Fermanagh V Kildare

It be a great result for kildare if they can get a win here as fermanagh at home are notoriously hard to break down, I'm going for a draw or a very narrow win for the lillies

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 06/02/2019 18:43:33    2163057

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "It be a great result for kildare if they can get a win here as fermanagh at home are notoriously hard to break down, I'm going for a draw or a very narrow win for the lillies"
Can't disagree with that, but I just have a feeling that the Kildare forwards will get through. Kildare narrow win

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/02/2019 21:31:33    2163090

Should be cracking atmosphere even if we are likely to serve up a defensive feast I just hope it's not accompanied by an attacking famine.!! Anyway as other posters said we don't role over for anyone at home and have a great record in Brewster Park.. having said that I have no idea where Kildare are at since we met in Navan. We aren't converting frees like we used to either but here's hoping big Sean has shaken that that rust from a long lay off and smacks them over on sat nite .. I'm quietly confident .. mostly cause I know we will front up big time .. and I've no ideA what Kildare are at this season

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 06/02/2019 22:56:22    2163104

Fermanagh Will probably set up defensively I can see it being a dour struggle. Hopefully a reasonable night weather wise. At least the pitch will be playable.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 07/02/2019 14:32:12    2163221

Huge win for Fermanagh, no matter what you think of their system, it works for them. I'll be honest, the last thing I would want is to play Fermanagh in navan on the last day needing a win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/02/2019 20:43:57    2163764

Replying To royaldunne:  "Huge win for Fermanagh, no matter what you think of their system, it works for them. I'll be honest, the last thing I would want is to play Fermanagh in navan on the last day needing a win."
Rory Gallagher and Ricey McMenamin have made Fermanagh a defensively tough outfit to breakdown, last year the shell shocked Monaghan in Ulster Semi final with late Donnelly goal, and Donegal initially struggled with them in the Ulster final. Fermanagh's big issue is up front, they are a counter attacking side, and if the opposition gets ahead of them, its difficult for them to claw it back.

Division 2 is wide open, when you look at Fermanagh, Armagh, Kildare, Meath, Donegal and Cork. Any two of them are capable of a late surge and getting promotion. Cork don't appear to be running well, but I think it would be foolish to rule them out.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 09/02/2019 22:45:16    2163840

Well deserved win for Fermanagh but they badly need to start taking more of the very good chances that they create.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/02/2019 22:55:20    2163848

Replying To royaldunne:  "Huge win for Fermanagh, no matter what you think of their system, it works for them. I'll be honest, the last thing I would want is to play Fermanagh in navan on the last day needing a win."
You'll be ok in Navan RD, they don't get away with as much messing on their travels. That wasn't football tonight, it was hybrid rugby played on a GAA pitch. Back to playing football next time. You are good at what you do Fermanagh.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 10/02/2019 02:43:59    2163874

Replying To Commodore:  "Rory Gallagher and Ricey McMenamin have made Fermanagh a defensively tough outfit to breakdown, last year the shell shocked Monaghan in Ulster Semi final with late Donnelly goal, and Donegal initially struggled with them in the Ulster final. Fermanagh's big issue is up front, they are a counter attacking side, and if the opposition gets ahead of them, its difficult for them to claw it back.

Division 2 is wide open, when you look at Fermanagh, Armagh, Kildare, Meath, Donegal and Cork. Any two of them are capable of a late surge and getting promotion. Cork don't appear to be running well, but I think it would be foolish to rule them out."
Agreed. I said it in the beginning it will be a last day thing where score difference and head to head decide who goes up and indeed who goes down.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/02/2019 07:12:04    2163883

Fermanaghs tactics are the exact reason why people are fed up with football in its current state.
All 15 men inside their own 45 when the opposition team has the ball
When they inevitably turn the ball over, they have a few runners who run it upfield and look to draw a foul
Fermanagh, rarely if ever kick pass the ball, handpass handpass handpass
Fermanagh run the clock down as much as possible, mainly by lads requesting medical attention as often as possible

Last night was one of the most unentertaining games I have been to in a long time and if i were from Fermanagh, there is no way I would pay in to watch that tripe every week.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 10/02/2019 09:03:37    2163894

Replying To kildare73:  "You'll be ok in Navan RD, they don't get away with as much messing on their travels. That wasn't football tonight, it was hybrid rugby played on a GAA pitch. Back to playing football next time. You are good at what you do Fermanagh."
Wow that sounds bad alright. Out of curiosity would the hand pass rule have changed the way they played??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/02/2019 09:52:02    2163905

Replying To 11jm11:  "Fermanaghs tactics are the exact reason why people are fed up with football in its current state.
When they inevitably turn the ball over, they have a few runners who run it upfield and look to draw a foul
Fermanagh run the clock down as much as possible, mainly by lads requesting medical attention as often as possible

Last night was one of the most unentertaining games I have been to in a long time and if i were from Fermanagh, there is no way I would pay in to watch that tripe every week."
That said, there isn't a man in this country who doesn't know how Fermanagh set up and Kildare looked clueless as to how to go about beating that setup. Very, very worrying performance in that regard.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 10/02/2019 10:58:27    2163918

Replying To kildare73:  "You'll be ok in Navan RD, they don't get away with as much messing on their travels. That wasn't football tonight, it was hybrid rugby played on a GAA pitch. Back to playing football next time. You are good at what you do Fermanagh."
I hope you enjoyed those sour grapes all the way home lad .. if you took those lilly tinted glasses off you might have seen the embarrassing display of diving Kildare resorted to when they were had no plan b against our defence .. your team were rightly booed off the pitch at half time by the home support for trying to intimidate the younger lads on the team .. last night match was enthralling stuff if not for the purists .. would you prefer all teams just make it easier to score is that your plan for success ? Good luck with that .. you guys knew exactly what you'd face but you wouldn't have thought that watching u play last night .. you win or learn .. or maybe YOU win or Moan !

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 10/02/2019 11:42:07    2163931

Replying To Sweetspot:  "That said, there isn't a man in this country who doesn't know how Fermanagh set up and Kildare looked clueless as to how to go about beating that setup. Very, very worrying performance in that regard."
Agree with you. Looks like we learned very little from the Carlow game last year. We have to be better when faced with teams playing that "style". We've been average at best so far in 2019.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 10/02/2019 11:44:34    2163934

Replying To royaldunne:  "Wow that sounds bad alright. Out of curiosity would the hand pass rule have changed the way they played??"
Probably but hard to know by how much. The eventual kick would probably go backwards and start the process again.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 10/02/2019 11:45:51    2163936

Replying To 11jm11:  "Fermanaghs tactics are the exact reason why people are fed up with football in its current state.

Last night was one of the most unentertaining games I have been to in a long time and if i were from Fermanagh, there is no way I would pay in to watch that tripe every week."
11JM11

You must have been late into the ground last night(presuming not a keyboard warrior), as Fermanaghs first two socres came directly from balls kicked into the full forward line.

Kildare only scored one point from play,while Fermanagh only scored 3 frees, so remind me who was relying on frees for scores?

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1098 - 10/02/2019 12:33:23    2163947

Septic!! Fair play Fermanagh.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 10/02/2019 12:56:37    2163957

Lets look at the facts.

Fermanagh had 5 points from play, Kildare 1
Fermanagh had 22 shots, Kildare 11
Fermanagh finished with 15 players, Kildare 14
Fermanagh should have had zero reds, I counted 3 for kildare that the ref let go.

Take into account that Fermanagh were without all star nominated Che Cullen and lost Eoin Donnelly to injury early on, it doesn't say much about Kildare.

There was only one side who tried to play football last night and I can promise you that it wasn't Kildare. Crazy how many hits of the ball that Kildare were dishing out. Ricey was right in telling your lads on the field that you aren't going to win Leinster this year.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 10/02/2019 13:00:49    2163959

Great win for Fermanagh, well done all.

I keep tipping them to lose and be relegated for the last year or so but they keep showing me up!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 10/02/2019 13:06:19    2163963

Replying To kildare73:  "Agree with you. Looks like we learned very little from the Carlow game last year. We have to be better when faced with teams playing that "style". We've been average at best so far in 2019."
The sooner Brophy,Paul Cribbin and Kevin Flynn back the better. They're the type of player that would have made a difference last night. Also think Moolick should have been introduced a lot earlier. Neil Flynn was playing too deep to make any impact on that defence, there was nothing being played into him at all.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 10/02/2019 13:16:31    2163968