Leinster Football Championship

Replying To Htaem:  "Bizarre double header in Portlaoise, you'd expect Dublin to be playing stand alone fixtures when they're out of Croker.

Why is our game not in Tullamore, would that not have been a better option?"
Stupid decision, once again Leinster Council cover themselves in glory with regard fixtures, three counties now heading the one direction with the roadworks on the M7 not due to finish until July, utterly stupid stuff. O'Moore Park holds 25'000 with 7000 seats most of which will be taken by the Dubs I would imagine. Regarding Meath and Carlow I would have thought we would have had an argument to play that in Navan, when we last met in 2014 it was in Dr Cullen Park and that was a quarter final too, don't see why we shouldn't have it in Navan this time being honest.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 13/05/2019 17:38:16    2183747

Meath and Carlow will bring around 8000, mostly Meath fans. Now ok the bandwagons that appeared yesterday and complaining on here won't turn up, but their is a huge loyal fan base that have followed Meath all year, outnumbering both cork and Clare away and pretty much matching donegal will travel and will know yesterday's performance is probably a hiccup after intense hard training, I suspect that if Meath prevail on a solid performance v Carlow those same bandwagon fans will be back for Leinster semifinals. Was sitting in front of a lovely couple yesterday , they knew their own club players but didn't really know who else was on the team , particularly the newer players, hadn't been at a match since Tyrone last year, now I have no problem with that, but it's very hard then to make a objective analysis of where Meath are , I personally have seen Meath play in every game in obc league and championship, yesterday is the worst performance we put in, tired and never got going. However we still won, people need to remember that, we totally dominated the last quarter of that match and deserved the win, we have strength in depth, when you can call on the likes of Graham Reilly, Pauric harnan, Sean Tobin, and fantastic exciting new players like James Conlon (created havoc with his pace) and Eoin Lynch who really steadied the back line, then it will take a very very good team to beat us, we won't win a all ire and we won't win Leinster, the goal is the super 8s. And with the strength in depth we have now I believe that is still a very realistic and reasonable aspiration
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/05/2019 18:07:26    2183760

Replying To Richieq:  "Stupid decision, once again Leinster Council cover themselves in glory with regard fixtures, three counties now heading the one direction with the roadworks on the M7 not due to finish until July, utterly stupid stuff. O'Moore Park holds 25'000 with 7000 seats most of which will be taken by the Dubs I would imagine. Regarding Meath and Carlow I would have thought we would have had an argument to play that in Navan, when we last met in 2014 it was in Dr Cullen Park and that was a quarter final too, don't see why we shouldn't have it in Navan this time being honest."
Fair point.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/05/2019 18:08:35    2183762

Replying To realdub:  "And so it begins, and the wee county are the first obstacle in the path of a potentially historic year for Dublin football.
This is big time and I'm as nervous as feck, the most nervous I've ever been going into a championship. I don't think we're quite as good as we were and theres a handful of serious sides out there who will lay it on the line to stop us.
Could be a cracking summer one way or the other! Here we go."
Realdub Wee are coming to get you.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/05/2019 18:13:05    2183764

The crazy thing is if Wexford had won yesterday the match against the Dubs would of been in Wexford Park.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/05/2019 18:21:55    2183769

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Honestly, let's not have a fight about which team was less dogpoop cos there are absolutely no winners in Leinster at the minute other than the Dubs who are laughing. Kildare/Meath bickering about who is the next best as the gap widens helps absolutely no one."
Spot on, school-yard stuff. Leinster wide open apart from Dublin.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 13/05/2019 18:48:24    2183781

Replying To OLLIE:  "The crazy thing is if Wexford had won yesterday the match against the Dubs would of been in Wexford Park."
Don't count on that Oilie, Leinster Council have a habit of saying one thing and doing another for the most stupid of reasons, this "double double header" was in their heads all along I think.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 13/05/2019 20:48:01    2183807

Replying To OLLIE:  "Realdub Wee are coming to get you."
Here Ollie ! Don't yous go beating Dublin we want to that.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 13/05/2019 21:17:59    2183820

Replying To Belt:  "Don't think anyone will miss out on this to be honest.

There were less than 12,000 there last year to watch Dublin - Wicklow.

Meath - Carlow might attract 5,000 with it being a neutral venue.

Capacity is 20,000 plus isn't in Portlaoise?"
Portlaoise has a capacity of 25,000/30,000.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2989 - 13/05/2019 21:52:32    2183829

Replying To royaldunne:  "Meath and Carlow will bring around 8000, mostly Meath fans. Now ok the bandwagons that appeared yesterday and complaining on here won't turn up, but their is a huge loyal fan base that have followed Meath all year, outnumbering both cork and Clare away and pretty much matching donegal will travel and will know yesterday's performance is probably a hiccup after intense hard training, I suspect that if Meath prevail on a solid performance v Carlow those same bandwagon fans will be back for Leinster semifinals. Was sitting in front of a lovely couple yesterday , they knew their own club players but didn't really know who else was on the team , particularly the newer players, hadn't been at a match since Tyrone last year, now I have no problem with that, but it's very hard then to make a objective analysis of where Meath are , I personally have seen Meath play in every game in obc league and championship, yesterday is the worst performance we put in, tired and never got going. However we still won, people need to remember that, we totally dominated the last quarter of that match and deserved the win, we have strength in depth, when you can call on the likes of Graham Reilly, Pauric harnan, Sean Tobin, and fantastic exciting new players like James Conlon (created havoc with his pace) and Eoin Lynch who really steadied the back line, then it will take a very very good team to beat us, we won't win a all ire and we won't win Leinster, the goal is the super 8s. And with the strength in depth we have now I believe that is still a very realistic and reasonable aspiration
Hon the royal."
Where did you pluck 8000 from ?

Absolutely wild that you just pick a random number and throw it out as fact. You have no idea how many fans from meath or Carlow will take the trip.

With regards outnumbering cork fans, I'd say if you set a GAA team up in Iraq and had their travel to an away game in pairc ui rinn, their supporters would outnumber the cork football supporters.

StReNgTh In DePtH

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/05/2019 02:11:19    2183870

Portlaoise is plenty big enough. Why would the Dubs travel in massive numbers for another leinster hammering?

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 14/05/2019 02:12:58    2183871

Replying To OLLIE:  "Realdub Wee are coming to get you."
See you soon Ollie :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 14/05/2019 07:19:45    2183875

Replying To OLLIE:  "The crazy thing is if Wexford had won yesterday the match against the Dubs would of been in Wexford Park."
Drogheda or nowhere?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 14/05/2019 09:39:43    2183890

Better off with nowhere! Facilities would be a step up.

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 14/05/2019 10:17:04    2183901

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Its a self imposed rule by the county board that Cian has spoken out against last year so was just wondering if it had changed since then.

On one hand you can understand it but on the other a player like him could have made a big difference today, and if he feels he's not getting the opportunity he might think he deserves then there's a risk he'll be gone altogether."
He appears to have a bit of an attitude problem. According to my sources in and around the u20 Offaly panel and management.

LooseCannon (Offaly) - Posts: 86 - 14/05/2019 10:48:01    2183913

Replying To waynoI:  "Where did you pluck 8000 from ?

Absolutely wild that you just pick a random number and throw it out as fact. You have no idea how many fans from meath or Carlow will take the trip.

With regards outnumbering cork fans, I'd say if you set a GAA team up in Iraq and had their travel to an away game in pairc ui rinn, their supporters would outnumber the cork football supporters.

StReNgTh In DePtH"
Last meeting was 9234. 65000 at Meath v Offaly (closer to 8k ) but sure we will leave it at that. Carlow will come

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/05/2019 11:42:26    2183932

Replying To royaldunne:  "Last meeting was 9234. 65000 at Meath v Offaly (closer to 8k ) but sure we will leave it at that. Carlow will come"
65000 at Meath Offaly ? Was it played in the Maracana?

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 284 - 14/05/2019 12:21:26    2183947

Replying To royaldunne:  "Last meeting was 9234. 65000 at Meath v Offaly (closer to 8k ) but sure we will leave it at that. Carlow will come"
65,000 ? What game were you watching ?
Maybe take off a zero there lad.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 14/05/2019 13:36:25    2183971

portlaoise will actually be probably grand when i think about it. I would imagine almost all meath and carlow supporters will be gone straight after there game, most will be in there cars on the road by the time the dublin game starts.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 685 - 14/05/2019 15:35:30    2184016

Replying To catch22:  "65,000 ? What game were you watching ?
Maybe take off a zero there lad."
There wasn't 65,000 in Navan on Sunday. I'd say it was meant to be 6,500.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 14/05/2019 18:13:15    2184074