2019 NFL Division 2 final

Although a lot of folks seem not to like it the game last night is a good one to analyse for forward mark on. Donegal (Michael murphy) got has many marks last night as the rest of the league matches put together. They pretty much were not using it at all.

I kind of understand where folks come from with catching the ball in the chest is not exactly a great skill that nearly guarantees a point. To me it's more than that though. Presumably people want to see both catching and kicking and this rule encourages and rewards that. The kick by has to be accurate, it has to be at least 20 metres. The player inside has to create space, has to know how to time the run, has to be able to catch the ball. The kick from ban Gallagher for the first catch after breaking out of defence was excellent for example. And I suppose finally Michael murphy can makes things that aren't easy look easy.

It also potentially encourages teams to go more man on man because if you let a good kicker have time and space our the field they can kick you off with a good kick pass inside.
This rule is one to think long and hard about but I'm veering more to its adoption.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 31/03/2019 08:59:43    2176569

Some very harsh comments on Meath here I think. They played some lovely stuff at times and to be honest they let us off the hook. Massive goal chance just after half time and a quite a few bad wides 2nd half. I couldn't understand why number 14 took a couple 45s when anotjer of your forwards pinged one over from the sideline over at the Cusack Stand. Showed some naivety and took the wrong option at times. But the encouraging thing from a Meath POV is that these are things that'll come with experience of playing the top teams.

I saw someone say they're not sure if Meath have any top class players. That number 10 is a serious player, great pace and can fairly take a dcore off both feet!

Well done to Meath on a great campaign I hope yous continue on the upward curve.

For ourselves it was a nightmare start with our full back getting badly exposed. We switched it up after 12 minutes and then it was about minimising mistakes and chipping away at the lead. Loved seeing Murphy in at the square all night. And what a team goal! Enjoyable evening in HQ and looking forward to seeing some of these young fellas in championship.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 31/03/2019 09:42:36    2176571

Well done to Donegal, they played well when it mattered and got the result, I think we were a little naive, played like a house on fire for the first half hour then ran out of steam. Anyway plenty of experience gained and hopefully that will stand to us in the summer.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 31/03/2019 10:33:33    2176578

Replying To TheUsername:  "Bit of a hard analysis after that games lads. Today is only a token game, that's all league finals are really. The objective was to be in Div 1 and that was achieved.

I enjoyed the game to be honest. Meath were great the first half, hungry and brought real intensity. Looked a good outfit, but very few teams can keep that intensity up in Croker for 70 mins. Maybe that is inexperience and learning curve Meath need to be on. I can't remember the last time they played in Croker in a showpiece, so I'm sure it's a new expierence for them. The expierence will benefit them, seems like lessons in managing their fitness for the whole game and game management need to be learned. It never seems to amaze me how many teams go to Croke Park and empty the tank in the first 35 mins, then struggle when they go reaching in the later stages. More expierenced teams then Meath have fallen for that one.

I thought Meath put in a very component, credible performence and very worthy of admiration and respect. Looked like their is much pride in the team, togetherness and cohesion in the team, with head room to develop. That's a mighty score to put up in Croker against a quarter final team.

Donegal are no mugs and really shouldn't be in Div 2, they are Ulster Champions. That expierence in self and big game management was there to see. Elsewise you can't legislate for a marquee player like Michael Murphy, he's probably the most complete well rounded skillful player in the country, he can do anything and boss everyone not just Meath.

Meath will have to learn and learn quick because the margins of success and failure in Div 1 are very fine and unforgiving. But no better place to be.

During today's game I was disappointed with the mark again, Murphy just made hay really and it takes away from the spectacle and excitement for me. I think Meath might have snuck it without the rule. While the call for the disallowed goal was borderline. So luck was out as well.

But loads to be positive about, topping Div 1, promotion, represented Leinster well today and flying the flag generally with now two Leinster teams in Div 1. On the nice side of the draw for the championship were you could well meet our good selves in the Leinster final where I hope we smash yee of course, with a more then good chance of making the semi final.

I hope we win Leinster this year as Group 1 is looking a group of death, conceivably based on form it could be Kerry, Tyrone, Galway/Mayo, Meath, I know that's all hypothetical of course.

Congratulations to Donegal what s pleasure it is watching Michael Murphy, EBG and a few of your other lads play."
Disallowed goal boarderline call?

It was an obvious square ball. Waiting in square before pass.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 31/03/2019 11:10:40    2176584

Good league campaign from Meath. Great to get promotion. Disappointing finish in yesterday's game. Second half showed we still are a bit behind Donegal and the likes. Aim for championship now is the super 8's. Super 8's followed by Division 1 could bring this team on a lot.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1349 - 31/03/2019 11:33:59    2176587

A very enjoyable game to watch, terrible start by Donegal but a very good second half. Meath started the game like a house on fire and we were all over the place in defence. Meath play some great football and are definitely on an upward curve. The only criticism I have is that they are not as street wise as the top teams. No way would the top teams give up an 8 point lead. However I am convinced this Meath team could be a serious outfit within a few years.

As for Donegal, we are excellent up front and poor at the back, changed times. If we can shore things up at the back we will have a good championship. We have as good a forward line as most teams. Yesterday we were missing McBrearty, MacNiallis and Ciaran Thompson, serious fire power.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 31/03/2019 12:51:40    2176601

There wasn't much in it yesterday, it was very much a game of two halves. I was again very impressed by this Meath side, they could have been significantly further ahead at half time, and have serious quality in their side. Tactically they caught us cold and decimated us in the opening 15 minutes, and it was half time before we full adjusted. I think this Meath team have the potential to keep improving in 2019, and I hope they now give Leinster a serious rattle this year.

For Donegal, I'm delighted for what is generally a fairly inexperienced side to win a trophy in Croke Park, particularly considering how many players we've lost in 2019 to Injuries and other things. Considering the strength in Division 2 this year, and we were missing Murphy, McBrearty, MacNiallais, McGee, McGrath, McGlynn etc, I knew it would be difficult for us to get promoted, but fair play to all involved.

This predominantly very young Donegal side has now won McKenna Cup, Div 2 league title and Ulster Championship in the last 14 months, hopefully we can continue that trend this Summer.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 31/03/2019 14:32:02    2176624

Replying To 32_4_1:  "Can't speak for anyone else, but I certainly hold Tyrone in high regard!"
There is always one.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 31/03/2019 14:51:08    2176632

Replying To waynoI:  "Meath are progressing and deservedly got promoted and congratulations on that

That said, I don't think anyone at the top table will be overly stressed about Meath in the immediate future (upcoming championship). Despite their progress they are still miles off the top teams which playing in D1 next year will help bridge but relax, Meath are getting there but theyre still a long way off being BACK.

Anyone who will be competing in the serious business end of the championship will have looked at the game and thought about Donegal and how good they where and in particular Michael murphy who was awesome.

That period of play from when they got their goal, to the final whistle, was pretty much as perfect a spell you are likely to see.

Got the lead after a brilliant, superb bit of play and then showed all their experience and know how to get over the line. It was Dublin-esque. No panic, just pass the ball around and wait for the gaps to appear against a team who where goosed and gave everything.

At no point in that game even when Meath where 8 up was I convinced Donegal would lose. They didn't waver and I always felt that Meath would run out of steam and I think Donegal knew that and believed that theyd get their purple patch and take advantage and they took it in bucket loads.

Great game of ball."
Spot on

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 31/03/2019 14:51:38    2176633

People shouldn't be surprised the Ulster champions won Division Two.

Chubby (Louth) - Posts: 102 - 31/03/2019 15:11:00    2176640

Congratulations to Donegal. Definatly a top 6 team who will.probaly be Ulster champions this year. Its u guys r Tyrone. This Donegal team are best young team in the country after kerry. And are definitely All Ireland contenders in coming years and I personally expect them to be winning Sam Maguire in 2022 2023. Seriously good quality gaelic football team. With one of the greats of all time. The great Michael Murphy. Murphy is some footballer. Well done to Donegal. The future looks good for the men from Tir Chonaill.

For Meath allot of positives after a sucessful campaign. Alot to work to do. But thats all part in parcel of team development. To get to the top table and stay ( super 8/ division 1 level ) there will many up and downs and moral victories and lessons learned. Meath football is definitely on an upward curve. I definitely feel and if u look at everything from underage we r entering a new period in Meath football and the post Boylan era of 2006 to 2016 is over. And while its impossible to predict actually what level of sucess Meath will have. I think if u anyalsis Meath football from top to bottom , u can conclude Meath will be much stronger in the next ten years, in the 2020s then we have been in the last ten years. There will be ups and downs and everything will be very hard and tough to achieve . But Meath football is definitely going the right direction .

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 31/03/2019 16:28:40    2176656

Congratulations to Donegal and commiserations to Meath.

Donegal are a team with bags of potential and very exciting to watch.

As for Meath they've exceeded all expectations this year. The easy part has been done now, the real work starts for Meath and McEntee now.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 31/03/2019 16:56:30    2176670

Also to emphasis how new this Meath was and this was basically their first time in Croke Park. Of the first 15 players who started for Meath yesterday only 3 were on the Meath team who last played in Croke Park in 2016 v the Dubs. They were Donal keoghan Michael Newman and Cillian Sullivan. 12 of the 15 who started yesterday were not on Meath team who last played in Croke Park two and half years ago. The Meath players who were on the Meath team that last played in Croke Park the last time played we played there 2 and half years ago and who r no longer on the panel for different reasons r Paddy O Rourke, Declan Symth, Alan Douglas , Donnacha Toibin, Cian O Brien, Harry Rooney, Andrew Tormey , Eamon Wallace, Dalton McDonagh , Ronan Jones, Joey Wallace and Cathal Finn. All these Meath players played v Dublin when we last played in Croke Park in 2016.

To go 8 points up and 5 points up half time and leading the game all the way up to the near the 60th minute and then lose by 2 points v the Ulster champions and a top 6 yeam ( who yes have a young team also , but a young team who played division 1 football and reached super 8 and played Dubs in Croker last year and won Ulster last year and have players who beat kerry and Dublin in Croke Park and players who have won Sam in Croke Park, basically the best Ulster county of the decade and had one of the teams of the decade eg 2012 Champions , a county that have spent the whole decade at the top table of gaelic football ) is a good sign for Meath.
For basically so many of these Meath player it was their first outing in Croker and yesterdays game was basically a new Meath team which is only playing months together ( Remember 6 players who started yesterday for Meath did not play v Tyrone in last years championship) . Yesterdays maiden outing in Croke Park for this young Meath team was very good one if u look at it in reality.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 31/03/2019 17:06:22    2176675

Again congrats to Meath on a successful league campaign and hard luck on yesterday evening's final. Played some excellent football in the first half. Brought the expected intensity I expected and took advantage of Donegal not been fully tuned in. Impressed with Lavin esp going forward and McMahon before going off though Reilly was more than a capable replacement. The standing ovation from Meath supporters at HT was warranted. Couple of missed opportunities in the 2nd half esp the goal chance and then Newman missing the free esp when Dardis had previously hit one from the touchline were pivotal moments. Visibly tired in the 2nd half when Donegal went up a gear utilizing some of the serious pace Donegal have in the side. Getting to a Leinster final is imperative but not a given as despite no Dublin on that side of the draw there are banana skins all the same. I would have slight reservations over peaking too soon in terms of fitness and intensity esp after yesterday's 2nd half. Looking forward need to build on squad depth the importance of which Donegal showed yesterday.

As for ourselves showed good character after a difficult start. Really felt for McCole but he will learn from the experience and it stand to him. Neil took a while to warm up but made big difference for us. As did the very much unheralded Eamon Doherty who is quietly earning himself a niche as the go to man to mark the opposition's danger man. Really pleased with our young players yesterday. I thought Niall O'Donnell was superb and showed more of his capabilities then his last appearance in Croke Park as part of the 2016 minor team. Jason McGee has had an excellent league overall and was again excellent yesterday. Special mention to Oisin Gallen who was my MOTM given his age and first appearance at HQ. Nothing to add really regarding MM. Just blessed to have him. Going to be interesting to see where he plays in the championship but no doubt for me where I would have him. Another impressive outing from Jamie Brennan who is an edge of the seat player. Lots of positives but defensively very open at times though I do expect improvements come summertime.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 31/03/2019 19:34:18    2176750

It is quite extraordinary in last 3 games between Meath and Donegal have followed the same patterns , almost being identical in many ways. Donegal won the three game. But Meath went toe to toe with Donegal in the three games and Meath where ahead around the 60th mark in all the three games and Meath played reall good football in the three games. In all.the games beforehand people were predicted Donegal wud be way to strong for Meath. I think on this forum.someone last weel predicted 10 point loss for Meath v Donegal.

The last 4 games between Meath and Donegal
2014 Donegal 1-12 Meath 1-12
2017 Donegal 1-15 Meath 1-14
2018 Donegal 1 -13 Meath 0-14
2018 Donegal 1-17 Meath 1- 15

2017 Meath 1 - 14 Donegal 1 - 15 The lead changes 8 times. Meath are ahead on 60th minute. The game is level in 70th minute. And in injury time McBreaty scores brillant point to win the game for Donegal by 1 point. A very good game , very even match .

2018 Meath 0- 14 Donegal 1- 13 February Meath are better team up to 60th minute playing some really good football. A messy goal for Donegal , Donegal take over and go in the lead and do what they did yesterday, hold onto the ball with clever possesion and win the match in injury time by 2 points.

2018 March Meath 1- 15 Donegal 1- 17. Meath play some really good football in first half. 5 up at half time. For third game between both counties in 2 years , Meath are ahead coming up to 60th minute. Donegal play some real good football in the second half. Very similar to game in February Donegal get ahead and hold onto ball in last 6 or 7 minutes or so and win by 2 points in injury time.

And remarkably the game before these three games between Meath v Donegal in 2014 was another very similar contest.

2014 Meath 1 - 12 Donegal 1 - 12. Meath were massive underdogs v McGuiness Donegal who reached All Ireland final in 2014. Meath were excellent in the first half leading by 5 points at one stage. There was 1 point between teams at half time. Meath went 4 points ahead in second half and again yes again for 4th time Meath in last 4 games Meath were ahead in 60th min v Donegal. Meath were ahead in injury time and after throw up for wasting time and free given to Donegal. The great Michael Murphy ( that man again) scored a magnificent free from side line to draw the game 1 - 12 1 - 12 each. Even McGuiness admitted Meath were unlucky not win the game afterwards.

Donegal have a better team and much further down the road of team development . But Meath with a bit of luck could have won those 4 last games. Take nothing away from Donegal they are stronger then us. But we have put it up to them consistently and being more then a match for Donegal. And the last 4 games , lets leave 2014 its to long ago, say the last 3 games between both counties in last 2 years have been very close tight affairs where Murphy and McBreaty really have been the difference and the games have been won in injury time. And Meath played some quality high standard football in both those three ganes v Donegal.

Donegal won the three games. But the point is here , a point I made last year and the year before on this forum. Every time Meath played stronger teams division 1 team , the only division 1 teams top ten teams we have played in last 24 months we have gone toe to toe with them for 70 mins and played very very well . We havent got results with exception of the victory over Galway and draw with Roscommon. But the fact is under McEntee, and this is a fact we have played very well and eitheir being pretty much level or ahead or behind by point or two in injury time in last 2 years v Donegal three times , Tyrone, Roscommon, Galway , Dublin twice.

Thats one of the reasons Why I am quitely confident when Meath play division 1 teams next year league we will do better then people think. The evidence is everytime we played division 1 teams in last 24 months we have player very well and went toe to toe foe 70 mins with these division 1 teams and were very competitive v Donegal three times Tyrone Galway and Roscomon and kildare this year. People saw performance v kildare in 2017 but ignored the performance v Donegal Galway in 2017. People saw performance v Longford in 2018 but ignored the performance v Tyrone and Roscommon in 2018.

Our performance v stronger teams that was the reasons one of the main reasons why I predicted last year on this forum we would see a big improvement in Meath this year. And it was one reasons why I predicted this year on this forum at the start of the league that we wud be promoted this spring. I dont think we will get to Super 8 this year and I would be worried if we did. look.what happenned to Roscommon last year when they reached super 8 after promotion from Division 2. Kildare were more equipped for Super 8 by playing in divsion 1 last spring.

But overall next spring I think we will do much better in divsion 1 then people. Its not based on blind faith its based on tge best teams we played in last 2 years , the division 1 teams , teams from the top ten teams in the country we have played in the last 2 years, we were very competitive against and they all found it very hard to beat us and that includes Donegal three times, Tyrone Galway and Roscommon and Dublin twice ( I know the Dublin games where v weak Dublin teams but challenge game Dubs had Fenton and 5 All Ireland winners and it still was a win over a Dublin team and it all helps in the morale of county ).

When I aways bring these facts up these very good performances up people ignore it or ridicule it. But it is factual. It is realty . These performances did happen. We didnt win. Because Tyrone and Donegal are better teams. But we are putting it up competiting and playing very well.and going toe to toe for 70 mins v these stronger teams. Meath football always upped their game v stronger counties. That trait has returned under McEntee . That for a very young team in the early stages of development can only be positive sign. And if we get 4 games in Navan hopefully some talent from under 20 team , our strongest team at around this age group in years ( Seen this years under 20 Meath is made up of 2 minor leinster winning teams which comphresively defeated the Dubs twice ).

Thats why I am very hopeful in next years league we do well and in next years championship we will reach Super 8. This year I have my doubts we will have a great championship. Leinster final appearance is a possibility but a bad loss to laois or Dublin or a team in the backdoor is also possible. But 2020 2021 2022 will be fascinating to see how this young Meath teams develops. The longer a team stays in div 1 the stronger it gets that why next year league campaign will be very important in this teams development.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 31/03/2019 20:52:45    2176791

Congrats to Donegal. I would have heavily fancied Tyrone to retain Ulster but it won't be so simple anymore. Donegal put in a powerful performance for 3/4's of the game that shows why they deserve to be a division 1 side.

You can see why I wanted Fermanagh in the final. Our implosion to a weakened Donegal team early in the league had big implications. Not only would we have probably beaten Fermanagh in the final but next year we probably would have gotten 2 points off them in the league. Donegal next year that will be very hard.

Still delighted to go up all the same. One goal is achieved and it was massive. Even if relegated next year the Div 1 experience will make it easier to get back to Div 1 again.

The next goal is a Leinster final. Ofally up next. The winner plays Carlow and the winner of that vs Westmeath or Laois. So one of those teams will be beaten by Dublin in the Leinster final and be one game away from the super 8's. Bring it on.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/04/2019 01:28:54    2176858

RD by any chance do you have a moustache, glasses and sitting in the lower hogan on saturday?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 01/04/2019 10:37:25    2176903

Replying To Furlong1949:  "It is quite extraordinary in last 3 games between Meath and Donegal have followed the same patterns , almost being identical in many ways. Donegal won the three game. But Meath went toe to toe with Donegal in the three games and Meath where ahead around the 60th mark in all the three games and Meath played reall good football in the three games. In all.the games beforehand people were predicted Donegal wud be way to strong for Meath. I think on this forum.someone last weel predicted 10 point loss for Meath v Donegal.

The last 4 games between Meath and Donegal
2014 Donegal 1-12 Meath 1-12
2017 Donegal 1-15 Meath 1-14
2018 Donegal 1 -13 Meath 0-14
2018 Donegal 1-17 Meath 1- 15

2017 Meath 1 - 14 Donegal 1 - 15 The lead changes 8 times. Meath are ahead on 60th minute. The game is level in 70th minute. And in injury time McBreaty scores brillant point to win the game for Donegal by 1 point. A very good game , very even match .

2018 Meath 0- 14 Donegal 1- 13 February Meath are better team up to 60th minute playing some really good football. A messy goal for Donegal , Donegal take over and go in the lead and do what they did yesterday, hold onto the ball with clever possesion and win the match in injury time by 2 points.

2018 March Meath 1- 15 Donegal 1- 17. Meath play some really good football in first half. 5 up at half time. For third game between both counties in 2 years , Meath are ahead coming up to 60th minute. Donegal play some real good football in the second half. Very similar to game in February Donegal get ahead and hold onto ball in last 6 or 7 minutes or so and win by 2 points in injury time.

And remarkably the game before these three games between Meath v Donegal in 2014 was another very similar contest.

2014 Meath 1 - 12 Donegal 1 - 12. Meath were massive underdogs v McGuiness Donegal who reached All Ireland final in 2014. Meath were excellent in the first half leading by 5 points at one stage. There was 1 point between teams at half time. Meath went 4 points ahead in second half and again yes again for 4th time Meath in last 4 games Meath were ahead in 60th min v Donegal. Meath were ahead in injury time and after throw up for wasting time and free given to Donegal. The great Michael Murphy ( that man again) scored a magnificent free from side line to draw the game 1 - 12 1 - 12 each. Even McGuiness admitted Meath were unlucky not win the game afterwards.

Donegal have a better team and much further down the road of team development . But Meath with a bit of luck could have won those 4 last games. Take nothing away from Donegal they are stronger then us. But we have put it up to them consistently and being more then a match for Donegal. And the last 4 games , lets leave 2014 its to long ago, say the last 3 games between both counties in last 2 years have been very close tight affairs where Murphy and McBreaty really have been the difference and the games have been won in injury time. And Meath played some quality high standard football in both those three ganes v Donegal.

Donegal won the three games. But the point is here , a point I made last year and the year before on this forum. Every time Meath played stronger teams division 1 team , the only division 1 teams top ten teams we have played in last 24 months we have gone toe to toe with them for 70 mins and played very very well . We havent got results with exception of the victory over Galway and draw with Roscommon. But the fact is under McEntee, and this is a fact we have played very well and eitheir being pretty much level or ahead or behind by point or two in injury time in last 2 years v Donegal three times , Tyrone, Roscommon, Galway , Dublin twice.

Thats one of the reasons Why I am quitely confident when Meath play division 1 teams next year league we will do better then people think. The evidence is everytime we played division 1 teams in last 24 months we have player very well and went toe to toe foe 70 mins with these division 1 teams and were very competitive v Donegal three times Tyrone Galway and Roscomon and kildare this year. People saw performance v kildare in 2017 but ignored the performance v Donegal Galway in 2017. People saw performance v Longford in 2018 but ignored the performance v Tyrone and Roscommon in 2018.

Our performance v stronger teams that was the reasons one of the main reasons why I predicted last year on this forum we would see a big improvement in Meath this year. And it was one reasons why I predicted this year on this forum at the start of the league that we wud be promoted this spring. I dont think we will get to Super 8 this year and I would be worried if we did. look.what happenned to Roscommon last year when they reached super 8 after promotion from Division 2. Kildare were more equipped for Super 8 by playing in divsion 1 last spring.

But overall next spring I think we will do much better in divsion 1 then people. Its not based on blind faith its based on tge best teams we played in last 2 years , the division 1 teams , teams from the top ten teams in the country we have played in the last 2 years, we were very competitive against and they all found it very hard to beat us and that includes Donegal three times, Tyrone Galway and Roscommon and Dublin twice ( I know the Dublin games where v weak Dublin teams but challenge game Dubs had Fenton and 5 All Ireland winners and it still was a win over a Dublin team and it all helps in the morale of county ).

When I aways bring these facts up these very good performances up people ignore it or ridicule it. But it is factual. It is realty . These performances did happen. We didnt win. Because Tyrone and Donegal are better teams. But we are putting it up competiting and playing very well.and going toe to toe for 70 mins v these stronger teams. Meath football always upped their game v stronger counties. That trait has returned under McEntee . That for a very young team in the early stages of development can only be positive sign. And if we get 4 games in Navan hopefully some talent from under 20 team , our strongest team at around this age group in years ( Seen this years under 20 Meath is made up of 2 minor leinster winning teams which comphresively defeated the Dubs twice ).

Thats why I am very hopeful in next years league we do well and in next years championship we will reach Super 8. This year I have my doubts we will have a great championship. Leinster final appearance is a possibility but a bad loss to laois or Dublin or a team in the backdoor is also possible. But 2020 2021 2022 will be fascinating to see how this young Meath teams develops. The longer a team stays in div 1 the stronger it gets that why next year league campaign will be very important in this teams development."
The potential issue for Meath is that, as you point out, they are able to get up for the bigger games against bigger teams, but over the last few years they've slipped up in games against 'lesser' teams, or in games they would be expected to win.

They seems to have sorted that problem out in the league this year, but will need to show it now in Championship. A loss in Leinster against anyone other than Dublin would be a step backwards. They could definitely make the super 8's, but might require a kind draw in the backdoor at some point

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 01/04/2019 12:05:14    2176932

Good win in the end and congratulations to Meath on getting promotion, we'd need to sharpen up a lot before Ulster championship starts, if we give a head start like that even to the likes of Fermanagh it won't be easy getting back into it, we start games to sluggish and get too slack as well near the finish lots of times, we need to be more clinical.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 01/04/2019 12:37:55    2176950

I can see Meath taking a lot from this game on Saturday. In ways, the worst thing that could possibly have happened Meath would have been a victory over Donegal and a sense that the money was in the bank in terms of improvement. That spells disaster for most teams out there. I think that they are good enough to get to a leinster final but they really need to get a bit more under the skin of their opponents ala the meath team of the 80s and 90s. They have a lot to offer and are exciting going forward. Their mid field is also in good enough nick. Time will tell if McEntee can take them up another notch or 2.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 01/04/2019 13:46:33    2176978