Donegal V Cavan. Ulster Final. 2019-

Replying To ponger:  "On paper its a Donegal win, however the one think i'd say about Graham is that he will have a plan in mind. Even against Armagh he had to change it a couple of times and the team seem capable of adapting. The other thing is that there is a mental toughness to these guy that i havent seen in a long time which saw of Monaghan and up a gear against Armagh when needed.

As for a win..well its an Ulster final but at the same time i'd be quite realistic as Donegal will have their plans too."
I dont think it is a donegal win on paper. They are a good and strong outfit but cavan arent miles off the pace. They were unlucky in a good few games this year in the league and have demonstrated serious strength of character in getting over Monaghan and armagh.

Hope it's a classic and a breffni win. I like donegal also but be nice to say the guard change.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 10/06/2019 13:38:23    2192878

Really looking forward to this one, 1983 was my first Cavan Ulster Final at 11 years old and of course at that time I thought Cavan would be there or thereabouts for ever, fast forward to 2019 and I'm 47 now having seen Cavan in a total of 4 Ulster Finals and only one victory that magic day in 1997.

I've nothing against Donegal in fact they are easily my second favourite team in Ulster (great good humoured supporters), but I'd love my 89 year old Dad who lived thorough the legendary teams of the 40's to have one more day in the sun (or more likely rain knowing Clones) and see Cavan lift the Anglo Celt once more.

cavandub (Cavan) - Posts: 67 - 10/06/2019 13:43:52    2192887

This year is like a nightmare.... Cavan in an ulster final .....puke...but good luck to them cos they gonna need it. Do I think Cavan will win it, NO. Taking my anti-Cavan views out of it I think this will be like the club semi final for Micky Graham. Cavan at the moment think they are Dublin and unfortunately for them they won't win another game this year. Logic being Cavan beat a Monaghan team in the first half(dubious penalty aside). 2nd half it was a different game. Micky graham has a huge choice to make....does he keep playing the same way against Donegal when it won't work or does he fall back into defensive mode where it still won't work. Take a look at how easy Armagh got through their defense at times and likewise Cavan through Armagh's. Yes it's great putting up big scores but they easily could have conceded 3 goals.It takes both an offensive and defensive performance to win games from here on in and Cavan either have one or the other....not both. If Micky and Cavan do win it then it will be the performance of the year but it gonna take something completely different.On Donegal I was shocked at how good they were....I had totally wrote them off against Tyrone.

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 10/06/2019 13:44:58    2192889

I am not going to play up or down our chances. The bookies have us at red hot favourites at 3/1 on, while cavan are 3/1 against.

Cavan are actually a good price here considering they were a division 1 team this season and we were a division 2 one. Ok, cavan were relegated and that has its problems, but they have shown excellent form to come back and win 3 ulster fixtures in a row, its a long time since they did anything like that before. Also, they have form in their u21 players who are now coming through at last.

We are on the back of promotion despite losing to both fermanagh and tipp in division 2.
However, I think that our away game v Cork was a season changer. Had we lost it we would not be looking so rosy now. But we didnt, and have gone from strength to strength since.

I think it is going to be end to end with many scores. I think that sickout strategy will be vital as will discipline. I think that we may outscore cavan on the day.

Glad to be in the final v Cavan. They are a big addition to the championship so far this year.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/06/2019 14:45:55    2192941

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "This year is like a nightmare.... Cavan in an ulster final .....puke...but good luck to them cos they gonna need it. Do I think Cavan will win it, NO. Taking my anti-Cavan views out of it I think this will be like the club semi final for Micky Graham. Cavan at the moment think they are Dublin and unfortunately for them they won't win another game this year. Logic being Cavan beat a Monaghan team in the first half(dubious penalty aside). 2nd half it was a different game. Micky graham has a huge choice to make....does he keep playing the same way against Donegal when it won't work or does he fall back into defensive mode where it still won't work. Take a look at how easy Armagh got through their defense at times and likewise Cavan through Armagh's. Yes it's great putting up big scores but they easily could have conceded 3 goals.It takes both an offensive and defensive performance to win games from here on in and Cavan either have one or the other....not both. If Micky and Cavan do win it then it will be the performance of the year but it gonna take something completely different.On Donegal I was shocked at how good they were....I had totally wrote them off against Tyrone."
Jeez! I'd hate to hear your opinion with your anti-Cavan view not taken out of the equation!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 10/06/2019 14:49:54    2192945

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "This year is like a nightmare.... Cavan in an ulster final .....puke...but good luck to them cos they gonna need it. Do I think Cavan will win it, NO. Taking my anti-Cavan views out of it I think this will be like the club semi final for Micky Graham. Cavan at the moment think they are Dublin and unfortunately for them they won't win another game this year. Logic being Cavan beat a Monaghan team in the first half(dubious penalty aside). 2nd half it was a different game. Micky graham has a huge choice to make....does he keep playing the same way against Donegal when it won't work or does he fall back into defensive mode where it still won't work. Take a look at how easy Armagh got through their defense at times and likewise Cavan through Armagh's. Yes it's great putting up big scores but they easily could have conceded 3 goals.It takes both an offensive and defensive performance to win games from here on in and Cavan either have one or the other....not both. If Micky and Cavan do win it then it will be the performance of the year but it gonna take something completely different.On Donegal I was shocked at how good they were....I had totally wrote them off against Tyrone."
I'm absolutely loving the bitterness from the Monaghan fans lately. Loving every bit of it. The Cavan game has laid bare the cold hard reality of a team in decline, and the anti football approach ye took against Fermanagh confirmed it. A team bereft of ideas, devoid of quality replacements for key players and a golden era coming to an end.

Keep writing us off, I love it!

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 10/06/2019 14:54:45    2192951

Replying To cavanman47:  "Jeez! I'd hate to hear your opinion with your anti-Cavan view not taken out of the equation!"
Lol

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 10/06/2019 15:01:30    2192958

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "I'm absolutely loving the bitterness from the Monaghan fans lately. Loving every bit of it. The Cavan game has laid bare the cold hard reality of a team in decline, and the anti football approach ye took against Fermanagh confirmed it. A team bereft of ideas, devoid of quality replacements for key players and a golden era coming to an end.

Keep writing us off, I love it!"
Anti football approach indeed.

Did you see the Fermanagh v Donegal game? It was about as good for entertainment as our game. When faced with that type of performance v Fermanagh there is little else to do.

Some people may be bitter toward Cavan but most not so overly so. To be honest I think your assessment says more about the insecurity you might have worrying about what Monaghan are doing rather than enjoying the best Cavan campaign in 18 years. You have beat a misfiring Monaghan (or one in decline as you say) and took two goes to beat a decent but not amazing Armagh. I'll be very impressed if you beat Donegal other than that its decent but not amazing from Cavan. Nice to watch but I think its short of the quality to win Ulster.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 10/06/2019 15:16:29    2192972

Replying To MesAmis:  "Can't see past Donegal in this one. Going for only their second ever Ulster two in a row I believe.

This past decade really has been a golden age for Donegal football."
8th Ulster Final in 9 years for Donegal. Truly unprecedented for Donegal football and hopefully we can bring a 5th title of the decade back to the hills. It's easy to take these days for granted but they wont last forever and I'm savoring every minute of it. It took over 100 years to win our first 5 Ulster championships and we now have to opportunity to seal another 5 within 9 years, remarkable.

In terms of the match its self I think it has to potential to be thriller. I think Donegal's powerful running game will get the goals to make a difference.

Donegal 2:14

Cavan: 18

Antifa (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 10/06/2019 15:22:12    2192980

Replying To Gator:  "Anti football approach indeed.

Did you see the Fermanagh v Donegal game? It was about as good for entertainment as our game. When faced with that type of performance v Fermanagh there is little else to do.

Some people may be bitter toward Cavan but most not so overly so. To be honest I think your assessment says more about the insecurity you might have worrying about what Monaghan are doing rather than enjoying the best Cavan campaign in 18 years. You have beat a misfiring Monaghan (or one in decline as you say) and took two goes to beat a decent but not amazing Armagh. I'll be very impressed if you beat Donegal other than that its decent but not amazing from Cavan. Nice to watch but I think its short of the quality to win Ulster."
However, having watched yous against ourselves and then against Fermanagh yesterday, it's patently clear yous are in decline. A poster on your own forum expressed his support for Cavan and his desire to see us win Ulster, and he was immediately followed by a slew of red thumbs. It shows the mentality of some of the Monaghan support. Some simply can't stomach the sight of a resurgent Cavan. And that's what rivalry is all about, I genuinely wouldn't have it any other way.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 10/06/2019 15:25:29    2192984

Cavan are a serious team with a good manager. This Donegal team is at another level. Unless a red card or 3 Cavan goals I can see Donegal winning by double digits, with no disrespect.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 10/06/2019 15:42:45    2192996

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "However, having watched yous against ourselves and then against Fermanagh yesterday, it's patently clear yous are in decline. A poster on your own forum expressed his support for Cavan and his desire to see us win Ulster, and he was immediately followed by a slew of red thumbs. It shows the mentality of some of the Monaghan support. Some simply can't stomach the sight of a resurgent Cavan. And that's what rivalry is all about, I genuinely wouldn't have it any other way."
wouldn't have it any other way as right!! no one on here should get too worked up or insulted by who their neighbours support. thats what makes the rivalry so special!! at the game yesterday i was standing with monaghan people who were delighted with cavan winning. so its not exclusive.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 10/06/2019 15:46:01    2192999

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "However, having watched yous against ourselves and then against Fermanagh yesterday, it's patently clear yous are in decline. A poster on your own forum expressed his support for Cavan and his desire to see us win Ulster, and he was immediately followed by a slew of red thumbs. It shows the mentality of some of the Monaghan support. Some simply can't stomach the sight of a resurgent Cavan. And that's what rivalry is all about, I genuinely wouldn't have it any other way."
Well yeah...I didnt red thumb that but I dont particularly hope to see Cavan win it. Plenty of people from Monaghan around Latton, Corduff, Rockcurry, Magheracloone and Currin will have an extra dislike having to listen to ye on a daily basis. It will make little difference to me. Additionally, I don't think its something I have to worry about. I think its a grand Cavan team but Donegal are better almost on every front. There is always a chance Donegal don't play as well as they can and Cavan are flying but honestly I think ye will fall short by 2-3 points.

It would be a very quick decline for Monaghan from All Ireland semi finals in 2018 and maintaining league 1 status for 2020. These things usually come gradually. I saw nothing from yesterday that I didnt expect from Monaghan considering Fermanagh and how they play. If we whimper out to Armagh on Saturday then I would say you're right otherwise....

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 10/06/2019 15:56:33    2193010

Ned, bit of a reality check. Cavan beat a Monaghan team that was decimated by injuries and took 160 minutes to beat Armagh who are managed by a guy who has 1 championship win to his name x 2 counties.Its a bit early to be dropping in here blowing....as they say if this Cavan team manage to harrow all that this Monaghan team have ploughed then you can blow all you want.

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 10/06/2019 16:44:13    2193042

Delighted to be in an Ulster final and against Donegal especially. As much as this Cavan team have improved I feel this might be a step too far for this team yet. From watching the Tyrone game on Saturday you'd have to get the feeling Tyrone were way under par with their performance but Donegal to their credit put on a master class, there's not many players you could say had a bad game for them.

No doubt Mickey Graham will have this team well prepared but I feel Cavan will need an almost flawless performance on the day and for Donegal to not really show up. When you look at their starting 15 there's just so much quality across the pitch that I feel Cavan will get it tough to match.

None the less it's a massive occasion for this team and really hope they learn and push on from it, everything from here on in is a bonus.

Hoping for a free flowing game of football but I see Donegal getting across the line with 3-4 points to spare. Best of luck to both teams!

westcavankid (Cavan) - Posts: 83 - 10/06/2019 16:45:41    2193043

Replying To westcavankid:  "Delighted to be in an Ulster final and against Donegal especially. As much as this Cavan team have improved I feel this might be a step too far for this team yet. From watching the Tyrone game on Saturday you'd have to get the feeling Tyrone were way under par with their performance but Donegal to their credit put on a master class, there's not many players you could say had a bad game for them.

No doubt Mickey Graham will have this team well prepared but I feel Cavan will need an almost flawless performance on the day and for Donegal to not really show up. When you look at their starting 15 there's just so much quality across the pitch that I feel Cavan will get it tough to match.

None the less it's a massive occasion for this team and really hope they learn and push on from it, everything from here on in is a bonus.

Hoping for a free flowing game of football but I see Donegal getting across the line with 3-4 points to spare. Best of luck to both teams!"
I feel the same way, we reached the Ulster final in 1995 under McHugh got well beaten and won Ulster two years later. We are making progress under Graham and I just want to see the boys give it a lash. As somebody mentioned including 2019 Donegal have now made 8 of the last 9 finals so they're vastly more experienced when it comes to the final day itself.

cavandub (Cavan) - Posts: 67 - 10/06/2019 16:56:52    2193061

If Donegal play the way they played in the first half against Tyrone then they will win & win well.

On the other hand if they play the way they played in the second half then they could be in trouble.

Donegal can't sit back & defend leads, they are simply not that type of team. They have got to get on the front foot & attack for the 70 minutes.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/06/2019 17:34:16    2193090

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "Ned, bit of a reality check. Cavan beat a Monaghan team that was decimated by injuries and took 160 minutes to beat Armagh who are managed by a guy who has 1 championship win to his name x 2 counties.Its a bit early to be dropping in here blowing....as they say if this Cavan team manage to harrow all that this Monaghan team have ploughed then you can blow all you want."
Monaghan lads, yous are falling for every word said on here as if its a knife in the side...Jee lads chill pill.

Someone said above that Cavan think they are Dublin, no we don't. We are realistic but at the same time we have two championship wins and are in an ulster final. We will be up against it, but by god we will have a good crack at it. We are enjoying our wins and if you want to try to pour water over it then fine..

As for the ploughed fields and harrows, you can keep that stoney grey soil.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 10/06/2019 17:49:49    2193094

Replying To ponger:  "Monaghan lads, yous are falling for every word said on here as if its a knife in the side...Jee lads chill pill.

Someone said above that Cavan think they are Dublin, no we don't. We are realistic but at the same time we have two championship wins and are in an ulster final. We will be up against it, but by god we will have a good crack at it. We are enjoying our wins and if you want to try to pour water over it then fine..

As for the ploughed fields and harrows, you can keep that stoney grey soil."
It drives them mad to see Cavan on the rise. Sure, some of their fans wish us well, but in my own experience most of them would rather anyone but Cavan.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 10/06/2019 18:29:01    2193115

Remember leaving Clones after the semi in 2013 deflated but slightly relieved we didn't have to face the AI champions in the final. Fully expected Monaghan to not keep it kicked out. Was at the final and the intensity Monaghan brought was off the scale. Donegal couldn't get going and were wiped off the field. Was a shock to me anyway. There's always a chance. There'll be a tendency for us to talk ourselves down going into this which is natural but there's a bit of an attitude about this Cavan team that has been missing for a while. I'll remain pessimistic but doubt the players will and really hope Mickey comes up with a master stroke for the final. But to win I think we need goals.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 10/06/2019 18:46:15    2193125