Leinster Football Championship

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Fair enough But I suspose we live in twitter culture where people prefer snappy one liners I dont do snappy one lines I am long winded repetitive king.
Yes I can be repeitive. But I try and back what I am saying with facts and stats. The thing with facts is u cannot change them they r always the same. So if I use facts I cannot change them as facts and stats are consistent. But I will take into consideration not to be as repetitive but its seems to my default setting when I write."
If a story is worth telling then tell it all.

Keep up the great work furlong and thanks for all the history.

Snuff used tell a story on here one time about how Kildare got their county colors from waring flour bags , have you any info weather that story is true?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/04/2019 17:35:18    2179000

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Good point but the Meath coastline is quite small and vast majority of county is landlocked. There are few different Meaths . Meaths neighbouring counties and rivals have had big impact on Meath fooball. U have Meath up at Dublin border. Then u have Meath down at Kildare border. Then u have Meath up at Cavan and louth border and on the border with Ulster. And then u have Meath on the border with the midlands. I would consider allot of Meath especially west of the county , midlands. And fooball in this part of the county is influenced by the midlands. But as I said there are 4 or 5 different areas to Meath where the county borders other counties and that has had an influence in that area . Meath have had massive rivalries with kildare in the south and Cavan and louth in north. And whole county with Dublin. And Westmeath to the west. When u bring all those parts of Meath together u have a Meath football team. It doesnt matter were u r in Meath u have a rival on ur border ur doorstep , we have 7 no other football county has as many. This give u an identity and a fighting spirit. Meaths rivalries with Dublin kildare louth Cavan Westmeath Offaly have been the making of Meath football. It meant when Meath teams came out of the provience they were battle hardern aftet titanic struggles with Dublin louth kildare Westmeath Offaly.

But overall I would consider Meath characteristics make up as a midlands county , but population growth recently that has changed. In many way I see Meath as part of midland / mid Ulster football region traditiinally. U have always had a superpower in this region. Louth and Down wud be more North East. But in north midlands/ mid Ulster Cavan were first superpower in this region then Offaly then Meath and now Tyrone. All similar counties. Known for being tough not liked ( Offaly team early 70s were not liked none as toughest team ever ) and very sucessful v kerrys and Dublins. So ur own county Tyrone is natural heir to Meath football the same way Meath was natural heir to Cavan football. Thats the way I see it. I hope that makes sense."
Funny thing about where I grew up and my home place , Offaly border was 2 miles away, Westmeath was less than 4 miles and Kildare less than 6 miles. Any wonder how to this day I still don't like any of the 3 of them. I would also count the part of Meath I grew up in as the midlands, 'twas a awful long drive to bettystown at the time, which I guess is ironic as it is another area where I lived for a number of years but I was a adult at that time.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/04/2019 18:14:40    2179013

Replying To OGarmaile:  "You wrote plenty there about Meath - quite insightful. One thing however. Can a county be described as a midlands county if it has a coastline?"
That's a good question, they put a wedge in between us and the wee county :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 15/04/2019 18:33:41    2179015

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "If a story is worth telling then tell it all.

Keep up the great work furlong and thanks for all the history.

Snuff used tell a story on here one time about how Kildare got their county colors from waring flour bags , have you any info weather that story is true?"
Thanks for the comments Kingdomboy1. I appreciate them.

Regards kildare jerseys. St Conleth or kildarekelly or other Kildare posters would probaly know more. I am not certain. I am open to correction on this. Regards flour bags its yes and no.

Yes kildare the story they wear all.white because they used to wear Oldlum whatever its called, Flour bags. I think that is a myth.

What happened. Clane have an all.white jersey and shorts. And of course club teams represented the first inter county teams. Kildares first great team was 1905 early 1900s, Clane were very strong at the time. Best kildare footballer at the time was a Clane man. So Clane all.white jerseys became kildares all white jerseys. So Clane is the main reason for kildare white jerseys.

Where the flour bag story came from I think. Kildare played a challenge match at the time. kildare players on the team worked in Clongowes bakery. And flour bags from the bakery were turned into jerseys for the match. And the team that kildare were playing could see flour bag label on the jerseys and that's were flour bag story come from. Thats what I heard. I am open to correction on that. I definitely think that Clane all white kit is one of primary reasons but the kildare lads probaly here have the full story. I hope that helps.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 15/04/2019 18:35:13    2179016

Replying To Htaem:  "Ah royaldunne is just a passionate Meath supporter, if we had more people in Meath with his attitude we'd be in much better health today. Also he does a great job of winding people up on HS, and long may that continue.

Anyway look, most people in Meath are well aware of challenge required to overturn the Dubs, but I love the amount of scorn leinster counties receive when even hint that they're hoping to challenge Dublin nevermind beat them.

The world and his mother might well know that Dublin are going to hammer the ever living jaysus out of every other team in leinster and that's fine. But each squad shouldn't think that way, if you've already lost the mental battle then there's no point in showing up for the physical battle!

It's good to have a bit of ambition and aim high."
Agree with everything you said

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 15/04/2019 18:35:45    2179017

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "I know Htaem, my post was more tongue in cheek than anything. I would love to see Meath back challenging at the top table again, and it appears they're on the right track. A pity my own county can't get their act together. The Meath v Cork battles of the late 80's will live long in the memory."
Talk about physical encounters, puts the 00s Tyrone team in the shade :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 15/04/2019 18:38:43    2179018

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "I know Htaem, my post was more tongue in cheek than anything. I would love to see Meath back challenging at the top table again, and it appears they're on the right track. A pity my own county can't get their act together. The Meath v Cork battles of the late 80's will live long in the memory."
They were great battles in fairness, always had a lot of time for Cork, plenty of tough battles between the 2 counties over the years but no complaining on either side. Plenty of work to be done but Cork will rise again and the championship will be better for it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/04/2019 18:41:31    2179019

Has to be, if snuff said it :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 15/04/2019 18:46:23    2179024

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Thanks for the comments Kingdomboy1. I appreciate them.

Regards kildare jerseys. St Conleth or kildarekelly or other Kildare posters would probaly know more. I am not certain. I am open to correction on this. Regards flour bags its yes and no.

Yes kildare the story they wear all.white because they used to wear Oldlum whatever its called, Flour bags. I think that is a myth.

What happened. Clane have an all.white jersey and shorts. And of course club teams represented the first inter county teams. Kildares first great team was 1905 early 1900s, Clane were very strong at the time. Best kildare footballer at the time was a Clane man. So Clane all.white jerseys became kildares all white jerseys. So Clane is the main reason for kildare white jerseys.

Where the flour bag story came from I think. Kildare played a challenge match at the time. kildare players on the team worked in Clongowes bakery. And flour bags from the bakery were turned into jerseys for the match. And the team that kildare were playing could see flour bag label on the jerseys and that's were flour bag story come from. Thats what I heard. I am open to correction on that. I definitely think that Clane all white kit is one of primary reasons but the kildare lads probaly here have the full story. I hope that helps."
Nice 1 furlong, so old snuffy wasn't too far out so.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/04/2019 20:15:33    2179030

Replying To realdub:  "Has to be, if snuff said it :D"
You'd miss him and his crab claws, hope he's doing ok, will the 5 in a row rise him from his slumber.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/04/2019 20:17:36    2179031

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Thanks for the comments Username. If I have convinced a great Dublin supporter like urself my work is done here .

I am very Meath biased and definitely have a bit of chip on my shoulder about Meath but I am convinced of 3 or 4 things and I will argue them til the cows come home. Everything else I am easy about and open to listening to anything . The areas always get me going is Mayo and 96 ,we were better team better players and Meath wud have 10 games out 10 with Mayo in 96. People only remember McHale and bouncing ball but the simple fact in both games in last 15 mins Mayo struggled to score point as Meath hit 1- 9. So that always gets me going. And that 90s Meath team while not on the level of Tyrone or kerry 00s team or Dublin currently , but still it was a brillant team that played some cracking attacking football and only for leinster was so competitive at time would have won 2 in a row in 97 and would have played Galway in 98 for three in a row. I will argue that. The other points we were more then a tough team we had some brilliant skillful players like Fay O Connell O Malley O Rourke Dowd Giles Geraghty Murphy Flynn.

Third is that Meath have a great record v Dublin and both counties have reacted to each other in past. Ur right its not some unbreakable bond and rivalry has declined since 2010 and stopped in 2014 but in its heyday it was biggest rivalry in the country and at its peak both counties reacted to each other on and off the field. But the last great Meath v Dublin game was 2 games in 2007. Since that its being in serious decline. And while we are not at kerry or Dublins level we were never at that level but we have in other ways overachieved.
And finally how bloody hard it is and so bloody hard it was to beat u guys in Dublin. Dublin have always been the most difficult team to beat in gaelic football for the last half century. Its no coincidence that when Meath kildare Tyrone Donegal Armagh Mayo Kerry all defeated Dublin they had their greatest teams and their greatest players and great managers. Dublin in front of hill 16 in a packed Croke Park is the closest thing to an All Ireland final. Its probaly even more atmosphere the All Ireland final coz u have no neutrals. Dublin have always being the most difficult county to beat. Its the same now but it has always being the same.

Ur right also we need to tap into pop growth. There is no gurantee. Just look at Wicklow great tradition of football great clubs great gaa people big population, but it never worked for them. But since 2000 Meaths population has gone from 100000 to 200000. No county with exception of kildare in the history of the state has had that sort of population transformation as both counties. If Meath and kildare can tap into that it will be massive boost to both , but it will take time and effort and a bit of luck and sucessful team . But for me the dream would be to live to see a Meath v Dublin All Ireland final. The atmosphere in the county would be unreal . That would be mother of all Meath v Dublin games. But I cannot see that happenening in the next ten years at least. I would love to see Mayo v Galway All Ireland final also. U cannot beat GAA rivalries.

Anyway thanks for the debate Username. U convinced me of many things also. it was like Mick Lyons v Charlie Redmond we tore into each other for 70 mins. But shook hands at end of 70 mins with no complaints. The proper Meath v Dublin way. Hopefully in the next ten years we both to go to see a competitive Meath v Dublin leinster final because for all Dublins sucess that u dont have great Meath v Dublin leinster finals anymore that is something missing in terms of the crack the occassion the tension and the great warriors going to battle for both counties. We are years and years behind Dublin and kerry but hopefully in the future we will close the gap. I can see it now 2041 the 50th anniversary of 1991 we have the first Meath v Dublin All Ireland final ever. And Kevin Foleys great grandson scores the winning penalty v Stephen Cluxton Jnr to stop Dublin winning another 5 in a row. We can only dream in Meath."
Good stuff Furlong I enjoyed our debate as well and particularly your closing anaology, imagine the scenes ;) !!

The very best wishes to you a chara.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/04/2019 20:47:13    2179036

Replying To TheUsername:  "Good stuff Furlong I enjoyed our debate as well and particularly your closing anaology, imagine the scenes ;) !!

The very best wishes to you a chara."
Thanks Username.
Imagine a Meath v Dublin All Ireland final. I know its not probale, very unlikely in next ten years. But hopefully one day in the future. That would be Meath v Dublin match to end all matchs.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 15/04/2019 23:23:44    2179045

Replying To royaldunne:  "Funny thing about where I grew up and my home place , Offaly border was 2 miles away, Westmeath was less than 4 miles and Kildare less than 6 miles. Any wonder how to this day I still don't like any of the 3 of them. I would also count the part of Meath I grew up in as the midlands, 'twas a awful long drive to bettystown at the time, which I guess is ironic as it is another area where I lived for a number of years but I was a adult at that time."
Great footballers from that part of the county u come from Royaldunne. Tough hard defenders. Chris O Connor was one best from the area in last while. He was one best defenders in county but managers ignored. When Coyler had him on the county team as young player he looked the business. Damien Carroll had huge potential. His man of match performances v kildare in 2012 and 2014 showed what a good footballer he was. Again managers coming and going. We lost players like him and Wolfe Tones Niall Mcloughlin and Cian Ward was let go to soon also.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 15/04/2019 23:44:49    2179050

Is this championship even worth running?
Would be better to hold an open draw without Dublin and whoever wins gets to play them in a final.
Dubs can play their club championship in the meantime - it's not far off the same standard

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 16/04/2019 04:22:20    2179059

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Is this championship even worth running?
Would be better to hold an open draw without Dublin and whoever wins gets to play them in a final.
Dubs can play their club championship in the meantime - it's not far off the same standard"
Ah come on a chara, sure Mayo get knocked out by a Leinster team most years in the championship! :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/04/2019 11:10:56    2179081

Replying To royaldunne:  "Only for a black card that wasn't and ineptitude on sideline afterward it would never have happened."
2-8 to 1 point in the last 20 minutes was the reason you lost. 10 point lead and Meath dropped the momentum and couldn't regain it. Fitness looked to be a real issue in the last quarter that day for Meath. As for the black card? Which one wasn't a black card? The trip or the rugby tackle??

The_Biler (Westmeath) - Posts: 84 - 16/04/2019 16:12:48    2179149

Replying To The_Biler:  "2-8 to 1 point in the last 20 minutes was the reason you lost. 10 point lead and Meath dropped the momentum and couldn't regain it. Fitness looked to be a real issue in the last quarter that day for Meath. As for the black card? Which one wasn't a black card? The trip or the rugby tackle??"
Graham Reilly who was 3 feet behind the Westmeath player who tripped himself up. As was the decision afterwards, when graham had the card rescinded, as a cumulative it would have meant he missed the Tyrone game. He clearly never touched him.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/04/2019 17:18:28    2179161

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Great footballers from that part of the county u come from Royaldunne. Tough hard defenders. Chris O Connor was one best from the area in last while. He was one best defenders in county but managers ignored. When Coyler had him on the county team as young player he looked the business. Damien Carroll had huge potential. His man of match performances v kildare in 2012 and 2014 showed what a good footballer he was. Again managers coming and going. We lost players like him and Wolfe Tones Niall Mcloughlin and Cian Ward was let go to soon also."
I could never understand the reason behind Chris O'Connor been dropped. He was one of the best players we had at the time. Damian unfortunately was hampered by injuries and you are absolutely right the chopping and changing of managers didn't help him or Chris.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/04/2019 17:22:17    2179162

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Thanks for the comments Kingdomboy1. I appreciate them.

Where the flour bag story came from I think. Kildare played a challenge match at the time. kildare players on the team worked in Clongowes bakery. And flour bags from the bakery were turned into jerseys for the match. And the team that kildare were playing could see flour bag label on the jerseys and that's were flour bag story come from. Thats what I heard. I am open to correction on that. I definitely think that Clane all white kit is one of primary reasons but the kildare lads probaly here have the full story. I hope that helps."
Can't argue with that Furlong. That would be my understanding too. Clane is the main reason.

On a side note, there's never been a great Kildare team without a strong Clane influence. (5 starters in the 1998 team as an example) Have been going through one of the poorest spells in the club's history at senior level but some very good underage teams at the minute so hopefully back at the top in Kildare & filling the county team soon.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 16/04/2019 17:45:36    2179165

Replying To royaldunne:  "Funny thing about where I grew up and my home place , Offaly border was 2 miles away, Westmeath was less than 4 miles and Kildare less than 6 miles. Any wonder how to this day I still don't like any of the 3 of them. I would also count the part of Meath I grew up in as the midlands, 'twas a awful long drive to bettystown at the time, which I guess is ironic as it is another area where I lived for a number of years but I was a adult at that time."
You must be near Rhode, Royal Dunne. The. county boundary comes in to Garr, and Castlejordan is also on the border. Clonmore Harps play in Offaly, but are part of Ballinabrackey parish in Meath.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 16/04/2019 18:00:55    2179170