Dublin V Louth - What A Farce

Replying To lilylanger:  "A quick Google told me it was 14,380.
Castle bar attendance was 10,941 in case you wanted that too."
Ah no surely mayo vs roscommon was higher?

Carlow vs meath should either have been in carlow or navan. The same meath crowd would have traveled to carlow but a bigger home support. In navan you'd get a much bigger meath support but a smaller carlow. Louth v dublin should have been navan too. Terribly unfair on the louth fans.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 26/05/2019 16:34:04    2187666

Replying To superbluedub:  "You seem to be more interested in attendances at Leinster matches , than commenting on your own counties result yesterday , strange that ."
Jesus Christ this nonsense. I already commented on the game thread. But yeah let's ignore a valid point by ignoring it. A double header involving Dublin who need to be given Croke Park when required draws that pathetic attendance? It should be discussed should it not?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 26/05/2019 16:42:56    2187668

Replying To lilylanger:  "A quick Google told me it was 14,380.
Castle bar attendance was 10,941 in case you wanted that too."
20000 in Castlebar.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 26/05/2019 16:43:58    2187670

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Jesus Christ this nonsense. I already commented on the game thread. But yeah let's ignore a valid point by ignoring it. A double header involving Dublin who need to be given Croke Park when required draws that pathetic attendance? It should be discussed should it not?"
Discuss away if it pleases you , it just might help you forget all about your own counties failures .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 26/05/2019 16:52:51    2187675

Replying To superbluedub:  "Discuss away if it pleases you , it just might help you forget all about your own counties failures ."
Grand thanks for that. I already discussed it on the Mayo game thread good man.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 26/05/2019 16:59:34    2187681

Dont you lot know?! Mayo could go out and lose a game by 10 points against a Division 4 side, and get 5 players sent off for good measure and the media will still adore them to the moon and back. They'll still adore themselves as well. As soon as they win a few games and a few of their players look in good form, they're coronated as favourites for the All-Ireland again, only to inevitably get beaten. They'll make excuses about games that happened years ago and when they are inevitably beaten and knocked off their perch, assume a defensive mindset where "we tried our best" and "we'll be back" is the over-riding message. Thats why this poster has little time for Mayo and its fans. Every sport has its great pretenders. Might seem harsh and its nothing personal against Mayo people. Just I always giggle when I see Mayo posters talking the big talk. The day Mayo actually win the All-Ireland is the day the media will hate them.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 26/05/2019 17:02:09    2187682

Apologies to you Flaker. Its seems I took the first result on Google which was from the League. Point still stands though. A half full stadium in both cases and Mayo were at home. It's not just a Leinster thing. Attendances down everywhere.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 26/05/2019 17:03:25    2187683

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Grand thanks for that. I already discussed it on the Mayo game thread good man."
Good man yourself , great to see your concern for the falling attendances at Leinster matches.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 26/05/2019 17:07:59    2187684

The problem with Leinster is that the Dublin are ranked number 1 in Ireland but the next best team is ranked outside the top 10. Was is the Dubs fault that Carlow beat Kildare or that Longford beat Meath last year and that Wicklow and Offaly could have beaten them this year?

The fact is, the likes of Louth, Kildare, Meath etc would be also-rans and would have won nothing in any other province either in the last 10 years.

It's an easy cop out for the rest of Leinster to blame the Dubs for the state of Leinster football, but they need to look at their own failures and short comings first.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 26/05/2019 17:12:42    2187687

Replying To lilylanger:  "Apologies to you Flaker. Its seems I took the first result on Google which was from the League. Point still stands though. A half full stadium in both cases and Mayo were at home. It's not just a Leinster thing. Attendances down everywhere."
20 thousand in Castlebar is not bad. 4 teams playing in Leinster including the champs first game out after a heated debate last year about attendances and Dublin fans needing to be facilitated. Not having a pop here just pointing out the fact.

A tiered championship is inevitable and I will welcome it.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 26/05/2019 17:35:12    2187694

Replying To TheFlaker:  "20 thousand in Castlebar is not bad. 4 teams playing in Leinster including the champs first game out after a heated debate last year about attendances and Dublin fans needing to be facilitated. Not having a pop here just pointing out the fact.

A tiered championship is inevitable and I will welcome it."
Ah I didnt know it was 4 teams. That's not good. But look people have their reasons for not attending. I daresay both the Dubs supporters and Mayo supporters to a lesser degree thought the games were a sure thing. Saved themselves some money?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 26/05/2019 17:54:20    2187700

Replying To lilylanger:  "Ah I didnt know it was 4 teams. That's not good. But look people have their reasons for not attending. I daresay both the Dubs supporters and Mayo supporters to a lesser degree thought the games were a sure thing. Saved themselves some money?"
I thought Mayo would win by 3 or 4 after a tight first 50. People on here keep sharing stuff that David Brady and John Maughan said as if to say all Mayo fans got carried away. I am more worried about getting COC, Mcdonagh and Carr back for the next game.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 26/05/2019 18:06:39    2187706

Replying To lilylanger:  "Ah I didnt know it was 4 teams. That's not good. But look people have their reasons for not attending. I daresay both the Dubs supporters and Mayo supporters to a lesser degree thought the games were a sure thing. Saved themselves some money?"
Absolutely, we're deep into the championship and leagues going on nearly ten years now it all costs money , I was at yesterday's game but I've no problem with Dubs saving themselves for the bigger games the only reason I went yesterday is for the day out the game wasn't even really a thought only to see what team he'd start. Give us a game to get excited about will pack out any stadium in Ireland like we've done for years , also 20 thousand at a mayo Roscommon game is a shocking attendance for such a big Connaught game.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/05/2019 18:21:02    2187713

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Absolutely, we're deep into the championship and leagues going on nearly ten years now it all costs money , I was at yesterday's game but I've no problem with Dubs saving themselves for the bigger games the only reason I went yesterday is for the day out the game wasn't even really a thought only to see what team he'd start. Give us a game to get excited about will pack out any stadium in Ireland like we've done for years , also 20 thousand at a mayo Roscommon game is a shocking attendance for such a big Connaught game."
This is gas, get the chip off your shoulder lad. Not a pop at Dublin. 20k on a Saturday in Mayo is not bad. Having a pop at the Mayo attendance shows how little you know. What supporters have had to spend the most over the last few years up and down the country? Yep Mayo and it's a big county so getting to Castlebar ain't that easy for everyone with kids on a Saturday night.

But you say Dublin fans need to save their money for the rest of the games which will all be at home bar 1. Lol

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 26/05/2019 18:33:56    2187720

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I thought Mayo would win by 3 or 4 after a tight first 50. People on here keep sharing stuff that David Brady and John Maughan said as if to say all Mayo fans got carried away. I am more worried about getting COC, Mcdonagh and Carr back for the next game."
That's the problem with having ex players in the media. It's a case of he who shouts loudest gets heard.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 26/05/2019 18:35:24    2187721

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Meath and Kildare are brutal now not Dublin's fault. Keep hitting us with the money excuse if it makes you feel better. We pick mainly from the same teams in division 1 we do the exact same training and tactics as everyone else money got nothing to do with it , you either have it or you don't."
Excuse me Clondalkin, I didn't think you were only a championship man. Meath are now a division one team and we won't be pushed around should we meet you. Not saying we will win but certainly not be shrinking violets either

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/05/2019 18:53:18    2187734

Replying To TheFlaker:  "This is gas, get the chip off your shoulder lad. Not a pop at Dublin. 20k on a Saturday in Mayo is not bad. Having a pop at the Mayo attendance shows how little you know. What supporters have had to spend the most over the last few years up and down the country? Yep Mayo and it's a big county so getting to Castlebar ain't that easy for everyone with kids on a Saturday night.

But you say Dublin fans need to save their money for the rest of the games which will all be at home bar 1. Lol"
You had all last summer off , we again were in the league final and all the way to Sam, if Roscommon and mayo played in Croker next Sunday and only 20 thousand showed up it wouldn't fill half the cusack stand man. 20 thousand for a big Connaught game is a very poor attendance, you can try and make excuses but that's the truth. Their was at least 7 thousand Roscommon supporters there yesterday so only 13 thousand Mayo "best in ireland supporters" showed up very poor.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/05/2019 19:06:35    2187740

Replying To lilylanger:  "That's the problem with having ex players in the media. It's a case of he who shouts loudest gets heard."
Same on Sunday Game. People on here take these lads seriously which is more worrying.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 26/05/2019 19:11:09    2187744

Replying To Htaem:  "Yesterday was a hammering alright, not nice to see and did no good for either team, but that's the standard the Dubs have set.

The result of course will be very welcome for those who want a tiered championship, they won't stop till they get it. But Division 3 & 4 teams have to make an important decision now because be under no illusion there are only 2 options:

1. Remain playing for Sam (ie 1 tier only, but the structure may be changed), take some hammerings, get the odd win and your token 2min snippet at 11.30pm on the Sunday game.

Or

2. Enter a very competitive 2nd tier championship, and never be seen or heard from again, you won't even get your 2mins. Oscar Wilde springs to mind "There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about."

Ps hammerings are nothing new folks, 40 years ago Dublin also played Louth in the Leinster QF, the result being: Dublin 4-16 Louth 0-4"
Can't disagree with that, also I think it's worth remembering that longford would be in tier 2 under most people's proposals. Look how they did today? And last year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/05/2019 19:12:08    2187745

Replying To royaldunne:  "Excuse me Clondalkin, I didn't think you were only a championship man. Meath are now a division one team and we won't be pushed around should we meet you. Not saying we will win but certainly not be shrinking violets either"
You don't have to be shrinking violets to get annihilated by Dublin. Louth were technically very poor yesterday, they made so many errors. That wasn't down to them not trying. They all ran their socks off, they just weren't good enough.

Should we both make a Leinster final, Meath, like Louth, will try hard, they'll get stuck in, give as good as they've got in terms of effort. They'll probably be in the game for a bit longer. But, ultimately, whether its the second, third or last quarter of the game, Dublin will put you to the sword and ultimately run away handsome winners because the gulf in class remains massive.

Clondalkin didn't say you would be shrinking violets, he said yous are brutal. Brutal might be a bit harsh on meath in fairness, they've had a really good year, got promotion to division one, had a good start against Offaly and Carlow, but should we meet, and i think we will, I think the point Clondalkin is making is that nobody in Leinster is capable of challenging Dublin. That's not to downplay Meath, ive already said they've had a really good year so far, BUT You haven't played Dublin in years in the championship, when we do, I think you will hit earth with a shuddering thud!

Effort, commitment, hunger and endeavour isn't good enough against Dublin, just ask Mayo. No team has worked as hard as Mayo against Dublin. Noone has wanted to win an all Ireland final as much as Mayo against Dublin, and even despite all those mayo characteristics, Dublin have never had to play well to get over the line against them.

I understand youre a Meath fan and youre an optimist, but it wouldn't kill you to be a realist either.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/05/2019 19:23:03    2187748