Dublin V Louth - What A Farce

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ill just leave this here:

Of the 1.3 million people in Dublin 39k are registered to a GAA club. Advantage. No.

Finance? : Below is the games development funding ratio per head of population for 2018. Advantage, no.

Population of Dublin: 1.345 million, Games Development Funding: 1.298 million, Ratio per head of population: 96 cent

Population of Kerry: 140.600k, Games Development Funding 197.600k, Ratio per head of population: 1.40 euro.

Population of Mayo: 130k, Games Devlopment Funding: 127.98k, Ratio per head of population: 98 cent.

Population of Donegal: 158k, Games Devlopment Funding: 132.000K Ratio per head of population: 83 cent.

Population of Galway: 258,552, Games Development Funding: 178.400k Ratio per head of Population: 69 cent.

Population of Tyrone: 177.986k, Games Developmet Funding: 119k, Ratio per head of population: 66 cent.

Population of Monghan: 60,483k Games Devlopment Funding: 122.500k, Ratio per head of population: 1.99 euro.

Population of Cork: 542,196k, Games Development Funding: 249k, Ratio per head of population: 45 cent.

Population of Kildare: 222,130, Games Developemnt Funding: 226.428k, Ratio per head of population: 1 euro.

Population of Meath: 194,942, Games Development Funding: 267.421k, Ratio per head of population: 1.37 euro."
Thats a nonsense post and you know it too.

The game development fund is massively variable year on year and is used to fund specific projects at the time.

Maybe post all the rest of the funds available to Dublin if you want to provide an accurate reflection. How much is given by AIG? Its almost 1 million euro per year.

39K registered to a GAA club....More than the TOTAL population of Leitrim and Longford...and 2/3 the TOTAL population of Monaghan, Cavan, Roscommon, Sligo.

Dublin have an advantage of population and money. Just accept it and move on.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 28/05/2019 16:53:57    2188562

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "The Croke Park thing i would absolutely hold my hands up to

Me too...

But out of curiosity, anyone, is there anyway of finding out what Dublin's away record is in league/c'ship since 2010??

Id love to see the statistics"
2010:

Kerry 1-10 v 1-12 Dublin
Mayo 1-08 v 1-09 Dublin

Cork 2-13 v 2-06 Dublin
Tyrone 1-11 v 2-14 Dublin

2011:

Armagh 1-11 v 2-12 Dublin
Monaghan 1-09 v 0-13 Dublin
Galway 0-15 v 2-09 Dublin

2012:

Laois 1-09 v 1-14 Dublin
Down 0-15 v 0-10 Dublin
Mayo 0-20 v 0-08 Dublin
Cork 1-12 v 0-12 Dublin

2013: (only found records of us playing 2 away games here, is that right ? Cork, Down, Kildare, Tyrone and mayo all at home?

Kerry 0-04 (LOL) v 1-11 Dublin
Donegal 1-10 v 0-13 Dublin

2014:

Westmeath 1-07 v 0-14 Dublin
Derry 1-16 v 0-13 Dublin
Tyrone 1-15 v 3-10 Dublin

2015:

Cork 1-15 v 0-16 Dublin
Kerry 0-15 v 1-10 Dublin
Mayo 0-10 v 2-18 Dublin
Monaghan 1-11 v 1-22 Dublin

2016:

Mayo 0-07 v 0-09 Dublin
Down 1-07 v 1-15 Dublin
Roscommon 1-12 v 1-13 Dublin
Laois 2-10 v 2-21 Dublin (champ)

2017:

Cavan 0-11 v 0-18 Dublin
Donegal 2-5 v 1-08 Dublin
Kerry 0-13 v 0-13 Dublin
Monaghan 1-15 v 2-15 Dublin
Carlow 0-07 v 0-19 Dublin (champ)

2018:

Tyrone 1-11 v 2-13 Dublin
Mayo 0-12 v 2-10 Dublin

Galway 0-13 v 0-13 Dublin
Wicklow 0-11 v 4-25 Dublin (champ)
Tyrone 0-14 v 1-14 Dublin (champ)

2019:

Monaghan 2-13 v 1-13 Dublin
Kerry 1-18 v 2-14 Dublin
Roscommon 1-12 v 2-14 Dublin
Cavan 1-10 v 1-16 Dublin
Louth 0-10 v 5-21 Dublin

Played 39:
Won - 25
Draw - 5
Lost - 9

Win rate 64.1%

Expected a bit more to be honest!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/05/2019 17:32:54    2188564

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ill just leave this here:

Of the 1.3 million people in Dublin 39k are registered to a GAA club. Advantage. No.

Finance? : Below is the games development funding ratio per head of population for 2018. Advantage, no.

Population of Dublin: 1.345 million, Games Development Funding: 1.298 million, Ratio per head of population: 96 cent

Population of Kerry: 140.600k, Games Development Funding 197.600k, Ratio per head of population: 1.40 euro.

Population of Mayo: 130k, Games Devlopment Funding: 127.98k, Ratio per head of population: 98 cent.

Population of Donegal: 158k, Games Devlopment Funding: 132.000K Ratio per head of population: 83 cent.

Population of Galway: 258,552, Games Development Funding: 178.400k Ratio per head of Population: 69 cent.

Population of Tyrone: 177.986k, Games Developmet Funding: 119k, Ratio per head of population: 66 cent.

Population of Monghan: 60,483k Games Devlopment Funding: 122.500k, Ratio per head of population: 1.99 euro.

Population of Cork: 542,196k, Games Development Funding: 249k, Ratio per head of population: 45 cent.

Population of Kildare: 222,130, Games Developemnt Funding: 226.428k, Ratio per head of population: 1 euro.

Population of Meath: 194,942, Games Development Funding: 267.421k, Ratio per head of population: 1.37 euro."
Did you take a tumble off a swing lately by any chance ?

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 28/05/2019 17:38:15    2188566

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Apologies, 39000 registered players? I read it as 39000 GAA members. 39,000 registered players from 1.345million is impressive numbers. Of course some are culchies that travel home to county or club games at times but they're registered in Dublin, so ye should get the share of their allocation to keep clubs going."
Its not really when you compare it to the total population of other counties and registered players in fact its the worst in the country, in all honesty.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/05/2019 18:08:25    2188570

Replying To Gator:  "Thats a nonsense post and you know it too.

The game development fund is massively variable year on year and is used to fund specific projects at the time.

Maybe post all the rest of the funds available to Dublin if you want to provide an accurate reflection. How much is given by AIG? Its almost 1 million euro per year.

39K registered to a GAA club....More than the TOTAL population of Leitrim and Longford...and 2/3 the TOTAL population of Monaghan, Cavan, Roscommon, Sligo.

Dublin have an advantage of population and money. Just accept it and move on."
You are welcome to correct, i honestly posted my figures on GDM, the source is the GAA audited accounts you are welvcome to have a look at and populations are the census.

Ill play the ball and not the man, if you want to challenge the figures you are welcome. Youve posted a lot of guff without backing up why the figures are inaugurate. You can see yorrself your own county gets a significant amout of GAA funding, in fact the best.

I openly acknowledge they dont include sponsorship/commercial/fundraising money, Dublin are the best without doubt. Its a strong enabler and funds our senior team you will see mention that in every other post. The figures are in the public domain. a big shout out goes to Mayo though who only come in at slightly less then Dublin commercially/fundraising.

Like i say lads, talk about all this money as an accepted narrative, but all you get is a defensive this cant be true response when you actually drill into the figures and put them in context.

Im open minded, but am giving evidence. No point just throwing the toys out of the pram.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/05/2019 18:15:00    2188572

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Did you take a tumble off a swing lately by any chance ?"
i was always smile, when lads resort to personal insult in a debate to prove a point, chicken dinner time.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/05/2019 18:16:02    2188574

Replying To TheUsername:  "County Dublin has a population of 1.345 mill people at the last census a chara.

The exact formula for distribution isnt known in all honesty, for example i dont know why Kerry get significantly more then say Donegal or Mayo, who are counties of a similar make up and status.

Personally i believe, demographics come into to a large extent, but perhaps more detailed then i have illustrated, for example i would like to hope that GAA use distribution to high figures of distribution in counties with a high population of a young demographic, targeting counties with a high demographic of minors.

I dont think GAA membership comes into it much, why would provide GAA games development funding for people who are members. I would hope it is distributed however on discrepancies, i mean if there is 1.3 mill in Dublin and 39k registered players, that is a shockingly obvious priority for Games development.

In truth no body really knows the formula the GAA use, i would suspect and hope its a bit of a hybrid on all of the above."
I tried to read up on this as much as I could.

My perception is that there is not exact formula.

The money is used in a couple of different ways.

Some of it is for infrastructure development.

A large amount of it is for coaching initiatives.

In Dublin a lot is spent on paying GDOs. These guys are needed to organize the sheer number of kids that are coming down to the largest of clubs.

County boards and Provincial councils make a case as to what they require to promote their games.

Dublin GAA needs people on the ground.

Those saying give that money to other counties, how are they going to use that money. What works in Dublin a part of the country with a population density that completely exceeds every other area of the country will not work in a more rural county.

https://www.gaa.ie/api/pdfs/image/upload/tstblikbtwvqfubdiwpe.pdf

This is an interesting document on the work being done.

Dublin definitely have benefited from the money the GAA has put into them. I don't think anything should be done about it. In case people aren't aware there are new kids born in Dublin every year.

There's a cost associated with getting them out and playing our games. I think the association just have to pay it.

The county game does suffer as a result but I mean what can you do. If one county dwarfs the rest in population and have their act together they are going to be at the top table.

Inter county football is certainly high profile but it isn't the be all and end all of our games.

This idea that people need to be in counties that can compete for All Ireland's is rubbish. There are plenty of people like me from weak counties who get loads out of the game.

I really detest some of the moaning about Dublin on here. It's so resentful, it's petty, it's narrow minded and takes no consideration of all the good going into young children's lives in Dublin GAA clubs many of which are situated in some economically deprived parts of the country.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4235 - 28/05/2019 18:17:12    2188575

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Did you take a tumble off a swing lately by any chance ?"
That's right , daughter of former dubs county board chairman.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/05/2019 18:58:23    2188589

Replying To TheUsername:  "i was always smile, when lads resort to personal insult in a debate to prove a point, chicken dinner time."
personal insult So i was right you did fall of a swing while you had a bottle of wine in one hand and you were reaching with the other for your phone ?

Never mind me TheUsername ..winner winner chicken dinner

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 28/05/2019 19:16:57    2188592

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's right , daughter of former dubs county board chairman."
All Dubs are great with facts and figures ....sure they think we all came floating down the liffey in donuts

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 28/05/2019 19:24:10    2188594

Replying To Whammo86:  "I tried to read up on this as much as I could.

In Dublin a lot is spent on paying GDOs. These guys are needed to organize the sheer number of kids that are coming down to the largest of clubs.

County boards and Provincial councils make a case as to what they require to promote their games.

Those saying give that money to other counties, how are they going to use that money. What works in Dublin a part of the country with a population density that completely exceeds every other area of the country will not work in a more rural county.

Dublin definitely have benefited from the money the GAA has put into them. I don't think anything should be done about it. In case people aren't aware there are new kids born in Dublin every year.

There's a cost associated with getting them out and playing our games. I think the association just have to pay it.

The county game does suffer as a result but I mean what can you do. If one county dwarfs the rest in population and have their act together they are going to be at the top table.

Inter county football is certainly high profile but it isn't the be all and end all of our games.

This idea that people need to be in counties that can compete for All Ireland's is rubbish. There are plenty of people like me from weak counties who get loads out of the game.

I really detest some of the moaning about Dublin on here. It's so resentful, it's petty, it's narrow minded and takes no consideration of all the good going into young children's lives in Dublin GAA clubs many of which are situated in some economically deprived parts of the country."
Fair play Whammo but expect the red thumb brigade. People don't like when you stray from the narrative that the Dubs sit on golden toilets, lift diamond weights & eat hand delivered meals from L'Ecrivain!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/05/2019 19:54:49    2188600

Just looking at the population stats is grim. The Dubs will have to be split north and south sooner or later. Even then they'll still have a huge advantage over everyone but cork in terms of population. Everything from population, to players, resources and finances stacked in one teams favour. Thank god for hurling and the decline of Kilkenny otherwise we'd need a new sport to follow.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 28/05/2019 19:55:12    2188601

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "The money argument is a joke. This lark of calling us professional. You swear the players got paid. They've to get up for work on a Monday like everyone else. You'd also swear there was a transfer market and we were buying all the best players money can buy (as is the case in soccer) when the reality is everyone of the players are born and bred dubs.

And if its all down to money why aren't we winning all the underage all irelands too? The fact is Kerry have won the last 5 minor all ireland titles and yet Dublin have failed to even make a final in 7 years... But hey that doesn't fit the narrative so we'll stay quiet about that eh...

Why cant people people just accept that these group of players are just exceptionally talented, and have an exceptional manager to go with it.

The Croke Park/Home Games argument ill admit people have a point. But people need to take that up with the Croke Park and the GAA. NOT Dublin GAA. Dublin will play wherever there told to!!

Having said that, Id love to see the statistics for away games over the last 10 years.

Id be fairly confident Dublin have the best away record over league and championship over the last 10 years."
Yerra nevermind the league, Mayo won it this year and has not done them any favours. Stats in the league do not matter at all.

Regarding home games all the time in the championship, Dublin should refuse to accept them out of fairness to the other 33 participating counties.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 28/05/2019 20:03:08    2188606

Replying To TheUsername:  "You are welcome to correct, i honestly posted my figures on GDM, the source is the GAA audited accounts you are welvcome to have a look at and populations are the census.

Ill play the ball and not the man, if you want to challenge the figures you are welcome. Youve posted a lot of guff without backing up why the figures are inaugurate. You can see yorrself your own county gets a significant amout of GAA funding, in fact the best.

I openly acknowledge they dont include sponsorship/commercial/fundraising money, Dublin are the best without doubt. Its a strong enabler and funds our senior team you will see mention that in every other post. The figures are in the public domain. a big shout out goes to Mayo though who only come in at slightly less then Dublin commercially/fundraising.

Like i say lads, talk about all this money as an accepted narrative, but all you get is a defensive this cant be true response when you actually drill into the figures and put them in context.

Im open minded, but am giving evidence. No point just throwing the toys out of the pram."
That's interesting username but didnt Dublin county board buy a plot of land in south Dublin for nine million euros last year! With shops and business's all ready on it and now ye are landlords so to speak. My question is if your county board can afford to do that then why do the gaa and the sports council of Ireland have to keep pumping money in to ye? Wouldn't that money be better off being pumped in to counties that need it?

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 28/05/2019 20:53:12    2188621

Replying To TheUsername:  "Wouldn't agree with that assessment myself, I think Louth would give Meath a game personally, I think Loais will to.

Meath have come on but based on what I say yesterday, I think they are way off the pace o and intensity of a Div 1 team. I suppose that eventually showed in the league final to. That's not to be insulting Meath are going the right way, big units to and they have that bit of devilment in them that Meath used to. There just in that group at the mo of Cavans, Kildare, Roscommon, who do well not to be bouncing around divisions.

To be fair though Cavan played a blanket. But if you compare the pace and intensity of the Dublin game and Meath game, the first game for me was like being played in slow motion at a different standard.

I admired Louth yesterday, yes they got a hiding, but always played with the head up, tried to be expansive I admire that in a team, go down with your boots on, rather the blanket defencing yourself into an early winter. That just my opinion and how I like to see the game mind."
The reason you admire louth so much is because they stood of ye and allowed dublin to look better then what they are, I bet the louth supporters warnt as impressed with there players efforts.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 28/05/2019 21:20:28    2188640

Replying To Whammo86:  "I tried to read up on this as much as I could.

I really detest some of the moaning about Dublin on here. It's so resentful, it's petty, it's narrow minded and takes no consideration of all the good going into young children's lives in Dublin GAA clubs many of which are situated in some economically deprived parts of the country."
With respect you haven't a notion what your talking about.. Only the counties in Leinster are competing directly with Dublin, every other county has a chance of winning a provincial medal except Leinster counties because of every possible advantage being given to Dublin.
Because of this a major portion of Longfords, Kildares, Laois Offaly and Meaths best players only commit for a couple of years before realising how futile the farce is and quit. Leaving each panel with massive player turnover..
This as much as anything is why the gap is widening every year.
The rubbish you hear that its up to other counties to catch Dublin is utter crap. We would have every chance if all things were equal but you cant expect lads to hang around and give unreal commitment, with no chance of competing for, never mind winning any sort of champ medal when GAA HQ are hell bent on pumping cash in to one county only.
I will leave this here..
To bring the 31 other counties up to the same level that GAA games development funding Dublin receive, per player, would mean an increase in budget from 3,133,907 EUR to a staggering 90,673,525.40 EUR.

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 28/05/2019 21:36:54    2188648

Replying To gallarus14:  "That's interesting username but didnt Dublin county board buy a plot of land in south Dublin for nine million euros last year! With shops and business's all ready on it and now ye are landlords so to speak. My question is if your county board can afford to do that then why do the gaa and the sports council of Ireland have to keep pumping money in to ye? Wouldn't that money be better off being pumped in to counties that need it?"
I think the way most county boards fund their centers of excellence to be honest, I don't think the funding model is in the public domain, so I don't know for certain, so won't make it up.

We are unlucky in a way because obviously a peace of land in South Dublin is going to cost significantly more then say one in Curran's. But hopefully developing the site will work out cheaper. I know we will get capital support from the GAA around that.

The plans have been knocking around for beards must be over 15 years now and we've already had plans for a site in Rathcoole hit the skids.

The leases on the property have been an annoyance as opposed to anything and the DCB have been very reluctant landlords, many have come to an end and some are on a month to month basis at the moment, until the site is developed.

Hopefully that will be very shortly, be class when it's done.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/05/2019 22:01:35    2188658

Replying To gallarus14:  "That's interesting username but didnt Dublin county board buy a plot of land in south Dublin for nine million euros last year! With shops and business's all ready on it and now ye are landlords so to speak. My question is if your county board can afford to do that then why do the gaa and the sports council of Ireland have to keep pumping money in to ye? Wouldn't that money be better off being pumped in to counties that need it?"
Oh sorry just read the last piece of your post.

Like I say the funding model for the spawell, isn't in the public domain, I've had a look and certainly can't see anything. From that point of view, I don't know, whether the DCB bought it (they've had finance ringfenced in the past for cheaper projects), finances it (borrowed) or the GAA bought the site, I just don't know, but would be interested. I don't see Dublin being unique to other county boards in having to fund this so it's possible, via land will be more expensive then any where else.

To answer your question no, in my opinion if the ISC grant stopped tomorrow, the the GAA take the burden of funding Dublin, so Dublin would undoubtedly loose some finance, but could change their current funding model with clubs and with sponsorship be realituvely ok in austerity. I think it would have a knock on effect for other counties though. Essentially Dublin take .3 at mo from central funds in GDF, so everyone takes a collective hit if Dublin's ISC grant is cut, it won't be anyway.

We aren't alone in receiving ISC grants either they fund other capital and coaching projects, I believe the GAA get 3 mill annually.

Your own county got 7 mill last year in an ISC grant to develop the sports campus in Tralee, that's not a dig, it good money well spent and I wouldn't begrudge it. But let's keep it in mind when we hear tales of woes and straw horseing. I'd also have a similar opinion on the grants that went into the Curran's site. Totaling coincidently that 9 milll figure, what's the chances! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/05/2019 22:17:07    2188662

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "The reason you admire louth so much is because they stood of ye and allowed dublin to look better then what they are, I bet the louth supporters warnt as impressed with there players efforts."
Again I'd have to disagree on the standing off peice can't remeber how many frees we won, check how much Cormac Costello got from the dead ball.

I just really disagree with didn't lay on us. It didn't work.

I'm on the road a long time, with this Dublin team, if you think mixing it with Dublin, laying a hand on them or getting in their faces is going to yield anything then a bad hammering, by all means teams are welcome to try.

We eat that stuff for breakfast.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/05/2019 22:25:17    2188666

Replying To TheUsername:  "Again I'd have to disagree on the standing off peice can't remeber how many frees we won, check how much Cormac Costello got from the dead ball.

I just really disagree with didn't lay on us. It didn't work.

I'm on the road a long time, with this Dublin team, if you think mixing it with Dublin, laying a hand on them or getting in their faces is going to yield anything then a bad hammering, by all means teams are welcome to try.

We eat that stuff for breakfast."
Mayo ? If history hadn't weighed so heavily on them should of won must of your tussles by getting in your faces.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 28/05/2019 23:13:28    2188682