Dublin V Louth - What A Farce

Replying To royaldunne:  "Excuse me Clondalkin, I didn't think you were only a championship man. Meath are now a division one team and we won't be pushed around should we meet you. Not saying we will win but certainly not be shrinking violets either"
You'll be bet out the gate will ye stop.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 26/05/2019 19:28:35    2187749

Replying To royaldunne:  "Can't disagree with that, also I think it's worth remembering that longford would be in tier 2 under most people's proposals. Look how they did today? And last year."
I'd imagine Longford would be one of the favorites to win a tier 2 competition and therefore be in the race for Sam the following year if they won tier 2.

croker16 (Louth) - Posts: 349 - 26/05/2019 19:35:05    2187753

Replying To TheUsername:  "Does this mean weve lost the taking over of Time Square. :D

Looked a full house to me, i was there, im not sure if many others there would agree or disagree with me. I honestly dont trust official attendance figures in any game. They seem a bit Irish.

I couldn't be less bothered the less the better in my opinion via the M7, i am a bit upset about the Time Square thing though, thats what important."
Actually it likes pretty full to me too. Also lot of Carlow and fair few of Meath left early on in second match, to avoid the traffic.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/05/2019 19:38:53    2187755

Replying To royaldunne:  "Actually it likes pretty full to me too. Also lot of Carlow and fair few of Meath left early on in second match, to avoid the traffic."
Many Dubs left too and there were plenty who just stayed in the town. Says it all really. Time to start pumping big money into other leinster counties for the next 15 years. Make the province great again!

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 26/05/2019 20:01:55    2187774

Replying To TheUsername:  "I have a lot of respect for Louth after yesterday, played with their heads up, always tried to play expansively and were up for a battle.

Not many teams in the country would or could have lived with Dublin yesterday in all honesty, we played some really really good stuff, the best ive seen in a while, with many reasons to be hopeful ingrained in the personal on show and young players.

I watched the Carlow Vs Meath game, before i think Louth would have had a strong chance of beating Meath. It was like that game was played in slow motion compared to the Louth, Dublin game.

Dublin are miles ahead of Leinster without a doubt, but im not so sure after yesterday there isnt a significant gap to everyone else and most in the country after watching us yesterday as well, i would have had a different opinion after the league, but yesterday we were very, very, very good.

I would be on record as saying Leinster and Munster arent fit for purpose.

Ive a growing belief of a fifth province of Dublin, Meath, Kildare, Cork, Kerry and maybe one or two other may be the way to go to support the provincal structure if many would like to say the provinces remain.

Not sure this debate in Leinster exists in isolation to the rest of football, we've gone 29 games unbeaten in championship after yesterday and we are touching on 4 and half years since our last defeat in the championship.

Louth i think will represent themselves well in the qualifiers."
Louth were up for it for about 10 minutes yesterday, dublin looked very good but in fairness who wouldn't when the other team show no fight and barely lay a glove on ye, meath would of trashed louth yesterday had they performed like that, Very poor from a proud county.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 26/05/2019 20:53:43    2187803

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "It's a very sad state of affairs when an 18 point defeat is deemed a decent performance against Dublin.

If Dublin players were wearing Meath jersey's last night would they have played to a lower level?"
To be fair laois were competitive for the first half and then ran out of steam, louth arrived to admire the all ireland champions.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 26/05/2019 21:04:06    2187811

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Louth were up for it for about 10 minutes yesterday, dublin looked very good but in fairness who wouldn't when the other team show no fight and barely lay a glove on ye, meath would of trashed louth yesterday had they performed like that, Very poor from a proud county."
Wouldn't agree with that assessment myself, I think Louth would give Meath a game personally, I think Loais will to.

Meath have come on but based on what I say yesterday, I think they are way off the pace o and intensity of a Div 1 team. I suppose that eventually showed in the league final to. That's not to be insulting Meath are going the right way, big units to and they have that bit of devilment in them that Meath used to. There just in that group at the mo of Cavans, Kildare, Roscommon, who do well not to be bouncing around divisions.

To be fair though Cavan played a blanket. But if you compare the pace and intensity of the Dublin game and Meath game, the first game for me was like being played in slow motion at a different standard.

I admired Louth yesterday, yes they got a hiding, but always played with the head up, tried to be expansive I admire that in a team, go down with your boots on, rather the blanket defencing yourself into an early winter. That just my opinion and how I like to see the game mind.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/05/2019 21:08:28    2187817

why not go with a 32 team league home and away and then the all ireland be played like the fa cup other than that the provincials are dead and buried. Now i know roscommon people might think different but change is needed and quick

mrme (USA) - Posts: 22 - 27/05/2019 00:23:52    2187917

Just an observation from last night, I was watching the sunday waiting for Meath's 2min snippet and struggling through Joe Brolly's campaign for 3 tiers (which basically gets brought up after every game). We were last on so I got to see most of the other snippets first and after the Longford v Kildare game, Longford manager Padraic Davis happened to remark after what was an entertaining game that 'football is alive and well'.

Camera's then cut back to studio where Joe Brolly is píssing himself laughing at the comment. This is the man who apparently has Div 3 & 4 teams best interests at heart, Longford wouldn't even be in a position to play Kildare under a tiered structure.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 27/05/2019 09:16:33    2187968

Replying To KillingFields:  "Hahaha Dublin have virtually always been comfortably better than Louth. Joys of being most populous county against one of the smallest.."
Louths population is not one of the smallest. You're mixing up area with population. Outside of Dublin its the most densely populated county in the south. Louth has a very strong soccer tradition. Try telling a youngster at the minute to pick up an o'neills ball in Dundalk while they are watching the best Dundalk side ever and arguably one of the greatest league of ireland teams ever.

Louth has plenty of people (almost the same population as Mayo, far more than Monaghan, Cavan, Roscommon, Laois, Offaly etc...). It needs more investment to grow GAA and to get kids playing.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 27/05/2019 10:21:51    2187997

Replying To mrme:  "why not go with a 32 team league home and away and then the all ireland be played like the fa cup other than that the provincials are dead and buried. Now i know roscommon people might think different but change is needed and quick"
32 team league home and away??? How many weeks in year do you want games to be played.
A league with 8 teams per division play home and away or home/away and then split top and bottom within the divisions and top 4 then play each other and bottom 4 play each other which would give 10 games and then have straight knock out all ireland cup competition as well as straight knock out provincial cup competitions this would be 18/19 weekends of games and you have 10/15 weekends for clubs championships and clubs can play league games on inter county weekends and then you have a proper off season where no games are played around christmas/new years

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3511 - 27/05/2019 19:24:06    2188278

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Absolutely, we're deep into the championship and leagues going on nearly ten years now it all costs money , I was at yesterday's game but I've no problem with Dubs saving themselves for the bigger games the only reason I went yesterday is for the day out the game wasn't even really a thought only to see what team he'd start. Give us a game to get excited about will pack out any stadium in Ireland like we've done for years , also 20 thousand at a mayo Roscommon game is a shocking attendance for such a big Connaught game."
Not sure I'd call twenty thousand at a Mayo, Roscommon game shocking as it equates to 10 percent of their combined populations. To put it in perspective if you had ten percent of the combined populations of Dublin and Kildare at a football match you would have to accommodate a crowd of 150,000.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 27/05/2019 20:43:55    2188305

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Not sure I'd call twenty thousand at a Mayo, Roscommon game shocking as it equates to 10 percent of their combined populations. To put it in perspective if you had ten percent of the combined populations of Dublin and Kildare at a football match you would have to accommodate a crowd of 150,000."
20 thousand for a provincial semi final on a Saturday evening and live on tv is a great turn out in fairness.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 27/05/2019 21:03:23    2188312

Replying To Htaem:  "Just an observation from last night, I was watching the sunday waiting for Meath's 2min snippet and struggling through Joe Brolly's campaign for 3 tiers (which basically gets brought up after every game). We were last on so I got to see most of the other snippets first and after the Longford v Kildare game, Longford manager Padraic Davis happened to remark after what was an entertaining game that 'football is alive and well'.

Camera's then cut back to studio where Joe Brolly is píssing himself laughing at the comment. This is the man who apparently has Div 3 & 4 teams best interests at heart, Longford wouldn't even be in a position to play Kildare under a tiered structure."
U hit the nail on the head. Take dublin out of leinster and put them in to ulster championship. Now u have a very competitive leinster championship and a one sided ulster championship. Put dublin into connacht, and after saturday, they walk that, with ulster and leinster championships being very competitive.

Counties like mine are constantly undermined by these pundits, (i use that term loosely) and the work coaches do within these counties. We also had brolly describing louth players standing on their crossbar trying to stop dublin scoring points. Easy to score points when u can pick from 1. 2 million people.

This attitude has gone on for yrs, including ur usual sneery comments from pat spillane also. I remember another "expert" kevin mcstay make a comment about wicklow. Scenario was wicklow just lost out to laois maybe 2 or 3 yrs ago, by 2 pts or so. Des cahill commented, that aughrim was a hard place to get out of, to which mcstay replied "what des, the traffic"....very beneficiial comment for everyone.

What these pundits try to make people believe, is that there are "8 super teams" in Gaelic football, that can win the all ireland. Well, wake up and smell the coffee. After last yrs farce that was an all Ireland final, and mayos defeat last sat, there probably a "super 2".

This will get very tiresome in a couple of yrs. The dublin cb went to the gaa 10 to 15 yrs ago, complaining that they needed massive investment due to competitors like rugby and soccer. GAA then realised they found a cash cow, refusing to take them out of croke park and allowing dublin to use the national gaa ground as their home ground, while other counties spend money, building, developing and maintaining their iwn grounds.
Well basically, they turned dublin into professionals in all but name.

I now observe, and from speaking to my fellow sport nut friends, that we dont even bother watching a dublin game now on tv save for the final. Last yr we watched 15 mins of the final.

What these pundits and media outlets of similar ilk are doing is turning people, ouside top 4 or 5 counties away from football. People are losing interest in the game. If that continues, it leaves a vacuum for other sports in these counties. In times to come, they might be sorry they were so disrespectful to the "weaker" counties and be fed up with a 2 team championship. If they think that the "bigger" counties will always be there , well.......look at cork!!

Longfordbaz (Longford) - Posts: 145 - 27/05/2019 22:02:13    2188344

Replying To Longfordbaz:  "U hit the nail on the head. Take dublin out of leinster and put them in to ulster championship. Now u have a very competitive leinster championship and a one sided ulster championship. Put dublin into connacht, and after saturday, they walk that, with ulster and leinster championships being very competitive.

Counties like mine are constantly undermined by these pundits, (i use that term loosely) and the work coaches do within these counties. We also had brolly describing louth players standing on their crossbar trying to stop dublin scoring points. Easy to score points when u can pick from 1. 2 million people.

This attitude has gone on for yrs, including ur usual sneery comments from pat spillane also. I remember another "expert" kevin mcstay make a comment about wicklow. Scenario was wicklow just lost out to laois maybe 2 or 3 yrs ago, by 2 pts or so. Des cahill commented, that aughrim was a hard place to get out of, to which mcstay replied "what des, the traffic"....very beneficiial comment for everyone.

What these pundits try to make people believe, is that there are "8 super teams" in Gaelic football, that can win the all ireland. Well, wake up and smell the coffee. After last yrs farce that was an all Ireland final, and mayos defeat last sat, there probably a "super 2".

This will get very tiresome in a couple of yrs. The dublin cb went to the gaa 10 to 15 yrs ago, complaining that they needed massive investment due to competitors like rugby and soccer. GAA then realised they found a cash cow, refusing to take them out of croke park and allowing dublin to use the national gaa ground as their home ground, while other counties spend money, building, developing and maintaining their iwn grounds.

I now observe, and from speaking to my fellow sport nut friends, that we dont even bother watching a dublin game now on tv save for the final. Last yr we watched 15 mins of the final.

What these pundits and media outlets of similar ilk are doing is turning people, ouside top 4 or 5 counties away from football. People are losing interest in the game. If that continues, it leaves a vacuum for other sports in these counties. In times to come, they might be sorry they were so disrespectful to the "weaker" counties and be fed up with a 2 team championship. If they think that the "bigger" counties will always be there , well.......look at cork!!"
Easy to score points when u can pick from 1. 2 million people.

Never realised there was 1.2 million adult gaa playing men in Dublin. Wow

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 28/05/2019 09:06:35    2188399

Replying To Longfordbaz:  "U hit the nail on the head. Take dublin out of leinster and put them in to ulster championship. Now u have a very competitive leinster championship and a one sided ulster championship. Put dublin into connacht, and after saturday, they walk that, with ulster and leinster championships being very competitive.

What these pundits and media outlets of similar ilk are doing is turning people, ouside top 4 or 5 counties away from football. People are losing interest in the game. If that continues, it leaves a vacuum for other sports in these counties. In times to come, they might be sorry they were so disrespectful to the "weaker" counties and be fed up with a 2 team championship. If they think that the "bigger" counties will always be there , well.......look at cork!!"
Weren't Tyrone 0-05 to 0-01 points up after 15 minutes of last year's final? Why would you stop watching then?

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 28/05/2019 10:15:10    2188419

100% agree with you and doubt anyone outside Dublin wouldn't.
We have 1 professional team playing in a championship of genuine amateur teams who all must raise their own money and provide their own facilities.
We need a 2 tier championship alright.. one with just Dublin, they can have 2 cups handed to them every year on the 1st of January (they wouldn't be any less hollow) and go play exhibition games around the world for the rest of the year..
And a very competitive 2nd tier champ for everyone else, all you need to qualify is amateur status..

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 28/05/2019 10:52:18    2188434

Replying To cuttothebone:  "100% agree with you and doubt anyone outside Dublin wouldn't.
We have 1 professional team playing in a championship of genuine amateur teams who all must raise their own money and provide their own facilities.
We need a 2 tier championship alright.. one with just Dublin, they can have 2 cups handed to them every year on the 1st of January (they wouldn't be any less hollow) and go play exhibition games around the world for the rest of the year..
And a very competitive 2nd tier champ for everyone else, all you need to qualify is amateur status.."
Hahaha were so good they think we're professional hahaha. Excuses excuses is all I hear.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/05/2019 11:01:17    2188437

Replying To cuttothebone:  "100% agree with you and doubt anyone outside Dublin wouldn't.
And a very competitive 2nd tier champ for everyone else, all you need to qualify is amateur status.."
Oh how little posters like you know about Dublin GAA but keep posting what you think you know. If nothing you'll get a few dozen likes which seems to be all anybody wants these days.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/05/2019 11:05:43    2188441

I would agree with the opening post, its a shambles having teams so far apart in the same competition. We can't blame the teams involved, its the system that is at fault. There does seem to be a growing support for a tiered system so hopefully that will happen sooner rather than later.

It's very difficult to see what can be done to revive the Munster and Leinster championships. Dublin and Kerry are just so far ahead. Would it be a good idea to move Dublin to the Munster championship and then give the other Leinster teams a realistic chance of winning something? I know I am clutching at straws here but we can't continue like this.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 28/05/2019 11:11:49    2188445