Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

What can I say , we never turned up particularly our forwards, we left our scoring boots well and truly behind. 11 scoring chance in first half to dubs 9, yet went in with only one point on board, Meath had 22 scoring chances dubs had 25 in total. The score line doesn't lie . We all had asked for a performance unfortunately things just didn't happen at all, we couldn't hit the side of a hay shed.
That should not take away from Dublin, and congratulations to them and their fans. Well done genuinely a team of a lifetime.
As for Meath? We not as bad as that, so we dust ourselves down and go hell for leather in next match, all goals are still on for this year.
Again best wishes to Dublin, I have no doubt you will do the 5 in row. Finally
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/06/2019 19:29:35    2199261

Just back, bitter sweet victory with what looked like a bad injury to James and I fear a bit for him, huge irreplaceable loss if he's out. Terrible conditions there today.

We all know how Croke Park plays under such circumstances, it's an ice rink and unfortunately football standards drop. I'm delighted that Dublin turned on the style late enough on despite it all. Good to see they can adapt to any set of circumstances.

Meath put an impressive amount of energy into 1st half but unfortunately for them they hadn't much saved for the last 20 minutes

Meath defended very well in 1st half but Jaysus
they left behind 5-6pts. Free tasking is a vital part of the game.. I'll leave it at that

Overall went the way I thought it would. Expected Meath to get into double digits so 4 pts must be very disappointing for them.

They now know a lot more about playing Dublin.

Happy to see Philly/Cian back playing well, Jack was excellent, Con did so much right, Rock proves his class and so on..

Fingers crossed for James and Paddy

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/06/2019 19:30:07    2199262

Made the unwise decision to cycle in to Croker. Could have come home in a canoe. Only thing worse than the weather was Meath's performance. They were a shambles and would have been embarrassed by most teams in the country never mind the Dubs. They may forfeit their promotion to division 1 if that's the level they're at. You'll get no sympathy from me if the best players in your county can't execute the basic skills of the game.

Pantani (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 23/06/2019 19:35:23    2199264

Replying To ballydalane:  "Holy cow, that was bad."
Moo??

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 23/06/2019 19:36:25    2199265

Replying To festinog:  "Perfect riposte; well said!

Belclare a mhic, after last Sunday's performance I am of a mind to think of those that live in glasshouses."
My initial response was to a Mayo poster who was slagging Meath about kicking wides..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 23/06/2019 19:39:49    2199270

To be fair on Meath they didn't look ready to renew rivalries with Dublin. This in itself added extra pressure on them never mind facing the best team of all time

If ever it showed how important it is to be in Div 1 it was today, there's no way you are going to compete with them from Div 2.

Anything from now on should be treated as bonus territory for Meath. Treating it that way will take the pressure off them somewhat. Getting to the Super 8s is not the be all this year and should not be seen as a failure should they no make it this year, to get there they will face a tough game against a team with winning momentum then their first S 8s match away to either Kerry or Donegal. The current championship format is very hard on provincial losers.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 23/06/2019 19:40:43    2199272

Replying To royaldunne:  "What can I say , we never turned up particularly our forwards, we left our scoring boots well and truly behind. 11 scoring chance in first half to dubs 9, yet went in with only one point on board, Meath had 22 scoring chances dubs had 25 in total. The score line doesn't lie . We all had asked for a performance unfortunately things just didn't happen at all, we couldn't hit the side of a hay shed.
That should not take away from Dublin, and congratulations to them and their fans. Well done genuinely a team of a lifetime.
As for Meath? We not as bad as that, so we dust ourselves down and go hell for leather in next match, all goals are still on for this year.
Hon the royal"
How many wides did Biggy hit?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 23/06/2019 19:41:10    2199273

Replying To David:  "Our forwards today let us down. 12 wides, 5 off uprights & 3 dropped into Cluxton's hands versus 4 wides for Dublin.

Regroup & look to qualifiers"
Yes but Dublin missed a penalty, missed another sitter and went for points when goals were on. They were also not at their best.

In truth, Meath could have been beaten alot more if the Dubs were up for it.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 23/06/2019 19:43:53    2199276

They were 4 well taken points in fairness.
Jays but that Meath performance was puke stuff.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 23/06/2019 19:45:50    2199281

I think some being quite harsh on Meath. Played bravely in first half but the lack of quality in the forwards did for them. Then tiredness (mental as much as anything) set in during 2nd half and the Dubs opened up. Hard to keep going against them when they get a run on you & you see the sheer quality of subs coming on.
Ironically Meath's performance almost the opposite of Kildare's 2 weeks ago : we did have the forwards to trouble them but we were away too passive in our approach.
Tough for Meath to raise themselves now for round 4....commentator mentioned today we were the last beaten Leinster finalists to win a round 4 qualifier....in 2009 ! That is a crazy stat. (assuming it's true, haven't the energy to check !)

royaldunne - good, reasoned post match response from you. Try to keep it up please.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 23/06/2019 19:47:20    2199284

Replying To 32_4_1:  "And as usual, our supposed "leader", Graham Reilly, is the biggest let down on the field"
Bigged up by some....so to speak.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/06/2019 19:49:31    2199289

Replying To lilylanger:  "Then you should leave not royaldunne. Honestly nobody is pointing a gun at your head to stay here. There have been plenty of posters said they were leaving if this that or the other happened and didnt. So what?? Its the internet. Deal with it!"
My thinking exactly

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/06/2019 19:51:53    2199292

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Dreadful stuff. Meath petrified at a hammering and only interested in keeping the score down. When their first score in the 32nd minute is greeted with such praise you know Gaelic football is in dire straits. Shame on the GAA for reducing us to this."
How did the GAA "force" Meath to play like that?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/06/2019 19:52:32    2199293

Replying To greysoil:  "Yes congratulations to Dublin on their win & continued dominance. And commiserations to the GAA on their ultimate loss."
Why thank you. Commisserations to Monaghan on their untimely departure too.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/06/2019 19:56:03    2199298

Just back, bitter sweet victory with what looked like a bad injury to James and I fear a bit for him, huge irreplaceable loss if he's out. Terrible conditions there today.

We all know how Croke Park plays under such circumstances, it's an ice rink and unfortunately football standards drop. I'm delighted that Dublin turned on the style late enough on despite it all. Good to see they can adapt to any set of circumstances.

Meath put an impressive amount of energy into 1st half but unfortunately for them they hadn't much saved for the last 20 minutes

Meath defended very well in 1st half but Jaysus
they left behind 5-6pts. Free tasking is a vital part of the game.. I'll leave it at that

Overall went the way I thought it would. Expected Meath to get into double digits so 4 pts must be very disappointing for them.

They now know a lot more about playing Dublin.

Happy to see Philly/Cian back playing well, Jack was excellent, Con did so much right, Rock proves his class and so on..

Fingers crossed for James and Paddy

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/06/2019 20:04:49    2199307

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Bigged up by some....so to speak."
Certainly not. He disposed a few dubs with ease and if the oldest player on Meath team can do that, imagine what the Kerry lads would do.
Missed 3 Newman missed 3 Brennan missed 4.osullivan only took one shot and sent it wide.
All had a bad day. Why pick out one player?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/06/2019 20:14:56    2199315

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I think I justified not attending. Most meath fans stayed away too. I presume the GAA will provide meath with 1.5m a year in funding now. We need it more then Dublin."
Are you planning on signing Dermot Connolly with that money? Meath is a single code county, has a comparatively large population which is increasing and within close proximity of the capital so no training or emigration issues and has a mighty football tradition. 4 points against a backfiring Dublin in a Leinster Final was just tragic. You could waste €1.5bn on that Meath setup and I still think they'd get whipped. If you have no tactics, no heart and can't take points from 15-20 yards out then you're not going to win the community games never mind a Delaney Cup. What are they doing in that fantastic facility, holding bingo nights? That was simply awful from Meath and Dublin were very poor in that first half. Not too sure where the Royal go from here but nobody will fear that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/06/2019 20:16:11    2199317

Replying To royaldunne:  "What can I say , we never turned up particularly our forwards, we left our scoring boots well and truly behind. 11 scoring chance in first half to dubs 9, yet went in with only one point on board, Meath had 22 scoring chances dubs had 25 in total. The score line doesn't lie . We all had asked for a performance unfortunately things just didn't happen at all, we couldn't hit the side of a hay shed.
Hon the royal"
"We not as bad as that" how you know you're not as bad as that? How do you know that's not Meath's level?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/06/2019 20:26:53    2199336

Replying To The_Fridge:  "How many wides did Biggy hit?"
Overhyped by one or two here for years.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/06/2019 20:28:28    2199340

Replying To Jackeen:  "Why thank you. Commisserations to Monaghan on their untimely departure too."
I know Jackeen as Monaghan are the only team that give you a game.

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 9 - 23/06/2019 20:29:13    2199341