Mayo V Galway

To be honest with two more definite championship starters in Shane Walsh and Sean Kelly out hard to see anything but Mayo winning in a low scoring encounter. One area we are not blessed with at the moment with a lot of guys out is distance kickers. Badly needed tonight if the weather materialises as promised. Our game with the Rossies in 2 weeks looks like a real relegation battle. Hope I am wrong of course and we are safe by 9.15ish tonight.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 02/03/2019 08:41:45    2169334

Replying To Belclare:  "With at least 7 definite starters missing for Galway; Mayo for the first time in 6 attempts against Kevin will win this won by 4.. At least they should...."
Theres no Andy, Cillian, McLoughlin, Parsons, Seamie O shea, Durcan..they be definite starters so having Starters missing isnt as one sided as your saying

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 02/03/2019 10:02:19    2169345

Replying To kiloughter:  "To be honest with two more definite championship starters in Shane Walsh and Sean Kelly out hard to see anything but Mayo winning in a low scoring encounter. One area we are not blessed with at the moment with a lot of guys out is distance kickers. Badly needed tonight if the weather materialises as promised. Our game with the Rossies in 2 weeks looks like a real relegation battle. Hope I am wrong of course and we are safe by 9.15ish tonight."
Going by mayo defence last weekend Galway will find it easier to get scores than Mayo forwards will tonight. Might come down to free takers and Doherty hasnt been great so far this year and no Hennelly either tonight

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 02/03/2019 10:12:28    2169351

Replying To tommy132:  "Theres no Andy, Cillian, McLoughlin, Parsons, Seamie O shea, Durcan..they be definite starters so having Starters missing isnt as one sided as your saying"
Hopefully Horan will change the definite starter midset and let new players previous squad players get a chance to prove themselves. Fair play he is experimenting a bit this league. I expected he'd go back to the old reliables for the match tonight but he looks to try new players. Getting through another league campaign with most of the old reliables would be no benefit this championship.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 02/03/2019 10:27:53    2169359

Replying To tommy132:  "Going by mayo defence last weekend Galway will find it easier to get scores than Mayo forwards will tonight. Might come down to free takers and Doherty hasnt been great so far this year and no Hennelly either tonight"
Maybe. My take on ye is that ye are somewhere between the Tyrone performance and last week. The fact ye are safe gives a certain flexibility option to your play. Pressure on us a little different with the relegation quagmire hanging over us. My dread at season start was to have to go to Omagh on the final day seeking a win. While we would have the Corofin contingent back then most of the guys won't be back for the home match against the Rossies in two weeks time so a win tonight or two weeks is paramount.
My take on us is if we played more offensively and had the key players back we would be a serious outfit. Funny we might not win Connacht with three relatively strong teams in the province but progress very far through the alternative route. Now the general local fear is this generation of talent might by stymied notwithstanding that KW has improved us in terms of being competitive and difficult to beat. Hence why some of the conversation is starting to focus on life after KW and the likely man in waiting.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 02/03/2019 10:38:45    2169362

Replying To kiloughter:  "Maybe. My take on ye is that ye are somewhere between the Tyrone performance and last week. The fact ye are safe gives a certain flexibility option to your play. Pressure on us a little different with the relegation quagmire hanging over us. My dread at season start was to have to go to Omagh on the final day seeking a win. While we would have the Corofin contingent back then most of the guys won't be back for the home match against the Rossies in two weeks time so a win tonight or two weeks is paramount.
My take on us is if we played more offensively and had the key players back we would be a serious outfit. Funny we might not win Connacht with three relatively strong teams in the province but progress very far through the alternative route. Now the general local fear is this generation of talent might by stymied notwithstanding that KW has improved us in terms of being competitive and difficult to beat. Hence why some of the conversation is starting to focus on life after KW and the likely man in waiting."
There will be plenty of managers looking at the Galway job if and when Kevin Walsh moves on
Joyce/Divilly partnership
O'Brien/Morris partnership
Rochford/O'Brien/Morris team

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 02/03/2019 11:18:30    2169366

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Hopefully Horan will change the definite starter midset and let new players previous squad players get a chance to prove themselves. Fair play he is experimenting a bit this league. I expected he'd go back to the old reliables for the match tonight but he looks to try new players. Getting through another league campaign with most of the old reliables would be no benefit this championship."
I agree, need to be trying out new lads in the league and give them as many games as possible, even if they have a bad game or 2 still play them. I was naming the starters missing because some posters making it sound like only Galway are missing lads.

I was hoping Reape would start tonight and maybe have a reaction from last weekend for his confidence and theres people whi think hes no good now. Hopefully Ruane and McDonagh continue on from last week. D Coen can be good, kicks plenty of scores for his club, be tough tonight with weather though.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 02/03/2019 11:53:51    2169371

Not sure what to make of the selection... it's certainly not revolutionary, though there might possibly be a few changes before throw-in. Clarke needed to be picked to cover the lack of height in the fb line, but with all positions filled by well known quantities JH isn't looking to learn anything new. I'd at least have swapped the positions of Chris Barrett and Stephen Coen, or have brought Keith Higgins out the field. Not sure the midfield selection makes all that much difference, since AOS and DOC will probably be operating in and around it anyway. The ff line is hard to assess, but surely can't be less effective than last week's one. Andy was a bit rash with a very decent goal chance last week, but he's bound to be brought in at some point assuming he's fit. Like everyone else, I can't see this being a scorefest, and a goal (possibly a jammy one) for either side could decide it.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 02/03/2019 12:01:53    2169374

I don't have a great feeling about this match. But anyway, come on Galway.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 02/03/2019 12:34:08    2169380

I think Galway will want to lay down a marker for Championship, they have a good record in Castlebar too I think, Galway by 2.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 02/03/2019 13:12:25    2169391

Replying To kiloughter:  "Maybe. My take on ye is that ye are somewhere between the Tyrone performance and last week. The fact ye are safe gives a certain flexibility option to your play. Pressure on us a little different with the relegation quagmire hanging over us. My dread at season start was to have to go to Omagh on the final day seeking a win. While we would have the Corofin contingent back then most of the guys won't be back for the home match against the Rossies in two weeks time so a win tonight or two weeks is paramount.
My take on us is if we played more offensively and had the key players back we would be a serious outfit. Funny we might not win Connacht with three relatively strong teams in the province but progress very far through the alternative route. Now the general local fear is this generation of talent might by stymied notwithstanding that KW has improved us in terms of being competitive and difficult to beat. Hence why some of the conversation is starting to focus on life after KW and the likely man in waiting."
Kevin Walsh was given an extra three year term, so has this year & next year. No honour though in Galway football, a county thats always divided. Didn't take long for the backstabbing to emerge, 18 months ago when things were not going well, a certain crew were touting for the job from behind the bushes through the clout they have at football board level but that was all blown out of the water by promotion to Div 1, NFL final & All Ireland semi final. There will be any amount of groups now hoping it all falls apart for Kevin Walsh with people planted to sow seeds of doubt & discontent, Galway football is riddled with politics & backstabbing. It's one of the reasons they are one of the poorest supported teams in the country, even last years success didn't bring out the crowd & it showed in Pearse Stadium v Monaghan, Mayo in Castlebar (the first win), All Irl semi final v Dublin. Kevin Walsh should be allowed finish his term & the next management should be the U 20 management team of Padraic Joyce & John Divilly, a natural progression. Galway football from Development Squad level to Senior is always riddled with the same old politics.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 02/03/2019 13:45:40    2169397

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Our Under 21s were adults in 2016."
And Corofin were juveniles in 2018 I suppose? Talk about clutching at straws!

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 02/03/2019 13:47:49    2169398

Kevin Walsh has done great things for Galway and let him finish his term that he was chosen for. He will have a great side come the Summer, c'mom Galway.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 02/03/2019 14:04:40    2169402

Replying To Barnowl94:  "And Corofin were juveniles in 2018 I suppose? Talk about clutching at straws!"
The concept that an adult is 18 years old and upwards can be a little hard to grasp I suppose.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 02/03/2019 14:31:54    2169409

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The concept that an adult is 18 years old and upwards can be a little hard to grasp I suppose."
The clue is in the title of the competition, UNDER 21.
The concept you allude to is not difficult to grasp at all especially for someone with sons aged 22 and 18!
What about Corofin? Ignoring that inconvenient fact are we?

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 02/03/2019 14:54:23    2169413

Replying To Barnowl94:  "The clue is in the title of the competition, UNDER 21.
The concept you allude to is not difficult to grasp at all especially for someone with sons aged 22 and 18!
What about Corofin? Ignoring that inconvenient fact are we?"
No. My bad re: Corofin. I assumed Gleebo was talking about intercounty teams and not clubs. He should just say senior and tell us what Mayo team he's talking about.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 02/03/2019 16:06:22    2169430

Lads some of ye have way to much time on yer hands...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 02/03/2019 16:16:36    2169432

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Kevin Walsh was given an extra three year term, so has this year & next year. No honour though in Galway football, a county thats always divided. Didn't take long for the backstabbing to emerge, 18 months ago when things were not going well, a certain crew were touting for the job from behind the bushes through the clout they have at football board level but that was all blown out of the water by promotion to Div 1, NFL final & All Ireland semi final. There will be any amount of groups now hoping it all falls apart for Kevin Walsh with people planted to sow seeds of doubt & discontent, Galway football is riddled with politics & backstabbing. It's one of the reasons they are one of the poorest supported teams in the country, even last years success didn't bring out the crowd & it showed in Pearse Stadium v Monaghan, Mayo in Castlebar (the first win), All Irl semi final v Dublin. Kevin Walsh should be allowed finish his term & the next management should be the U 20 management team of Padraic Joyce & John Divilly, a natural progression. Galway football from Development Squad level to Senior is always riddled with the same old politics."
Of course KW should be left to see out his term. I think he has brought us on a lot but his legacy would be much deeper if at times he left the rigid system we are now in. Yes the system may have brought us on but to progess further he needs to be far more flexible as we have the quality. Most Galway football folk I have spoken to recently say the same thing so we can't be all wrong. On division in fairness Galway football has always been mild compared to our hurlers where many summers did not go by without a Galway hurling controversy. If you think our football is riddled with politics and backstabbing IMO mild compared to some other counties.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 02/03/2019 16:22:27    2169433

Replying To yew_tree:  "Lads some of ye have way to much time on yer hands..."
Says the man with nearly 9.5k posts, how ironic.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 02/03/2019 16:44:27    2169441

Galway B to win by 2points

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 02/03/2019 17:25:33    2169452