Dublin V Tyrone

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "As I said...just watched the Dublin full back line being taken apart again...Dublin have no full back line and Tyrone's kicking game destroyed them...I don't think there's any disputing that in this game"
I thought it was your defence that really won the game to be honest. Excellent work.

Some great kick passing from Tyrone into their forwards though to be fair.

Whether it'll work again this summer remains to be seen as I'm not sure Dublin will remain as open as we saw them tonight. This Dublin team tends to learn from its mistakes. Maybe they can't this time though.

Great performance all the same from Tyrone.

Disappointing league campaign from Dublin but I don't think they're actually too far away to be honest.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 16/03/2019 22:13:41    2172849

Replying To greysoil:  "Just a question. Was that not clear to you?
Perhaps you haven't realised that Dublin have lost 3 games. You can downplay the league if you wish, but I think this will dent their belief. Gavin not a happy man this evening. Perhaps it's time for a few of ye to get back to the soccer terraces."
Back to the soccer terraces? Ah ha. Let yourself down there bud.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/03/2019 22:19:37    2172852

Replying To waynoI:  "Thanks for your concern. Much appreciated."
Don't worry Waynol it wasn't meant to be a personal show of concern.....just an observation

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 16/03/2019 22:20:13    2172853

Replying To superbluedub:  "Yea I get it , you are anti Dublin."
No just anti soccer rituals in our game

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 16/03/2019 22:22:54    2172855

Replying To Joxer:  "Back to the soccer terraces? Ah ha. Let yourself down there bud."
Not really flower

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 16/03/2019 22:24:27    2172857

Tyrone deserved that win. Controlled it even with a man down. I would go as far to say it was the best win I have seen against this Dublin football team in overall consistency of performance.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 16/03/2019 22:36:43    2172862

Will we see jim Gavin sending for the cavalry now after this defeat.

I predict the return of Connolly and maybe o'carroll.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/03/2019 22:38:38    2172864

Replying To greysoil:  "Not really flower"
You me good man are a shit stirer, your anti dub jibes are quite frankly so childish they should never have got through admin.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 16/03/2019 22:43:13    2172866

Replying To greysoil:  "No just anti soccer rituals in our game"
God help us. Soccer rituals like waving flags, having smoke bombs and singing. It's called atmosphere. It has nothing to do with soccer. Do you whinge the same way when rugby fans are waving flags and singing that famous Glasgow Celtic song, The Fields of Athenry?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/03/2019 22:43:30    2172867

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Will we see jim Gavin sending for the cavalry now after this defeat.

I predict the return of Connolly and maybe o'carroll."
Will we see Keane doing likewise?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/03/2019 22:51:07    2172868

Replying To Joxer:  "God help us. Soccer rituals like waving flags, having smoke bombs and singing. It's called atmosphere. It has nothing to do with soccer. Do you whinge the same way when rugby fans are waving flags and singing that famous Glasgow Celtic song, The Fields of Athenry?"
Did I mention the waving of flags or the singing of songs???

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 16/03/2019 22:53:00    2172869

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Will we see jim Gavin sending for the cavalry now after this defeat.

Nah Kerry tried that sending for the cavalry lark , Galvin etc , didn't work for your lot , doubt Gavin failed to see that , nice to see your thinking about us though .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 16/03/2019 22:54:44    2172870

Replying To greysoil:  "Just a question. Was that not clear to you?
Perhaps you haven't realised that Dublin have lost 3 games. You can downplay the league if you wish, but I think this will dent their belief. Gavin not a happy man this evening. Perhaps it's time for a few of ye to get back to the soccer terraces."
Two monaghan guys coming on here who are worried about the dubs.

As I said already, thanks very much for the concern and it is noted.

But seriously, you need not worry. We can look after ourselves. I think maybe you'd be better worrying about your own team who haven't exactly done much better, in the league campaign, but there again, it really is only the league and while it's not ideal, it's far, far from catastrophic so no big deal.

We are going for 5 all Ireland's in a row, it's never been done before, that's what we're gunning for.

Dublins league campaign will not be the winning or losing of 5 in a row.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/03/2019 23:16:31    2172879

Replying To greysoil:  "Did I mention the waving of flags or the singing of songs???"
No, just, ye know, the Hill, where the flags are waved, the blue smoke and the supporters, who sing of course. Don't worry about it bud.

greysoil: "Apologies about my childish remark. It's just the hill, the blue smoke, the supporters ......"

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/03/2019 23:44:12    2172888

i see dublins having trouble with the blanket defence again only it has spread to kerry as well as monaghan and Tyrone i though yous got around that one bar the all Ireland semi of 2014 against donegal which by the way is another blanket - northern team maybe a blanket is what it takes to put the fire out in the drive for five

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 17/03/2019 00:19:28    2172894

Well done Tyrone better team won tonight no doubt about it. At last they've started to kick the ball and have serious players to hurt any team. The Dubs will be disappointed but like all league games it will be quickly forgotten when the super 8's kick off in the summer.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/03/2019 00:49:26    2172897

There are rumours that those two lads could appear again alright.
To be honest I am pleased Tyrone won.
It is about time time some team showed a bit of grit and determination for a full 70 plus against Dublin.
Dublin might actually have a rival for a change!
I noticed that Dublin's tactic of working the ball repeatedly into the D and shooting was not put into practice on Saturday.
Whether this was because of Tryones Good play/Dublin's poor play or a combination of both I don't know.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 17/03/2019 01:27:24    2172901

Replying To Jackeen:  "Will we see Keane doing likewise?"
Ya I can see Keane sending for Geaney Clifford Moran white burns Murphy and maybe even try and bring Buckley out of his enforced retirement, personally I'd call back ronan Shanahan as well as we're struggling for a proper man marker at the minute .

Hard luck tonight. I was just reading that ye had 12 of the team that won the allireland in 2018 and Tyrone were down to 14 men for 25 mins of the second half.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/03/2019 01:52:22    2172903

Dont like this one bit at all.
Dublin lulling their rivals into a false sense of security..and our gullible media and fan bases will fall for it..
Its a military styled strategy by Gavin

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 17/03/2019 02:04:59    2172904

Wouldn't be surprised if Jim's mind was made up about the league after the game down in Tralee. Get enough points to stay up and leave it at that.
They saw a hungry young Kerry team down there. However beating Dublin in Tralee is a long way off beating them in Croke Park in a big game. Why give the young Kerry players a chance to learn how to do that in a league final? Let them try to learn on their feet on the biggest day of all....

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 17/03/2019 08:28:05    2172924