Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To waynoI:  "Giving it loads in the build up to be absolutely slaughtered and your 3 cilles mates the first 3 to be subbed. Bliss."
You mean your club mates ???

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2019 23:27:06    2200998

Replying To royaldunne:  "You mean your club mates ???"
I mean they would be my club mates if I was involved in that club which you like to remind me I'm not, just a friendly reminder that it's you who is constantly tounging the lads constantly on here. Pretty nauseating. Also, noticed you havent come on and said that I was literally right about every aspect of the game from the margain of victory, Dublin not panicking at any point, our experience being key, it being too early for young James conlon despite your huge building up of him. Unlucky lad, maybe next time, but then again, I'd say most likely not.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/06/2019 00:45:39    2201020

Replying To realdub:  "1985 LFC Final
Dublin 0-10 0-4 Laois"
34 years , by Jaysus that's some stretch now.
There's no doubt about about it but the Karma is working on the Meath boys I tell ya.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 26/06/2019 08:16:07    2201046

Replying To catch22:  "34 years , by Jaysus that's some stretch now.
There's no doubt about about it but the Karma is working on the Meath boys I tell ya."
Teams scoring low scores in championship matchs didnt just happen on Sunday

1 3 years ago in leinster final Westmeath scored 6 points v Dublin. So thats the second tims in 4 years teams have scored very low scores v Dublin in leinster final eg Meath 4 points in this years final and Westmeath 6 points 3 years ago in leinster final . Dublin have an aura about them now in Croker were teams are beaten before they enter the field.

2 Wet days do be low scoring days. It didnt effect Dublin but Dublin are the greatest team in the history of the sport. There has been only being 5 wet leinster final days in last 40 years all had teams scoring low scores

2019 Meath 4 points Wet leinster final
1994 Dublin 1 - 9 Meath 1- 8 Wet leinster final
1996 Meath 0- 10 Dublin 0- 8 Wet leinster final
1986 Meath 0- 9 Dublin 0- 7 Wet leinster final
1985 Dublin 0- 10 Laois 0 - 4 Wet leinster final.

They are the only 5 wet leinster finals of all the last 40 years. 4 of them are lowest scoring leinster finals of the last 40 years. The only team to have a massive score on a wet leinster final in last 40 years is the greatest team ever. I thought the rain might lead to a dogfight. Meath did do allot of things right. But I was wrong rain doesnt suit this Meath teams style of play. Dublin adapted to conditions better because Dublin have the best footballers in the country.

3 Other low scoring games off top of my head
In 2011 All Ireland semi final
Dublin 0 - 8 Donegal 0- 6.

Very low scoring semi final. And the amazing thing is Dublin 0 - 5 they scored on Sunday in the first is the lowest Dublin have scored in a first half championship in 8 years , basically since that game that game in 2011 v Donegal. Sundays first half v Meath is the lowest Dublin have scored in the championship v opposition since 2011 All Ireland semi final v Donegal.

It does show u Meath did do things right. Defensivly Meath did well. Keoghan kept Kilkenny very quite. McGill and lavin and Gallagher did well on all. their men. Up to 50 min Meath defence was doing a good job on Dublin forwards. But the Meath forwards did nor have their shooting boots and each miss was knocking stuff out of the teams confidence. And of course in the last 15 or 20 mins game the genius of this Dublin team is they take teams to cleaners in the last 15 mins.

The average loss in leinster final in last 6 years is 15 points. Meath lost by 16. Meath defence did well. Meath defence is why Meath were promoted this year. Meath have been shakey at the back for years. Meath are defensively good at the moment. But the forwards while can score well v div 4 div 3 and div 2 teams. Meath do lack real top class quality upfront . Meath with defenders like Keoghan , McGill , lavin, Gallagher , Ryan , Harnan and Kane have a division 1 defence. But Meath have division 2 forward line.

Meath had the best defence in div 2 this year. Most years Meath have had one of the skakey defences in div 2. But Meath had maybe 4th or 5th best forwards in div 2. Donegal, Kildare, Armagh and maybe Tipp had better forwards then Meath. Meath have good quality forwards but they lack a really top class forward like a Murphy , McBreaty , Clarke , Dan Flynn or Quilvan..Hopefully some of these young talented forwards coming thru can develop into top class forwards. But Meath do have div 1 defence. That why we were promoted, that why we went toe to toe with Donegal twice and Tyrone in last 12 months and kept Dublin to 5 points in the first half on Sunday. kerry would not have as good a defender as keoghan. Galways full back would not be as good as McGill. But kerry and Galway would have a much much superior forwards then Meath. They have div 1 forwards , Meath dont.

But it must be said Meaths best forward Donal lenihan is travelling this year and Meaths best young prospect from last years under 20 team a player with more potential then young Conlon , Shane Walsh , the best full forward in the county at age 18 , was finishing his studies next year. If Meath can get lenihan, young Walsh , Alan Forde and possibly other young talents like Trims Aaron Lynch and Dunshaughlin duo of Mathew Costello and luke Mitchell on to the seniors next year. If 2 or 3 of them were to step up that wud be massive. Meath are short 3 or 4 years players , another midfielder and 2 or 3 top class forwards.

It must be said , the forwards everything went wrong for them. They are much better then they showed on Sunday. They wouldnt have beaten Armagh by 6 points in the league and went toe to toe twice with Donegal this year if they were poor forwards. Sullivan , Newman , McMahon , Conlon and Reilly are quality but really lack a top notch player like a Callaghan or McBreaty in the forwards. Every went wrong for the forwards almost in q freakish way. Hitting the post 3 times , two freetakers having an off day , Dublins aura all led to this kind of low scoring score.

4 Another low scoring game ftom opposition
All Ireland semi final 2001
Meath 2 - 15 Kerry 0 - 5
That was lowest kerry scored in championship match in 100 years. On that great kerry team of 00s which would 5 All Irelands, on that day when kerry scored 0 - 5 in an All Ireland semi final were forwards like Dara Cinneade , Johnny Crowley , Mike Frank Russell and possibly the most naturally gifted forward of all time Maurice Fitzgerald.

5 Another low scoring.
4 points is not lowest Meath have scored in Croke Park in recent times. Meath scored 3 points in Croke Park. And the opposition scored 6 points.
On that day the forwards that played for Meath were Trevor Giles, Graham Geraghty, Ollie Murphy and Evan kelly. It was a national league division 1 semi final in Croke Park v Cork. Cork would beat Dublin in the final afterwarda. The year was 1999 the year Meath last won an All Ireland and amazingly those two teams who scores 0 - 3 0- 6 in Croke Park in April 1999. Would later play each other in September All Ireland final in 1999.

Now Im not saying Meath will reach All Ireland final soon. But I am saying teams hitting low scores in Croker has happened before. But some people r enjoying that Meath scored so little. Theres allot of people who need and want Meath to fail. Many of the neighbours do. Its the old Eastern European peasant famer mentality. My horse is dead but I am.happy why ? because my neighbours horse is dead.

Even though these people would have said Dublin would hammer Meath in the final. Everyone expected Meath to be hammered so its not a real shock and with Dublin hammering every team in leinster by an average of 15 points in last 6 years, beating louth by 26 points with 14 men and kildare by 15 points in the semi final and Meath by 16 points in the final. Meath being hammered by Dublin should not be any surprise. But people saying we did better because we lost by 15 or 16 points but scored a bit more is bit like two bald men fighting for a comb. Its irrelevant. The main point is Dublin hammered Meath like they have hammered every team in leinster for 6 years and they have even comprehensivly beaten every top team in the country in last 6 years. Mayo Tyrone kerry have all been beaten by massive figures by Dublin..Roscommon are playing Dublin next. Roscommon scored more v Dublin last year then Meath this year. But Roscommon were beaten by 14 points last year v Dublin, Meath were beaten by 16 points. The games were different, Meaths defence did well for 50 mins on Dublin forwards. Roscommon forwards did better then Meath forwards. But both teams where hammered by around 15 points. To say who did better is like as I said two bald men fighting over a comb.

Anyway congratulations to Dublin. There is no doubt we are looking at a team for the ages. I have never seen a more Atletic gaelic football team ever. This Dublin team is currently the second greatest team ever and if Dublin win Sam in September , this Current Dublin team will be the undisputed greatest gaa team.ever and up their with Italia 90 Irish soccer team and rugby grand slam winning teams , Dublin will join them as one of the greatest teams ever in Irish sport. To the Dubs on this forum well done and make sure u enjoy this year because this year will be the greatest sporting year of ur lifes. When Dublin win the holy grail of Irish sport. Well done and congrats. The Dublin current team is something else. Like no team we have ever seen before. I will be able to tell my grandkids that I saw greatest gaelic football team.of all.time in the flesh in the summer of 2019.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 26/06/2019 19:14:28    2201411

Westmeath scored 10 points that day but I take your point and thank you.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/06/2019 19:22:25    2201415

a boring stats man must live on a computer

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 26/06/2019 19:28:20    2201417

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Teams scoring low scores in championship matchs didnt just happen on Sunday

1 3 years ago in leinster final Westmeath scored 6 points v Dublin. So thats the second tims in 4 years teams have scored very low scores v Dublin in leinster final eg Meath 4 points in this years final and Westmeath 6 points 3 years ago in leinster final . Dublin have an aura about them now in Croker were teams are beaten before they enter the field.

2 Wet days do be low scoring days. It didnt effect Dublin but Dublin are the greatest team in the history of the sport. There has been only being 5 wet leinster final days in last 40 years all had teams scoring low scores

They are the only 5 wet leinster finals of all the last 40 years. 4 of them are lowest scoring leinster finals of the last 40 years. The only team to have a massive score on a wet leinster final in last 40 years is the greatest team ever. I thought the rain might lead to a dogfight. Meath did do allot of things right. But I was wrong rain doesnt suit this Meath teams style of play. Dublin adapted to conditions better because Dublin have the best footballers in the country.

Very low scoring semi final. And the amazing thing is Dublin 0 - 5 they scored on Sunday in the first is the lowest Dublin have scored in a first half championship in 8 years , basically since that game that game in 2011 v Donegal. Sundays first half v Meath is the lowest Dublin have scored in the championship v opposition since 2011 All Ireland semi final v Donegal.

It does show u Meath did do things right. Defensivly Meath did well. Keoghan kept Kilkenny very quite. McGill and lavin and Gallagher did well on all. their men. Up to 50 min Meath defence was doing a good job on Dublin forwards. But the Meath forwards did nor have their shooting boots and each miss was knocking stuff out of the teams confidence. And of course in the last 15 or 20 mins game the genius of this Dublin team is they take teams to cleaners in the last 15 mins.

The average loss in leinster final in last 6 years is 15 points. Meath lost by 16. Meath defence did well. Meath defence is why Meath were promoted this year. Meath have been shakey at the back for years. Meath are defensively good at the moment. But the forwards while can score well v div 4 div 3 and div 2 teams. Meath do lack real top class quality upfront . Meath with defenders like Keoghan , McGill , lavin, Gallagher , Ryan , Harnan and Kane have a division 1 defence. But Meath have division 2 forward line.

Meath had the best defence in div 2 this year. Most years Meath have had one of the skakey defences in div 2. But Meath had maybe 4th or 5th best forwards in div 2. Donegal, Kildare, Armagh and maybe Tipp had better forwards then Meath. Meath have good quality forwards but they lack a really top class forward like a Murphy , McBreaty , Clarke , Dan Flynn or Quilvan..Hopefully some of these young talented forwards coming thru can develop into top class forwards. But Meath do have div 1 defence. That why we were promoted, that why we went toe to toe with Donegal twice and Tyrone in last 12 months and kept Dublin to 5 points in the first half on Sunday. kerry would not have as good a defender as keoghan. Galways full back would not be as good as McGill. But kerry and Galway would have a much much superior forwards then Meath. They have div 1 forwards , Meath dont.

But it must be said Meaths best forward Donal lenihan is travelling this year and Meaths best young prospect from last years under 20 team a player with more potential then young Conlon , Shane Walsh , the best full forward in the county at age 18 , was finishing his studies next year. If Meath can get lenihan, young Walsh , Alan Forde and possibly other young talents like Trims Aaron Lynch and Dunshaughlin duo of Mathew Costello and luke Mitchell on to the seniors next year. If 2 or 3 of them were to step up that wud be massive. Meath are short 3 or 4 years players , another midfielder and 2 or 3 top class forwards.

It must be said , the forwards everything went wrong for them. They are much better then they showed on Sunday. They wouldnt have beaten Armagh by 6 points in the league and went toe to toe twice with Donegal this year if they were poor forwards. Sullivan , Newman , McMahon , Conlon and Reilly are quality but really lack a top notch player like a Callaghan or McBreaty in the forwards. Every went wrong for the forwards almost in q freakish way. Hitting the post 3 times , two freetakers having an off day , Dublins aura all led to this kind of low scoring score.

Meath 2 - 15 Kerry 0 - 5
That was lowest kerry scored in championship match in 100 years. On that great kerry team of 00s which would 5 All Irelands, on that day when kerry scored 0 - 5 in an All Ireland semi final were forwards like Dara Cinneade , Johnny Crowley , Mike Frank Russell and possibly the most naturally gifted forward of all time Maurice Fitzgerald.

5 Another low scoring.
4 points is not lowest Meath have scored in Croke Park in recent times. Meath scored 3 points in Croke Park. And the opposition scored 6 points.
On that day the forwards that played for Meath were Trevor Giles, Graham Geraghty, Ollie Murphy and Evan kelly. It was a national league division 1 semi final in Croke Park v Cork. Cork would beat Dublin in the final afterwarda. The year was 1999 the year Meath last won an All Ireland and amazingly those two teams who scores 0 - 3 0- 6 in Croke Park in April 1999. Would later play each other in September All Ireland final in 1999.

Now Im not saying Meath will reach All Ireland final soon. But I am saying teams hitting low scores in Croker has happened before. But some people r enjoying that Meath scored so little. Theres allot of people who need and want Meath to fail. Many of the neighbours do. Its the old Eastern European peasant famer mentality. My horse is dead but I am.happy why ? because my neighbours horse is dead.

Even though these people would have said Dublin would hammer Meath in the final. Everyone expected Meath to be hammered so its not a real shock and with Dublin hammering every team in leinster by an average of 15 points in last 6 years, beating louth by 26 points with 14 men and kildare by 15 points in the semi final and Meath by 16 points in the final. Meath being hammered by Dublin should not be any surprise. But people saying we did better because we lost by 15 or 16 points but scored a bit more is bit like two bald men fighting for a comb. Its irrelevant. The main point is Dublin hammered Meath like they have hammered every team in leinster for 6 years and they have even comprehensivly beaten every top team in the country in last 6 years. Mayo Tyrone kerry have all been beaten by massive figures by Dublin..Roscommon are playing Dublin next. Roscommon scored more v Dublin last year then Meath this year. But Roscommon were beaten by 14 points last year v Dublin, Meath were beaten by 16 points. The games were different, Meaths defence did well for 50 mins on Dublin forwards. Roscommon forwards did better then Meath forwards. But both teams where hammered by around 15 points. To say who did better is like as I said two bald men fighting over a comb.

Anyway congratulations to Dublin. There is no doubt we are looking at a team for the ages. I have never seen a more Atletic gaelic football team ever. This Dublin team is currently the second greatest team ever and if Dublin win Sam in September , this Current Dublin team will be the undisputed greatest gaa team.ever and up their with Italia 90 Irish soccer team and rugby grand slam winning teams , Dublin will join them as one of the greatest teams ever in Irish sport. To the Dubs on this forum well done and make sure u enjoy this year because this year will be the greatest sporting year of ur lifes. When Dublin win the holy grail of Irish sport. Well done and congrats. The Dublin current team is something else. Like no team we have ever seen before. I will be able to tell my grandkids that I saw greatest gaelic football team.of all.time in the flesh in the summer of 2019."
So Meath don't like footballing in the rain. Bejazus I've heard it all now

The_Biler (Westmeath) - Posts: 84 - 26/06/2019 19:35:44    2201420

Replying To Jackeen:  "Westmeath scored 10 points that day but I take your point and thank you."
2015 leinster Senior final Result
Dublin 2 - 13 Westmeath 0 - 6.
James Heaslin scored 0 - 3 kieran Martin scored 0 - 2 and Francis Boyle scored 0 - 1.
Westmeath scored 0 - 6 v Dublin in 2015 leinster final , ur thinking of 2016 leinster final were Westmeath scored 0 - 10. .

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 26/06/2019 19:42:29    2201424

Replying To Furlong1949:  "2015 leinster Senior final Result
James Heaslin scored 0 - 3 kieran Martin scored 0 - 2 and Francis Boyle scored 0 - 1.
Westmeath scored 0 - 6 v Dublin in 2015 leinster final , ur thinking of 2016 leinster final were Westmeath scored 0 - 10. ."
Ah you said 3 years that's why I thought you were talking about 2016.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/06/2019 19:56:43    2201429

Replying To Jackeen:  "Ah you said 3 years that's why I thought you were talking about 2016."
Fair enough. My mistake apologies I should have said 4 years ago.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 26/06/2019 20:07:26    2201431

Replying To Furlong1949:  "2015 leinster Senior final Result
Westmeath scored 0 - 6 v Dublin in 2015 leinster final , ur thinking of 2016 leinster final were Westmeath scored 0 - 10. ."
Who is James Heslin??

The_Biler (Westmeath) - Posts: 84 - 26/06/2019 22:56:16    2201518

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Teams scoring low scores in championship matchs didnt just happen on Sunday

Meath 2 - 15 Kerry 0 - 5

5 Another low scoring.

Anyway congratulations to Dublin. There is no doubt we are looking at a team for the ages. I have never seen a more Atletic gaelic football team ever. This Dublin team is currently the second greatest team ever and if Dublin win Sam in September , this Current Dublin team will be the undisputed greatest gaa team.ever and up their with Italia 90 Irish soccer team and rugby grand slam winning teams , Dublin will join them as one of the greatest teams ever in Irish sport. To the Dubs on this forum well done and make sure u enjoy this year because this year will be the greatest sporting year of ur lifes. When Dublin win the holy grail of Irish sport. Well done and congrats. The Dublin current team is something else. Like no team we have ever seen before. I will be able to tell my grandkids that I saw greatest gaelic football team.of all.time in the flesh in the summer of 2019."
You seem to be a great man for making the excuses all the same. If a team are up to it they'll be up to it hail rain or shine.
You say Dublin are the greatest team of all time. What are you basing that on ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/06/2019 07:48:48    2201560

A link to Peter Cavanans analysis below of Sundays match, worth a read

https://www.skysports.com/gaa/pundits/news/30553/11748698/peter-canavan-column-meath-are-being-unfairly-criticised

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 28/06/2019 06:04:29    2201979

Replying To Furlong1949:  "A link to Peter Cavanans analysis below of Sundays match, worth a read

https://www.skysports.com/gaa/pundits/news/30553/11748698/peter-canavan-column-meath-are-being-unfairly-criticised"
There was little or no analysis of the game. A piece full of clichés; Had they scored half the chances they missed, it would have been a different game; They will certainly be working on shooting ahead of the Round 4 qualifier. Manager tearing his hair out at missed chances, this combined with a lack of knowledge surrounding round four qualifier draw, I have my doubts he even wrote this piece.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 28/06/2019 18:52:53    2202168

Replying To seadog54:  "There was little or no analysis of the game. A piece full of clichés; Had they scored half the chances they missed, it would have been a different game; They will certainly be working on shooting ahead of the Round 4 qualifier. Manager tearing his hair out at missed chances, this combined with a lack of knowledge surrounding round four qualifier draw, I have my doubts he even wrote this piece."
Fair enough Seadog but its still better then the bluster that comes out of pundits like Spillane. Watching back the tape of the match at least Whelan attempts to analysis the match. Spillane with comments like Dublin were fluting around in the first half. Thats just bar stool analysis of the highest order.

The game was a strange one. It showed brillance of this Dublin team. But there is also positives for Meath. Yes forwards had a meltdown but the backs did a good job. At least 4 Meath defenders were able for the talented Dubs forwards . Next spring in the league hopefully this will help Meath in divsion 1. Meath have good natural defenders like Keoghan, McGill, Lavin Gallagher, Ryan, Harnan and Kane. Galway, Donegal and Monaghan all stayed in div 1 with being strong at the back. Its a positive that Meaths progess this year is based on their defence.

Now we need young players like Conlon and Campion to keep developing; the return of Donal lenihan and Alan Forde and hopefully two or three forwards of our under 20 tean which is on paper is are strongest in years at around this age group. We need 2 or 3 quality forwards to emerge in next 2 to 3 seasons . The next two league campaigns in spring of 2020 and the spring of 2021 will be the defining moment in this Meath teams development and McEntees tenure as manager. If Meath have two successful league campaigns in 2020 and 2021 , it will be a massive massive turning point for Meath. Stay in div 1 in 2020 will be important. Staying again up in 2021 again would be massive. If we were relegated we still sud be still have a great chance of promotion again in 2021. So we sud be in div 1 for at least 2 of next 3 seasons even if we get relegated next year.

Players peaking in 2020 and 2021 , by coincidence the return of maybe 8 panel players next year eg Lenihan , Jones , Kennelly , O Coilean , Kane , Forde, Eamon and Joey Wallace. This will increase competition for panel places. And I could see 3 or 4 maybe norw players being called up from our under 20 team. And even players like Shane Walsh at 19 have been drafted into panel this week .

What happened last sunday is the beginning not the end for this Meath team. When we got hammered in 2014 it was our third leinster final in a row and the scores were getting worse eg 2012 3 points , 2013 7 points , 2014 16 points. We hopefully play Dublin a few more times in next few years. It was McEntee and these players first game v Dublin. Of the starting 15 only 3 played v Dublin in 2016.

It took Dwyer til his fifth game v Dublin to beat them and Eugene McGee and Sean Boylan defeated Dublin at their fourth attempt. It take years and many loses before u can beat Dublin. Sunday was the beginning of McEntee and this Meaths journey. When we play Dublin in 2020 or 2021 I will come out with the auld traditional guff we will beat Dublin. Thats because when I grew up I saw Meath teams annually beat Dublin. But the truth is Meath will not beat Dublin in 2020 if we meet or 2021. If will be another 3 or 4 years at least and another 3 or 4 games down the line before Meath can toe to toe with Dublin. Its the same for kildare. Both teams need a manager and group of players to commit the next 4 or 5 years to go to war with Dublin and hopefully both teams can end up leinster champions in the years 2023 or 2024 or 2025.

Maybe they wouldn't and fail like Meath did in mid 70s and kildare in early 70s. But the only way u can be sucessful in leinster and this is for Laois Westmeath louth Offaly every county. U need a group of players led by manager who will to commit at least a half decade of their life to dethtoning Dublin. Thats what Sean Boylan and his Meath teams did in mid 80s and mid 90s , thats what Mick Dwyer and his his kildare team did in late 90s and thats what Eugene McGee and his offaly team did in the early 80s. They are the three most sucessful managers in history leinster football outside Dublin.

Meath and kildare were both hammered v Dublin. That is start. They both need to learn from this experience and when they meet Dublin next theyre sud be an improvement. Instead of losing by 16 points they sud be losing by 9 or 8 or 7 points. And then in 2021 or 2022. A better performance v Dublin and then hopefully been able to go toe toe with a Dublin in 3 or 4 years time and 3 or 4 games down the line v Dublin. Thats the way you can be sucessful in leinster. Its a long process and there is no gurantee eitheir Meath or kildare or or laois or Offaly or whoever will do this. But Meath and kildare have begun this process this summer. The next game they meet Dublin they need a better performance. Thats what they need. Another hammering would be not a good sign. But the key for both teams is division 1 football , the longer u stay in divsion one the stronger u become that is football fact.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 28/06/2019 21:57:19    2202213

How in the name of god is this thread still going?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 29/06/2019 07:30:39    2202259