Donegal V Cavan. Ulster Final. 2019-

Replying To Antifa:  "The question has to be asked why is the capacity reduced this year. What has changed from the previous number of years that has made the venue unsafe? Were supporters put at risk previous years by allowing a full capacity?

In any case, the 'stadium' if you can call it that is a disgrace. It's like going through a time machine every visit there. Zero amenities. As much as I enjoy the occasion of an Ulster final, I really hope Casement can get built so we have a modern stadium to enjoy. Imagine the atmosphere coming from the standing area behind the goals in the new Casement with a proper roof all around the stadium to keep the noise in, add to that the other stands are right on top of the pitch. It will be like nothing any other GAA stadium can provide."
It will be like nothing any other GAA stadium can provide.

You mean completely imaginary??

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 18/06/2019 17:08:58    2197197

4 days to go boys. Anyone any idea when the teams are named, Friday night I presume? Do you expect to see many changes from the starting line ups in the semis and who do we see as the match ups across the field?

Anyway I'm going to lay out my prediction and as much as my heart says Cavan my head strongly says Donegal. All I hope is our boys put in a performance.

Donegal by 4.

westcavankid (Cavan) - Posts: 83 - 19/06/2019 09:25:25    2197447

Replying To westcavankid:  "4 days to go boys. Anyone any idea when the teams are named, Friday night I presume? Do you expect to see many changes from the starting line ups in the semis and who do we see as the match ups across the field?

Anyway I'm going to lay out my prediction and as much as my heart says Cavan my head strongly says Donegal. All I hope is our boys put in a performance.

Donegal by 4."
Would expect a very similar Cavan team to the last day. Not sure on the fitness of Gerry Smith and have heard Ciaran Brady is injured too.

If either are fit, maybe one will come in with Martin Reilly moving to forward line.

Think Donegal will be similar team to the Tyrone game, possibly exception Jason McGee, injury pending.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 19/06/2019 09:59:00    2197459

Replying To westcavankid:  "4 days to go boys. Anyone any idea when the teams are named, Friday night I presume? Do you expect to see many changes from the starting line ups in the semis and who do we see as the match ups across the field?

Donegal by 4."
I would expect a very similar starting 15 from ourselves, maybe Ciaran Thompson will come in but I'm not sure for who... possibly Niall O'Donnell who while supremely talented was a little quieter the last day, or Eoin McHugh if we aren't focussing on a running game. We could see Gallen make a start either but I'd be surprised, he was great in the league but for his first championship start to be the Ulster final would be a bit of a surprise.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 19/06/2019 10:02:25    2197461

Donegal by 4."
I would think Donegal would go with the same 15 from the start as what started v Tyrone. Jason McGee's injury didn't sound that serious so I suppose it just depends on how much training he got in the last 2 weeks. If he's not 100% then I'd imagine Thompson will be in from the start. Bonner and his management team threw a few surprise late changes before throw in with Niall O'Donnell and Eoin McHugh coming in so as a previous poster mentioned it wouldn't be a massive shock if young Gallen came into the team. Cavan wouldn't expect this and he could cause damage in the early stages of the game if he does start. I can see Niall O'Donnell having a big game if he keeps his place. Cavan will be more concerned with other star players in the Donegal team and Niall is capable of scoring heavily if given space and has 2 good feet. He also scored 2-10 in an under 20 game v Cavan last year so the sight of a Cavan jersey might give him some confidence to go out and put in a coming of age performance.

There is no doubt that Cavan are a team on the up and they have a top manager in Mickey Graham. It will be interesting to see how he sets them up on Sunday. Kickouts will be huge as they always seem to be now and I think based on what I've seen from both teams I'd give Donegal the edge in this dept and if they get on top here I think it will be very difficult for Cavan to win this game. Donegal are really good in possession and they've shown in the 2 games they've played that they can attack any gaps in the opposition's defense at speed or if a team gets numbers back against them they have shown a lot of patience to work an opening. They also have a variety of different scorers so are not heavily reliant on one or two players to do the bulk of the scoring like Monaghan were when playing Cavan in earlier rounds.

I think this game will show us where Donegal are at. It was great to beat a top team like Tyrone but now they need to back it up. I can see Cavan hanging in this game for 45/50 mins but I think Donegal will eventually get on top and I also think Donegal have the stronger bench to finish the game out. I think/hope Donegal win this one by 5 to 10 points. If I'm wrong, I will be back on here apologising to Cavan supporters.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 19/06/2019 16:14:18    2197641

Replying To Mobot:  "I would think Donegal would go with the same 15 from the start as what started v Tyrone. Jason McGee's injury didn't sound that serious so I suppose it just depends on how much training he got in the last 2 weeks. If he's not 100% then I'd imagine Thompson will be in from the start. Bonner and his management team threw a few surprise late changes before throw in with Niall O'Donnell and Eoin McHugh coming in so as a previous poster mentioned it wouldn't be a massive shock if young Gallen came into the team. Cavan wouldn't expect this and he could cause damage in the early stages of the game if he does start. I can see Niall O'Donnell having a big game if he keeps his place. Cavan will be more concerned with other star players in the Donegal team and Niall is capable of scoring heavily if given space and has 2 good feet. He also scored 2-10 in an under 20 game v Cavan last year so the sight of a Cavan jersey might give him some confidence to go out and put in a coming of age performance.

There is no doubt that Cavan are a team on the up and they have a top manager in Mickey Graham. It will be interesting to see how he sets them up on Sunday. Kickouts will be huge as they always seem to be now and I think based on what I've seen from both teams I'd give Donegal the edge in this dept and if they get on top here I think it will be very difficult for Cavan to win this game. Donegal are really good in possession and they've shown in the 2 games they've played that they can attack any gaps in the opposition's defense at speed or if a team gets numbers back against them they have shown a lot of patience to work an opening. They also have a variety of different scorers so are not heavily reliant on one or two players to do the bulk of the scoring like Monaghan were when playing Cavan in earlier rounds.

I think this game will show us where Donegal are at. It was great to beat a top team like Tyrone but now they need to back it up. I can see Cavan hanging in this game for 45/50 mins but I think Donegal will eventually get on top and I also think Donegal have the stronger bench to finish the game out. I think/hope Donegal win this one by 5 to 10 points. If I'm wrong, I will be back on here apologising to Cavan supporters."
Good post. I can understand players and management trying to keep a lid on things but us as supporters shouldn't be trying to play the cute hoor card. It's a load of nonsense. Call it as you see it!

Like you, I think Cavan will provide a stiff test for the majority of the match. But I just think there are too many potential fires for them to have to put out, and to sustain that for 75 or so minutes will be very hard. I mean if they can curtail Murphy and McBrearty's influence (by no means easy) Jamie Brennan, Ryan McHugh or Eoghan Ban still need to be watched. Then you have players like Niall O'Donnell, Langan, McGee and possibly young Gallen to worry about too.

Cavan have some very good players who will need close attention surely. But I just think overall we have more players for them to worry about and can see us winning by 4-6 points.

Like you though, if I'm wrong I'll be the first to congratulate Cavan. I have some good friends from down that way who are mad football men and who will go buck mad if they do it. They're a proud football county starved of success so if Donegal weren't involved I'd definitely be on the Breffni bandwagon!

Here's hoping we get a great final!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 20/06/2019 11:23:37    2197883

As the Donegal posters above are saying, 5-10 point margins are what they would expect and hope for. And I can't really give a substantial argument to that logic.

However, I think there is an opportunity here for Cavan. I have seen some of these Cavan players beat Donegal teams including McBrearty, McHugh, et al in Ulster Finals. While I wouldn't like to say that this is a free hit for the Cavan lads, its certainly an opportunity to throw the kitchen sink at Donegal and see if we have enough. Lets face it, there is a fair bit of diplomacy littering these forums however the reality is that nobody gives Cavan a hope in hell of winning this one.

I am probably going offline after this post as I am getting too nervous about Sunday now. And I am also tired of reading that Cavan have "McVeety, Clarke and Moynagh". Trust me, there is a lot more to this Cavan team than only those three.

I am going to go where no other man has gone before and will say - Cavan will win this game!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 20/06/2019 12:29:10    2197918

Replying To Reformation:  "As the Donegal posters above are saying, 5-10 point margins are what they would expect and hope for. And I can't really give a substantial argument to that logic.

However, I think there is an opportunity here for Cavan. I have seen some of these Cavan players beat Donegal teams including McBrearty, McHugh, et al in Ulster Finals. While I wouldn't like to say that this is a free hit for the Cavan lads, its certainly an opportunity to throw the kitchen sink at Donegal and see if we have enough. Lets face it, there is a fair bit of diplomacy littering these forums however the reality is that nobody gives Cavan a hope in hell of winning this one.

I am probably going offline after this post as I am getting too nervous about Sunday now. And I am also tired of reading that Cavan have "McVeety, Clarke and Moynagh". Trust me, there is a lot more to this Cavan team than only those three.

I am going to go where no other man has gone before and will say - Cavan will win this game!"
Definitely one county I would not begrudge us losing this match to. If you don't win I hope you makes super 8's and have a massive go at it, Cavan have a talented team all over and as you say, the medals to prove it underage. I feel we will prevail narrowly enough, a 1 point win for me would be just perfect.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 20/06/2019 12:46:44    2197930

I have a lot of time for Cavan football, real football people who are passionate about there football. Looking forward to a great game, really nervous about this one, there's such a huge prize at the end of it. Weather forecast not good I don't know who that will suit. Anyway heading up early Sunday should be a great atmosphere about clones.
Hopefully our boys are really focused and get the job done but it's not going to be easy.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 20/06/2019 13:12:34    2197943

Replying To Reformation:  "As the Donegal posters above are saying, 5-10 point margins are what they would expect and hope for. And I can't really give a substantial argument to that logic.

I am going to go where no other man has gone before and will say - Cavan will win this game!"
It could happen. I have seen a few disappointments over the past decade when we were favourites going into games and losing. We were marginal favourites v Kerry a few years back in the final and we were hyped up no end to win that one. Monaghan in 2013 was another. Its a hard lesson to learn when it happens. Maybe you cant really fully learn it either. Complacency can always slip in despite the best efforts of management, players are only human.

But I am going to stick my neck out and say that we can beat cavan on Sunday if we let loose on them. Keeping it tight is very risky now and I believe it is not in our best interests to do this with our scoring players. We need to keep it tight, at times rather than for the whole game.

There is no doubt that our management are aware of this and have their homework done.

I hope we have a nice dry day for some open football. May the better team win and hopefully the match be remembered for the right reasons. I think this will be the case.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/06/2019 14:31:34    2197984

Really looking forward to the match, my Dad (nearly 90 but sharp as a tack even if he's not very mobile), my brother and my 12 year old son (who, although he's a Dublin fan understands the madness that consumes his Dad when Cavan are playing), are all heading to Clones this weekend.

Win and I'll be over the moon, my boss will be lucky to see me for a week.

Lose and I guess we pick ourselves up and try and get to the Super 8's.

Either way I'll wish Donegal the best, great fans and a smashing team.

cavandub (Cavan) - Posts: 67 - 20/06/2019 14:32:10    2197985

Replying To rorysboys:  "I have a lot of time for Cavan football, real football people who are passionate about there football. Looking forward to a great game, really nervous about this one, there's such a huge prize at the end of it. Weather forecast not good I don't know who that will suit. Anyway heading up early Sunday should be a great atmosphere about clones.
Hopefully our boys are really focused and get the job done but it's not going to be easy."
The sentiment is shared. Happy to be sharing Sunday's game with ye lot rather than some of our neighbours (you know who). Hope your crowd travel early and we'll get a good atmosphere going around Clones before and after the game. May the best team win and no matter the result I'm sure both sets of supporters will hang around for a pint after to perform the analysis.

westcavankid (Cavan) - Posts: 83 - 20/06/2019 14:34:40    2197987

I posted earlier on a forum saying we would win well. Don't mean any disrespect, and would welcome a Cavan win if they are the better team on the day. Any team who try and break the norm, without disrespecting Cavans past, is a welcome addition and good for the gaa. Safe travels.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 20/06/2019 16:50:03    2198046

Looking forward to this one, and the unique atmosphere a novel final pairing can bring to Clones. The finalists have both played the best football in Ulster this year so final places have been duly earned.

All logic says Donegal, no prizes for saying that. After the semi final win against Tyrone, they have cemented their place as the undisputed Ulster team of the decade. They know about winning finals, and importantly know a lot about losing them too. That in a way will make it harder for Cavan on Sunday.
While the defeat of Tyrone was very impressive and very satisfying to watch, in many ways the win over Fermanagh was just as impressive. Its fair to say Tyrone imploded like nobody thought they would. On the other hand, Fermanagh executed almost everything they needed to do to stifle Donegal. But Donegal just kept on coming, calmly moving through their own plan and punishing every mistake by Fermanagh. The ultimate display of win and move on. They are playing with serious individual players working to a group effort- it is paying dividends.

Cavan have resurrected their relegation season on the back of big wins against Monaghan and Armagh. Both were predictable enough given Monaghan's nose-dive in form and Armagh's overall lack of quality. The challenge now is to go a step further and defy logic against Donegal. They have racked up some big points totals in three matches so far with no individual player doing all the scoring. The big issues with frees seem to have been well ironed out which is a massive plus. One worry going in against Donegal is that they have so far failed to score a goal from play in the championship.

This game is a battle between two teams playing excellent collective football, one of which has better individual players and one of which has a tide of emotion and desperation behind it. Which will prevail? Cavan's two wins so far have come on the back of establishing big early leads and then fighting off the comeback. You would always feel I a final that the underdog needs such as start. A first half goal for Cavan on Sunday could set them on their way. But Donegal have faced these situations before and prevailed. Cavan will want the early exchanges to be frantic but you could see Donegal taking the hits and moving on. Murphy is the embodiment of this type of play.

Despite their progress to the final and the quality of play, Cavan must still prove that they have the front line players to match Donegal. Getting to a final of itself proves nothing, as Down and Fermanagh have proved in recent years. They lack the type of individual player that would walk into teams like Mayo, Kerry, Tyrone etc. and truly improve the side. Can the collective carry them above a cast of McBrearty, Murphy, EBG, Ryan McHugh, Langan, Thompson and the rest? It is possible. The need is great enough. But Donegal are building a legacy themselves too. Perhaps their need is actually greater at this point in time. Logic and hunger therefore both say Donegal by 6 point plus.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 20/06/2019 16:51:10    2198048

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Looking forward to this one, and the unique atmosphere a novel final pairing can bring to Clones. The finalists have both played the best football in Ulster this year so final places have been duly earned.

All logic says Donegal, no prizes for saying that. After the semi final win against Tyrone, they have cemented their place as the undisputed Ulster team of the decade. They know about winning finals, and importantly know a lot about losing them too. That in a way will make it harder for Cavan on Sunday.
While the defeat of Tyrone was very impressive and very satisfying to watch, in many ways the win over Fermanagh was just as impressive. Its fair to say Tyrone imploded like nobody thought they would. On the other hand, Fermanagh executed almost everything they needed to do to stifle Donegal. But Donegal just kept on coming, calmly moving through their own plan and punishing every mistake by Fermanagh. The ultimate display of win and move on. They are playing with serious individual players working to a group effort- it is paying dividends.

Cavan have resurrected their relegation season on the back of big wins against Monaghan and Armagh. Both were predictable enough given Monaghan's nose-dive in form and Armagh's overall lack of quality. The challenge now is to go a step further and defy logic against Donegal. They have racked up some big points totals in three matches so far with no individual player doing all the scoring. The big issues with frees seem to have been well ironed out which is a massive plus. One worry going in against Donegal is that they have so far failed to score a goal from play in the championship.

This game is a battle between two teams playing excellent collective football, one of which has better individual players and one of which has a tide of emotion and desperation behind it. Which will prevail? Cavan's two wins so far have come on the back of establishing big early leads and then fighting off the comeback. You would always feel I a final that the underdog needs such as start. A first half goal for Cavan on Sunday could set them on their way. But Donegal have faced these situations before and prevailed. Cavan will want the early exchanges to be frantic but you could see Donegal taking the hits and moving on. Murphy is the embodiment of this type of play.

Despite their progress to the final and the quality of play, Cavan must still prove that they have the front line players to match Donegal. Getting to a final of itself proves nothing, as Down and Fermanagh have proved in recent years. They lack the type of individual player that would walk into teams like Mayo, Kerry, Tyrone etc. and truly improve the side. Can the collective carry them above a cast of McBrearty, Murphy, EBG, Ryan McHugh, Langan, Thompson and the rest? It is possible. The need is great enough. But Donegal are building a legacy themselves too. Perhaps their need is actually greater at this point in time. Logic and hunger therefore both say Donegal by 6 point plus."
Great post Eddie.

Oh your point about us matching Donegal's quality, what I would suggest is that although Donegal have some stellar forwards, particularly up front, it's at the back they could be exposed.
Faulkner, McLoughlin, Moynagh and Clarke are all solid defenders, the Donegal forwards might not have it as easy as people envisage.
I'm looking forward to seeing Dara Mcveety on Neil McGee, I genuinely think that's a battle that could be key for us.
Our other two inside forwards, Galligan and Madden admittedly haven't fired consistently so we're going to need them to step up.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 20/06/2019 17:48:25    2198060

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "
Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Looking forward to this one, and the unique atmosphere a novel final pairing can bring to Clones. The finalists have both played the best football in Ulster this year so final places have been duly earned.

Despite their progress to the final and the quality of play, Cavan must still prove that they have the front line players to match Donegal. Getting to a final of itself proves nothing, as Down and Fermanagh have proved in recent years. They lack the type of individual player that would walk into teams like Mayo, Kerry, Tyrone etc. and truly improve the side. Can the collective carry them above a cast of McBrearty, Murphy, EBG, Ryan McHugh, Langan, Thompson and the rest? It is possible. The need is great enough. But Donegal are building a legacy themselves too. Perhaps their need is actually greater at this point in time. Logic and hunger therefore both say Donegal by 6 point plus."
Great post Eddie.

Oh your point about us matching Donegal's quality, what I would suggest is that although Donegal have some stellar forwards, particularly up front, it's at the back they could be exposed.
Faulkner, McLoughlin, Moynagh and Clarke are all solid defenders, the Donegal forwards might not have it as easy as people envisage.
I'm looking forward to seeing Dara Mcveety on Neil McGee, I genuinely think that's a battle that could be key for us.
Our other two inside forwards, Galligan and Madden admittedly haven't fired consistently so we're going to need them to step up."
Mc Gee won't be near Mc Veety. I'd imagine Mc Grath or Mc Menamin, Eoghan Ban might mark him if he's further out like last year.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 20/06/2019 21:42:43    2198135

Replying To TheRock2121:  "
Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "[quote=Eddie the Exile:  "Looking forward to this one, and the unique atmosphere a novel final pairing can bring to Clones. The finalists have both played the best football in Ulster this year so final places have been duly earned.

Great post Eddie.

Our other two inside forwards, Galligan and Madden admittedly haven't fired consistently so we're going to need them to step up."
Mc Gee won't be near Mc Veety. I'd imagine Mc Grath or Mc Menamin, Eoghan Ban might mark him if he's further out like last year."]Cavan may shock a few people on Sunday , I think they can up a few more gears and win Sunday . They have an experienced crew who have a good lad over them and may be able to get the match ups right to keep Murphy et Al quiet.

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 20/06/2019 22:27:33    2198155

Good luck to Cavan but yee haven't a hope in hell in this one!

fatkeeper (Dublin) - Posts: 316 - 20/06/2019 23:18:52    2198171

Replying To fatkeeper:  "Good luck to Cavan but yee haven't a hope in hell in this one!"
Thanks for the well-wishes and the measured and articulate analysis

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 21/06/2019 09:34:00    2198217

Replying To fatkeeper:  "Good luck to Cavan but yee haven't a hope in hell in this one!"
for once it's not the hope that's going to kill us as it seems there isn't any.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 21/06/2019 09:47:59    2198220