The Last 5 Years In Football

Gaelic football is one of the greatest field games in the World.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 26/03/2019 11:53:10    2175506

Replying To galwayford:  "Gaelic football is one of the greatest field games in the World."
Hurling is the greatest game played by any man.
Gaelic football is the greatest game played by any person.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 26/03/2019 12:31:47    2175523

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Hurling is the greatest game played by any man.
Gaelic football is the greatest game played by any person."
You know plenty about both codes :)

Fewpucks24 (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 26/03/2019 12:57:14    2175532

Replying To Fewpucks24:  "You know plenty about both codes :)"
I robbed that line from Anthony Daly and know very little about it but hurling is just above football for me.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 26/03/2019 14:10:00    2175549

Replying To candlewax:  "" Mayo bottlers when Galway have been about as relevant as as wicklow in the All Ireland series for the past 20 years "

I'm not sure if you know your football history , if only you had said past *21 years as Galway have won 2 all ireland's in that time. Mayo have won 3. OVERALL. In there history.
If you want to look back , Galway have more All Irelands and Connaught's than Mayo.
If you want to look back to last season , Galway got to a semi final , think you'll find Mayo didnt make super 8's.
Discuss."
ok smartarse, the past 18yrs youve done 0 , apart from 1 win against kerry.

Instead of building momentum after beating kerry , yer fans deserted the team with a no-show for the Dublin match.
That fed to the Galway players last year and dubs beat ye with one hand tied behind your back.
That small-time if you ask me..
At least wicklow fans show up

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 26/03/2019 14:56:41    2175563

Replying To Vishred:  "ok smartarse, the past 18yrs youve done 0 , apart from 1 win against kerry.

Instead of building momentum after beating kerry , yer fans deserted the team with a no-show for the Dublin match.
That fed to the Galway players last year and dubs beat ye with one hand tied behind your back.
That small-time if you ask me..
At least wicklow fans show up"
The past 68 years you've won 0 All Ireland's , that must sting a small bit.

Did someone from Wicklow hurt you?

We were well beaten against the Dubs, must have been there magical 6 subs of the bench that you admire so greatly that killed us off after a good first half.

The big mayo support in Newbridge didnt help Mayo did it?

One last question for you. For a Galway team that have been so disappointing over the last few years , why have we beaten this great Mayo team the last 7 times we've played them?
Discuss.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 26/03/2019 15:32:47    2175579

Replying To Pericles:  "Hardly a myth Alan... an opinion definitely, same as your own.

Andy's no athlete... now that has the makings of a myth... you're confusing the aesthetic with the athletic there. Andy's one of the hardest trainers out there, into it professionally (he's a gym owner). No one stays in that condition into his 30's without a heap of hard work. You mightn't want to sculpt him and have his statue in your front garden, but you'd have said the same of Brian O'Driscoll."
hes a good trainer but hardly a special out of this world athlete..it is a myth that sice is the best club player around....sice cant do the things the top county guys can...good player but come on

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 27/03/2019 23:30:29    2175929

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Andy would probably have retired 4 or 5 years ago if he hadn't left his sales rep job and opened his own gym. Between a lot of driving and being injury-prone his football prospects weren't too positive. Went on a tailored S&C program which was a big factor in his longevity and winning Player of the Year."
so good at making clever runs, being a smart footballer, great attitude..constantly shows for the ball...you dont need to be an athletic freak which is my point

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 27/03/2019 23:32:01    2175930

Replying To alano12:  "so good at making clever runs, being a smart footballer, great attitude..constantly shows for the ball...you dont need to be an athletic freak which is my point"
I agree with all of that Alano. But he wasn't showing all of those attributes 5 years ago and not always picked because his fitness was lacking and was injury prone. Without the tailored S&C program he would probably have retired. I don't know the ins and outs of his specific regime but I think it also involved injury avoidance, if that's the term. Not sure what the term is but it's proactively training to avoid the injuries that some athletes commonly pick up. He must live like a monk, watching his nutrition, hitting targets, to still be playing at that level at his age.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 28/03/2019 09:30:24    2175961

Replying To candlewax:  "The past 68 years you've won 0 All Ireland's , that must sting a small bit.

Did someone from Wicklow hurt you?

We were well beaten against the Dubs, must have been there magical 6 subs of the bench that you admire so greatly that killed us off after a good first half.

The big mayo support in Newbridge didnt help Mayo did it?

One last question for you. For a Galway team that have been so disappointing over the last few years , why have we beaten this great Mayo team the last 7 times we've played them?
Discuss."
You raise your game against Mayo and have a relative success fair play, but then have a habit of tripping up against any random opposition after that ..

Bar last season Mayo have represented connacht every year since 2011 in the All=Ireland series
whether they've won connacht or not.
That the reality..

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 28/03/2019 11:35:47    2175991

Loving this Galway v Mayo bite. Just what I like to see. Keep it up.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 28/03/2019 12:20:43    2175997

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I agree with all of that Alano. But he wasn't showing all of those attributes 5 years ago and not always picked because his fitness was lacking and was injury prone. Without the tailored S&C program he would probably have retired. I don't know the ins and outs of his specific regime but I think it also involved injury avoidance, if that's the term. Not sure what the term is but it's proactively training to avoid the injuries that some athletes commonly pick up. He must live like a monk, watching his nutrition, hitting targets, to still be playing at that level at his age."
agreed...he wasnt the same after the injury alright for a number of years

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 28/03/2019 13:27:02    2176011

Replying To Vishred:  "You raise your game against Mayo and have a relative success fair play, but then have a habit of tripping up against any random opposition after that ..

Bar last season Mayo have represented connacht every year since 2011 in the All=Ireland series
whether they've won connacht or not.
That the reality.."
Yes , you've represented Connaught poorly since 2011 as you haven't won Sam. What I don't understand and you might help me with this is why are Mayo fans so sensitive when it comes to people calling them bottlers or chokers?
This is not a sarcastic comment either , I'm genuinely curious.
Mayo have lost 9 All Ireland final's since 1989. Surely that criticism is absolutely fair.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 28/03/2019 15:21:16    2176038

Replying To candlewax:  "Yes , you've represented Connaught poorly since 2011 as you haven't won Sam. What I don't understand and you might help me with this is why are Mayo fans so sensitive when it comes to people calling them bottlers or chokers?
Mayo have lost 9 All Ireland final's since 1989. Surely that criticism is absolutely fair."
threw it away against meath.
Lost to better teams in all other finals.
Most GAA fans who know their sport recognize this , and then you have the selective bunCh who take another view,
Might not have won Sam just yet but its nice competing at the top end of the bracket on a consistent basis all the same ,

Our solid set-up prevents the county team team from disappearing into the wilderness over a sustained period of time.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 28/03/2019 16:01:47    2176045

Replying To Vishred:  "threw it away against meath.
Lost to better teams in all other finals.
Most GAA fans who know their sport recognize this , and then you have the selective bunCh who take another view,
Might not have won Sam just yet but its nice competing at the top end of the bracket on a consistent basis all the same ,

Our solid set-up prevents the county team team from disappearing into the wilderness over a sustained period of time."
So they're not bottlers?

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 28/03/2019 16:19:17    2176047

Replying To candlewax:  "So they're not bottlers?"
absolutely not, if anything they along with kerry should be credited for keeping the game of gaelic football alive over the past decade.
This dublin team is no ordinary outfit.

championship was forgone conclusion with kerry and Mayos early exits last year and the poor turnouts and low tv viewing back this up.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 28/03/2019 16:58:59    2176056

Replying To candlewax:  "Yes , you've represented Connaught poorly since 2011 as you haven't won Sam. What I don't understand and you might help me with this is why are Mayo fans so sensitive when it comes to people calling them bottlers or chokers?
Mayo have lost 9 All Ireland final's since 1989. Surely that criticism is absolutely fair."
We have a terrible record in finals across all grades, its depressing even thinking about it and nobody knows it note than us but the Mayo team since 2011 can not be accused of being bottlers...the only game I would suggest we threw away was the first semi v Kerry in 2014.

I'm guessing you have never played football as knowing the effort and dedication players put in (from all counties) I would not class them as bottlers or chockers....

Your bottlers comments are ignorant....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 28/03/2019 17:51:53    2176062

Replying To alano12:  "hes a good trainer but hardly a special out of this world athlete..it is a myth that sice is the best club player around....sice cant do the things the top county guys can...good player but come on"
That actually was my point... no comparison between himself and the likes of Connolly when playing the game amongst and against the best county players, but mythical at the next level down.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 28/03/2019 18:10:41    2176068

Replying To candlewax:  "So they're not bottlers?"
Bottlers is the easy way to put it.
I dont know is it bottling when they were not favorites to win any of the finals, going into them they were given a small chance of winning, theres been one or two they left behind them.
Mayo fans are proud of the team, plenty of great matches and wins but obviously not in finals, won plenty quarter and semi finals.
Mayo bet Galway in league and championship from 2009-2015, but didnt matter much, doesnt say much that Galway are happy out just to beat Mayo now, ye even include FBD league games.
Mayo fans are overly optimistic and then Galway fans are overly negative and id much prefer to be the optimistic fan.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 28/03/2019 18:13:44    2176069

Vishred - When's the last time Mayo or Kerry beat Dublin in the championship? You should be crediting Donegal in 2014 for actually beating Dublin. You realise you can bring as many fans to the game as you like , the fans cant win the game for you. Newcastle United have 52,000 at there home games every week.
Yew-Tree - It's not that they're ignorant. It's just the hard truth. I understand the dedication these lads put in , when the dust settles, they will be known ( Not in Mayo ) but in every other county as bottlers. You might think it's harsh but that's just the way they'e viewed whether people want to admit it or not. If you do something 9 times in a certain period of time and fail each time, the unlucky tag runs a bit dry.
tommy123 - "Mayo fans are overly optimistic and then Galway fans are overly negative" I probably agree with you on this. Take for example, when the Galway hurlers were failing to get over the line , don't think you were seeing Galway for Liam ( insert year ) signs or flags going around Galway. In fact they were getting criticised. You have to remember Galway aren't just happy to beat Mayo. We reached a semi final last year and I would suggest we'll get further than Mayo again this year.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 29/03/2019 09:24:11    2176140