Whats ye view on Conor Cox should Peter have giving him
a chance i know he had a few runs in the league before
looking at the Rossie games he os built like a tank very accurate
a big plus to the Rossies i think he could have done a job for Kerry
im only looking from afar i would like yer take on it

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 09/03/2019 14:01:04    2171245

He is certainly performing very well for Ros so far, looks to be a real find for us which was vital having lost both Murtaghs, Fintan Cregg from last year. As regards Kerry, I don't know would he have flourished there giving the depth of forward talent they have right now. With Ros, he has become the focal point of our attack and probably our most important forward. He has been a huge positive for us and I can't wait to see himself, D Murtagh, the smiths all playing together, it could be very exciting!

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 09/03/2019 14:38:05    2171248

Cox is doing well but with Kerry going with a two man full forward line there are too many ahead of him and I don't think he was ever going to get game time, definitely not in the championship anyway.

Clifford, Geaney, Walsh, O'Brien and JOD are all definitely ahead of him in there and then you've Spillane, O'Se, Brosnan, Shaw and McCarthy all looking for spots too. Barry John cant even make the extended panel. There probably hasn't ever been a tougher time to be looking to break in to the Kerry inside line.

Good luck to him though, fine player.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/03/2019 14:42:50    2171251

Only saw him against us and he looked like a decent player, time will tell.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 09/03/2019 14:47:26    2171253

Replying To wfkerry:  "Whats ye view on Conor Cox should Peter have giving him
a chance i know he had a few runs in the league before
looking at the Rossie games he os built like a tank very accurate
a big plus to the Rossies i think he could have done a job for Kerry
im only looking from afar i would like yer take on it"
Nothing at all to do with Peter K as a manager, so go put the blame somewhere else. Peter had no opportunity to give Conor Cox a chance with Kerry. Conor had his mind made up to go to Roscommon this season even before Peter Keane came into the Kerry job. It wasn't like Connor just decided one night to go with Roscommon, a lot of thought and planning went into the decision.
Under Fitzmaurice, Cox was given a very short and limited opportunity with Kerry. Cox will always put scores consistently on the board and you couldn't say that about every forward who was involved under Fitzmaurice or even currently in the squad.

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 09/03/2019 15:46:45    2171256

Replying To Kingdomson:  "Nothing at all to do with Peter K as a manager, so go put the blame somewhere else. Peter had no opportunity to give Conor Cox a chance with Kerry. Conor had his mind made up to go to Roscommon this season even before Peter Keane came into the Kerry job. It wasn't like Connor just decided one night to go with Roscommon, a lot of thought and planning went into the decision.
Under Fitzmaurice, Cox was given a very short and limited opportunity with Kerry. Cox will always put scores consistently on the board and you couldn't say that about every forward who was involved under Fitzmaurice or even currently in the squad."
Exactly, Cox didn't get a fair crack under fitzmaurice when other lads got multiple upon multiple chances.

Look what he did to Brendan o'sullivan, Brendan was a very direct running midfielder and 6 months under the old regime and he was turning back and hand passing the ball 3 yards.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2019 19:05:59    2171279

Cox's absence from the kerry panel had very little to do with his footballing ability

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 09/03/2019 22:43:29    2171335

Replying To Kingdomson:  "Nothing at all to do with Peter K as a manager, so go put the blame somewhere else. Peter had no opportunity to give Conor Cox a chance with Kerry. Conor had his mind made up to go to Roscommon this season even before Peter Keane came into the Kerry job. It wasn't like Connor just decided one night to go with Roscommon, a lot of thought and planning went into the decision.
Under Fitzmaurice, Cox was given a very short and limited opportunity with Kerry. Cox will always put scores consistently on the board and you couldn't say that about every forward who was involved under Fitzmaurice or even currently in the squad."
I don't think he ment it as an attack on Peter. Very defensive there .

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 10/03/2019 00:17:00    2171340

I can confirm that we in Roscommon are absolutely delighted to have Conor Cox.He has many good years ahead in the famous primrose and blue.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 10/03/2019 10:26:02    2171359

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Cox's absence from the kerry panel had very little to do with his footballing ability"
I don't know the backstory there but do you honestly believe he is better than the current panellists? I have nothing against the lad but I just don't see where he would fit at the moment.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/03/2019 10:58:13    2171364

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I don't know the backstory there but do you honestly believe he is better than the current panellists? I have nothing against the lad but I just don't see where he would fit at the moment."
As a Dub fan, I saw him live last week-end, other than that I've only seen snippets on TV. From that limited knowledge of the player I have to say he seems to have a lot going for him, big, strong, skilful and accurate. Watching him at the game live he also demonstrated a serious energy and appetite for work, non-stop running. On the limited evidence of that game if there is a panel in Ireland that he would not add value to, well I'm not aware of them.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 681 - 10/03/2019 14:16:57    2171389

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I don't know the backstory there but do you honestly believe he is better than the current panellists? I have nothing against the lad but I just don't see where he would fit at the moment."
Oh god no Gerry, I wouldn't have him within the extended panel, Junior level at a push, a hard push. All current panel members are well ahead of him on capabilities.

Still hats off for making the driver with the Rossies - but no wouldn't be involved at home in our local set up.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 10/03/2019 16:05:22    2171415

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Oh god no Gerry, I wouldn't have him within the extended panel, Junior level at a push, a hard push. All current panel members are well ahead of him on capabilities.

Still hats off for making the driver with the Rossies - but no wouldn't be involved at home in our local set up."
Interesting.If Ye're that good,the Dubs must be shaking in their boots.We'll take Cox any day and be glad to have him.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 10/03/2019 17:18:14    2171439

Replying To farneygael:  "I don't think he ment it as an attack on Peter. Very defensive there ."
No, i'm being honest but you are bring defensive and wrongly so in my opinion. You seem to have some insight into what this person actually meant despite being contradicted by what they've actually written in public. What was inferred within the question was simply very clear, and I quote, "Whats ye view on Conor Cox should Peter have giving him a chance..." The implication is clear by a statement within a question and you may defend that but all i've done is honestly refute it with the truth. Or is one meant to leave something that simply isn't true slide in your world view?

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 10/03/2019 17:27:15    2171443

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Oh god no Gerry, I wouldn't have him within the extended panel, Junior level at a push, a hard push. All current panel members are well ahead of him on capabilities.

Still hats off for making the driver with the Rossies - but no wouldn't be involved at home in our local set up."
I don't agree with this at all and you can't prove it either. Conor Cox was brilliant for the Kerry juniors and won an All Ireland with them and his scoring return with his club was outstanding. Do you seriously think a natural scoring forward like Conor Cox would not give a higher scoring return rate over a season than say a Stephen O'Brien, Mickey Geaney, or Kevin McCarthy if given the same game time and opportunity? Not that those guys are not fine players in their own right but better score getters than Conor Cox - where's the evidence? Maybe I'm too old school but a forwards primiary job is to put scores on the board. Perhaps the others train harder, run harder and tackle harder but in a Championship game of consequence I'll take my chances with a scoring forward like Conor Cox over those names any day to put points on the board and win a game.

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 10/03/2019 17:37:18    2171450

Replying To Kingdomson:  "I don't agree with this at all and you can't prove it either. Conor Cox was brilliant for the Kerry juniors and won an All Ireland with them and his scoring return with his club was outstanding. Do you seriously think a natural scoring forward like Conor Cox would not give a higher scoring return rate over a season than say a Stephen O'Brien, Mickey Geaney, or Kevin McCarthy if given the same game time and opportunity? Not that those guys are not fine players in their own right but better score getters than Conor Cox - where's the evidence? Maybe I'm too old school but a forwards primiary job is to put scores on the board. Perhaps the others train harder, run harder and tackle harder but in a Championship game of consequence I'll take my chances with a scoring forward like Conor Cox over those names any day to put points on the board and win a game."
Being from Duagh I know Cox very well and even though I hate Listowel with a passion I must say Conor is a brilliant forward and like you say your self would be a better finisher that Mike geaney McCarthy and o'brien But those other guys will give you more running and energy.

Themall1916 (Kerry) - Posts: 98 - 10/03/2019 18:38:05    2171465

Replying To Kingdomson:  "I don't agree with this at all and you can't prove it either. Conor Cox was brilliant for the Kerry juniors and won an All Ireland with them and his scoring return with his club was outstanding. Do you seriously think a natural scoring forward like Conor Cox would not give a higher scoring return rate over a season than say a Stephen O'Brien, Mickey Geaney, or Kevin McCarthy if given the same game time and opportunity? Not that those guys are not fine players in their own right but better score getters than Conor Cox - where's the evidence? Maybe I'm too old school but a forwards primiary job is to put scores on the board. Perhaps the others train harder, run harder and tackle harder but in a Championship game of consequence I'll take my chances with a scoring forward like Conor Cox over those names any day to put points on the board and win a game."
I thought Cox won three All-Ireland junior medals.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 10/03/2019 19:48:48    2171481

Lads he is a Rossie now so leave it at that.
Roscommon might be the perfect fit for Cox and i hope he has a great county career.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 10/03/2019 19:59:36    2171487

If you're talking purely about putting the balk over the bar then yes, but like I said in a post above I strongly suspect we'll have a two man full forward line this summer and that two man line is probably Clifford and Geaney. Walsh and JOD would be next in line. I simply cannot see Cox beating any of those guys out.

The third spot in the FF line will be for a worker bee like O'Brien or McCarthy. I don't think Cox is suited to doing that. It's not that I think he is not good enough, it's just we happen to have a lot of good inside forwards at the moment and it's a tough time to be trying to break in.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/03/2019 20:14:30    2171493

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "I thought Cox won three All-Ireland junior medals."
He definitely won two.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 10/03/2019 20:30:02    2171501