Dublin V Louth - What A Farce

Replying To Jackeen:  "Oh how little posters like you know about Dublin GAA but keep posting what you think you know. If nothing you'll get a few dozen likes which seems to be all anybody wants these days."
We're professional now Jackeen didn't you hear?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/05/2019 11:18:58    2188448

When you drill into figures most counties fail massively with the investment made in them beyond click bait headlines, thankfully Dublin arent one, the management of Dublin GAA really impressive. Its actually quite remarkable the sustained success Dublin have had, in numerous contexts when it comes to finance and population, its unprecedented really and a terrific achievement not seen in the game before.

The one i would accept is the home advantage, any way you want to sell it Croke Park is in Dublin, its apart of the Sky line and our City, we are very conformable their, you will never separate Croke park from Dublin and vice versa. if you are playing Dublin there you are playing away and we are at home. I personally would like more Dublin games away from Dublin, i really enjoy them.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/05/2019 11:19:46    2188449

Replying To clondalkindub:  "We're professional now Jackeen didn't you hear?"
Must let himself know Clon, he must have missed that memo!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/05/2019 11:55:19    2188461

On the actual game, when Costello hit the post from a free and then pointed the rebound, it appeared like he'd actually played a free to himself (i.e. no other player touched the ball from when he played it first). Is this allowed? I'd heard that the player who takes a penalty can play the ball if it rebounds off the post (unlike in soccer) but I can't see any rule that allows / disallows the player to play a rebounded free. Not that it mattered in the overall scheme of things but I can't remember seeing this happen before.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 28/05/2019 11:59:06    2188463

Replying To TheUsername:  "When you drill into figures most counties fail massively with the investment made in them beyond click bait headlines, thankfully Dublin arent one, the management of Dublin GAA really impressive. Its actually quite remarkable the sustained success Dublin have had, in numerous contexts when it comes to finance and population, its unprecedented really and a terrific achievement not seen in the game before.

The one i would accept is the home advantage, any way you want to sell it Croke Park is in Dublin, its apart of the Sky line and our City, we are very conformable their, you will never separate Croke park from Dublin and vice versa. if you are playing Dublin there you are playing away and we are at home. I personally would like more Dublin games away from Dublin, i really enjoy them."
The money argument is a joke. This lark of calling us professional. You swear the players got paid. They've to get up for work on a Monday like everyone else. You'd also swear there was a transfer market and we were buying all the best players money can buy (as is the case in soccer) when the reality is everyone of the players are born and bred dubs.

And if its all down to money why aren't we winning all the underage all irelands too? The fact is Kerry have won the last 5 minor all ireland titles and yet Dublin have failed to even make a final in 7 years... But hey that doesn't fit the narrative so we'll stay quiet about that eh...

Why cant people people just accept that these group of players are just exceptionally talented, and have an exceptional manager to go with it.

The Croke Park/Home Games argument ill admit people have a point. But people need to take that up with the Croke Park and the GAA. NOT Dublin GAA. Dublin will play wherever there told to!!

Having said that, Id love to see the statistics for away games over the last 10 years.

Id be fairly confident Dublin have the best away record over league and championship over the last 10 years.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 28/05/2019 12:08:32    2188465

Replying To Longfordbaz:  "U hit the nail on the head. Take dublin out of leinster and put them in to ulster championship. Now u have a very competitive leinster championship and a one sided ulster championship. Put dublin into connacht, and after saturday, they walk that, with ulster and leinster championships being very competitive.

Counties like mine are constantly undermined by these pundits, (i use that term loosely) and the work coaches do within these counties. We also had brolly describing louth players standing on their crossbar trying to stop dublin scoring points. Easy to score points when u can pick from 1. 2 million people.

This attitude has gone on for yrs, including ur usual sneery comments from pat spillane also. I remember another "expert" kevin mcstay make a comment about wicklow. Scenario was wicklow just lost out to laois maybe 2 or 3 yrs ago, by 2 pts or so. Des cahill commented, that aughrim was a hard place to get out of, to which mcstay replied "what des, the traffic"....very beneficiial comment for everyone.

What these pundits try to make people believe, is that there are "8 super teams" in Gaelic football, that can win the all ireland. Well, wake up and smell the coffee. After last yrs farce that was an all Ireland final, and mayos defeat last sat, there probably a "super 2".

This will get very tiresome in a couple of yrs. The dublin cb went to the gaa 10 to 15 yrs ago, complaining that they needed massive investment due to competitors like rugby and soccer. GAA then realised they found a cash cow, refusing to take them out of croke park and allowing dublin to use the national gaa ground as their home ground, while other counties spend money, building, developing and maintaining their iwn grounds.
Well basically, they turned dublin into professionals in all but name.

I now observe, and from speaking to my fellow sport nut friends, that we dont even bother watching a dublin game now on tv save for the final. Last yr we watched 15 mins of the final.

What these pundits and media outlets of similar ilk are doing is turning people, ouside top 4 or 5 counties away from football. People are losing interest in the game. If that continues, it leaves a vacuum for other sports in these counties. In times to come, they might be sorry they were so disrespectful to the "weaker" counties and be fed up with a 2 team championship. If they think that the "bigger" counties will always be there , well.......look at cork!!"
No one in Dublin is sneering at Louth fans or players, it is TV pundits (County men too!!). GAA didn;t just discover Dublin 10/15 years ago, these arguments have been going on for decades - but only when a dub team is winning. No mention of the hurlers eh and we do not have the pick of 1.5 million people at all nor anywhere near. We can only pick from the GAA membership and to get that membership in the first place we have to fight tooth and nail, with soccer, rugby, hockey and every other sport. In two years this Dublin team will be fading you can already see signs of it and then god knows what country folk will be moaning about.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 28/05/2019 12:34:30    2188470

Replying To TheUsername:  "When you drill into figures most counties fail massively with the investment made in them beyond click bait headlines, thankfully Dublin arent one, the management of Dublin GAA really impressive. Its actually quite remarkable the sustained success Dublin have had, in numerous contexts when it comes to finance and population, its unprecedented really and a terrific achievement not seen in the game before.

The one i would accept is the home advantage, any way you want to sell it Croke Park is in Dublin, its apart of the Sky line and our City, we are very conformable their, you will never separate Croke park from Dublin and vice versa. if you are playing Dublin there you are playing away and we are at home. I personally would like more Dublin games away from Dublin, i really enjoy them."
I think we all know that crokepark is in Dublin and we are all well aware that it's yer home ground.

You love stating obvious :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/05/2019 13:28:24    2188497

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "The money argument is a joke. This lark of calling us professional. You swear the players got paid. They've to get up for work on a Monday like everyone else. You'd also swear there was a transfer market and we were buying all the best players money can buy (as is the case in soccer) when the reality is everyone of the players are born and bred dubs.

And if its all down to money why aren't we winning all the underage all irelands too? The fact is Kerry have won the last 5 minor all ireland titles and yet Dublin have failed to even make a final in 7 years... But hey that doesn't fit the narrative so we'll stay quiet about that eh...

Why cant people people just accept that these group of players are just exceptionally talented, and have an exceptional manager to go with it.

The Croke Park/Home Games argument ill admit people have a point. But people need to take that up with the Croke Park and the GAA. NOT Dublin GAA. Dublin will play wherever there told to!!

Having said that, Id love to see the statistics for away games over the last 10 years.

Id be fairly confident Dublin have the best away record over league and championship over the last 10 years."
Ive done a few break down on the money on here over the years, its a non event, many counties do significantly better then Dublin, with only really able to justify the need for the money really, ironically Kildare are one.

Population is a non event too, we have decent numbers comparatively but for our population to actual registered player numbers is quite poor and i would be critical of the DCB on that score. if the GDM is to have an impact we wont see until the early 20's.

For me one of the keys to our success is the system we run, the key finance piece isnt the headline grabbing GDM, but sponsorship really, it runs the senior teams. But its also the system it enables. The county board leave the fundraising field clear for the clubs to fundraise and they do well doing it, its why the DCB raises so little through fundraising and why certain clubs of a make up are thriving and the City probably for the first time in its history is thriving from a GAA point of view North and South. The real leagcy of this team, wont be in words around a five in a row, but driving around the city seeing the hundreds, probably thousands of kids in the last few years, playing football and hurling, its a thing of beauty.

This isnt the case in most other counties, self interest, politics are criticisms i hear about county boards in a lot of other counties, especially from those involved in clubs.

Kerry do well financially, very very well in fact, if there is an argument there for Dublin, there is symmetry there too. I dont think there is in either case. Away from those two, others counties could have a beef, Cork, Antrim, Galway, Down stand out, but most do well financially.

I wouldn't take it to heart, i always smile when i see the comments about money and population in particular, lads getting riled up, they often haven't had the sense to look into it to much. But help them sleep at night.

The Croke Park thing i would absolutely hold my hands up to, its the home of the Blue Wall.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/05/2019 13:46:03    2188509

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "On the actual game, when Costello hit the post from a free and then pointed the rebound, it appeared like he'd actually played a free to himself (i.e. no other player touched the ball from when he played it first). Is this allowed? I'd heard that the player who takes a penalty can play the ball if it rebounds off the post (unlike in soccer) but I can't see any rule that allows / disallows the player to play a rebounded free. Not that it mattered in the overall scheme of things but I can't remember seeing this happen before."
The rule is that the player is prohibited "to play the ball again after taking a free kick/penalty before another player has touched it, unless the ball rebounds off the goal-post or crossbar" . Seems like it was correctly allowed to stand..

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 28/05/2019 14:05:43    2188512

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "The rule is that the player is prohibited "to play the ball again after taking a free kick/penalty before another player has touched it, unless the ball rebounds off the goal-post or crossbar" . Seems like it was correctly allowed to stand.."
Sound - thought it was legit but it looked odd at the time.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 28/05/2019 14:09:58    2188514

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ive done a few break down on the money on here over the years, its a non event, many counties do significantly better then Dublin, with only really able to justify the need for the money really, ironically Kildare are one.

Population is a non event too, we have decent numbers comparatively but for our population to actual registered player numbers is quite poor and i would be critical of the DCB on that score. if the GDM is to have an impact we wont see until the early 20's.

For me one of the keys to our success is the system we run, the key finance piece isnt the headline grabbing GDM, but sponsorship really, it runs the senior teams. But its also the system it enables. The county board leave the fundraising field clear for the clubs to fundraise and they do well doing it, its why the DCB raises so little through fundraising and why certain clubs of a make up are thriving and the City probably for the first time in its history is thriving from a GAA point of view North and South. The real leagcy of this team, wont be in words around a five in a row, but driving around the city seeing the hundreds, probably thousands of kids in the last few years, playing football and hurling, its a thing of beauty.

This isnt the case in most other counties, self interest, politics are criticisms i hear about county boards in a lot of other counties, especially from those involved in clubs.

Kerry do well financially, very very well in fact, if there is an argument there for Dublin, there is symmetry there too. I dont think there is in either case. Away from those two, others counties could have a beef, Cork, Antrim, Galway, Down stand out, but most do well financially.

I wouldn't take it to heart, i always smile when i see the comments about money and population in particular, lads getting riled up, they often haven't had the sense to look into it to much. But help them sleep at night.

The Croke Park thing i would absolutely hold my hands up to, its the home of the Blue Wall."
The Croke Park thing i would absolutely hold my hands up to

Me too...

But out of curiosity, anyone, is there anyway of finding out what Dublin's away record is in league/c'ship since 2010??

Id love to see the statistics

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 28/05/2019 14:24:04    2188520

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "The money argument is a joke. This lark of calling us professional. You swear the players got paid. They've to get up for work on a Monday like everyone else. You'd also swear there was a transfer market and we were buying all the best players money can buy (as is the case in soccer) when the reality is everyone of the players are born and bred dubs.

Id be fairly confident Dublin have the best away record over league and championship over the last 10 years."
Why is the money argument a joke? It might be a joke to someone from Dublin coz ye get nearly more than the other 31 counties put together.

And if the money wasn't so important why had Bertie to sign it in to law that ye'd get a million a year for the foreseen future also if the money doesn't matter why don't the Dublin county board say no more, and give it to the teams that need it.

We all have to battle other sports so that's no argument.

Yer will start winning that's only a matter of time.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/05/2019 14:36:54    2188523

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ive done a few break down on the money on here over the years, its a non event, many counties do significantly better then Dublin, with only really able to justify the need for the money really, ironically Kildare are one.

The Croke Park thing i would absolutely hold my hands up to, its the home of the Blue Wall."
We're 9th on the list for GAA finance and ye are first on the list , you cannot compare the 2 teams as we fundraise our own money unlike yer selves.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/05/2019 14:39:41    2188524

Ill just leave this here:

Of the 1.3 million people in Dublin 39k are registered to a GAA club. Advantage. No.

Finance? : Below is the games development funding ratio per head of population for 2018. Advantage, no.

Population of Dublin: 1.345 million, Games Development Funding: 1.298 million, Ratio per head of population: 96 cent

Population of Kerry: 140.600k, Games Development Funding 197.600k, Ratio per head of population: 1.40 euro.

Population of Mayo: 130k, Games Devlopment Funding: 127.98k, Ratio per head of population: 98 cent.

Population of Donegal: 158k, Games Devlopment Funding: 132.000K Ratio per head of population: 83 cent.

Population of Galway: 258,552, Games Development Funding: 178.400k Ratio per head of Population: 69 cent.

Population of Tyrone: 177.986k, Games Developmet Funding: 119k, Ratio per head of population: 66 cent.

Population of Monghan: 60,483k Games Devlopment Funding: 122.500k, Ratio per head of population: 1.99 euro.

Population of Cork: 542,196k, Games Development Funding: 249k, Ratio per head of population: 45 cent.

Population of Kildare: 222,130, Games Developemnt Funding: 226.428k, Ratio per head of population: 1 euro.

Population of Meath: 194,942, Games Development Funding: 267.421k, Ratio per head of population: 1.37 euro.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/05/2019 15:03:37    2188533

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ill just leave this here:

Of the 1.3 million people in Dublin 39k are registered to a GAA club. Advantage. No.

Finance? : Below is the games development funding ratio per head of population for 2018. Advantage, no.

Population of Dublin: 1.345 million, Games Development Funding: 1.298 million, Ratio per head of population: 96 cent

Population of Kerry: 140.600k, Games Development Funding 197.600k, Ratio per head of population: 1.40 euro.

Population of Mayo: 130k, Games Devlopment Funding: 127.98k, Ratio per head of population: 98 cent.

Population of Donegal: 158k, Games Devlopment Funding: 132.000K Ratio per head of population: 83 cent.

Population of Galway: 258,552, Games Development Funding: 178.400k Ratio per head of Population: 69 cent.

Population of Tyrone: 177.986k, Games Developmet Funding: 119k, Ratio per head of population: 66 cent.

Population of Monghan: 60,483k Games Devlopment Funding: 122.500k, Ratio per head of population: 1.99 euro.

Population of Cork: 542,196k, Games Development Funding: 249k, Ratio per head of population: 45 cent.

Population of Kildare: 222,130, Games Developemnt Funding: 226.428k, Ratio per head of population: 1 euro.

Population of Meath: 194,942, Games Development Funding: 267.421k, Ratio per head of population: 1.37 euro."
Hi did you know that crokepark is in Dublin?

What about the million a year of tax payers money being pumped into Dublin?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/05/2019 15:50:18    2188547

1 million of the above comes from Irish Sports Council annually Dublin dont receive any other money from a state body, its not in addition to games development money. Essentially Dublin take .3mill out of GAA central funds in GDM.

That grant enables the GAA to take care of far more counties financially, so be careful about what you for.

Of the 1.3 million people in Dublin 39k are registered to a GAA club, clearly if there needs to be a case made for developing Gaelic games and the highest need in terms of profile that ratio is it.

I would also point out that the above figures are wrong, if you add that every other county apart from Dublin receive a provincial grant for coaching from their council. The only county not to receive this is Dublin.

Essentially most counties have better deals, despite the headline figures. Its only Dublin exceptional population that equates to the high number of funding, but its not treating like for like because of the population. As illustrated Dublin actually have a worse deal then many. Thats before looking at capital grants.

I would admit, though we have exceptional sponsorship and i think that is far more enabling then GDM.

The finance and population thing is busted flush, in fact many more counties need to be put under scrutiny on why they have wasted a higher investment.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/05/2019 16:13:35    2188552

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ill just leave this here:

Population of Meath: 194,942, Games Development Funding: 267.421k, Ratio per head of population: 1.37 euro."
I think ye've a few financial advantages but ye've raised the bar for football and it's up to the chasers to get to that level and Kerry and Donegal have done that in the last seven years.

But I have an observation and 2 questions

I know the population of Dublin is increasing rapidly but didn't realise it could increase 45,000 in a matter of seconds. Deary me Eoghan Murphy must never sleep!

My question is about the game development ratio. Is it based on county population, number of GAA members, number of clubs, other criteria,how do they sort that out? Genuine question.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 28/05/2019 16:14:50    2188553

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I think ye've a few financial advantages but ye've raised the bar for football and it's up to the chasers to get to that level and Kerry and Donegal have done that in the last seven years.

But I have an observation and 2 questions

I know the population of Dublin is increasing rapidly but didn't realise it could increase 45,000 in a matter of seconds. Deary me Eoghan Murphy must never sleep!

My question is about the game development ratio. Is it based on county population, number of GAA members, number of clubs, other criteria,how do they sort that out? Genuine question."
County Dublin has a population of 1.345 mill people at the last census a chara.

The exact formula for distribution isnt known in all honesty, for example i dont know why Kerry get significantly more then say Donegal or Mayo, who are counties of a similar make up and status.

Personally i believe, demographics come into to a large extent, but perhaps more detailed then i have illustrated, for example i would like to hope that GAA use distribution to high figures of distribution in counties with a high population of a young demographic, targeting counties with a high demographic of minors.

I dont think GAA membership comes into it much, why would provide GAA games development funding for people who are members. I would hope it is distributed however on discrepancies, i mean if there is 1.3 mill in Dublin and 39k registered players, that is a shockingly obvious priority for Games development.

In truth no body really knows the formula the GAA use, i would suspect and hope its a bit of a hybrid on all of the above.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/05/2019 16:26:45    2188555

Would you have any issue with the Dubs losing their funding then??? If you think money has nothing to do with success then I feel sorry for you

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 28/05/2019 16:42:38    2188560

Replying To TheUsername:  "County Dublin has a population of 1.345 mill people at the last census a chara.

The exact formula for distribution isnt known in all honesty, for example i dont know why Kerry get significantly more then say Donegal or Mayo, who are counties of a similar make up and status.

Personally i believe, demographics come into to a large extent, but perhaps more detailed then i have illustrated, for example i would like to hope that GAA use distribution to high figures of distribution in counties with a high population of a young demographic, targeting counties with a high demographic of minors.

I dont think GAA membership comes into it much, why would provide GAA games development funding for people who are members. I would hope it is distributed however on discrepancies, i mean if there is 1.3 mill in Dublin and 39k registered players, that is a shockingly obvious priority for Games development.

In truth no body really knows the formula the GAA use, i would suspect and hope its a bit of a hybrid on all of the above."
Apologies, 39000 registered players? I read it as 39000 GAA members. 39,000 registered players from 1.345million is impressive numbers. Of course some are culchies that travel home to county or club games at times but they're registered in Dublin, so ye should get the share of their allocation to keep clubs going.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 28/05/2019 16:52:52    2188561