Stephen Cluxton 100

Stephen Cluxton will make his 100 championship appearance for Dublin next Sunday against Kildare or Longford what an achievement what a man the Goat, well done Stephen you'll go down as the greatest and hopefully you've a hundred more games in you to go.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/06/2019 16:01:10    2189812

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Stephen Cluxton will make his 100 championship appearance for Dublin next Sunday against Kildare or Longford what an achievement what a man the Goat, well done Stephen you'll go down as the greatest and hopefully you've a hundred more games in you to go."
The greatest what?

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 02/06/2019 17:05:01    2189836

Thank God he didn't take a break from the inter county scene and be lambasted for it like ROC.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7895 - 02/06/2019 17:24:04    2189847

Replying To Thelonesomegoose:  "The greatest what?"
The GOAT. The greatest player of all time. Hope that is clear enough for you.

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 02/06/2019 20:20:54    2189952

Replying To fingalman:  "The GOAT. The greatest player of all time. Hope that is clear enough for you."
Just funny using the word Goat. .given a goat's aptitude for high altitude vs. Cluxton's weakness under the high ball.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 02/06/2019 21:09:30    2189984

He's only the greatest of all time because of the millions pumped into him by Arnotts.

Elsewise, one of our own, we will look to him.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/06/2019 21:27:15    2189992

Replying To fingalman:  "The GOAT. The greatest player of all time. Hope that is clear enough for you."
If he had been born in Leitrim would you recognise him as the GOAT?

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 02/06/2019 21:51:12    2189998

Reading the heading..fair play, he doesn't look a day over 90.

He has a nice kickout but poor under the high ball.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 02/06/2019 22:06:29    2190008

Great player. Consistent. Can fluff his stuff as much as the next man however rarely has to do much cos of the quality of his backs.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 02/06/2019 22:28:51    2190014

I have no issue is acclaiming the change in direction his goalkeeping ability has taken the game, he has definitely changed the role from the old fashioned kick it out long and high. He is not 100% invincible and can have the occasional wobble but over the last 20 years I cannot name any other single player that has has a changing influence on the game.

Unfortunately for Dublin though and I'm not being a wum here, if anything happens him your dream of five would be just that a dream.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 02/06/2019 22:41:24    2190018

The first player to reach a 100 championship games and people are hating on him, sad to see, the man has given unbelievable service to Gaelic football , he doesn't want any media attention just keeps quiet and has been outstanding for Dublin , and is very good under a high ball his fisting of the ball is one of his strong points. He got caught twice last year and then out of nowhere the narrative is he's no good under a high ball ,absolute rubbish.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/06/2019 22:50:06    2190024

Replying To clondalkindub:  "The first player to reach a 100 championship games and people are hating on him, sad to see, the man has given unbelievable service to Gaelic football , he doesn't want any media attention just keeps quiet and has been outstanding for Dublin , and is very good under a high ball his fisting of the ball is one of his strong points. He got caught twice last year and then out of nowhere the narrative is he's no good under a high ball ,absolute rubbish."
Ah one has to ignore the haters, Monaghan apart 25 plus counties would buy him. But like you alluded to you are going to have the haters, wums and begrudges. Put it this way if it was a Kerry player I could name 5 of your county posters that would be on stirring the shite.

He is a one off, admittedly I am not a fan, but one still has to admire the longevity and ability and cultural diversity of the man.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 03/06/2019 00:08:28    2190042

Replying To clondalkindub:  "The first player to reach a 100 championship games and people are hating on him, sad to see, the man has given unbelievable service to Gaelic football , he doesn't want any media attention just keeps quiet and has been outstanding for Dublin , and is very good under a high ball his fisting of the ball is one of his strong points. He got caught twice last year and then out of nowhere the narrative is he's no good under a high ball ,absolute rubbish."
They're not hating on him. Just dismissing your GOAT hyperbole.

Are you seriously trying to say he's a better all round footballer than Peter Canavan, Matt Connor, Paidi O'Sé, fellow Dubs like Paul Mannion, Barney Rock etc?

So a player is the GOAT based on career length (a goalkeeper has an advantage here) and his ability at a restart, namely the kickout.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 03/06/2019 00:49:17    2190048

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "They're not hating on him. Just dismissing your GOAT hyperbole.

Are you seriously trying to say he's a better all round footballer than Peter Canavan, Matt Connor, Paidi O'Sé, fellow Dubs like Paul Mannion, Barney Rock etc?

So a player is the GOAT based on career length (a goalkeeper has an advantage here) and his ability at a restart, namely the kickout."
He is a player who changed the game and his position forever, not many players have done that, so he is up there for this, not simply for longevity.

He changed kick outs from been long ball 50/50 competitions to possession and attacking ploys.

He started the goalkeeper/freetaker story, yet remember when he started this people were complaining and talking about putting time limits on how long a free is taken in to avoid him doing it.

To the unseen. He is a 5 time All-Ireland winning captain becuase in a team of stars he is the one they look up to. His leadership is unseen becuase he does not do press etc and he drives by example.

Debates about who is the GOAT always remain unsettled but to dimiss him becuase he is a keeper or becuase of the county he comes from or becuase of how long he played I find very foolish indeed.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 03/06/2019 10:03:08    2190090

Replying To witnof:  "He is a player who changed the game and his position forever, not many players have done that, so he is up there for this, not simply for longevity.

He changed kick outs from been long ball 50/50 competitions to possession and attacking ploys.

He started the goalkeeper/freetaker story, yet remember when he started this people were complaining and talking about putting time limits on how long a free is taken in to avoid him doing it.

To the unseen. He is a 5 time All-Ireland winning captain becuase in a team of stars he is the one they look up to. His leadership is unseen becuase he does not do press etc and he drives by example.

Debates about who is the GOAT always remain unsettled but to dimiss him becuase he is a keeper or becuase of the county he comes from or becuase of how long he played I find very foolish indeed."
First keeper to take frees??

You clearly haven't watched enough football if you think that.

Shane 'cake' Curran is probably the most high profile of those who would've taken frees (and penalties) long before 2011. There are plenty others too.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 03/06/2019 12:29:47    2190143

Replying To cavanman47:  "First keeper to take frees??

Shane 'cake' Curran is probably the most high profile of those who would've taken frees (and penalties) long before 2011. There are plenty others too."
The 1st keeper that people complained about taking frees.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/06/2019 13:13:34    2190153

Replying To cavanman47:  "First keeper to take frees??

Shane 'cake' Curran is probably the most high profile of those who would've taken frees (and penalties) long before 2011. There are plenty others too."
Never said the first, I wrote 'He started the goalkeeper/freetaker story' as with him and since he started it is a big thing and nearly every keeper seems to have to do it nowadays!

It was ok for Cake to take frees but remember the reaction to Cluxton?

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 03/06/2019 14:29:40    2190185

Replying To witnof:  "Never said the first, I wrote 'He started the goalkeeper/freetaker story' as with him and since he started it is a big thing and nearly every keeper seems to have to do it nowadays!

It was ok for Cake to take frees but remember the reaction to Cluxton?"
Because he wasted so much time. Cake was up like a shot to take them so nobody complained (except the Galway minor keeper who never saw his penalty fly into the top corner!)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 03/06/2019 15:54:28    2190217

That's is. Cluxton taking frees slowed the game down. Cake, Beggan, Morgan etc. never do it did.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 03/06/2019 16:45:09    2190233

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "They're not hating on him. Just dismissing your GOAT hyperbole.

So a player is the GOAT based on career length (a goalkeeper has an advantage here) and his ability at a restart, namely the kickout."
Their not hating on him? Yet not one of them have acknowledged his achievement of being the first player to reach 100, sad to see from gaa people on here.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/06/2019 16:54:15    2190238