Kerry V Monaghan

Hard to believe Monaghan are in a relegation battle, but Kerry came good, again, they're looking stronger all the time!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/03/2019 16:51:11    2169740

Hard to believe Monaghan are in a relegation battle, but Kerry came good, again, they're looking stronger all the time!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/03/2019 16:52:16    2169741

Monaghan played very well and the Tyrone game aside have played fairly well in all their games. The standard in Div 1 is very high. That game today was played at a great pace for this time of year. I thought the bench for Kerry had more impact that Monaghan. Mc Manus went out of the game and with him so did Monaghan. Something about that Kerry team though. At such a young age they have great mettle! We could be seeing the next dominant team. I still think Monaghan will stay up.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 03/03/2019 17:37:34    2169758

Dug deep again young lads not intimated and showed great character.
Early days but very promising.
Special mention for Tommy Walsh, man is rejuvenated and its great to see.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 03/03/2019 18:05:54    2169773

Tough times for Monaghan although saw an improvement today. Played well in patches but really missing some of our key lads - Kearns, Kelly etc. Very impressed by this Kerry team - Tommy Walsh is an amazing athlete & a superb asset. Think this team will land a few AI's for Kerry - perhaps even one this year ....

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 03/03/2019 18:16:21    2169777

Replying To westkerry:  "Dug deep again young lads not intimated and showed great character.
Early days but very promising.
Special mention for Tommy Walsh, man is rejuvenated and its great to see."
Intimidated by half a monaghan team?
Was that ever likely?

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 03/03/2019 19:28:46    2169818

Far more manly performance from us today compared to the no show v Tyrone however we still look like a side devoid of confidence. Even through we led till the hour we never looked like winning the game 4 points in the second half against ten for Kerry tells the story. Worrying trend now in last few games is we are fading badly down the stretch. McManus last year and against the dubs was brought on to boost the team over halfway point in the games but he is having to be flogged to death every match now. Really impressed by Kerry through they have some attacking options this year still questions marks around their defence through pity we never really properly exploited it.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 03/03/2019 19:32:47    2169822

Replying To realdub:  "Hard to believe Monaghan are in a relegation battle, but Kerry came good, again, they're looking stronger all the time!"
I think monaghan will stay up

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 03/03/2019 19:33:43    2169823

Safe travels to all the great supporters. I believe the M7 and M8 are very bad and no doubt up the Midlands is as bad. The M7And M8 were closed to to RTAs.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 03/03/2019 19:38:31    2169826

Replying To greysoil:  "Tough times for Monaghan although saw an improvement today. Played well in patches but really missing some of our key lads - Kearns, Kelly etc. Very impressed by this Kerry team - Tommy Walsh is an amazing athlete & a superb asset. Think this team will land a few AI's for Kerry - perhaps even one this year ...."
Big improvement from last 3 matches. This performance gets us a win v Roscommon and Galway. But that's how it is. We got cleaned at midfield. Thought Karl had his best game of season. McManus was excellent and O'Hanlon continues to deliver on his promise. Ryan, Colin and Dermot also emerged with credit. I wouldn't be that happy if I was Kerry fan, they were very niave in their attacking by taking the ball into tackles and getting turned over and both their corner backs are not top county standard and will be exposed at highest level. Tommy Walsh's shooting is still an issue, you could feel Kerry fans holding their breath when he's kicking from 20 yards. But he made some unreal fetches especially one on 2nd half when Drew got a solid hand to ball and he still caught it. And the dribbled the mark into Rory's chest. Cavan at home is a must win but that was the case before today. Roscommon lose away to Galway and home to Kerry then a victory over Cavan keeps us up

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 564 - 03/03/2019 19:46:49    2169830

Replying To border Gael:  "I think monaghan will stay up"
I agree, but they'll have to be very careful!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/03/2019 19:54:40    2169836

Replying To border Gael:  "Safe travels to all the great supporters. I believe the M7 and M8 are very bad and no doubt up the Midlands is as bad. The M7And M8 were closed to to RTAs."
Great supporters indeed. The farney army out in force as always. Roads very dodgy but plenty taking pit stops at Obama plaza. Safe travels all.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 03/03/2019 20:12:43    2169850

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Intimidated by half a monaghan team?
Was that ever likely?"
Monaghan have beaten us in division 1 for the last two years and should have beaten us in July.
Both teams were missing lads today but your key man was on the field and like previous years caused us plenty of bother.
Hope everyone gets home safely roads cat.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 03/03/2019 20:19:49    2169856

Happy enough heading up road this evening as big improvement from last 3 games. Team seems to be hitting fitness and young ohanlon can only get better with more game time. Doogan had a solid game but yet again was very disappointed with one player in particular but hoping he gets over himself. But all in all no complaints and hopefully do enough over next 2 games to stay up. Kerry still have a wee bit to go before they serious contenders but no doubt an All Ireland is on its way to Kerry over next few years.

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 03/03/2019 21:25:39    2169898

Much improved from Monaghan. Neither side at full tilt but a fair enough example of where they are both at. I think Monaghan ran out of steam in the end. We looked dead on the feet and the sending off killed it for us.

I think the ref deserves a bit of criticism. It was tough conditions but I felt he made a lot of bad calls. He got card happy at the end and I was struggling to see where the decisions were coming from. It went mostly in favour of Kerry but not exclusively either. I watched the Ros v Dub last night and again thought the ref was poor. I think the rules are likely playing in to this too but we should expect more at this level.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 04/03/2019 10:06:46    2170004

Just about thawed out from that yesterday!
Well done to the Kerry lads, we were pretty poor for the first half and in truth were probably second best over much of the game but the minute they got their noses in front they stepped on the gas and left Monaghan for dead.
Given how Fitzmaurice used take the League, its a little strange after all these years to see a Kerry team with 5 wins and a League final all but assured.
While the League is always just a means to an end Jack O'Connor made a habit of going well in the spring any summer we won a title and I think it's something that was wrongly forgotten about under Eamon.You can't just turn things on in the summer if you've been poor before then. Especially for a young team like this, this League campaign will bring them on no end.
We still have a lot of issues, goalie still inexperienced, midfield is a concern and when our backs are up against the quality Monaghan have they struggled.
No one down here is getting carried away but a League final will be a great test for the lads going into the April break. It will give us a decent barometer as to where we are and could be our last proper competitive match if Munster turns out to be as uncompetative as it was last year.

Hope the Monaghan fans got back safe and sound, fair play to the numbers that made that long journey given the horrible weather. Their game against Cavan next week is going to be a real do or die affair now between both!!
Anyway I hoped ye enjoyed the hurling too, I know ye don't see much of it up yer end of the country :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/03/2019 10:57:43    2170029

Getting more and more impressed with this young Kerry team the more we see them.

It won't be long until Sam returns south, hopefully not this year but he's certainly on the way soon.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 04/03/2019 12:19:06    2170062

Replying To MesAmis:  "Getting more and more impressed with this young Kerry team the more we see them.

It won't be long until Sam returns south, hopefully not this year but he's certainly on the way soon."
I think it's nailed on.

Like you say, this year may be a year or 2 too soon, but with the likes of Geaney, Clifford, O'Shea, Moynihan, O'Sullivan etc. they will be a serious outfit

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 05/03/2019 08:29:06    2170317

Could the Kerry posters tell me what they think their best 15 will be come the summer?

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 06/03/2019 16:25:10    2170668

Replying To JDF:  "Could the Kerry posters tell me what they think their best 15 will be come the summer?"
There's probably 20-22 players in the running for a starting spot so until all the injured and club tied players are back it's very hard to say but it may roughly look something like this depending on injury and form.

Murphy / Ryan
Crowley, Sherwood, Beaglaoich
Murphy, Morley, White
Barry, Moran
Moynihan, O'Shea, G. O'Brien
Clifford, Geaney, S. O'Brien

Other lads very much in the running are Jason Foley, Tom O'Sullivan, Graham O'Sullivan, Mark Griffin, Michael Burns, James O'Donaghue, Kevin McCarthy, Gavin Crowley, Tommy Walsh, Mikey Geaney and maybe even Johnny Buckley depending on whether he comes back. I've probably forgotten someone very obvious as well.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 06/03/2019 17:01:00    2170679