Black Card/Yellow Card Amalgamated?

Just a thought. Was at Galway Cavan game and one of our (Galway) players got a yellow for a high tackle (could have been red). Much more serious foul than many of the sin bins.

Should the serious yellow card offences be amalgamated into the black card? i.e. Sin bin for all. Go back to 2 cards and a tick for the less serious stuff. Surely a high tackle can be as cynical as a trip or drag to the ground and it also is dangerous?

I am not talking about increasing the cards here at all. If it wasn't a card before it still wouldn't be a card. It may mean analysing some of the yellow card offences and re classifying them to ticks if they are not that serious. Just think we are over complicating it with 5 classifications (red, yellow, black, tick, no action)

I am a fan of the sin bin. It will work well (and better if we ever get a match clock like the ladies!!).

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 28/01/2019 09:09:14    2160230

I agree, why have the distinction of the fouls now or make it harder for referees.
The sin bin makes the yellow redundant in my view. Amalgamate the 2 cards and it cuts out a lot of controversy

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 28/01/2019 09:30:54    2160243

Unfortunately Mayoman things could be made simpler for refs but you cannot legislate for poor referees. It was a bit of a niggly game 2nd half but in no way dirty and as you said the high tackle was the only serious incident in the game. If it happened on a rugby pitch it would be a straight red. It was a very simple decision and Galway player had no excuses. He had no business going in that high. Wasn't as if the Cavan player was going down into the tackle either. He has at full stride and fully upright and nearly had his head taken off but referee bottled decision under the home stand. Lost the run of the game and gave out some ridiculous black cards and let blatant ones go. I think he knew himself he was out of his depth and couldn't get off the field quick enough. Didn't let it go one second over time even though there should have been at least another minute.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 28/01/2019 12:23:36    2160350

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Unfortunately Mayoman things could be made simpler for refs but you cannot legislate for poor referees. It was a bit of a niggly game 2nd half but in no way dirty and as you said the high tackle was the only serious incident in the game. If it happened on a rugby pitch it would be a straight red. It was a very simple decision and Galway player had no excuses. He had no business going in that high. Wasn't as if the Cavan player was going down into the tackle either. He has at full stride and fully upright and nearly had his head taken off but referee bottled decision under the home stand. Lost the run of the game and gave out some ridiculous black cards and let blatant ones go. I think he knew himself he was out of his depth and couldn't get off the field quick enough. Didn't let it go one second over time even though there should have been at least another minute."
No argument from me if the Galway lad got a red card. Silly tackle and no need.

Re the black cards - 2 were deffo warranted. Pulling lads to the ground blatantly is not soft that is what the rule was brought in for. I saw 2 of them right in front of me. No accounting for player stupidity. The only ones i didn't see were the double black card so maybe you are right on that one.

I think players and management need to start taking responsibility for discipline. If I was Galway manager I would be having a chat with our player that should possible have gotten a red. On another day it could cost us. Cavan manager should have a chat with his sin binned lads.

Anyway my overall point was no aimed at GalwayCavan game. Just an observation.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 28/01/2019 13:34:09    2160383

Replying To Mayonman:  "No argument from me if the Galway lad got a red card. Silly tackle and no need.

Re the black cards - 2 were deffo warranted. Pulling lads to the ground blatantly is not soft that is what the rule was brought in for. I saw 2 of them right in front of me. No accounting for player stupidity. The only ones i didn't see were the double black card so maybe you are right on that one.

I think players and management need to start taking responsibility for discipline. If I was Galway manager I would be having a chat with our player that should possible have gotten a red. On another day it could cost us. Cavan manager should have a chat with his sin binned lads.

Anyway my overall point was no aimed at GalwayCavan game. Just an observation."
I understand you were talking in general, I probably over focused on the game. But I suppose the point I tried to make is you cannot legislate for a poor referee whether you have one or ten coloured cards. Consistency is the massive problem. Referees simply are making calls on a whim with no clue of what they're looking at and zero input from match officials. On yesterday, of the 5 blacks 2 were correct IMO. One each team. Cavan had at least another one should have been given but it was far away from where I was. Galway had two blatant ones under my nose. Our half back gave a pass and go and was taken out of game well after he released. This was between linesman and ref and both were no more than 5 yards away and looking straight at it. Ref looked at linesman looking for confirmation but he looked into ground. Ref looked into the ground himself, seemed to shake his head and say ah feck it to himself, and continued to chase play. On 72 minutes we were on the attack and your defended hauled our forward down in order to delay and get numbers back. This is the very reason the card was introduced but like I said earlier referee seemed like he was in a panic and couldn't end the game quick enough and get off the field. This might seem trivial as we were unlikely going to rescue the game but it would have left you with one less defender and an extra minute to play instead of the minute wasted. No re-configuring of cards is going to sort that out. Laois hurler was given a yellow yesterday for a perfectly timed shoulder. Only reason he got it was because it was so well timed and took the wind out of the Galway man. But then there is so much blatantly dangerous play let go. If the cards are simplified like you say we will be at a stage where lads are sin binned for shoulder charges but lads that might put another fella in hospital will be let back on.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 28/01/2019 14:57:34    2160418

it remains to be seen if the sin bin will work, it certainly has to potential to punish teams tactical fouling in the last ten mins, imagine losing 2/3 players to sin bin in the closing stages. The offences for sin binning could be expanded ie pulling back but not to the ground a player baring down on goal or just grabbing and holding a player thereby preventing him for joining in a move etc.

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 29/01/2019 12:53:26    2160698