Tyrone V Monaghan

A must win for both sides. Very hard to call - I fancy Monaghan to squeeze out a win here. +1

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 19/02/2019 12:41:45    2166341

The fear. Don't know many Tyrone ones looking forward to this. Monaghan beat us twice last year but we edged the most important encounter. Tyrone have been dire thus far in the league and I don't feel we justify favouritism at the bookies here at all.

Whoever loses this is going down. Hard to see otherwise.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 19/02/2019 13:37:27    2166354

Don't all speak at once lads. Impossible to call this, the winner will more than likely stay up, loser in a relegation battle, though if Tyrone lose i think they will still win their remaining two home games. Both teams will be looking for vastly improved performances, could be a good game.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 20/02/2019 21:22:21    2166681

Replying To OGarmaile:  "The fear. Don't know many Tyrone ones looking forward to this. Monaghan beat us twice last year but we edged the most important encounter. Tyrone have been dire thus far in the league and I don't feel we justify favouritism at the bookies here at all.

Whoever loses this is going down. Hard to see otherwise."
Very hard to know this would go...Tyrone may just about have enough to squeeze home

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 20/02/2019 21:27:37    2166686

Not going in with much confidence but hopefully we can turn our form around.

Last year we lost 3 of 4, then out off nowhere hammered Mayo away and that set us on our way.

Scoring has been a major problem, missing McAliskey and Bradley badly. Hopefully Lee Brennan steps up if starting. Going to be quite an edge to this game, I can see a senting off or two.

Is it on Eir sport?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 21/02/2019 11:08:51    2166748

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Not going in with much confidence but hopefully we can turn our form around.

Last year we lost 3 of 4, then out off nowhere hammered Mayo away and that set us on our way.

Scoring has been a major problem, missing McAliskey and Bradley badly. Hopefully Lee Brennan steps up if starting. Going to be quite an edge to this game, I can see a senting off or two.

Is it on Eir sport?"
i cant wait - the weekend off has helped me forget our problems. hoping for a tough physical battle with plenty of style - this contest will hopefully be a great advertisement for the game (and if theres a sending off so be it - hopefully for tyrone tho lol)

First and foremost i hope we get the win - tyrone deservedly slight favourites especially with home advantage but time will tell - i think a well executed game plan will be the difference.

Live on eirsport, im gonna watch in the comfort of my own home (mainly because i cant listen to yis)

May the best team win

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 182 - 21/02/2019 13:39:48    2166777

Should be a good game. If Monaghan can bring their 2nd half Dublin performance then they have a chance but anything less and I expect a Tyrone win.
Last year Tyrone were one of the fittest teams I've seen over the past few years but that can't be retained over long periods so I'd expect they haven't started their build up to championship just yet. They don't have enough quality forwards and most of their scores come from lung busting runs and off the shoulder stuff with chip overs from the D. Without that fitness level they are struggling but come championship they will be a dangerous proposition again.
Over the years, when there was a must win game between these two it was generally Tyrone who squeezed by and I feel MH will have them fired up for this must win game. A draw would do Monaghan but I expect a Tyrone win.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 22/02/2019 00:37:40    2166878

Tyrone are not good, the team they have named cries mass defence. No risks from Micky as usual, it will be tight and only a couple of points in it. Would rather watch Dublin and Mayo to be honest...… Tyrone need a fresh approach which may only come about by a change at the top

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 22/02/2019 13:45:54    2166949

Replying To Game2Halves:  "Tyrone are not good, the team they have named cries mass defence. No risks from Micky as usual, it will be tight and only a couple of points in it. Would rather watch Dublin and Mayo to be honest...… Tyrone need a fresh approach which may only come about by a change at the top"
Our new corner forward line is made up of Peter Harte (defender), Kieran Mcgeary (defender). Our forwards are on the bench. The chances of these two actually doing any forward work is a million to 1.

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 22/02/2019 19:03:23    2166999

I'm at a loss, what has happened to Monaghan? They might have been better off if we had of beaten them in round 1.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 23/02/2019 21:11:12    2167275

Do you expect Monaghan to beat Tyrone.... We are their bogie team. Monaghan are not a bad side, they've just came up short last couple of games in a hard league. Galway parked the bus and caught them on the hop and Tyrone have got their act together when it mattered. Tyrone do not become a bad team overnight. Been a bit flat after Jan but last two games shown alot of improvement. Very happy with the two points , we need another two .

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 23/02/2019 21:20:49    2167287

Big win for Tyrone, gets them up and running.

Monaghan haven't kicked on after beating Dublin at all. In a relegation battle now which you wouldn't have predicted after the first game.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 23/02/2019 21:42:13    2167307

Replying To realdub:  "I'm at a loss, what has happened to Monaghan? They might have been better off if we had of beaten them in round 1."
Flogging same group of players for nearly 6 years has finally taking it toll with injuries and age catching up. We still got decent 15 to 18 players when everyone fit but the panel is light outside of that small pick finally catching up with us. Tyrone were v good tonight through peter Harte is a savage player

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 23/02/2019 21:55:25    2167318

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Do you expect Monaghan to beat Tyrone.... We are their bogie team. Monaghan are not a bad side, they've just came up short last couple of games in a hard league. Galway parked the bus and caught them on the hop and Tyrone have got their act together when it mattered. Tyrone do not become a bad team overnight. Been a bit flat after Jan but last two games shown alot of improvement. Very happy with the two points , we need another two ."
I was thinking the same about Tyrone before tonight's game, looking forward to your visit on Paddy's weekend!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 23/02/2019 22:56:55    2167337

Yeh I hear ya and you're right, Harte can be a class act on his day.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/02/2019 00:42:54    2167374

Replying To Game2Halves:  "Our new corner forward line is made up of Peter Harte (defender), Kieran Mcgeary (defender). Our forwards are on the bench. The chances of these two actually doing any forward work is a million to 1."
Lol..... good one.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 24/02/2019 06:19:27    2167384

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Lol..... good one."
Think I'll keep my opinions to myself from now on lol. Harte can play corner forward from now on...

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 24/02/2019 09:56:33    2167410

Replying To Game2Halves:  "Think I'll keep my opinions to myself from now on lol. Harte can play corner forward from now on..."
Numbers on the back of shirts these days are obsolete, should just be given square numbers.

Petey played out the pitch in the half forward line and at times moved in to the full forward line. Played well. Thought Ben O'Donnell was excellent in the sweeper position, cut out so much ball. Burns had a fine game as did Meyler after he came off the bench.

Monaghan were poor though, wouldn't read into either performance to be honest. Monaghan coughed up so much ball and their basics were very poor. They will improve come the summer but the worry is that they are totally dependent on Conor McManus. God help them if he gets injured.

I also thought the pitch was excellent last night. Like a carpet, Healy park gets criticised a lot because it floods, and rightly so, but in dry conditions it's excellent, fair play to ground staff.
Also thought ref was good, let game flow, a few decisions here and there that were 50/50 but no ones perfect.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 24/02/2019 10:49:39    2167432

This performance was reminiscent of Salthill in the League last year, completely threw in the towel after black card, going down to 14. Starting team was strange. Concerned for safety now. Tyrone do what they do well. Harte could be the missing piece going forward, they have enough good defenders to keep him up top

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 24/02/2019 11:14:03    2167439

Fridge, u thought ref did ok? Why wouldn't
U, he was a sixteenth man for yous
Some of his calls last night, u wouldn't
get at an u8 go game
D wards- black card
M Donnelly's - yellow card,
A lot of the frees u got were of the very
soft nature
Monaghan are bucked, if Mansy got an injury

binman53 (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 24/02/2019 11:28:04    2167448