Dublin V Louth - What A Farce

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Let's rewind to the early 90's lads… were any of ye so up in arms over commercial/fundraising revenue when Dublin were getting more than anyone else from Arnott's when logos first started appearing on jerseys? No…then we weren't winning back to back All Ireland's so of course it wasn't much of an issue. Dublin have always been the most attractive proposition for commercial partners by virtue of being the capital city, home to a massive population, increased exposure etc. I'd love to know what is being done in other counties to bridge the gap. I've heard countless stories from Leinster in particular highlighting the inept figures at the helm in county boards and the lack of strategic thinking and direction which directly feeds into the lack of funds invested in those counties at a commercial level. I wouldn't underestimate for a second the impact of having key figures involved in the background, people with excellent business acumen who are actively seeking to progress the county both on and off the pitch. We were fortunate Pat Gilroy and Project Blue kicked things off in the post Arnotts era with Vodafone and then lead to the AIG relationship. Username rightly points out that the gap is likely to widen given the current trend we are seeing but it's also time that other counties either try to adopt a similar model to what we are seeing in Dublin albeit to a smaller scale due to not being able to provide the same RoI on sponsorship investment as Dublin due to the aforementioned advantages we have. There are definitely counties out there who are not making next to near what they should be and using what they have at their disposal to the max."
Excellent point on Pat Gilroy, Jim get plaudits and rightly so, but Pat transformed Dublin football forever, on the pitch but more importantly off it as well, the structure he put in place commercially and demanded from the DCB, the networks he created between the DCB and big business and realizing the commercial potential of Dublin, has been a huge contributor and massive legacy to this period for Dublin. Not to mention the work he did to fundraise for the redevelopment of St Annes in DCU as a home for Dublin Senior team and DCU.

I cant give Pat Gilroy enough credit. he really brought his skills as a high caliber business operator to bare on his passion for Dublin GAA and the benefits we are still enjoying.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/05/2019 17:42:40    2189181

We need two tier system, simple as, even cork footballers have no business playing the likes of Kerry and Dublin right now

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 30/05/2019 18:11:11    2189185

Replying To westkerry:  "As an adopted person to a kerry family Jimbo its very honourable and selfless fostering a child and giving them a loving home.
Respect."
Thank you for that

It's a tough aul world. We're trying to help out a tiny bit, hopefully it'll ease my mid life crisis which is only around the corner

Guess you could say that we're doing something decent to bring ourselves some purpose and happiness. It's selfish and self serving in a way... haha

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/05/2019 18:40:07    2189196

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Let's rewind to the early 90's lads… were any of ye so up in arms over commercial/fundraising revenue when Dublin were getting more than anyone else from Arnott's when logos first started appearing on jerseys? No…then we weren't winning back to back All Ireland's so of course it wasn't much of an issue. Dublin have always been the most attractive proposition for commercial partners by virtue of being the capital city, home to a massive population, increased exposure etc. I'd love to know what is being done in other counties to bridge the gap. I've heard countless stories from Leinster in particular highlighting the inept figures at the helm in county boards and the lack of strategic thinking and direction which directly feeds into the lack of funds invested in those counties at a commercial level. I wouldn't underestimate for a second the impact of having key figures involved in the background, people with excellent business acumen who are actively seeking to progress the county both on and off the pitch. We were fortunate Pat Gilroy and Project Blue kicked things off in the post Arnotts era with Vodafone and then lead to the AIG relationship. Username rightly points out that the gap is likely to widen given the current trend we are seeing but it's also time that other counties either try to adopt a similar model to what we are seeing in Dublin albeit to a smaller scale due to not being able to provide the same RoI on sponsorship investment as Dublin due to the aforementioned advantages we have. There are definitely counties out there who are not making next to near what they should be and using what they have at their disposal to the max."
You don't reach the future by looking backwards. Why would you think a review of how it was in the early 90's (I was in primary school then and I'm the best part of 40 now) is significant to how are games are played and organised now? I wasnt up in arms about anything back then other than getting a new pair of world cups and swapping a mega drive for a SNES.

I am envious of so many things Dublin have. I fully admit it. I can get over some of it, I think some set ups can do more but ultimately there are just some things you cannot compete with. My position is every inter county team should get the same funds be they Leitrim or Dublin or anyone. It gives each county the best possible chance of success. Its idealism, its socialism (in an odd sense) but its what I would love to see. I believe every CB should do their absolute best to bring in this level of revenue. They should even work with HQ to manage this effort and it should be split across all counties. If you play inter county football or hurling you should not have to be compromised in how 'professional' the environment around you is by virtue of where you were born and raised.

Maybe that does not work, maybe there is something else that would but I am almost certain the current set up will just see Dublin become stronger and stronger. I also think we will see it in Hurling (but thats further down the road)

For the record I admire what Dublin have achieved in getting this type of set up. I lament that its not possible in the vast majority of other counties.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 30/05/2019 18:50:04    2189198

Replying To TheUsername:  "Thanks for that post a chara, i was finding it a bit hard to find a salient peice of the points you are trying to make. So GDF can be acknowledged and put to bed.

I dont actually disagree with anything you posted and you will find i acknowledge the enabling factor of commercial revenue, Dublin are a behemoth commercially in the waters it swims in, historically we have been remedial in that regard given our massive potential and its only now we are beginning to realise it. I've said a few times on here i actually think we could do better but suspect we will grow into that. Commercial revenue runs the Dublin team, i would totally acknowledge that and i would also acknowledge we have more then anyone else and always will. I only see that gap getting bigger personally. My issue is the narrative, speaking about GDF and the grassroots and acerbating that influences the senior team.

I would also advise that what commercial revenue enables is the Dublin clubs the ability to fundraise without the county board interfering, its developed the game hugely in Dublin both North and South.

I can understand why other counties look on with envy and perhaps enmity. That said you have to consider the scale of Dublin and the logistics to make it happen? I wonder can the model be learned from and used elsewhere on a smaller scale?

Perhaps in time the GAA may need to look and the financial hybrid model is has, its communal funding and private funding, while we are seeing the advent of players trying to take money out of their profile of the game commercially, testimonials, punditry, books etc. Perhaps the GAA need to decide whether it want sto remain a communal organisation, a decentralized one were counties look after themselves privately and what to do about players cashing in on their profiles. They are all broad and soul searching questions in my opinion. It would be hard to shut the barn door for every county with money rolling in and contracts signed, the GAA themselves have their own core sponsors and commercial revenue.

Is it impossible for other counties to adapt, you mention Mayo again, they raise 500k odd through commercial sponsorship, the same again through caride maigh eo and the rest in fundraising - so its not impossible.

Again i think counties may be slowly trying to emulate Dublin, ive seen many counties put adverts out there for commercial mangers or fundraisers in the last 12 months in particular, its clearly an area counties are looking to cultivate.

To be fair i think you raise some very good points and as we have got to the bottom of it are opinion are more in congruence, ive said all along in this thread that our commercial revenue is a hige enabling factor for the work we do with our senior team.

Wouldn't be a huge fan of Clones of myself, no offense intended as i know many are, in my defense its usually the depths of winter when im there, i would much prefer Breffni if im being honest. I think its due a bit of remedial work to the tune of 400k odd in the coming time.

As you say, there is a huge expat population in Dublin, that generations of will probably benefit Dublin and with increased profile of Gaelic games, when this great team ends we will regress somewhat, but wont be away for long. Certainly for once in our history we are cultivating many of our natural advantages."
I've given this post a thumbs up. We are (finally) on the same page! I can take my share of the blame for taking my time to get the point across!

Its not stick to beat any Dublin GAA fan with. Its a frustration that the rest of us have. I dont think other counties can ever get there operating as we all do at the moment. The scale just doesnt work.

No offence taken at all. I love Clones. Its a nice pitch to play on and typically a fine place to go on a hot day in June or July. Hopefully you get a game there this summer but I have my doubts at the moment :(

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 30/05/2019 18:57:24    2189199

Looking back is often valuable but I agree looking forward is more important.

After taking a look at the population growth stats it's clear something major has to change. By 2050 which is just 30 years away Dublins population is expected to exceed 2 million. That's the same population as many countries have. Just imagine the sponsorship and other revenue they'll be generating by then.

Long term the county must be split but even when it is, other counties have to start getting a big increase in funds at Dublins expense to help address the imbalance created due to the unfair distribution of funds over the last 15 years. Otherwise we could be left with a situation where every leinster title and all Ireland is won by either Dublin North or Dublin South.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 30/05/2019 20:04:59    2189213

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Looking back is often valuable but I agree looking forward is more important.

After taking a look at the population growth stats it's clear something major has to change. By 2050 which is just 30 years away Dublins population is expected to exceed 2 million. That's the same population as many countries have. Just imagine the sponsorship and other revenue they'll be generating by then.

Long term the county must be split but even when it is, other counties have to start getting a big increase in funds at Dublins expense to help address the imbalance created due to the unfair distribution of funds over the last 15 years. Otherwise we could be left with a situation where every leinster title and all Ireland is won by either Dublin North or Dublin South."
Dublin wont be split lad end off

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 30/05/2019 23:02:37    2189268

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well said sir. A fitting tribute and Anton will be spoken about in the games ahead. The influence he had on many of the current squad goes beyond sport. He will be in their thoughts and still be a major presence and source of motivation.

Cheers for asking man I'm absolutely grand. I've been working flat out for the last few months, work going well and more importantly after a long and perfectly understandable process we were successful and allowed the privilege to became foster parents to a little baby girl a few weeks ago. Quite an amazing experience, best decision we've probably ever made. So many children need help and we decided to do that rather than continue having our own kids. This little girl will be here with us until her parents are ready to have her back. Hopefully that will happen but as it stands she'll be in good hands here and will always have a home one way or the other. Haha I've been missed by some... plenty happy to see the back of me.

What number are we at now chief... 28, 29?"
Fair play Jimbo delighted for yous and the little girl brilliant stuff.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/05/2019 10:34:38    2189330

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well said sir. A fitting tribute and Anton will be spoken about in the games ahead. The influence he had on many of the current squad goes beyond sport. He will be in their thoughts and still be a major presence and source of motivation.

Cheers for asking man I'm absolutely grand. I've been working flat out for the last few months, work going well and more importantly after a long and perfectly understandable process we were successful and allowed the privilege to became foster parents to a little baby girl a few weeks ago. Quite an amazing experience, best decision we've probably ever made. So many children need help and we decided to do that rather than continue having our own kids. This little girl will be here with us until her parents are ready to have her back. Hopefully that will happen but as it stands she'll be in good hands here and will always have a home one way or the other. Haha I've been missed by some... plenty happy to see the back of me.

Alright jimbo, good to have you back, you might hang around a bit for the summer madness?

Fairplay for fostering the little girl, it's a big decision to make but it'll also make a huge difference to her life. It's a very generous thing to do so genuinely fairplay for that.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 31/05/2019 11:41:00    2189351

Good man jimbo, courageous thing to do as well as very kind.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 31/05/2019 16:52:57    2189456

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Fair play Jimbo delighted for yous and the little girl brilliant stuff."
Cheers for that chief, much appreciated

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/05/2019 21:15:30    2189502

Replying To Htaem:  "Alright jimbo, good to have you back, you might hang around a bit for the summer madness?

Fairplay for fostering the little girl, it's a big decision to make but it'll also make a huge difference to her life. It's a very generous thing to do so genuinely fairplay for that."
Fair play for the kind words. Cheers for that!

Can't see myself contributing much other than attending as many games as possible this summer. I'll leave the madness on here to those that still enjoy it...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/05/2019 21:23:37    2189504

Replying To realdub:  "Good man jimbo, courageous thing to do as well as very kind."
Just the start of what will hopefully become a different way of life for my family, lots of ups and downs to come but so far it's been an absolute game changer.

Thanks for the post

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/05/2019 21:26:25    2189505

As you say Dublin are a big draw for sponsors and thats great for ye and all but why then do ye continue to take millions and millions from the GAA?

Surely that money would be better spent on the weaker counties that can't attract big money sponsors like ye can.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/05/2019 22:05:52    2189519

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "As you say Dublin are a big draw for sponsors and thats great for ye and all but why then do ye continue to take millions and millions from the GAA?

Surely that money would be better spent on the weaker counties that can't attract big money sponsors like ye can."
Well theres a surprise !! , you just couldn't stay away , anything to do with Dublin , so very sad.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 31/05/2019 23:18:37    2189530

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "As you say Dublin are a big draw for sponsors and thats great for ye and all but why then do ye continue to take millions and millions from the GAA?

Surely that money would be better spent on the weaker counties that can't attract big money sponsors like ye can."
Weaker counties like Kerry?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 31/05/2019 23:38:42    2189538

Looking forward to kerry v clare this weekend hard game call

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 01/06/2019 00:47:52    2189543

Replying To jimbodub:  "Thank you for that

It's a tough aul world. We're trying to help out a tiny bit, hopefully it'll ease my mid life crisis which is only around the corner

Guess you could say that we're doing something decent to bring ourselves some purpose and happiness. It's selfish and self serving in a way... haha"
It's not selfish jimbo. What you are both doing is wonderful. Hopefully there are years of happiness ahead for you and your family . Life at it's best is about giving of yourself . That is what both of you are doing . Can I just say that I have the greatest of respect for what you are doing and can I wish you both the very best .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 01/06/2019 06:17:01    2189553

Only just seen this now. Fair play jimbo. Huge amount of respect to you and your better half. A fantastic thing to do, and that little girl is so lucky to have the stability and love of you both, it will make a huge difference to her in later years. Respect man. Enjoy the experience.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/06/2019 09:52:43    2189571

Replying To lilylanger:  "Weaker counties like Kerry?"
We're all weaker counties financially when compared to Dublin .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/06/2019 10:22:47    2189576