Puke Hurling

Replying To bdbuddah:  "For years the old system was the reason Galway got to so many finals, loads of the finals they got there without facing any of the serious teams. Most of the finals they got to back then was not on merit but due to a system system which gave them an easy path to the final (1 in 3 years they got to a final without playing a serious team in Munster or Leinster). It is for this reason quoting their 'bad' record in finals under the old system as if they performed badly in those finals is ridiculous, they performed as expected in most of those finals. Up until the 1980's Galway were just not a very strong hurling team. It was almost a bit like when the GAA used some years used to play an 'away' League final in New York."
I would suggest you are not too well informed on GAA matters in Galway .
Hurling was always the more popular game in the county with club finals in hurling better attended than football.
The Galway team may not have had the success to reflect this but it is the case nonetheless less.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 01/06/2019 16:48:14    2189634

Replying To Barnowl94:  "I would suggest you are not too well informed on GAA matters in Galway .
Hurling was always the more popular game in the county with club finals in hurling better attended than football.
The Galway team may not have had the success to reflect this but it is the case nonetheless less."
Always? It's the case now but pre 1980's I wonder. I grew up in hurling country in the bad old days of Galway hurling and even though hurling and a bit of soccer is all we played, our childhood heroes were all footballers.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 01/06/2019 17:00:39    2189641

Replying To Barnowl94:  "I would suggest you are not too well informed on GAA matters in Galway .
The Galway team may not have had the success to reflect this but it is the case nonetheless less."
I think if you read the post you will see he said Galway were not a very strong hurling team . He didn't mention how widespread the game was within the county . In terms of what he said he is right . Galway were beaten by 3-03 to 0-08 in the hurling final in 1953. Between then until their reemergence as a hurling power in 1975 they never realistically contended at the highest level .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 01/06/2019 18:06:57    2189649

Replying To Greengrass:  "I think if you read the post you will see he said Galway were not a very strong hurling team . He didn't mention how widespread the game was within the county . In terms of what he said he is right . Galway were beaten by 3-03 to 0-08 in the hurling final in 1953. Between then until their reemergence as a hurling power in 1975 they never realistically contended at the highest level ."
What would You know mate. What have Louth ever won.

:) only jokin

I believe Galways days in the duldrums and revival was summed up pretty well with the famous Wests awake speach

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 01/06/2019 18:28:02    2189653

Replying To Breezy:  "What would You know mate. What have Louth ever won.

:) only jokin

I believe Galways days in the duldrums and revival was summed up pretty well with the famous Wests awake speach"
I was there that day .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 01/06/2019 21:00:11    2189676

Replying To Greengrass:  "I was there that day ."
Ha.

Before my time and a bad day for Limerick but it must have been great to be at such an iconic final

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 01/06/2019 21:18:48    2189683

You are dead right. I went to work in Dublin 1970 and a big number of my colleagues were from Galway. It was shortly after the great three in a row football triumphs, yet more that one of those lads said they , at that time, would prefer to see Galway win one hurling title that ten Football titles. Anybody looking at hurling in the county can see that the main towns like Portumna,, Athenry, Loughrea and Gort are all proud hurling towns and a vast tract of rich land stretching from the Shannon to the Atlantic contain several fine rural clubs like St Thomases, Sarsfield, Clarenbridge, Meelick Eyrecourt Mullagh etc etc. By contrast football is more confined to the less populated Northern and Western areas of the county, and yet at football the county is more honours laden.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/06/2019 21:28:35    2189686

Replying To Greengrass:  "Whoa !!!! Stall the digger . You're losing the run of yourself there . You're talking about a group of players some of whom have played in five All Ireland finals since 2012 if you include the replay that year . They gave a very good account of themselves in four of those five finals. In 2015,2016 and 2017 they were involved in three epic semi finals against a cracking Tipp side two of which they won. Your own county has managed to play in five All Ireland finals since your last win in 1973 and you have also only won one of those five. You slag off Galway's performance in last years final. That team was running on fumes after last years drawn Leinster Final and understandably so given what they had done in 2017. They had nothing left in the tank yet they still managed to drag themselves to within a point of an All Ireland through sheer will to win despite the fact that a lot of the team have been there for at least seven years. Let's see if Limerick defend their title this year as well as Galway defended theirs last year. I'm not posting this out of disrespect for the Limerick hurlers whom I admire greatly . Maybe you could show the same respect to a group of Galway hurlers who have given immense enjoyment to many sports fans the length and breadth of the country."
I am only replying to those few, and they are very few indeed, Galway posters, who try to detract from Limericks achievement last year. I have the height of respect for each and every team that won an All Ireland. I always contend that if your team lose you should not make what are clearly silly excuses. And supporters certainly should not attack the unfortunate referee like a few of your county men did in 2010. For the past forty four years, prior to 2018 I have been to every championship game that Limerick lost and I always congratulated the winners supporters and would correct any of my fellow county men who failed to accept that the better team always wins-end of. BTW Galway have played in nine finals since 89 and they won only won, so I don not know if Limericks record is any worse.
Incidentally I was very disappointed with the way Louth were treated in 2010

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/06/2019 21:49:55    2189687

Replying To brisbane:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=brisbane:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=StoreysTash:  "So another thread descends into a boring tit-for-tat over nothing.

Maybe if the admins did their job, we might get back to discussing hurling at some stage this summer?"
Not much more to discuss on this match lad. Or on the puke guy from out West. Ive noticed though that supporters of the big 3 winners of Liam are few and far between on the Forums. I guess all of us from so called lesser counties must have more to say because we ve all been bridesmaids for too long......."
Wexford posters are in denial of the puke hurling davy has them playing. Daly also brought it to Dublin when he was in charge so the clare boys have a lot to answer for"]Since you stopped playing 15 on 15 a few years back you are finally a competitive winning outfit. Would you rather your team played like some great teams you had in the 90s and 00s that won nothing and were everyones favourite second team because of it?"]Good point its a results business"]Wexford won an All Ireland and back to back Leinster titles in the mid nineties and a Leinster title in 2004, when they beat Kilkenny. Would I be right in saying that it was only game Kilkenny lost in Leinster in that entire decade?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/06/2019 21:54:31    2189688

Replying To bdbuddah:  "For years the old system was the reason Galway got to so many finals, loads of the finals they got there without facing any of the serious teams. Most of the finals they got to back then was not on merit but due to a system system which gave them an easy path to the final (1 in 3 years they got to a final without playing a serious team in Munster or Leinster). It is for this reason quoting their 'bad' record in finals under the old system as if they performed badly in those finals is ridiculous, they performed as expected in most of those finals. Up until the 1980's Galway were just not a very strong hurling team. It was almost a bit like when the GAA used some years used to play an 'away' League final in New York."
Simply not right. They beat Kilkenny in semi finals in 1953, 1986, 2001 and 2005. Tipperary in 1987, 1993 and 2005, Cork in 75, 79 85 and 2012 , Offaly in 80 and after two great games Limerick in 81. The only time they got there, as in the final, softly was in 55 and 58, when a totally absurd system was in place.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/06/2019 22:01:55    2189689

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Simply not right. They beat Kilkenny in semi finals in 1953, 1986, 2001 and 2005. Tipperary in 1987, 1993 and 2005, Cork in 75, 79 85 and 2012 , Offaly in 80 and after two great games Limerick in 81. The only time they got there, as in the final, softly was in 55 and 58, when a totally absurd system was in place."
Jesus wept, your like the rain man of hurling.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 02/06/2019 01:59:58    2189707

Wexford won an All Ireland and back to back Leinster titles in the mid nineties and a Leinster title in 2004, when they beat Kilkenny. Would I be right in saying that it was only game Kilkenny lost in Leinster in that entire decade?
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 1901 - 01/06/2019 21:54:31

Yep that was it, unbelievable record. They didn't lose in Leinster again until 2012 when Dublin beat them.

This whole thread is complete and utter jargon, started by a troll who probably isn't even from Galway.

If the hurling is too puke, go watch something else. There is F1 or cricket or whatever on today.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 02/06/2019 09:36:59    2189721

Football in the seventies was better supported than hurling in terms of crowds following the county team & club final attendances, we appeared in many All Irl semi finals & finals with heartbreaking results, such as 1974. Tuam Stadium hosted many great county finals back then with big crowds. Galway football was destroyed by the 1983 All Irl final & has never recovered. The traditional areas of north Galway have been decimated by rural depopulation, these were the heartland of support. Nowadays the main support is from Connemara & at away league games over the years it's often been just the Lally's bus crew there. Support for the hurlers has always been greater since 1980. Galway football support presently with an up coming team, is poor as anyone who was in Castlebar the year we shocked Mayo or the Monaghan game in the Stadium last year or the All Ireland semi final with Dublin last year, very poor numbers in comparison to what the hurlers bring. If you look at the funding figures from the County Board it shows this as club & county gate money from the Hurling Board & sponsorship is double that of the football board. The fact the hurling board got the football board to share the Mountain South debt & open Loughgeorge to them shows that leadership has been poor. If Galway football doesn't win an All Ireland within the next 5 years with possibly its best conveyor belt of talent in years, it will slip further into oblivion. The politics in Galway football has also been to blame for losing a lot of its support, its riddled with stroking. Many great people opted out & a lot of the support nowadays is armchair support, which is always fickle & will only appear if their winning. Galway football needed a leader such as FM in Corofin who put in place structures that endure today where the collective, continuity , style of play, implementation of skills, support structures, schools were all put in place decades ago & if Galway football got that at the time it would be where Dublin are now. Too many people left too long in power playing musical chairs with no new blood led to indifference.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 02/06/2019 10:17:31    2189732

Replying To Dec82:  "Jesus wept, your like the rain man of hurling."
Sure is. Only reason I do Hurling Forums is to get insights off people like Oldtourman. And there are many like him on this fair play to ye all.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 02/06/2019 10:44:26    2189735

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Wexford won an All Ireland and back to back Leinster titles in the mid nineties and a Leinster title in 2004, when they beat Kilkenny. Would I be right in saying that it was only game Kilkenny lost in Leinster in that entire decade?

Yep that was it, unbelievable record. They didn't lose in Leinster again until 2012 when Dublin beat them.

This whole thread is complete and utter jargon, started by a troll who probably isn't even from Galway.

If the hurling is too puke, go watch something else. There is F1 or cricket or whatever on today."
Galway beat them in 2012.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 02/06/2019 11:47:51    2189747

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Wexford won an All Ireland and back to back Leinster titles in the mid nineties and a Leinster title in 2004, when they beat Kilkenny. Would I be right in saying that it was only game Kilkenny lost in Leinster in that entire decade?

If the hurling is too puke, go watch something else. There is F1 or cricket or whatever on today."
Well said!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 02/06/2019 12:12:57    2189755

its great to see such pulsating hurling in waterford,lots of great scores,no wides,good free flowing hurling....
oh no co commentator just mentioned a sweeper,how dare he

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 02/06/2019 14:36:39    2189782

Jesus Waterford your better than that that's absolute dirt. Austin Gleason get into the game man.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/06/2019 14:40:40    2189784

Replying To perfect10:  "its great to see such pulsating hurling in waterford,lots of great scores,no wides,good free flowing hurling....
oh no co commentator just mentioned a sweeper,how dare he"
It's still a high quality game compared to what your lot offers.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 02/06/2019 14:41:12    2189785

Replying To perfect10:  "its great to see such pulsating hurling in waterford,lots of great scores,no wides,good free flowing hurling....
oh no co commentator just mentioned a sweeper,how dare he"
What nonsense are you spouting.......everyone knows Waterford play a defensive structure....as do Wexford.....common denominator for both counties.....

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 02/06/2019 14:46:44    2189788