's i suspect Philly as well, especially if Rory starts, i dont really consider Philly class of 11, Paddy Andrews either though both wee knocking around. Some of that class have regressed and we have gone a different way like MDM, Macker, Brogan, but they are great options in 15 -20 mins bursts and the bench has gotten us over the line more then once.

My own feeling this year, we are there to be shot at, we are good, but ive seen other counties with enough to give us a game, i still rate Tyrone as the second best team in Ireland and our biggest threat. Doengal in particular could do a smash and grab, they have a good management structure, Galway have the talent to do it over 70 mins. I think we have to much for everyone else to be honest.

If we get out of our S8 group ill be confident enough as i think we will be on the tricky side of the draw, the way things are panning out.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/06/2019 10:29:36    2193374

Replying To superbluedub:  "And you are the king of I'm going to get involved with anything to do with Dublin , but that's understandable I suppose , a bitter kerryman finding it impossible to cope with a Dublin team going for a record breaking 5 in a row. :)"
Who are you to say who can and can't comment on a thread on the home page?

Ye have a Dublin forum the same way we have a Kerry forum , and I respectfully stay off yer page, but il post on the main page as much as I want kid.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/06/2019 10:57:42    2193393