Donegal Vs Tyrone

I believe Tyrone were very lucky to qualify for an All Ireland final last year. The draw opened up but I don't think they would have got a result in Ballybofey if Donegal didn't have their injuries. Whilst this is a new season I still rate Donegal higher than Tyrone. Tyrone have always marketed themselves very well but they don't have the forwards to win an All Ireland. Both teams will be cautious on Saturday and I'd expect a fairly low scoring game. For me Donegal have a forward line and due to this will win by 3 points.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 06/06/2019 09:12:02    2191083

Weather giving decent so far anyway, donno whether dry pitch would suit us or not...was listening to Enda McGinley on OTB AM and it gave me some hope for us! He was saying we prob have the best front 6 in the country give or take, he did add Dublin/Kerry into the mix but what we have that others may not have/shown to date is 3 maybe 4 score takers from around/outside the 40/45 zone...won't win us matches but if Tyrone step up to try to stop these it may leave holes inside for the likes of Brennan to take advantage of...the reverse can easily happen to us though and leave space for the likes of McShane. I just don't know how to call it, Tyrone deservedly favourites, both teams so far seem to be leaking goals, could it just be a shoot out, I don't think so, v cagey first half for sure after that, feck knows...

JimmyCarr (Donegal) - Posts: 27 - 06/06/2019 09:16:43    2191085

Il be honest, This is a big game for McShane. He has played well against two Div 4 teams. He played well in the last 3 league games but the first 3 he wasn't great, especially against Mayo and Roscommon where he was taken off early in the second half. McGee or whoever marks him will be the acid test.

I personally wouldn't start Niall Sludden, I know a lot of Tyrone fans will disagree but his form has fallen off a cliff this year. I would bring him on with 20 mins to go when there is a bit more space. His confidence seems low. Everyone has poor games but he has been poor in all the league games and the two championship games so that's a large body of evidence to show he isn't on form. It would be a massive call but I would introduce him to take a bit of pressure of him and get him back to the player we know is.

Really looking forward to it now!!!!!!

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/06/2019 10:21:51    2191100

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Il be honest, This is a big game for McShane. He has played well against two Div 4 teams. He played well in the last 3 league games but the first 3 he wasn't great, especially against Mayo and Roscommon where he was taken off early in the second half. McGee or whoever marks him will be the acid test.

I personally wouldn't start Niall Sludden, I know a lot of Tyrone fans will disagree but his form has fallen off a cliff this year. I would bring him on with 20 mins to go when there is a bit more space. His confidence seems low. Everyone has poor games but he has been poor in all the league games and the two championship games so that's a large body of evidence to show he isn't on form. It would be a massive call but I would introduce him to take a bit of pressure of him and get him back to the player we know is.

Really looking forward to it now!!!!!!"
Yeah I would agree with not starting sludden. By his standards he has been poor. Being dropped might actually be good for him.

Should be a tight cagey game until the last 20 mintues or so. If Tyrone can stop Murphy and McBrearty which they have done in the past then they should have enough to get over the line

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 06/06/2019 12:17:04    2191142

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Il be honest, This is a big game for McShane. He has played well against two Div 4 teams. He played well in the last 3 league games but the first 3 he wasn't great, especially against Mayo and Roscommon where he was taken off early in the second half. McGee or whoever marks him will be the acid test.

Really looking forward to it now!!!!!!"
Yeah I would agree with not starting sludden. By his standards he has been poor. Being dropped might actually be good for him.

Should be a tight cagey game until the last 20 mintues or so. If Tyrone can stop Murphy and McBrearty which they have done in the past then they should have enough to get over the line

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 06/06/2019 12:24:47    2191145

Replying To kevin03:  "You are 100% right memories do endure. Will never forget donegal fans physically attacking pat spillage. Not many teams in Ireland have fans like that.

Or also the memory of Michael Murphy and a few others admitting that Peter harte was "targeted" for abuse in 2011.

It would seem memories only endure for you when donegal aren't involved in it. Grow up. All teams have idiot fans."
I've seen Michael Murphy himself targeted in these particular fixtures so we could go through the list of on-field stuff all day, that wasn't the initial point.

Grew up a long time ago, cheers though hi.

Here's to a good sporting game on Sunday anyway

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 06/06/2019 15:36:59    2191197

Will Bonner be brave enough to go for it on Saturday? I think it's our best bet against Tyrone. Our defence is our weakest part and pulling men back won't help as we don't have the natural defenders to stop the runners coming through and therefore give away too many frees. If Eamon Doherty starts on Saturday it'll tell me that Bonner isn't brave enough.
I'd be delighted to see Sludden in the stand. He's perfect for Donegal as our Achilles heel is physical fast runners. If we can keep Mattie Donnelly and Peter Harte quiet then we have a chance but they are exceptional players and will take some stopping.
Concede 2 goals and I think we're sunk. Keep the goals out and we have a chance.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 06/06/2019 20:17:31    2191268

Tyrone are very over rated in my opinion and not a patch on their past all ireland winning teams

Forward line not good enough , not enough quality shooters

They some how managed to get to last years AI albeit with luck, and didnt produce the goods, was at the semi final v dublin around 2 years ago and they were obliterated after 10 mins, never raised a gallop

They may beat a young Donegal team but i feel there is more footballers in donegal than tyrone and that a bright future is ahead for the green and gold

Gut feeling is that tyrone will revert to type and 12/13 points will take the match unless weather conditions vastly improve

Donegal by 2 points with Murphy MOM

Should tyrone win , good luck to them as the other half is from there, but confidence is low in this tyrone team , i know some fanatical supporters and they want gods son starting soon lol as they know unless they unearth some proper forwards this team aint going anywhere

thereporter (Donegal) - Posts: 38 - 06/06/2019 20:36:27    2191278

Replying To thereporter:  "Tyrone are very over rated in my opinion and not a patch on their past all ireland winning teams

Forward line not good enough , not enough quality shooters

They some how managed to get to last years AI albeit with luck, and didnt produce the goods, was at the semi final v dublin around 2 years ago and they were obliterated after 10 mins, never raised a gallop

They may beat a young Donegal team but i feel there is more footballers in donegal than tyrone and that a bright future is ahead for the green and gold

Gut feeling is that tyrone will revert to type and 12/13 points will take the match unless weather conditions vastly improve

Donegal by 2 points with Murphy MOM

Should tyrone win , good luck to them as the other half is from there, but confidence is low in this tyrone team , i know some fanatical supporters and they want gods son starting soon lol as they know unless they unearth some proper forwards this team aint going anywhere"
How is confidence low in that Tyrone team? All Ireland finalists last year, finished off the league really well by playing a more expansive style of football and even beat the Dubs in Croker with it. Handled Derry well when Derry actually put it up to them and hammered Antrim. I also think Donegal will win but to suggest confidence is low in the Tyrone team is madness.

Jasonmcg2_ (Mayo) - Posts: 13 - 06/06/2019 22:23:58    2191316

Tyrone have some serious players coming through. They have a process where they are well conditioned and don't necessary come straight in to the senior set up, when other counties like Donegal have to. Can't see how people are backing Donegal for this one, the record is there. Until beaten, Tyrone are ahead of Donegal.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 06/06/2019 22:37:03    2191319

I actually feel this will be a lot handier than the pundits and bookies are giving it. Wouldn't be surprised if Tyrone leave the result in little doubt by half time. The team has this kind of performance in them and I feel they've been playing within themselves so far.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 07/06/2019 09:19:12    2191360

Replying To OGarmaile:  "I actually feel this will be a lot handier than the pundits and bookies are giving it. Wouldn't be surprised if Tyrone leave the result in little doubt by half time. The team has this kind of performance in them and I feel they've been playing within themselves so far."
Rory Gallagher doesn't manage us anymore so I think you're being a bit ambitious there!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 07/06/2019 09:28:32    2191362

Replying To Jasonmcg2_:  "How is confidence low in that Tyrone team? All Ireland finalists last year, finished off the league really well by playing a more expansive style of football and even beat the Dubs in Croker with it. Handled Derry well when Derry actually put it up to them and hammered Antrim. I also think Donegal will win but to suggest confidence is low in the Tyrone team is madness."
Tyrone thinking has changed over the past 20 years. They only think in All Ireland terms and I think what the poster from Donegal is highlighting is even Tyrone fans doubt this team have the forwards to win another All Ireland. I don't agree with the mindset of judging success solely on All Irelands but Tyrone is now a ruthless machine that think on those terms. Everything else to them is secondary.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 07/06/2019 09:30:32    2191364

It's a huge game for this emerging Donegal team. The talent is there in abundance and we have a good mix of pace, power, youth and experience. Tyrone will be a step up to anything they've played this year so far however and the crucial question is are Donegal ready to take them on and beat them.

Last year's game was a deflating experience. We looked to be in control up to the hour mark or so but when Tyrone kicked for home we just couldn't hack the pace and Red Hands won quite comfortably in the end.

This year a few of the elder statesmen have stepped away to be replaced with younger players. Plus we'll have the massive boost of having a fit Paddy McBrearty in attack. Is youthful exuberance and the return of our scoring talisman enough to bridge the gap?

The heart says we can and we will. I'd think we'd need a couple of goals to get us there. If we do win the psychological boost it would give will be huge and I could see us comfortably seeing off Cavan/Armagh in the Ulster final.

The head however says otherwise. We all know how well conditioned Tyrone are and they've had the upper hand on Donegal in recent times. If the game is tight and cagey I can only see one winner. Tyrone's league campaign playing at a higher intensity should see them home as much as it pains me to say it.

Tyrone 1-15 - 0-14 Donegal

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 07/06/2019 10:58:50    2191380

In the Donegal forum I was talking about the physicality of Tyrone versus ourselves and I am concerned about that burst of pace, breaking a tackle and getting in for goal chances. But the closer we get to throw-in the more optimistic I'm becoming, probably dangerous!

Ballybofey last year was a very disappointing experience in the end, we seemed out on our feet and a bit headless, especially once Ódhrán went off injured we had nobody to get on the ball and use it wisely it seemed. Tyrone seemed to get stronger and stronger as the game progressed and really stuck the knife in. The big question is have we learned from that game, have we improved enough since then?

A lot will depend on the management, how they react to things that are happening in the game. And a lot will come down to the players trusting in their own ability and making the smart play.

I think we've a great squad in terms of talent and a win tomorrow evening could cement them as a challenger in my opinion, in terms of what it will do for their confidence and showing they can beat a top team in championship. I am still worried about all the things I had said before, part of me still thinks Tyrone could beat us by 5 or 6 in the end - but feck it, Donegal by 2!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 07/06/2019 11:23:44    2191393

And I know the conversation has moved on a bit but at the end of the day folks, we've all had bad experiences with different sets of supporters I'm sure, there are plenty of eejits to go around for every county and while certain behaviours will stick out in your mind, it's important to remember the vast majority of fans are decent GAA folk supporting their team. I've had one of my worst experiences at a GAA match with a Tyrone fan, but I've also had one of my best days following Donegal and meeting a Tyrone family as part of it. I don't hold everyone responsible for the worst day and I don't praise everyone in Tyrone for the best day so there's no need for the needle in that respect - but a bit of healthy rivalry does nobody any harm!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 07/06/2019 11:26:32    2191394

This is a contest to savour. There will be big hits on the terraces as well as on the field by the look of the comments here. Calm down everyone!

Ultimately Tyrone will have too much guile for this very good Donegal team. They are still too reliant on Murphy to set the tempo and direction of their play and Tyrone have the players to handle that. Would much prefer a Donegal win as it would give us a better chance in the final. Tyrone by 5 points, second half goals on the break making the difference.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 07/06/2019 12:18:46    2191413

Donegal to win by at least 3. If McShane is kept quiet the there's not enough of a scoring threat from Tyrone. Also shown that they aren't as tight at the back as have been in the past. Can see Donegal getting a goal or two in this one.

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 226 - 07/06/2019 12:33:51    2191419

Replying To MadgeKing:  "This is a contest to savour. There will be big hits on the terraces as well as on the field by the look of the comments here. Calm down everyone!

Ultimately Tyrone will have too much guile for this very good Donegal team. They are still too reliant on Murphy to set the tempo and direction of their play and Tyrone have the players to handle that. Would much prefer a Donegal win as it would give us a better chance in the final. Tyrone by 5 points, second half goals on the break making the difference."
Ah Madge, Cavan need to make it to the final first, wouldn't be eyeing the Anglo-Celt cup yet!

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 9 - 07/06/2019 12:45:16    2191426

Replying To Blackcardnot:  "Ah Madge, Cavan need to make it to the final first, wouldn't be eyeing the Anglo-Celt cup yet!"
would give us a chance'... conditional tense!

Not counting any chickens here yet. But yeah, if Cavan get over Armagh then Donegal would be preferred in the final. The Armagh lads will likely agree. Let's hope this one is a cracker to really get the championship firing.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 07/06/2019 13:00:34    2191429