Croke Park Stewards

At last years all ireland there were many Limerick supporters who attempted to go on field manhandled and hurt by over aggressive stewards which some might say was their own fault but today Tom Parsons was prevented from joining the Mayo Panel by stewards who haven't a clue who he was ??
Two other incidents i spotted today, entering the ground at Davin End a woman with 2 children was having her ruck sack pulled apart by a very heavy handed inner city looking woman, apparently the supporter hadn't declared 2 cans of fanta in her bag and was getting the third degree in front of her frightened children.
Before the hurling match a waterford slithor flew over the nets and a young lad towards the back of the stand managed to catch it, immediately some mad looking steward ran after him chasing him towards the back of stand before pulling slithor off the young lad , many people booed the steward but none challenged him as the steward looked as if he was only looking for someone to do a bit of martial arts on.
If you didn't know any better you'd think the stewards were from some loyalist housing estate in Belfast ( maybe they are!), its true for Joe Brolly Croke Park has lost touch with the grassroots, these stewards might be appropriate at rock concerts in croke park but all this heavy handedness with average GAA supporters is gone ridiculous.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 673 - 31/03/2019 20:55:30    2176792

Replying To OpenStand:  "At last years all ireland there were many Limerick supporters who attempted to go on field manhandled and hurt by over aggressive stewards which some might say was their own fault but today Tom Parsons was prevented from joining the Mayo Panel by stewards who haven't a clue who he was ??
Two other incidents i spotted today, entering the ground at Davin End a woman with 2 children was having her ruck sack pulled apart by a very heavy handed inner city looking woman, apparently the supporter hadn't declared 2 cans of fanta in her bag and was getting the third degree in front of her frightened children.
Before the hurling match a waterford slithor flew over the nets and a young lad towards the back of the stand managed to catch it, immediately some mad looking steward ran after him chasing him towards the back of stand before pulling slithor off the young lad , many people booed the steward but none challenged him as the steward looked as if he was only looking for someone to do a bit of martial arts on.
If you didn't know any better you'd think the stewards were from some loyalist housing estate in Belfast ( maybe they are!), its true for Joe Brolly Croke Park has lost touch with the grassroots, these stewards might be appropriate at rock concerts in croke park but all this heavy handedness with average GAA supporters is gone ridiculous."
Never had one problem with them and I'm going to CP 30 years , maybe they are everything you say but I've never experienced it. The steward should of showed some common sense when the Mayo players wanted Tom in , but he obviously hadn't a clue who he was and tbh I didn't cop him straight off on the tv. Most of the stewards are there to get a few bob and have no interest in gaa and are just doing their job. Imo you're making a big deal out of nothing but maybe I'm completely wrong.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/03/2019 21:44:51    2176812

Replying To OpenStand:  "At last years all ireland there were many Limerick supporters who attempted to go on field manhandled and hurt by over aggressive stewards which some might say was their own fault but today Tom Parsons was prevented from joining the Mayo Panel by stewards who haven't a clue who he was ??
If you didn't know any better you'd think the stewards were from some loyalist housing estate in Belfast ( maybe they are!), its true for Joe Brolly Croke Park has lost touch with the grassroots, these stewards might be appropriate at rock concerts in croke park but all this heavy handedness with average GAA supporters is gone ridiculous."
There job is to keep fans off the pitch, I personally think fans don't have the right to enter as they please after a game. secondly, the steward didn't know him, he should of, but he didn't and he thought he was doing his job correctly

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 31/03/2019 21:56:51    2176815

Maybe you can tell what an "inner city looking woman" looks like. WTF.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 31/03/2019 22:19:49    2176825

Not surprised reading the experiences of different people across social media in response to the appalling treatment of Tom Parsons. I was there yesterday evening and had left the ground after the Division 2 final. Rather than sit for ages in traffic waiting to get out of the parking area I decided to stretch my legs and get some exercise. On my way back to the car park I was walk past the Hogan stand and at the car park corner there was a gate open so I went down to get a photograph as the lights were on and the stadium looked amazing. Just as I approached gate I got accosted by a steward who came from no where. Anyways I explained why I was there sure enough it be grand as was just taking photograph then going to which he could witness. I was told in no uncertain terms that I could not in what was anal to the extreme. Despite trying to politely reminstrate he was having none of it and got slightly aggressive even though I was friendly throughout. Anyways I just left laughing really at the absurdity of it bewildered by the lack common sense.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 31/03/2019 22:19:59    2176826

You have a point there at the all Ireland final last year i was in the Davin end behind the goals, a Limerick supporter tried to get on the field after the match and a stewart threw a punch at him and when he got 1 back with interest he wasn't long for looking for Garda protection and playing the victim. In fairness the Garda had common sense and let it off.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 31/03/2019 22:23:21    2176829

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "You have a point there at the all Ireland final last year i was in the Davin end behind the goals, a Limerick supporter tried to get on the field after the match and a stewart threw a punch at him and when he got 1 back with interest he wasn't long for looking for Garda protection and playing the victim. In fairness the Garda had common sense and let it off."
.........mmmmm.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 31/03/2019 22:55:07    2176841

Disgraceful & fair play to Des Cahill for highlighting it. Even when the Gardai came over he still didn't back off. Some day it's going to break out in violence & someone is going to get seriously clocked. If these guys are on security detail & using hands on tactics as we saw last year where they aggressively removed people from the stadium, surely someone from Croke Park can confirm that they have had the adequate training, Garda vetting & security licensing as is law. If not there are loads of cases where legal action could be taken. For years now, some of the stewards behaviour & manner in Croke Park has been disgraceful. No surprise though.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 01/04/2019 00:29:18    2176854

While I agree there have been times stewards are a bit over zealous, at the end of the day that steward was doing his job yesterday. What happened Tom Parsons last year was horrible don't get me wrong but if they wanted him to celebrate with them then why was he not in the stand with the rest of the panel. McBrearty is injured but was part of the Donegal panel on Saturday night. I understand emotions were high but the steward had to draw the line as Parsons was just a spectator as far as he was concerned. I've a feeling this won't go down well but that's my view on it.

tirchonaill92 (Donegal) - Posts: 156 - 01/04/2019 09:04:35    2176872

Des Cahill playing the part of media luvvie. Idiotic over reaction. Steward doing his job. He had no idea who Tom Parsons was. Not a crime. Stewards told not to allow anyone on pitch. Did his job. Tom Parsons embarrassed by furore over this.

Bellewest (Westmeath) - Posts: 150 - 01/04/2019 09:18:18    2176874

Many people are selfish and pig-headed, and that makes the Stewarding job difficult.

If people observed the rules, then I guess they could afford to have a lighter touch. But I think experience has caused them to view everyone as a potential rule-breaker, hence the heavy hands.

The fact that pitch access is restricted in Croke Park is well known. Yet many, likely in the heat of the moment, decide that the rules couldn't possibly apply to them personally, make access attempts. How are the stewards supposed to react? 'Ah, sure it'll be grand, it's only one or two' is not the approach to take.

I've seen this at grounds around the country. For example, at Healy Park, on the terrace side, there are very clear signs informing patrons not to stand at pitch side fence. This causes two problems - blocking the pedestrian walkway between the terrace and pitch, and blocking the view of people in the first few rows of the terrace.

Several times, I've seen people assume the rules don't apply to them, arrive late and park themselves in a prime viewing position. I've also seen weak-willed stewarding who fail to clear these people and the problem is compounded with crowds 2 and 3 deep there.

Observe the rules, enforce the rules and ensure a safe event for all.

Fire ahead with the thumbs down, lads. Rules are there to be broken after all.

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 194 - 01/04/2019 09:32:34    2176877

One time in Croke Park those done stewarding were gaels themselves from neighbouring clubs near Croke Park who were interested in GAA and could connect with the punters attending .
Now it seems many of the stewards have zero interest in GAA and a bit like the steward chasing the young fellow who caught the slithor yesterday actually have a dislike for GAA people . Obviously volunteer stewards are harder to get these days but hired stewards who are more at home at concerts searching for drugs or keep fans apart at a Milwall v Leeds match is hardly the answer . It smacks ( no pun intended ) of some heavy handed security firm have Croke parks contract these days .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 673 - 01/04/2019 09:59:50    2176883

jayz.."an inner city looking woman" you say? It's just not safe out there anymore

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 01/04/2019 11:46:28    2176927

Some fella, not earning much, just trying to do his job. Someone should have spotted Tom and sorted it out but the steward was just doing what he was supposed to do.

Going to Croker for years and I have to say the stewards have never bothered me once. I've never seen anything that would make me want to complain about them. I've seen them have to deal with some very aggressive behaviour from fans (of all different counties) though.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 01/04/2019 12:05:44    2176933

Maybe you can tell what an "inner city looking woman" looks like. WTF.

Has back to Hill 16, facing the Canal end?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 01/04/2019 12:07:24    2176937

Replying To Bellewest:  "Des Cahill playing the part of media luvvie. Idiotic over reaction. Steward doing his job. He had no idea who Tom Parsons was. Not a crime. Stewards told not to allow anyone on pitch. Did his job. Tom Parsons embarrassed by furore over this."
I have to agree with this. The steward hadn't a clue who Parsons was, nor should need to, to be honest. All he did was do his job.
People are talking about how awful it is, given what happened to Parsons. What on earth has that got to do with it?
As you said, I'm sure Tom himself doesn't want any of this furore and people are only embarrassing him by making such a big deal of it.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 01/04/2019 12:12:53    2176939

Stewards and 'bouncers' are generally a*seholes, I mean who else would do such a job? the Mayo lads should have horsed him out of the way and brought Tom onto the pitch to celebrate.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 01/04/2019 12:41:39    2176951

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Stewards and 'bouncers' are generally a*seholes, I mean who else would do such a job? the Mayo lads should have horsed him out of the way and brought Tom onto the pitch to celebrate."
That is nonsense and mayo players or anyone else forcibly moving a steward to get someone onto the pitch would cause more trouble than anything else
disgraceful post from you threatening physical action on matchday staff/volunteer.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 01/04/2019 13:00:39    2176961

What a load of b*llsh*t. Wouldn't be a proper gaa match if we hadn't something to complain about.

If Tom Parsons had the proper accreditation I'm sure he would have been given access. It is not the stewards job to "recognise" people. Notice the Mayo CB are not making any fuss......could it be that someone forgot to give him accreditation or that he never requested it.......which isn't the end of the world either!

I have never had an issue with a CP steward searching my bag. Always very respectful just doing their job.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 01/04/2019 13:07:03    2176963

I wasn''t allowed bring a can of coke in to the Div 4 final on Saturday. The reason i presume they would give is i might throw it at someone (Im assuming there is literally zero precedent for this ever happening in croke park). This has never happened at any other ground including Pearse Stadium, Hyde Park etc.

The cynic in me says this is purely so you have to buy a -very overpriced- coke inside the ground instead.

Very poor form from what is supposed to be an organisation by the people for the people.

kazoochka (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 01/04/2019 14:25:21    2176989